Dalmatia  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (3/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Beautiful scenery

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Excellent support
    Really challenging cycling
    Doublecheck that inner tubes have been properly fitted before you start

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (3/5) EDWH August 23, 2017

    Fun, but a few qualifications

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We had a great time but the parks were not quite as interesting or attractive as we had hoped. And some of the bike rides (the 3rd day in particular) difficult hills with nothing at all to see. Description said a ride around Vraner Lake and we never even saw it. That was coupled with the hottest week in the summer as temps were near or over 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Guides showed little flexibility in schedules or changes to accommodate the heat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 29, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    25 or 30
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Labia September 6, 2018

    Glad we did it - but too hot in August

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    This is our third bike tour. The boat was much nicer than others we have been on. The cabins were very large and a good size bathroom. The food was good (not great). It was nice to have two tour guides. The downside was that it was really hot and the sun too blazing to enjoy the bike rides a lot. The landscape I would also say is a bit repetitive. All in all I wish we could have done it some weeks later with fewer crowds in town and especially cooler weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    18 August
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (3/5) John Cooley 8 months ago

    Great trip---but could have been better

    · · Coastal Islands of Southern Dalmatia

    This was a great trip, however the lead guide was difficult to get along with ---the second guide was new and fantastic. The lead guide was overly strict and a bit condescending. We did not bike one of the days because he decided since there was rain we would not cycle. That was VERY disappointing. I was on a boat bike trip in Belgium and Netherlands and we biked rain or shine. The time we started biking was a bit late too-----it did not leave much time for for activities after biking.

    The saving grace for the trip was the staff was fantastic on the Yolo.

    One additional note is that this should be E-bike only....there is no way for a regular bike to keep up with ebikes on the terrain on this trip. One of the passengers insisted on riding a regular bike and on two separate days had to switch bikes with the guide in the rear so he could make it. He should have been told to switch to an ebike by the guides.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (4/5) Maureen Zaccardi October 22, 2022

    Great bike and boat!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The trip was really a lot of fun. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and willing to do anything for us. The scenery was fabulous. Croatian islands are fantastic. The biking was less rigorous than I expected. Trip was good for first time cyclists. The boat was good.
    The only ISSUE was the food! It Was r terrible. We did NOT want to eat on the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    60-70
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Maureen Zaccardi October 23, 2022

    Great bike and boat!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The trip was really a lot of fun. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and willing to do anything for us. The scenery was fabulous. Croatian islands are fantastic. The biking was less rigorous than I expected. Trip was good for first time cyclists. The boat was good.
    The only ISSUE was the food! It Was r terrible. We did NOT want to eat on the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    60-70
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Mary Stewart October 23, 2022

    Island hopping Croatia

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The best part of this bike tour was the country, islands, guides and weather. The food was not as advertised ( highlighted a gourmet chef ) The best meals were not on the boat. The guides and scenery were outstanding. The boat was ok. I felt that bike tours did not offer the same service as we would have had if we booked directly. I highly recommend doing a bike tour of the Croatia islands but with a premium boat and a better chef

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    50 plus
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Tina Vessels October 25, 2022

    Excellent guides disappointed food

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    There was a great discrepancy between the quality of the guides and the quality of the food on our boat. The guides the tour the islands were magical howeverMost of the dinners were uneditable Somewhere in the description there was a note about quality shifts however that was not the case for us

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (4/5) nlparker June 16, 2017

    Gorgeous Country; Warm, Welcoming People; Challenging Climbs

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Right choice for our family of 6. Cycling on islands was scenic and safe. Routes through small villages, wineries, along crystal blue Adriatic coasts. Thorough orientation by MeridienTen staff including additional & alternate route choices. Good bikes and good decision to bring our shoes & pedals for the climbs. Dependable transportation among islands. Excellent lodging & breakfasts especially in Dubrovnik, Korcula, Split. Furnished materials included informative Croatian history & culture. Perfect weather. Thanks to MeridienTen staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5.29-6.4.2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Croatia cycling

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Excellent support. The scenery is as remarkable as on the adverts of Croatia tourism - stunning! The cycling is extremely challenging, particularly in very warm weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 28-Sept. 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Sandra Page November 8, 2022

    Trip of a lifetime

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Two weeks of heaven. !! Was the perfect way to experience the coastline of Croatia and experience Split and Dubrovnik. Plenty of history combined with cycling, cruising and culinary delight. Wine, olives, chocolate, pottery and lavender for the local flare . Quaint towns, beautiful sunrise and sunsets from the boat. Our guides where amazing getting us to the best spots and being extremely knowledgeable and kept us safe !! Our guides we’re able to shift gears when needed and in the heat of July we’re able to accommodate a comfortable swim in a quiet cove everyday. The beautiful coves and swims turned out to be some of our most memorable moments.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Cati C 5 months ago

    Incredible trip, but expensive

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia is without an ounce of doubt one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Biking the islands exceeded every expectation - pristine blue waters, olive and grape vineyards + tasting, beautiful stone villages. It was all wonderful. Our hotels in Hvar and Korcula were also outstanding.

    That said, I do not know why this tour is so much more expensive than every other tour offered on this site. Two of our three hotels were excellent, and they do provide boat transfers; however, our hotel in Split (the first two nights) was very mediocre, and most boat transfers are cheap ferry rides. Also, this trip is 6 days long. On Day 1, there is a short option to cycle on Split (12km). On Day 5, there is again a short option to cycle on Korcula island. On Day 6, there is no cycling and they do not include accommodations in Dubrovnik (so, it seems odd that this day is included in the price calculation). I have done other cycling tours that include significantly more cycling/lodging for a fraction of the cost. I am not someone who needs to bike 60+ km a day, but I do think the value of this tour did not match the cost. It would be increased if they included one more cycling day (either on Mljet island or near Dubrovnik on the mainland) and lodging on the last day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Brač (photo by Cati C)
    • Korčula (photo by Cati C)
    • Hvar (photo by Cati C)
    • Sunset wine stop on Hvar (photo by Cati C)
    • Dubrovnik (photo by Cati C)
    •  (photo by Cati C)
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Wagner Castropil 4 months ago

    Amazing Croatia

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    The tour was very well organized.
    Our operator explained everything perfectly, and we felt very safe, even doing our first bike tour and going by ourselves.
    The climate, views, and places we visited were terrific.
    Everything was perfect but the hotels. Some were very old and had tiny rooms, challenging to rest and relax after a day-long journey.
    But in the end, the balance was super positive

    What was the date of your tour?
    october 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • View from Brac Island (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • Departuring from Hvar Island (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • Arriving in Korcula (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (4/5) Cory June 14, 2019

    Dubrovnik to Split on bikes

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    This is the way to travel! Board your sailboat and unpack once! We enjoyed our stay on the Harmonia. The Bike Tours/Inselhupfen guides went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time, that we were safe, and that any needs were addressed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • The Harmonia (photo by Cory)
    • Dubrovnik. “Walk of Shame” staircase (photo by Cory)
    • Sipan (photo by Cory)
    • Hvar (photo by Cory)
    • Poppies on Mljet (photo by Cory)
    • Loved our bikes! (photo by Cory)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (4/5) Puiyee Tse November 7, 2022

    Too short of the bike ride

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    The bike ride was too short. I would like to have double the bike ride time instead of staying on the boat. The island are great but not enough time to explore each place. The boat food was terrible.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) DickZee August 12, 2017

    Dalmatian Coasts up close

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    This trip met my expectations. Ebike made it easy (I'm 86) Well planned itinerary as trips started easy and progressed in difficulty.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 29-Aug 5, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    over a dozen
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Patty October 10, 2017

    Awesome experience!

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    I was very impressed with the Princessa Diana, she was a beautiful vessel and commanded a lot of attention when we came into port. The guides were phenomenal. Very informative, friendly and helpful. The itinerary was awesome and presented some challenging rides, but the views made it all worth while.
    Food onboard was good and plentiful.
    Would like to see the option of included wine and coffee/tea with dinner and coffee/tea for lunch. (Or offered as an optional add on to the base package price).

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 30, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) TinyTW September 30, 2019

    Bike/Boating Northern Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We had a Fantastic Time on our Boat/Bike Tour of Croatia. It's a really Beautiful Country and we always love seeing new places on our bikes. Toni are guide was Awesome and was always a treat and fun to be with every day. Our boat Melody was very, very nice, comfortable and Brand new, it was actually nice to come home everyday from biking to the boat. It's not a complaint, but something to consider when going to Croatia. The Croatians are not the most Service Oriented/Friendly people. In fact our guide Toni said at the get go that in America the Customer is always right but that is not the case in Croatia. (In the US, you would NEVER hear that from the main guide). The Staff on the boat was good but not very workable or friendly. I had an incident personally where I asked them to do a Special Birthday Surprise for my husband and a few other people on our trip and I spent ALOT of money on 2 birthday cakes and they totally messed it up and the whole thing did not go as planned and nobody knew that it was a surprise. I was very, very upset about it and I got NO Apology or communication about it. It was Interesting being in a Struggling Country with all of the Tourists there spending ALOT of money and the feeling and experience from the locals was not what we expected at all. The food on the boat was very Mediocre, although we did not go hungry. I'm not sure if that is because the food in Croatia is that way, but we have been on many small boat trips and the food has been much, much better. The biking on this trip is really great if you are not a serious biker. My husband & I took our own bikes as we were staying much longer to bike on our owns. The Electric bikes they provided were really, really nice and top of the line from the looks of it and everyone in our group LOVED them. If you are a biker and want more exercise I would recommend their regular hybrid bikes which are also nice. All in all we had a Spectacular time and loved seeing Croatia and would love to go back and ride the Southern Part of Croatia. Thanks for another Great Adventure!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 7-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Charles Curtis September 6, 2022

    Second great trip to Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We loved the first bike and boat trip to Croatia: Highlights of Dalmatia - that we booked this one. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip but not quite as outstanding as the first. Not quite as many interesting stops and the food was good but not outstanding which is why we gave it only four stars.
    There were hills but not as rigorous as the Highlights rides so several had regular bikes and we ebikers didn’t have to wait too long for them to catch up after a climb. The waterfalls at Krka National Park was a highlight

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Charles Curtis September 11, 2022

    Second great trip to Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We loved the first bike and boat trip to Croatia: Highlights of Dalmatia - that we booked this one. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip but not quite as outstanding as the first. Not quite as many interesting stops and the food was good but not outstanding which is why we gave it only four stars.
    There were hills but not as rigorous as the Highlights rides so several had regular bikes and we ebikers didn’t have to wait too long for them to catch up after a climb. The waterfalls at Krka National Park was a highlight

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)