Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Laird July 5, 2017

    Stunning scenery!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This trip was so beautiful! Our start in Krimml was so scenic with a portion of the waterfall visible from our hotel window! Zell am See was gorgeous. Our cycling days were filled with constant wonder and beauty. The bike paths were easy to cycle on. My one suggestion is to review the directions before you get to the outskirts of your destination as it can sometimes be confusing. The hotels were comfortable and the food was good. I would definitely recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RaduC August 8, 2017
    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Ziad Z August 18, 2017

    Amazing trip and service

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    First, Brittany was OUTSTANDING - patient, cooperative (we had to change a few times with multiple requests from 9 cyclists), advisor, etc. Secondly, the trip was amazing .... scenery, fun, great food and snacks, hotels, Etc

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jim G September 29, 2017

    Beautiful scenery

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    The scenery on this tour is magnificent!
    Including the largest waterfall in Europe, snow covered Alps mountain tops, lush green valleys, small towns and villages. We even encountered and made friends with some lovely cows.
    For "Sound of Music " fans , we recommend staying an extra day in Salzburg, and going on the Sound of Music bicycle tour. Very enjoyable and informative.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September, 2017
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Krimml Waterfall (photo by Jim G)
    • Krimml, Austria (photo by Jim G)
    • New friends (photo by Jim G)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Jim G)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Jim G)
    • Burghausen, Germany (photo by Jim G)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) sunny17 December 20, 2017

    nice travel experience

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    What was the date of your tour?
    sep 25 to oct 1 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) BobD September 6, 2018

    Scout trip

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    10 members of our Scout troop did this as our 'High Adventure' for the summer. We flew into (and out of) Munich and spent one day there to get over jetlag and then headed to Krimml. Upon arrival we checked in at the hotel and headed up to tour the waterfalls. A surprise benefit was a pass provided by the hotel to cover our entry costs. The bikes, locks, bike bags and maps were already there waiting for us.
    We only had one flat time and some gear issues but we were able to take the bikes to a shop in Zell am See where they were checked and corrected.
    Two of the hotels were on pedestrian zones, so plenty of cafes, ice cream shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk.
    The first three days, up to Salzburg, had the Alps as the back drop to a number of great pictures and the smaller alpine villages. The next three days were along the River Inn and more farm land, but the towns were a bit bigger with more things to see.
    The trail is very well marked and with the printed cue sheets and maps, when we got off the trail and into a town, it was easy to get back on track.
    All the hotels were excellent with friendly and helpful staff.
    There is some road riding but it was nice to note that the drivers would wait behind the bikes until safe to pass and then put as much space between the car and bikes as possible.
    There were a few steep hills but since we were in no hurry, we pushed the bikes up the hill and enjoyed the walk.
    The trail towards the end was more dirt path or older, cracked cement, so the ride was a bit bumpy.
    An excellent trip with many photos and memories.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 15th, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Lake Zell am See (photo by BobD)
    • One of the many castles outside of Salzburg (photo by BobD)
    • Photo 3 (photo by BobD)
    • The Von Trapp home in Salzburg (photo by BobD)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jim G September 16, 2018

    Going back in time.

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    We have ridden many bike paths in Europe. The Tauren Bike Path to date is our favorite. Dedicated bike path makes the trip totally relaxing, riding through the valley from up in the Alps, through small towns and village’s, pastures, forests, along the Salzach River, etc. Very well maintained and safe path to ride.
    This was our second time riding the Tauren Path.
    Strongly advise spending extra days in Krimml, Salzburg, and Passau.
    Tour operator has done superior job with this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Burghausen, Germany (photo by Jim G)
    • Burghausen town square. (photo by Jim G)
    • Special Friends. (photo by Jim G)
    • Starting another beautiful day. (photo by Jim G)
    • Salzach River/ Magnificent ride. (photo by Jim G)
    • Salzburg, Austria (photo by Jim G)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lisa C July 8, 2019

    Beautiful tour through the Alps!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    We had an amazing trip along the Tauern bike path. We traveled as a family of four (10 and 8 year old children- the 8 year old on a tag along). The scenery was fantastic, and the stopover locations were great. The first three days were relatively easy, the last three were a bit more challenging for our ten year old to handle with the longer uphill sections. We ended up having to change out our daughters bike two times due to a mechanical issue with the derailleur and a flat tire, but the staff responded very quickly and appropriately. It would have been helpful to have a spare tube in the bike kit for the children's bike. We also had some issues getting extra paniers, but by the third day it was resolved. We were very impressed with the lodging. I would recommend an extra night in zell am see, the area was so beautiful. We also appreciated how the company was able to find appropriate lodging for a family of four. We woul highly recommend this tour, but be ready for a bit of work on the second half of the tour. But it was defiantly worth it! We also had a lot of difficulty finding three of our hotels, more specific directions to the exact lodging would have been helpful for the lodging that was not directly on or close to the bike path. Luckily we met helpful Germans along the way who helped us find our lodging!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sydneysider August 1, 2019

    Everthing we were hoping for!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    The tour was well organised; well maintained bikes and detailed route information were provided when we arrived at the hotel, supplied with a handlebar and rear-wheel pannier. Tip: we did not know about the handlebar pannier beforehand which has a clear, waterproof cover that fits your provided map and directions. The bikes also have a trip computer so you can match the km's to the directions. The hotels were quality selections, many with character and we enjoyed our time in them. The movement of the bags was efficient and they pretty much always made their way to the new hotel before us, or as we arrived. We loved the route, mainly village roads, tracks through woods, farm roads, bike paths etc. with only occasional sections on bigger roads when needed. The first half of the trip is more spectacular than the second the second half points of interest are more subtle. One regret; we did not bring a European bird book as there was plenty of birds and wildlife on the trip to watch out for.

    What was the date of your tour?
    11 June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) SWTA August 26, 2019

    Great trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    We recently completed this bike trip. It was a really wonderful trip. Great biking, fantastic scenery and the hotels were really terrific- def better than we had expected. The first 3 days were in the mountains and very picturesque. The last 3 days were along the river and we rode through a lot of cornfields and frontage roads.

    We had no proper training beforehand and the days were reasonable - though we did walk our bikes up some of the steeper hills.

    We booked an extra day in Krimml which allowed us to better explore the waterfall (which is amazing). There wouldn't have been enough time to walk all the way to the top if we had not. It was real bonus that the hotel gave us free passes! We also took an extra day in Salzburg to explore. That was a really nice way to break up the biking.

    This is a really nice trip for active people and families with older kids. The bikes and other equipment that was provided was good. Though we found that people who booked directly with the operater - Eurobikes - were given GPSs. I don't remember that option - which would have helped because we missed a few turns along the way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/5-14/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 2 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 3 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 4 (photo by SWTA)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) DotK September 17, 2019

    Wonderful views and terrific overnight stops

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This is the second self-guided tour that we've cycled with Bike Tours. So glad we chose it. the preparation and advice were so valuable. It's great to be able to focus on the fun of cycling while the arrangements for hotels and luggage are taken care of.
    We stayed over in Salzburg on our way to Krimml to break up the train journey from Munich and that worked out really well, giving us a chance to see the highlights of Salzburg before taking the 3 hour train to Krimml the next day. The BikeLine map book that accompanied the tour was very easy to follow and the Tauern route very well marked, staying in the river valley though with a few hills to challenge us (we did walk up a few). The bicycles were very comfortable. We did notice that e-bikes have become very popular with both urban and touring cyclists along the route.
    The views of the Alpine foothills were amazing as we cycled along the valley from Krimml. Our ride into Zell am See was charming, and the hotel very welcoming and helpful. We had a wonderful time walking around the pedestrian district along the lake. Each day's ride gave us ample time to explore interesting towns along the path and still arrive at our destination mid to late afternoon.
    Once we left Salzburg the river became broader and the route included more forests, hills, and farmland. Luckily when we arrived in Burghausen, we stopped and ate a late lunch at a cafe on the main street before tackling the steep hill to the hotel. The advantage was that the hotel was just outside the castle complex that overlooks the town. What a wonderful walk through the five castle courtyards in the late afternoon sun. Descriptions of the castle's history were positioned along the walk. Then it was on to Bad Fussing, with an indoor-outdoor thermal pools at our hotel. The spa town and the hotel were picturesque. We enjoyed cycling through the open countryside of Bad Fussing so decided to take a different route through farm villages instead of following the river to Scharding and on to Passau. I would recommend taking an extra day in Passau as well to visit the attractions of the city. We were pleased to have the time there before traveling back to Munich.
    We had a wonderful time!

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/18/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Zell am See (photo by DotK)
    • A house in Lofer near our hotel (photo by DotK)
    • A Burghausen Castle courtyard (photo by DotK)
    • View of Passau from Veste Oberhaus (photo by DotK)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Anne Stanek 4 months ago

    A gorgeous trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This was a beautifully planned trip - such amazing views, peaceful rides, comfortable hotels. We have done many of these bike tours now and this rates as one of our most favorite. We highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Anne Stanek 4 months ago

    A gorgeous trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This was a beautifully planned trip - such amazing views, peaceful rides, comfortable hotels. We have done many of these bike tours now and this rates as one of our most favorite. We highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Marlys Manthei 3 months ago

    The Family trip of a lifetime!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    My husband and I did this self guided tour two different times in the past. We loved it so much that this time we wanted to share the experience with our entire family: our four adult children and their spouses and our nine grandchildren, ages 9 through 21. There were 19 of us and we all had a fabulous time. We shortened the trip to just biking from Krimml to Salzburg on a 6-night tour.
    We did this tour in June of 2022. The tour. company graciously arranged for a bus to take us from Salzburg to Krimml at the start of the tour. Even that was fun for the group. On the bike ride, everyone enjoyed stops for apple strudel, swimming in the lake, riding the gondola on the ski hill, the hike to Krimml waterfall and much more. Every day we were surrounded by the most amazing beauty. The kids and teens were never bored. 22 miles a day was just right for our group and we stayed together in a long line. We opted for a night in Zell am See and that was the favorite overnight - a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.
    We were blessed with perfect weather every day. One evening it rained and we found a bowling alley right in our hotel so that was fun for everyone. We highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Mully July 14, 2016

    Great way to experience Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    A wonderful experience. I have traveled to Europe many times, but this was the best way to see it in my opinion. I would recommend taking an extra day here and there along the ride to spend some additional time in areas that you have interest in so the focus isn't always.getting to the next destination. I think what makes this type of trip unique is that you are better immersed in the local sights and culture...you are on a bike, not in a bus or car. The countryside trickles by at a comfortable rate that encourages exploration. The lake portion of this particular trip involved considerable road travel which was a bit unexpected, but drivers were courteous and we quickly became used to it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 25
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) allisong August 9, 2017

    Wonderful trip with my daughter!

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    We did a self-guided tour and had a wonderful time. We used electric bikes and I was very happy with that choice. It was still a lot of work and we got a ton of exercise, but it made it so we were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The paths were very good and we were on roads only about 10% of the time. The hotels were very nice-small and quaint with lovely breakfasts. The tour director in Austria was very quick to reply when the electric stopped working on my bike on the 4th day. She found someone to fix the bike early the next day. The only challenge was reading the maps but that was part of the adventure. We definitely made more than a few wrong turns and had to backtrack, but having the electric bikes made it okay.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6-13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by allisong)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Fishchico August 18, 2017

    Azure blue lakes

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    The Lakes option of the Danube River path was amazing. Lake Mondsee, Attersee and Traunsee were crystal clear and the most beautiful shade of azure blue. Most of the riding was along dedicated bike paths and lesser travelled roads. People friendly and helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30 - July 7,2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Lake Mondsee (photo by Fishchico)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kretch October 3, 2017

    One of the most beautiful rides I have taken in Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    I am so glad I elected to ride from Salzburg to Vienna rather than Passau. The ride was beautiful, mountains coming down to the bike trails and Alpine lakes to ride along. It was not difficult for the average rider and a ranking of easy 2 is fair. From Linz to Vienna was also very nice and it gave us enough river riding to make the trip a good combination of mountains and riverside.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9-5-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    15 non supported rides in Europe
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Norm November 2, 2017

    Great ride.

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    Austria is beautiful with a lot of historic sites. We were late in season so a bit cooler, rained for 2 days but we were prepared. Very impressed with hotels and the mix of modern and historic settings, professionally organized. Only complaint was that on first part of trip, bike trail was not marked well and descriptions were hard to follow eg. go for a short ways and turn right at first farmyard turn left at the country road - keep at the block to the right? To a stranger to the area lot of this didn't make sense. We ended up getting most of our directions from local people who were very helpful. The portion on the Danube bike trail was very easy to follow.
    Overall we were pleased with the tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 8 to 13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by Norm)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) eb53 June 17, 2018

    extraordinary trip across Austria

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    This trip was truly stunningly beautiful. We were amazed at how much beauty and variety could be packed into one trip. Even though the directions were sometimes confusing, it was easy to figure your way around--the signage is fantastic and people are exceedingly kind and friendly. We really loved the self-guided option--it increased the sense of adventure, freedom and self-reliance. All accommodations were splendid as were the breakfasts. We were amazed at how great the bike infrastructure is in Austria--way better than in the US. Everyone bikes and cyclists are respected. Motorists were very considerate of cyclists. Temperatures in Austria were WAY ABOVE NORMAL this year. The lakes part of the trip was some of the best riding we have ever done; we also loved the Wachau region. We wished that
    this part had been longer. If we had it to do over, we would add a day to the lakes and maybe take a train over sections of the Danube. . . Do not miss the ecological gardens in Tullin! We wished we could have spent a day there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is our first long tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection