Portugal  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (5/5) Shiftin July 15, 2017

    Beautiful Algarve!

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Cycling in Portugal was an amazing adventure! The scenery was exceptional, the routes were mostly flat, some hills at the end of the week, food along the coast (grilled fresh fish, fruit and vegetables) was all part of a very special week. Fred, part owner in Algarve Bike Holidays, could not have been more friendly and supportive. We were provided with a Garmin that had the routes already downloaded. We were a little challenged with this when construction blocked our route. Regardless, we always made it to our end location which included large resort hotels as well as quaint bed and breakfast inns. We went in July which turned out to be exceptionally hot so be sure to carry lots of water and start your trek early in the morning.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    10-15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • We loved our shirts! A gift along with water bottles! (photo by Shiftin)
    • Beautiful town of Faro! (photo by Shiftin)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) DebbieFL September 18, 2017

    Debbie & Phyllis' Excellent Adventure

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    This was our 7th trip with Biketours.com, and one of our favorite routes, by far. The route was spectacular, and unlike a few of our previous trips - the towns were we spent the night each offered a delightful mix of sightseeing & dining options to take advantage of. And we can't say enough about Fred and the rest of the group at Algarve Bike Holidays. From the materials they provided ahead of time to the extra TCL by helping us with a flat on Sunday afternoon, so we didn't lose time on Monday waiting for the local bike shop to open - they went above and beyond. The hotels were particularly nice - some of the best breakfast buffets we've experienced so far. This was the first time we took a trip that was guided via GPS - and it is definitely the way to go!

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/2 - 9/8 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) MEMALgarve January 16, 2020

    Really Great Holiday Trip on Wheels

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    We had a wonderful 4 day/5 night trip along the Algarve. The GPS was superb, the route was very well thought out, the food amazing and the Algarve everything we had hoped it would be- thank you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    12/30/19-1/4/20
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • A stop to take it all in... (photo by MEMALgarve)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Wendy Walton August 2, 2022

    Portugal by Bike

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Our bike trip along the Algarve coast was just what we hoped it would be. Our self guided trip had just the right amount of contact with staff, our pick ups/ drop offs were seamless, there was more interaction at the start of the trip than we have had with others tours which familiarized us with the gos navigation system and got our bikes just right. There was a nice mix of accommodations and it was easy to add extra days to customize our trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Cheryl Jaskot September 15, 2022

    Coastal Dream

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    WE were a group of six with our group ages from 67-43. The local bike company was very communicative and accommodating. We all rode traditional bikes and trained on fairly flat surfaces. The course was fairly flat the first three days along gravel roads and boardwalks. The longest day was 35 miles and a lot of hills. The last two days were also hilly and along gravel roads. We had to walk some of the hills. The accommodations were great and food was easily accessible. Lots of amazing seafood was everywhere. There were also plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. We had a great time and would highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Emily Jaskot October 23, 2022

    Simply Incredible!

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The bike trip was a perfect way to experience the Algarve region of Portugal. The bikes, ride routes, and hotels were fantastic. With rides between 20 and 35 miles per day, we arrived at each town with plenty of time to explore each wonderful town.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • (5/5) Mark Stow November 26, 2022

    Good biking, excellent service

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    This was our seventh cycling trip and our third self guided one. Based on our experience we would rate the cycle tour company quite highly. We were provided with good bikes which were appropriate for the terrain and the appropriate maintenance equipment which came in handy as we did have a flat tire on day 5. The gps provided came loaded with the day by day routes and was invaluable in finding the out of the way paths that we occasionally found ourselves on. The hotels were very nice with most having balconies and ocean views and all provided an excellent breakfast to start the day. The van pick up and drop offs were on time and we enjoyed the local knowledge that Angus shared along the way. The scenery was spectacular from the salt marshes and dunes in the East to the cliffs and ocean vistas in the West.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Michelle Dagenhart 12 months ago

    Top notch amazing trip, and affordable!

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The self-guided Algarve coastal trip was amazing in every way! Varied landscapes and terrain, beautiful coastal, farmland, marshland, and city views. GPS worked great and was mandatory given all the turns. Hotels were fantastic, usually ocean views, 4 stars, and amazing breakfasts.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Allan Ruus 11 months ago

    May Algarve Family Trip

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    This cycling trip was a wonderful way to see the Algarve, much better than driving to hotels/vrbo and walking around to see the sites. The coastal nature parks with all the birds are impressive. The hotels were great locations, clean, breakfasts excellent, staff friendly and helpful. GPS worked perfectly and Biketours replaced one of the bikes within 3 hours of when a couple spokes broke.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • (5/5) Donna Barron 11 months ago

    Great Way to Experience the Algarve

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    We had a wonderful adventure riding along the Algarve. We loved that we rode on different surfaces and saw a lot of variety. The GPS was a little slow at time with directions.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • Riding the Algarve (photo by Donna Barron)
  • (5/5) John Koester 11 months ago

    Great trip on the Algarve coast!

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    This was a very enjoyable trip on the Algarve coast. The route was easy to follow on the GPS and the bikes worked flawlessly. But the accommodations were the real stars. Each place we stayed was superb. We had a great time and highly recommend this trip on the southern coast of Portugal.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lowell Snow 10 months ago

    Perfect Antidote to Winter

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Warm, clear days. Manageable daily miles all along the coast. Excellent food. Good bikes and great support. Can’t ask for much more than that

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • (5/5) Carol Stack 7 months ago

    Fabulous Easy Biking Trip

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    We were very impressed with the arrangements made for our self guided bike trip across the Algarve. All the staff we met were incredibly helpful (shout out to Angus and Curt), the e bikes were terrific, the route fun and interesting -- it was just a delight. One hotel (Jupiter Algarve) was too much of a party hotel for us -- but we survived the late night music. The route had originally been configured west to east and we rode east to west so there a couple instances in which we were riding the wrong direction on one way streets. We had a wonderful time and so enjoyed seeing Portugal up close and personal.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Margaret Penner 2 weeks ago

    Beyond Expectations

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Everything was efficient and effortless. We just had to focus on biking and route. Hotels were all lovely with wonderful breakfasts and welcoming hosts. We had no bike issues and all staff were on time and informative.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • Starting out (photo by Margaret Penner)
    • Loving it (photo by Margaret Penner)
    •  (photo by Margaret Penner)
  • (5/5) Terry Higgins 2 weeks ago

    First class all the way!

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Loved everything about this trip. We did a self guided which was a bit challenging at times but just added to our memories. We were fortunate to have good weather and our accommodations never disappointed us. All of the transportations set up for us were on time. Would highly recommend it to friends.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Terry Higgins)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Portugal's Atlantic Coast
    (5/5) ActionCyclist2 April 13, 2016

    History, Culture and Beauty!

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    Wonderfully organized self-guided experience (with luggage transfer added). Our transfers by vehicle to the start and from the finish were seamless and informative with an insiders view of general and specifics of our tour, Portugal and bikes provided by Kico. The maps, Garmin, and rental bikes worked perfectly for our tour. The riding on this tour is scenic and varied as the route passes through forests, coastlines, villages, working towns, and tourist destinations. The hotels likewise provided varied experiences as well, each with its own unique charm and amenities. We rode in early April which was too cold for the hotel's outdoor pools, but provided excellent riding conditions.

    How many tours have you completed?
    5 - 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) SALLY ROTH October 11, 2022

    Great mix of countryside villages, rolling hills, and coastal towns

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    The hotels were all comfortable and quiet and convenient to restaurants and sightseeing.
    Nuno and Bernardo with Portugal Nature Trails were very helpful in setting us up before the trip and shuttling us at the end and provided interesting information about the areas we were in. I also appreciated the extra accommodation made to collect us and drop us before and after the trip in locations different than the standard trip (collect at Porto airbnb and deliver to Lisbon hotel which saved us travel time)
    We were expecting paper maps based on prior trips through biketours and while the app on our smartphones worked for navigation, they made it hard to take photos along the bike trip and to preserve our phone power. It would have been helpful to know in advance so that we could prepare accordingly. Hotels weren't always prepared for charging batteries but we worked it out.
    The gps contradicted itself often with confusing left and right turns but the map lines worked.
    The only surprise extended climb was heading up to Sintra which was tough even with electric assist but I probably didn't pay close attention.
    This is my second biketours trip and I would recommend them wholeheartedly.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept/Oct 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2 self-guided through biketours and 1 self-guided with campgear coast to coast in US
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Ellen Steury October 16, 2022

    Fantastic touring company and lovely scenery

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    My husband and I took an unguided trip of 6 days, along with a younger woman (age 50) who was on her first time bike tour. The preparatory information the company provided, and the interactions we had with various staff both before and during the trip put this local bike tour company in a class of it’s own — first rate. The company has put together a great information packet to help you maximize your enjoyment on the trip — recommending sites and restaurants — and loaded it on apps for your mobile device. During the trip, they provided true 24 hour assistance. They immediately pick up the phone. I know this because I had a couple of mishaps (unrelated to the biking or the equipment) and I twice contacted the company for assistance. The response was immediate, to the point, and without hesitation, even when it incurred private transportation to take me from one hotel to the next. The person who met us to deliver the bikes and fit them to us did an excellent job. He covered all the details and answered all the questions. The hotels were an interesting mix of spacious-modern and historic-antique, with only one (in a small beach town) a little worn. All in all, this was the most smoothly run bike trip with the most accessible and responsive staff that my husband and I have encountered in our 10 bike trips over 8 years. Their attention to detail and focus on giving the client a good experience shows. It’s real. My compliments to the local tour company. At our ages (83 and 70), the hills with heavy electric bikes was a bit challenging, but this is disclosed by the tour advertising. For our 50 year old friend on her first long distance bike trek, it was a piece of cake. She handled it with ease and wants to do more such trips.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JORGE VARGAS 11 months ago

    Great scenery and perfect routes!

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    This is a tour that was made by cyclists for cyclists. The routes chosen will give you the best scenery and taste of Portugal’s Atlantic Coast and Villages. It was a wonderful experience.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by JORGE VARGAS)
    •  (photo by JORGE VARGAS)
  • (5/5) Diane and Bob 11 months ago

    Amazing Historical sights as well as beautifu lAtlantic coast scenery.

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    This was definitely a trip of a lifetime. We added extra nights at several of the towns, so we could enjoy many of the gorgeous seaside towns and sights. We upgraded for ocean views and it was spectacular. Although we were not prepared for the strenuous climbs on several of the days nor the difficulty on the hybrid route.The hybrid route was more like mountain biking. I strongly recommend e bikes. two iphones and a back up battery power pak to ensure you don't run out of power before you arrive at each town. This gives you offline excellent directions. Miriam was our planner with bike tours and she spent many hours answering questions in a timely manner and helping us plan lots of the details. I would highly recommend her as an agent with Bike Tours. We have done most of our 10 European trips with Bike Tours and it is by far the best company we have used. Our next couple trips will be Scotland,the Danube to Budapest or the Rhine. If you want to enjoy smaller less crowded towns, go on a bike trip. Start or end with a larger more commercial city.
    Breakfast although always the same were very delicious at each stop. Of the towns visited Sintra was historic with beautiful castle and palace, but Ericeria was beautiful seaside experience. Be sure you book an extra night in Peniche and arrange to go to Berlengas via boat. Well worth it and take the glass bottom boat there or rent a kayak and paddle around. Good little restaurant there also.
    All around this trip was a 10!!!! Will post a few pictures in the next week. I have over 1,000 so want to post the best ones.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection