Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 6)

  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Richie and Trish October 12, 2021

    Gute Fahren im die Berge

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had an amazing time on this tour. The scenery was breathtaking. It was so exciting to cycle along these beautiful rivers with the alps rising above us on both sides. The days just flew by as we cycled along. This was our seventh European tour and this ride compared very favorably with other rides we’ve taken. When we arrived in Innsbruck we found that we had to walk to a bike shop to pick up our bikes. Normally the bikes are delivered to our hotel but we took the walk and the shop owner was very helpful. Although the bikes were very heavy we found them quite roadworthy. They may have been the best bikes we’ve used in Europe. The hotels we stayed at we all lovely and provided us with great breakfasts. We especially enjoyed the Hotel Post in Zittertal with its rooftop infinity swimming pool. It was amazing. We also enjoyed having a rest day in Zell am see although it was hardly restful. We hiked, took a boat excursion and went to a fabulous spa for a swim. Many reviews of this tour complain about the book that accompanies the tour and now we know why. It’s very confusing and was not at all helpful. Usually the books on these tours are much more helpful and give recommendations for lunches and dinners. This book did none of that. The trail is well marked in most places but not in others. We often found ourselves scratching our heads trying to make sense of the signs on the trail and the directions in the book. We are seniors and found ourselves walking the bikes up hills from time to time but most of the ride was gentle easy riding. When we weren’t on dedicated bike paths the roads were quiet with little traffic. Overall it was an amazing trip that we would recommend to anyone who loves being in the mountains.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 13 - 19 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tricia Hoggan August 8, 2022

    Amazing

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    It was wonderful. The scenery was spectacular. The hotels were perfect. I can't say enough good things about the trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (5/5) Robin Jones September 16, 2022

    Breathtaking scenery and flawless trip

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was an incredible trip and the perfect way to see Austria! Cycling through the back farm lands was incredible and we were amazed at how absolutely green it was! The hotels were nice (some quite noisy)depending on where your room is located. Our bikes were top notch and we couldn't have asked for more. They were easy to handle, comfortable and worked perfectly for the duration of the trip. We didn't use the provided guide book but used google maps instead. This allowed us to take a few "off route" trails. It's amazing how accessible Austria makes it for people to be outdoors and enjoy nature, and the maintenance of the trails are perfect. We were concerned when the travel company did not provide us with luggage tags for our luggage transfers but they arrived daily without a problem. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Katherine Johnson September 20, 2022

    Fantastic

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We were blown away by the quality of the cycle trails and the beauty of Austria. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely, and the bikes were comfortable! We highly recommend this trip!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (5/5) Nicolas Roggeman September 23, 2022

    Amazing Austrian Alpine

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    From Innsbruck through the Zillertal Valley, to Krimml and down toward Zell am See, Lofer and ending up in Salzburg – what an adventure, what great sights, doesn't get any better. The hotels were spectacular, and in spite of the rain in late September, we had a fantastic time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    mid September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3-5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Innsbruck at 5 (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Gasthof Post Hotel Infinity pool (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Pastures that go up forever (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Safe cycle paths most of the way (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Even the rain couldn't deter us (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Great sightseeing in Salzburg (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Harry Kaufman October 5, 2022

    What's not to love!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    The trip was wonderful, the scenery is beyond beautiful, and Bike Tours promptly fixe3d the one bicycle problem we had.

    My wife and I loved every day. The one issue and I don't say complaint, because we had a wonderful time was the maps. The maps are basically worthless. Maybe Vasco De Gama could have figured them out, but we couldn't. Of the problems, they are in a book so you can't loo k at them while you are cycling because they are in your panier, and I can't memorize them. Most of the time, you follow the trail and you can figure it out, and if you get lost so what? You are lost in a beautiful place. The last day was pretty rough, good luck getting to and finding a way to and out of Bad Reichenall. But we did and loved it.

    So, we cannot wait for the next trip!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Nicolas Roggeman October 7, 2022

    Great scenery, wonderful routing and fabulous hotels

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Although we left it a little late to do this ride, starting on September 13th, we thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous self-guided tour. The scenery is to die for – lots of quaint villages set in the mountains on excellent bike paths most of the way and the hotels, for the most part, offered fantastic rooms, plentiful breakfasts and charming hospitality.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 13-19, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2-3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Starting off in colourful Innsbruck (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Fabulous infinity pool at the Hotel Post in Strass (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • On the Zilertall Valley trail (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • fabulous views of green pastures and farm animals (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Leaving Zell am See on our way to Lofer (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • Made it to enjoy a great visit of Salzburg's highlights (photo by Nicolas Roggeman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Larry Chambers January 22, 2023

    A Bike Trip You Don't Want To Pass Up

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Let me start by says this is a great ride!!! The ride is generally flat, some very small hills. Our group consisted of seasoned and beginner riders. Two in our group used E-Bikes with no problems. So, if you feel that you could not ride the whole trip peddling manually, get an E-Bike, worked great!
    Your first two days you will be working your way to Zell Am Ziller, transfer point over the mountain. Zell Am Ziller is nice little town. Has a brewery, shopping and a nice little restaurant by the river. The train station in town is the pickup point. The drive over the mountain to Krimml is roughly an hour.
    Krimml sits at the top of the canyon, so the ride going forward will be a slow downhill, flat spots, and a couple small rolling hills. The waterfall at Krimml is incredible. The 10/15-minute walk to the base is worth it. Now, if you really want to see more of the fall, be hike ready. It took us over 40 minutes to get to the café that is two-thirds up the falls. Nice stopping point. If you decide to climb the last section, it does get steeper. Honestly, if you stop at the café, that’s good enough. Also, give yourself roughly 3 hours if you climb the falls.
    When you leave Krimml the next day, this will be your longest stretch. Don’t be intimidated, the route is straight forward. Take you time, enjoy the view, stop in Mittersill and have lunch in the square.
    Zallar Am See is touristy, but still a beautiful city. We spent our day off going up to the top of the ski slopes. Great views if its not cloudy, just wear a jacket. Plenty of shopping and site seeing in town. The lake is also a good place to hang out.
    Your trip to Lofer will offer a walk-in cave and gorges. The cave was interesting, takes 30 minutes. The gorge is a ride uphill. E-Bike for anyone who struggles with hills. Lofer is a small quiet town. Good stop to rest.
    Finally, heading to Salzburg. I didn’t think we would see anything as good as the previous days, but I was wrong. This stretch offers farmland views and various things to stop and see. We decided to head straight to Salzburg because of our limited time. I would recommend you book an additional day in Salzburg, lots to see. One stop I would recommend is the brewery called “Augustiner”. As Americans, we don’t see breweries like this. You don’t have to be a beer drinker to enjoy the beer garden or even the beer halls inside. It’s just cool!!! I would also recommend the fortress above the old part of Salzburg. Go early!!
    One thing I do need to note. The map and directions that are provided can be confusing in some spots (usually when leaving or getting into larger towns). I recommend using a GPS. If you do run into issues, the locals are very helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Zell am See (photo by Larry Chambers)
    • Krimml Waterfall (photo by Larry Chambers)
    • Outside Mittersill (photo by Larry Chambers)
    • Salzburg, Austria (photo by Larry Chambers)
    • The Beer Garden at the Augustiner (photo by Larry Chambers)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • (5/5) Tracey Thiele 6 months ago

    Fabulous Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Tour through the Austrian Alps was fabulous! The scenery gorgeous, accommodations and breakfasts lovely, and the ease having our luggage picked up and delivered made for a lighter and joyful time on the bike. Recommend this trip to anyone wanting the independence of a self-guided tour along with the ease of having a tour company provide the GPS, make hotel reservations and shuttle bags.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lauren Brzozowski 6 months ago

    Exceptional Scenery

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This trip delivers epic views from start to finish. We were constantly in awe of the Austrian countryside and quality bike paths. This trip was enjoyable with a good amount of riding and opportunities for site seeing. It felt like a vacation. Hotels and villages were charming and well selected. We chose to add extra days in both Innsbruck and Salzburg. This was the right choice for us because it allowed more time for sightseeing. As mentioned in other reviews, the route book was challenging to navigate/ ride with, so we downloaded their GPS tracks which made navigation a breeze.
    We loved the extra info in the route book such as places of interest along the route. We stopped at most and would recommend trying to see as many as possible. On a past biketour.com trip, the route book also included recommendations for restaurants. That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for a great trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 15 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Nancy Nestler 6 months ago

    Where's the sun?!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Even though we were a bit unlucky with the weather, the trip was fabulous!! The trails were leisurely and well marked. I know we missed out on some views because of our weather, but what we saw was amazing!! I loved staying in different cities and lodging each night. All places were clean and staff was friendly. I'd love to go back and do this trip again -- hopefully with clearer skies.
    I would suggest being sure all bikes are equipped with odometers and a front basket that has a place to display the written directions so they are easily accessible. I had this on prior tours and missed it greatly this time. But overall -- very excellent!! I'd do it again in a heartbeat!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) chuck hughes 5 months ago

    Innsbrock to Salzburg

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Great way to see Austria, really enjoyed the trip, and would recommend it to others. Everything was very well planned and it went very smoothly.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Kirk R 5 months ago

    Beautiful riding in Austria

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    The scenery on the ride through the Austrian Alps was amazing! Bike paths and trails on nearly the entire ride. The bikes we rented were in excellent condition. There was plenty of time to stop and explore the small towns along the route. The transfer of luggage was seamless, with prompt pickup and drop off each morning. The breakfast provided was very good and a great way to start the day. We will definitely consider another European bike tour in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) MarcieB October 4, 2015

    Wonderful way to visit the shores of the Bodensee . . .

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We like to book tours in September, but weather can be a concern. We selected the 11-day Bodensee tour and only experienced two days of wet weather! The paths were well marked, the hotels comfortable and well-situated, the daily program manageable, the museum pass wonderful, and the meals and Apfelstrüdel delicious. As two 70+ cyclers, this trip was by far the easiest we have done!

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our 6th self-guided tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Cycling along the Rhein delta . . . a nature reserve rich in birdlife and agricultural lands. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The Mainau Insel (7 k from Konstanz) was incredibly beautiful. We arrived at 10:00 (opening time) and enjoyed the place to ourselves for about an hour. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The magnificent Rheinfall (Schaffhausen) is a must see. A small boat takes passengers to the island where you see the arch! (photo by MarcieB)
    • Stein am Rhein features painted facades, the Lindwurm Museum and a lovely ambiance. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Konstanz (3 different overnights at the same hotel) became our home base. Holly's is highly recommended for good food, decent prices and casual ambiance. (photo by MarcieB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sandy November 4, 2015

    Great ride with friends of different levels

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The ride around Lake Constance, (the Boden See) was wonderful fun. There were 13 of us and we varied from level2 to level 4 riders. All enjoyed the ride! The quaint towns along the way were fun to stop and visit and the Lake was beautiful! We saw the Alps one sunny day which was a highlight for us.

    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Wiederholen May 19, 2016

    Great Trip in a Beautiful Part of the World

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The Bodensee cycle path trip was a winner from the start. We went in September when the weather was still nice and the crowds had thinned. After flying into Zurich, Konstanz was very easy to get to by train, and the ABC Hotel there was great, as was the scenery and food around town. We went to the bike shop to pick up our equipment (although they would gladly deliver to the hotel) and met some nice people who mapped out a riverfront route back to the hotel for us. The bikes were perfect and the cycling each day was very easygoing, allowing us ample time to explore (and eat and drink). Pro tip: check the schedule for the ferry from Insel Reichenau to Allensbach in advance - we just missed the 10:00 sailing on our first day, and as the next ferry didn't go until 13:00 we chose to cycle back on the causeway rather than wait three hours for the boat. Not a problem, it just added several miles to the trip on to Stein am Rhein. One of our favorite stops was in Überlingen, which we arrived in via ferry from Wallhausen. The hotel location along the lake was fantastic, and we had fun stopping for drinks along the promenade. I agree with another reviewer that the marina hotel near Kressbronn was out of character with the rest of the journey, but it was a nice, clean, modern hotel with great food and easy access to the lake and I won't downvote the trip because of it. The variety of the hotels we stayed at along this trip was actually one of the positives. Our side trip to the Bronze Age stilt houses (Pfahlbauten Unteruhldingen) was very interesting and worth the stop. The Altstadt and harbor in Lindau are beautiful, and while we were slightly lost for a bit the people in the tourist office were incredibly helpful in getting us back onto the cycle path. In Bregenz, Austria we rode the cable car (Pfänderbahn) to the mountaintop for lunch and, even though it was an overcast day, still had some great views of the lake below, even if the Alps were obscured. Crossing the Rhein back into Switzerland brought us many miles of cycling right along the beautiful south shore of the Bodensee (highly recommend a lunch stop on the lakeshore patio at The Pier in Uttwil). Crossing the border back into Konstanz was slightly confusing, but part of the fun of these trips is finding your way. It was nice to get back to Konstanz and spend some more time exploring that town.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Wine tasting in Überlingen (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Sunset over the Bodensee (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Visit to the Bronze Age Pfahlbauten (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Navigating the Altstadt in Lindau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Taking a break on Insel Reichenau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Beautiful architecture in Konstanz (photo by Wiederholen)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) jaesc June 19, 2016

    Lake Constance Bike Tour

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Truly enjoyed the experience! Completed 33 500 mile rides in the USA and the Lake Constance tour was the best! Hotels better than expected and rental equipment excellent, highly recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 01 - 07
    How many tours have you completed?
    33
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) ukidocny June 20, 2016

    Perfectly organized.

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Great trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All perfectly organized by local tour company; German of course. Hotels were all centrally located but I would have preferred higher tier hotel options. Perfect for ALL different types of cyclists. I would STRONGLY recommend this tour; easy, beautiful and varied landscape, innumerous food options, multiple detour options to extend your daily mileage etc.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 5, 2016 start date
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Alpskier August 4, 2016

    Wonderful & Easy Biking Adventure for All

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This was my 11th ride with Biketours and one of the easiest and most enjoyable! The mileage averaged around 25 miles, and except for a few hills on the second day, the ride was generally flat, on easily identifiable bike routes. It's nearly impossible to get lost, and for first-timers that's important. You simply follow a defined path around Lake Constance, also known as the Bodensee, and the Rhine River towards Shaffhausen. On some rides I've taken, you ride for 35 miles and wind up in a town that was selected as a place to lay your head rather than a destination of some interest. Each of the towns and cities as you ride from Germany, into Switzerland, eventually through Austrian, and back to Germany are wonderful places with well-preserved medieval old towns. So we'd leave our hotel by 9 and be in the next town by 1 with plenty to do for the rest of the day. Radweg-Reisen is the local tour provider. It's a first-class operation from top to bottom. You receive a detailed personalized tour packet with easy-to-understand route information as well as must-see sights to see in each town. My wife and I chose the A hotel options, which for about two hundred dollars more allowed us to stay in quaint 3 and 4 hotels. Each were literally on the bike route! As a top tip, I'd strongly recommend purchasing the meal plan which includes breakfast and a 3 course dinner. This keeps costs down and some of the meals were truly memorable. The bikes appeared new, and were perfect for touring. Sometimes the path was on crushed gravel or sand; other times you followed an asphalted route. The width of the tires was perfect for the task. The other thing about the bike was the number of adjustments you could make in order to personalize your bike. Here's another top top: when you shop in your start and stop city in Constance, or Konstanz, as it's known locally, you can immediately get 19% tax back by simply walking over to the customs office at the train station. Receive a stamp that you are not living in the EU and go back to your store and get cash back. Constance is a great place to shop, especially for shoes! Finally, the scenery around the lake is spectacular. It's a great choice for all.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    11
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) bienchen August 11, 2016

    fantastic trip

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Very relaxing and fun way to experience three countries, stay at bed & breakfasts, cycle at your own pace during the day, stop at tourist sites, and check into your next hotel in the afternoon/evening and grab dinner at a local restaurant. Hotels varied from simple to four-star. We liked the ones close to town best because we were able to explore different places in the evenings.
    Will definitely go with that company again in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection