Austrian Alps  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Ernie August 12, 2017

    Scenic Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    The scenery was even better than the promotional pictures indicate. The arrangements were great, the hotels were wonderful, and I would recommend the half-board option. Food was super. Rained on us several days but it was still beautiful. Directions got a little vague in some cases through the cities. We were very happy with our experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RobertH August 30, 2017

    Innsbruck to Salzburg Austria: OUTSTANDING!!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This is a very well run self-guided tour that takes you through beautiful Austria. I was out of the regular "American tourist" areas and experienced true Austria. I had the 7-day tour with a rest day in Zell Am See - highly recommend this option. I did some hiking and a boat trip during my "rest day"! Beautiful mountains and lakes. All my B&B's / hotels were excellent and the staffs were so nice. I also did an extra day at the end of the tour in Salzburg. Wonderful city. The bike was excellent and the represented on Day #1 was very nice and explained working the GPS.

    What was the date of your tour?
    14 to 20 August
    How many tours have you completed?
    8 to 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) DavidW September 5, 2017

    Amazing scenery day after day

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We have cycled in most countries in Europe and picked this trip for two reasons. 1) Our adult daughter was traveling with us, and she loves mountains, and 2) I had major knee surgery this past winter and wanted a ride that was fun but not overly strenuous. This trip met both criteria and more! The scenery from day-to-day was unmatched. My wife and I had visited some of these locations in winter, but the summer was a different and wonderful experience. This trip would be great for novice riders because it would be very hard to get lost (mountains on both sides). Also, being able to ride on dedicated bike trails with very few stretches of road is a great benefit. Just enough gentle climbs to keep your heart pumping.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 20-26, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Innsbruck to Salzburg (photo by DavidW)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) jfred June 20, 2018

    One of our best trips.

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We've taken lots of bike trips, and this was one of our favorites. Innsbruck is well worth a day. The first day down the Inn River is a little disappointing; valley is beautiful, but lots of light industry. After that it becomes spectacular. Up the Zillertal through farmlands, then over a high pass by van to Krimml and down the Salzach River all the way to Salzburg (not as interesting as Innsbruck unless you are really into Mozart memorabilia). We had electric bikes which were much appreciated, but it could be easily be done on conventional bikes. Accommodations were great as were the breakfasts. As for the Austrian food in general, enough with the pork already!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Started June 11, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    At least 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Trisha June 25, 2018

    Trip was a beautiful bike ride through the alps!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had a wonderful bike trip from Innsbruck to Salzburg on electric bikes. The mountains and valleys we biked through were spectacular. I would recommend this trip. The hotels were very good and in great locations. Breakfast were also very good.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 4, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) MichaelandErin September 17, 2018

    Spectacular Scenary

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We thoroughly our cycling trip between Innsbruck and Salzburg. Day one was a nice scenic warm up ride mostly along a river. The second day ride, heading 'up' another valley (still fairly flat in valley, with beautiful mountains on either side) was enjoyable....but the highlight of that day was after the ride. Our transfer minibus picked us up (promptly) that took us up and over to another valley to the town of Krimml. Fortunately, we had enough energy left to hike up to the top of the Krimml falls (tallest series of waterfalls in Europe). Spectacular. Down another valley the next day to Zell am See, where we spent our rest day. Lot's to do there, if it's sunny....but alas, we were rained out (which we were relieved we were not cycling that day). Our highlight day followed, with the combo of stops...one heading inside an extensive cave network (trails inside for the public to travel a fair distance into the mountain), and another stop after that one involved a short hike trail up into a narrow gorge (bring rain gear, waterfalls and mist made it like walking thru a shower in places). Again, unexpected and very, very scenic. Our wrap up in Salzburg we were glad we tacked on a extra day to see some of the local sites.
    Overall, we had a great time. The accommodations were just the right fit to our tastes...friendly, cozy and comfortable. The rental bikes sturdy. The route is mostly bike trails, usually paved, but not always...and with only modest time on side roads. The self guided bike map book was pretty good (although we did have to pull out our smartphone map app to clarify some directions at times). The distances were long enough to feel like we'd traveled someplace, but short enough that we still had time to enjoy the sights.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Smedley September 20, 2018

    This is the reason that we bike!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Wonderful trip, but that doesn't tell you what you really want to know. So here goes a day-by-day review and a few overall impressions.
    Innsbruck - arrive a day or two early to experience the city and mountains. Purchase the 'Innsbruck Card' and save on many of the city's attractions and transportation. Hotel Cafe Central - nice facility close to the 'Old Town'. Ask for the recently renovated rooms.
    Zillertal - good first day ride. Take time to stop at the Swarovski museum complex. Gasthof Hotel Post - nice facility, great menu. Ask for a room away from the dairy farm next door.
    Krimml - short ride, no hurry to arrive at the pickup point for the van ride across the pass. The falls at Krimml are amazing. Prepare yourself for a good hike to see them up close. The Gastehaus Waltl was comfortable. Plenty of dining options in the town.
    Zell am See - Scenic ride. Use the extra rest day to explore the mountains. Weather permitting go to the glacier, ride around the lake and hike the hills. Great dining options. Lebzelter Hotel - in the heart of town, comfortable inn.
    Lofer - best riding day, mountains close on both sides of the narrow valley. Gorges and cave are must visits. Nice lunch at the golf course at the midway point. St Hubertus Hotel was inviting.
    Salzburg - last day of riding was the most challenging. Hills and gravel paths dominated the day. Navigating through Salzburg requires a good map and/or GPS. The Goldenes Theater Hotel was the only accommodation below the standard set by all of the other hotels. Spend an extra day or two in the city.
    General impressions: one of the most scenic rides in Austria with great stops along the way to explore. The booked hotels were excellent with the exception of Salzburg. The route map/directions need to be updated. GPS really helped out especially in the larger towns. Bikes were in great shape but they should be equipped with odometers since the route map is based on distance traveled turn points. You won't be disappointed boking this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August/September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) robbo1 June 24, 2019

    Fantastic scenery

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    An amazing trip with awesome scenery and excellent accommodation. Saw the Krimml Falls at their best and alpine vistas were totally amazing

    What was the date of your tour?
    11 June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) ned75 July 4, 2019

    excellent trip very worth doing

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    the landscape was great, the bike tracks were equally good. Cannot fault the hotels either.
    just one little problem the suitcases arrived late only on one day and it was the rainy day and we looked at sitting around in wet bike gear for three hours. the good thing was that the hotel in Lofer the Hotel St; Hubertus gave us a dressing gown and cakes (at no charge) until the bags arrived. what a nice gesture

    What was the date of your tour?
    16/June 23/June
    How many tours have you completed?
    4th
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Robyn July 18, 2019

    Beautiful Austria

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    I loved this tour.
    We stayed in Innsbruck an extra night, got the Innsbruck Card and went up in the gondolas to the surrounding mountains. The hotels we stayed in were very clean and nice. It was hot so we went swimming in some of the lakes that we passed. My favorite is the ZellamSee . We hiked to the top of Krimml falls which is an amazing waterfall. We hiked up the gorges along the way. In ZellamSee we took the gondola up and traversed the top of the mountain and then took a chairlift down. At the end of our trip in Salzburg we stopped at a local pool and relaxed on the green grass under the trees and reflected in what a wonderful trip we had.!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 23-30
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Traversing the mountain ZellamSee (photo by Robyn)
    • Top of mountain ZellamSee (photo by Robyn)
    • Krimml Waterfall (photo by Robyn)
    • Beautiful glacier lake (photo by Robyn)
    • Biking along path (photo by Robyn)
    • Nice place to relax (photo by Robyn)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RiderSA July 25, 2019

    It was a dream cycle ride!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    What a beautiful way to experience Austria and the Austrian Alps. The journey was well-planned, there was a lot of time to enjoy the scenery and cuisine, and the hotels were all great.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) NancyinCO July 30, 2019

    Amazing Scenery!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was our third bike tour through biketours.com and it was definitely the most scenic. This must be one of the most beautiful areas on earth. Each day seemed better than the day before. Zell am See was absolutely gorgeous, in Lofer we had a beautiful view of the mountains from our room next to a stream, and Bad Reichenhall is a very quaint town you'll want to stop at for refreshments. The inns we stayed at were all we could ask for; very well-chosen, professional and comfortable. The breakfasts were a highlight for me; all-you-can-eat spreads with a wonderful variety of fresh food to give you energy for the day of cycling ahead. I would highly recommend this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 14 - June 21, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Town on the mountainside above Innsbruck (photo by NancyinCO)
    • We requested a tandem. (photo by NancyinCO)
    • Four adults and two teenagers - we all loved this trip! (photo by NancyinCO)
    • Through forests and beside gentle cows with tinkling bells (photo by NancyinCO)
    • Georgeous Zell am See (photo by NancyinCO)
    • Easy cycling most of the way (photo by NancyinCO)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sewathom August 6, 2019
    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by Sewathom)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Sewathom)
    • Krimml Falls (photo by Sewathom)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Sewathom)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Sewathom)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Sewathom)
  • (5/5) Sewathom August 6, 2019

    Our favorite trip so far!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Oh my goodness- where to start? This trip was amazing! Biketours.com took excellent care of us. All of the hotels were great, and we loved each of the towns that we stayed in. The bikes were very comfortable, and they gave us each a large saddle bag that came in handy for carrying water, snacks, cameras, and sunscreen. The route was pretty easy to navigate, as there are signs and well marked bike paths throughout the route. Basically, if you just follow the river, you're going the right way. Having said that, the direction booklet that they give is pretty much useless, so we supplemented with a GPS app. The biking is very flat and easy, so you'll have time to explore the towns, and do other activities along the way. They give you a few brochures but they don't really give good recommendations to things to do/see along the way. I did some research prior to the trip, and these were some that we loved:
    1. Day 2: In Stans, we (very slightly) detoured to Wolfsklamm (beautiful hike through gorge and continue hike up to old monastry (St. Georgenberg) nestled on the top of a cliff overlooking the mountains. There is a restaurant at the top with gorgeous mountain views, good beer, and great traditional Austrian food. Its about a 6-7 km hike all in all. Also we made a little detour to Tratzberg Castle in Jenbach. The castle tour is offered with English audio, and was very informative and interesting. The castle is beautiful and well preserved.
    2. Day 3: We biked to Mayrhofen before the transfer, and ate lunch at a charming little bakery. The biking on this day was through pastures and mountain valleys. Once we arrived in Krimml we walked from our hotel to Krimml falls. Despite doing some research before hand online, I had no idea how large and magnificent the falls would be. We hiked up to a restaurant located just after the first falls, and then further up past the second falls. Gorgeous hike, highly recommend. We could've spent much more time hiking in the area. Krimml was on of our favorite stops.
    3. Day 4: Biking to Zell am See- we didn't really stop for any side adventures on this day, but again, the biking was great and we enjoyed walking around the lake once we arrived in Zell am See. There are tons of shops and restaurants in this town, and its the most touristy town besides Innsbruck and Salzburg.
    4. Day 5: so many options for things to do for your day in Zell am See. We walked from the hotel to a trailhead next to the cityXpress cable car that led up to the top of where the Schmittenhohe cable car takes you. There is a nice restaurant and chapel at the top, and the views are incredible. There are multiple food huts to stop at along the way. We continued the trail in a loop fashion back down to Zell am See. Great hike, and so many other excellent, well marked hiking trails in the area.
    5. Day 6: The only day we had rain, but still excellent. The low clouds and fog actually made for some beautiful mountain scenery. On the way to Lofer we stopped at Seisenbergklamm (another gorge hike), which was beautiful. We also stopped at Lamprechtsofen cave, which is one of the deepest limestone caves in the world. It was a also a must see while you're in the area. The hotel in Lofer, St. Hubertus, was probably our favorite. They offer a traditional buffet dinner, which was very fun and delicious, and our balcony had the most amazing view of the mountains.
    6. Day 7: to Salzburg. We didn't stop for any side adventures along the way here because there is so much to see in Salzburg, but this was the only day we got lost. It wasn't terrible- just maybe 30 minutes in the wrong direction. Highly recommend the tour of Hohensalzburg fortress. Hotel is in a great location and very comfortable.
    All in all, this was amazing cycling with good variety of scenery, towns, and things to do along the way. Couldn't have asked for a better bike tour. THANK YOU BIKETOURS!!!!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Spencer August 18, 2019

    An absolutly amazing trip!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    I loved every second of this trip! I had absolutely no problems with the bike, hotels, or routes. The scenery was just unbelievable the entire ride. I was worried about the weather but had a nice split of sunny and just slightly overcast days. I deviated from the route on 2 parts to add some extra miles and elevation and even had a blast with that! I would highly highly recommend this trip to bikers looking for a gorgeous ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8-2-19
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) BarbaraT September 10, 2019

    Wonderful biking in Austria!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We loved our ride from Insbruck to Salzburg. The scenery was amazing, and the quality of the routes was excellent. All of the hotels were very nice. We left something on a bus at one point, and it was mailed to our final hotel, for which we are most grateful. The paper maps aren't really that great, and I would recommend loading maps onto a Garmin for ease of use and better accuracy. We had van support for luggage and didn't opt to have a guide, which I really enjoyed. I would take another tour with this company in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/30-9/5
    How many tours have you completed?
    lots but not with this company
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • NM Touring Society in Innsbruck! The start of a great adventure. (photo by BarbaraT)
    • Photo 2 (photo by BarbaraT)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Issac Newton September 16, 2019

    Wonderful Ride Through the Scenic Valleys of the Alps

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    What was the date of your tour?
    30 Aug - 6 Sep
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Richie and Trish October 12, 2021

    Gute Fahren im die Berge

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had an amazing time on this tour. The scenery was breathtaking. It was so exciting to cycle along these beautiful rivers with the alps rising above us on both sides. The days just flew by as we cycled along. This was our seventh European tour and this ride compared very favorably with other rides we’ve taken. When we arrived in Innsbruck we found that we had to walk to a bike shop to pick up our bikes. Normally the bikes are delivered to our hotel but we took the walk and the shop owner was very helpful. Although the bikes were very heavy we found them quite roadworthy. They may have been the best bikes we’ve used in Europe. The hotels we stayed at we all lovely and provided us with great breakfasts. We especially enjoyed the Hotel Post in Zittertal with its rooftop infinity swimming pool. It was amazing. We also enjoyed having a rest day in Zell am see although it was hardly restful. We hiked, took a boat excursion and went to a fabulous spa for a swim. Many reviews of this tour complain about the book that accompanies the tour and now we know why. It’s very confusing and was not at all helpful. Usually the books on these tours are much more helpful and give recommendations for lunches and dinners. This book did none of that. The trail is well marked in most places but not in others. We often found ourselves scratching our heads trying to make sense of the signs on the trail and the directions in the book. We are seniors and found ourselves walking the bikes up hills from time to time but most of the ride was gentle easy riding. When we weren’t on dedicated bike paths the roads were quiet with little traffic. Overall it was an amazing trip that we would recommend to anyone who loves being in the mountains.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 13 - 19 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tricia Hoggan August 8, 2022

    Amazing

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    It was wonderful. The scenery was spectacular. The hotels were perfect. I can't say enough good things about the trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (5/5) Robin Jones September 16, 2022

    Breathtaking scenery and flawless trip

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was an incredible trip and the perfect way to see Austria! Cycling through the back farm lands was incredible and we were amazed at how absolutely green it was! The hotels were nice (some quite noisy)depending on where your room is located. Our bikes were top notch and we couldn't have asked for more. They were easy to handle, comfortable and worked perfectly for the duration of the trip. We didn't use the provided guide book but used google maps instead. This allowed us to take a few "off route" trails. It's amazing how accessible Austria makes it for people to be outdoors and enjoy nature, and the maintenance of the trails are perfect. We were concerned when the travel company did not provide us with luggage tags for our luggage transfers but they arrived daily without a problem. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection