Croatia  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast
    (5/5) Joseph Avveduti August 14, 2022

    Great first biking cruise

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    Our guides were excellent, gave informative briefing before each bike trip, insured our tour safety on the bikes and roads. The bikes were ready and maintained. Croatia is beautiful and the people are friendly.

    Harmonia was very comfortable and her crew was excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July-August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Anthony Haney August 15, 2022

    Exceeded All Expectations

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    This bike-boat tour was exceptional in ALL aspects. The Romantica was well crewed...the chef prepared outstanding and delicious meals...our tour guides, Senad and Luka, were extremely knowledgeable, engaging, humorous, and all -around good guys who wanted us to have an unbelievable experience, which we did. For non-regular bike riders, the e-bikes were a Godsend. We had so many enrichment activities...bee keeper, wine tasting, chocolate tasting, tour of boat engine room, Croatian language and history lessons, kayaking, river rafting, organic farm lunch, special group Peka dinner, after ride swimming in the Adriatic...that were artfully and skillfully woven into the tapestry of our journey. Well done. We will definitely do this again! Thank you Jim of Biketours for making this happen.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Ellen Meyer November 19, 2022

    Great trip

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    We all had a great time despite most of us getting mild cases of COVID. Our local tour guides were excellent and always happy to help us with whatever we needed. Of course Croatia's Dalmatia Coast is absolutely beautiful. The additional outings (wine, chocolate, olive oil tastings) were all very well planned and enjoyable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0 before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Jannie July 11, 2016

    A wonderful experience!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    We enjoyed our experience very much! Our seven day tour was very challenging for my athletic husband and me who LOVED my e bike! I couldn't have done the trip with a regular bike due to the elevation and high temperatures during our tour. Don't hesitate to take an bike because you can still pedal and get a workout, but you can also get a boost when you need it on long inclines in high heat conditions.
    Croatia is a beautiful country and our tour guides Ielena and Eugen were fantastic! Their knowledge of history and biking helped us to have a thoroughly informative and safe ride. The crew of the boat was very helpful and friendly too.
    A couple things to keep in mind is the high heat requires light breathable synthetic fabric ( no Cotten clothing!) and head protection . I would suggest taking electrolyte supplement to add to water and it was difficult to stay hydrated. Perhaps we will travel here again during a cooler season but even so, we thoroughly enjoyed this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 3 -10, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Photo 1 (photo by Jannie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Pekka55 August 22, 2016

    Over our expectations

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    This was our first visit in Croatia, and this bike - boat tour really showed us the beauty of the Croation islands. We stayed 7 days at MY Melody, which was a real luxury yacht with big cabins, sundeck, very good staff, and the ship was also very clean.
    Cycling routes were quit hard, because they started every day at the same way, right away to the uphill without any warm up. Cycling routes were in a very good condition and there were not much traffic. After the daily ride, they all finished in a long serpentine back to the port. Very nice cycling.
    The atmosphere in the villages on the islands is pleasant, we liked it very much.
    And last but not least, our very international group was superb, very much joy and laugh every day and all the time.
    I think that we seriously consider that in the future we take apart to some other bike boat tour in Croatia, I hope so.
    Pekka and Kirsi Finland

    What was the date of your tour?
    6 - 13.8.2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • MY Melody (photo by Pekka55)
    • Croatia august 2016 (photo by Pekka55)
    • MY Melody 2016 (photo by Pekka55)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) barbara 427 August 17, 2017

    Another great bike tour

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    It was a great way to see the southern Croatian islands. The guides were a lot of fun. The boat, the melody was beautiful, the crew was great. And the captain was so nice. The E-bikes are the way to go. It made the tour so much more pleasurable. I've done hills with a regular bike and it was rough But with the EBike it makes the tour fun and still allows you to get a great work out. The islands are so beautiful, and the people were so nice. I'm thinking about doing the northern islands next year.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 16-22
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) everettd November 6, 2017

    Fantastic trip!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Great bike tour ! Well organized and our tour guides , Marin and Ivan , were excellent being very helpful and knowledgeable. The days were well planned and everything went on time . Accommodations on the boat were also excellent as well as the staff on the boat delivering an overall excellent experience . Beautiful way to experience Croatia !

    What was the date of your tour?
    oct 14-21 , 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lilian092 September 14, 2018
    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    What was the date of your tour?
    08/17-8/25 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Vicki November 13, 2018

    Fabulous. No complaints about anything!!!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    All around terrific! Great guides. Love the boat! Great guests

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 6
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Eduardo August 30, 2019

    More than expected

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Very good experience being on the boat allows you to move freely

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 17
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lynne Niemeyer October 22, 2022

    Great trip Bike/boat

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The guides were terrific. Croatia is beautiful and we has some wonderful biking on the islands. Trips were well planned and other interesting activities were included. Sedad and team were quite knowledgeable on some of history in the area

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    A lot
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Donald Woodhouse November 7, 2022

    A wonderful way to see the islands and small towns

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Croatia has always had good reputation for an early and late season vacations. Our trip in mid-May was perfect, the Adriatic was warming up every day and the 75 degree weather was ideal. This affordable trip suppled us with comfortable rooms, a nice dining area and a shaded sunning area on top. The National Parks were beautiful and relatively uncrowded compared to the larger cities and the parks in the rest of Europe. We didn’t know anyone else on the tour when we arrived but soon found new friends for future travel experiences. Our guides were fun and helpful and e bikes made hilly sections much easier to navigate and quality of the bikes were first rate. We look forward to catching another tour on the Magellan or their sister boat in 23!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) M 4 months ago

    Great guides!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Charming small towns, amazing antiquities, gorgeous coastlines! The e-bikes made the climbs easy and there was was only one very rainy day and one very windy day. Otherwise we got lucky with the weather in late October. Mario and Kristopher were knowledgeable, engaging, funny and personable. Throughout Croatia we were treated well. Split and Trogir had good restaurants and nice places to stay before and after our time on the boat. The food on the boat was plentiful, fine. Beds were comfy and private bathrooms worked well for us. The ship’s captain could have taken more direct action when several guests got caught in a current while swimming but our guides prevailed in assisting them. One regret, we were not able to visit Vis due to stormy weather.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by M)
    •  (photo by M)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Donnan Party June 30, 2016

    Amazing Trip With Lots of Hills

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Our Croatian adventure exceeded all expectations! The routes were very scenic, the locals were so friendly, and the food was delicious and totally fresh! We've done several bike trips in Europe, and this was definitely one of our favorites.

    We paid a little more for the hotels and were very pleased with the accommodations. The breakfasts were very generous, and the rooms were spacious and clean. Hotel staff was great at all locations, too. There were two nights at each hotel, which was nice, since we weren't constantly packing and unpacking.

    Our booking experience was great. There were 8 in our party, with all different itineraries, and everyone signed up at different times, which created hotel booking challenges. Brittany was so patient and answered all of our emails promptly. Most of us needed to add nights onto the basic package, and Brittany took care of that for us, too.

    I can't say enough good things about the local tour company. We were self-guided, but when we ran into a little trouble on our first day (someone in our group fell off the bike), the local company was incredibly responsive and there when we needed them. There was constant communication throughout the trip, and they made sure everything went smoothly. Our luggage was transferred without incident and was always waiting for us in our room at the end of our travel days.

    The directions on the route sheets were easy to follow, and with odometers on all the bikes, we never really got lost (which is a first for us). Having a choice of rides on most days, and the details on restaurants and points of interest in each of the towns we passed through made the rides even more enjoyable. The bikes were comfortable and everything we needed was supplied: tire repair kits, spare tubes, pumps, locks, etc. The collapsible panniers were awesome and transported wine very nicely!

    The only negative thing I could say about the trip is that we were on main roads more than I would have liked. On previous trips to Italy and France, there were more back road options. But there wasn't a whole lot of traffic, and the cars generally gave us a comfortable amount of space when passing. The ride was definitely hillier and more difficult than we expected from a difficulty rating of 3, but the uphills weren't too steep and they were definitely worth it for the views!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/11/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) none July 10, 2016

    Best Possible organization!

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Aside from the beautiful scenery of Croatia, Tomislav and the folks at Meridien Ten travel provided really outstanding material for our self-guided tours. The route sheets were easy to follow and much clearer than I have seen on other tours, and all the arrangements were faultless. Also, our group had some complications during the first day, and Tomislav went out of his way to help us out. This involved some extra driving on his part and when I attempted to at least pay for the gasoline, and he refused. Really fabulous folks - I definitely recommend traveling with them in Croatia. The only thing I would change was the selection of the hotel Lacroma in Dubrovnik - for me this hotel was too large and crowded. The front desk was overwhelmed with tour groups and could not keep things straight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 10, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lori July 11, 2016

    Canada meets Croatia!

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia is a beautiful, welcoming country with so much to offer travelers from all over. The people, sights, cuisine and water (both drinking and swimming) of Croatia will not disappoint. BikeTours helped us have a see the country we wanted easily! If you are a 'recreational' rider I would highly recommend their e-bikes. There are some serious climbs and we were thankful for them daily! If you're a veteran, serious rider you're going to get the workout you're looking for. The hotels were all awesome, we felt spoiled and appreciated at each stop and our luggage was always there well ahead of our arrival. It was easy, fun and all in all a trip to remember! Put this part of the world at the top of your must see places!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • We're off! (photo by Lori)
    • All smiles (photo by Lori)
    • Perfect pit stop (photo by Lori)
    • Biking on water :) (photo by Lori)
    • Cheering for Croatia! (photo by Lori)
    • An excellent description of what's to come. (photo by Lori)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) brad rass July 18, 2016

    Great ride with great food and even better scenery

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    I am just back from my trip to Europe which included an altered bike tour from Dubrovnik to Split. I had shortened the trip to 4 days so to fit my other plans in Italy. What a mistake! Mistake 1. Make sure you have time to tour and visit Dubrovnik. We arrived in the late afternoon and had no time to visit the old city. It looked gorgeous as we passed it in a bus from the airport. Our hotel was very nice but a way from the old city. Mistake 2. Make plans to see the walls in Ston. They are stunning. Mistake 3. I dropped the extra day in Hvar. Lots to do in this fun packed town especially if you like the night life. Only spent about three hours in Split and it was very hectic compared to the other towns. Overall, what a ride! There are a number of climbs each day so the rating of 3 out of 5 should be closer to 4 out of 5. The route has limited traffic so safety is not a concern. The pre-ride prep on site was excellent. The bikes were in good order.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 5 to 9
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Tottie July 13, 2017

    Stunning!

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Fantastic hotels, service, information. Amazing scenery and routes on well maintained comfy bikes. Truely a trip in a million

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 29- July 5th
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) BusterBrown September 29, 2017

    A great way to see Croatia

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Meridian Ten is the local company that built and ran the tour. Our hotels were first class and all the bag transfers and water taxis were flawless. The bikes weren’t new but were well maintained and worked without any problems. Tom met us at our start point and gave us a briefing and a book describing all the suggested routes and options, There are also recommendations for dining and other activities in the book that came in handy.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 20-26, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Lots of coastal riding and gorgeous beaches. (photo by BusterBrown)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jake October 5, 2017

    Great Trip

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    4 star hotels were great. Do not see the need to go with 5 star. Luggage transfer was a concern but went off without a flaw. Luggage showed up right on time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    12 +
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection