Salzburg Lakes  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Mully July 14, 2016

    Great way to experience Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    A wonderful experience. I have traveled to Europe many times, but this was the best way to see it in my opinion. I would recommend taking an extra day here and there along the ride to spend some additional time in areas that you have interest in so the focus isn't always.getting to the next destination. I think what makes this type of trip unique is that you are better immersed in the local sights and culture...you are on a bike, not in a bus or car. The countryside trickles by at a comfortable rate that encourages exploration. The lake portion of this particular trip involved considerable road travel which was a bit unexpected, but drivers were courteous and we quickly became used to it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 25
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) allisong August 9, 2017

    Wonderful trip with my daughter!

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    We did a self-guided tour and had a wonderful time. We used electric bikes and I was very happy with that choice. It was still a lot of work and we got a ton of exercise, but it made it so we were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The paths were very good and we were on roads only about 10% of the time. The hotels were very nice-small and quaint with lovely breakfasts. The tour director in Austria was very quick to reply when the electric stopped working on my bike on the 4th day. She found someone to fix the bike early the next day. The only challenge was reading the maps but that was part of the adventure. We definitely made more than a few wrong turns and had to backtrack, but having the electric bikes made it okay.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6-13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by allisong)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Fishchico August 18, 2017

    Azure blue lakes

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    The Lakes option of the Danube River path was amazing. Lake Mondsee, Attersee and Traunsee were crystal clear and the most beautiful shade of azure blue. Most of the riding was along dedicated bike paths and lesser travelled roads. People friendly and helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30 - July 7,2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Lake Mondsee (photo by Fishchico)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kretch October 3, 2017

    One of the most beautiful rides I have taken in Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    I am so glad I elected to ride from Salzburg to Vienna rather than Passau. The ride was beautiful, mountains coming down to the bike trails and Alpine lakes to ride along. It was not difficult for the average rider and a ranking of easy 2 is fair. From Linz to Vienna was also very nice and it gave us enough river riding to make the trip a good combination of mountains and riverside.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9-5-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    15 non supported rides in Europe
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Norm November 2, 2017

    Great ride.

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    Austria is beautiful with a lot of historic sites. We were late in season so a bit cooler, rained for 2 days but we were prepared. Very impressed with hotels and the mix of modern and historic settings, professionally organized. Only complaint was that on first part of trip, bike trail was not marked well and descriptions were hard to follow eg. go for a short ways and turn right at first farmyard turn left at the country road - keep at the block to the right? To a stranger to the area lot of this didn't make sense. We ended up getting most of our directions from local people who were very helpful. The portion on the Danube bike trail was very easy to follow.
    Overall we were pleased with the tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 8 to 13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by Norm)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) eb53 June 17, 2018

    extraordinary trip across Austria

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    This trip was truly stunningly beautiful. We were amazed at how much beauty and variety could be packed into one trip. Even though the directions were sometimes confusing, it was easy to figure your way around--the signage is fantastic and people are exceedingly kind and friendly. We really loved the self-guided option--it increased the sense of adventure, freedom and self-reliance. All accommodations were splendid as were the breakfasts. We were amazed at how great the bike infrastructure is in Austria--way better than in the US. Everyone bikes and cyclists are respected. Motorists were very considerate of cyclists. Temperatures in Austria were WAY ABOVE NORMAL this year. The lakes part of the trip was some of the best riding we have ever done; we also loved the Wachau region. We wished that
    this part had been longer. If we had it to do over, we would add a day to the lakes and maybe take a train over sections of the Danube. . . Do not miss the ecological gardens in Tullin! We wished we could have spent a day there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is our first long tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Julane January 1, 2019

    Valleys and Vineyards

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    We found the scenery on this tour stunning (especially on Lake Traunsee) and appreciated the variety of landscapes (forests, rivers, lakes, mountains, farmland) and terrain (flat to rolling hills). The hotels/inns were very comfortable and most within walking distance of interesting sites in the cities/towns. We combined this tour with another (Tauern Bike Path: Salzburg to Salzburg) which gave us an opportunity to experience a different but equally beautiful region of Austria.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 28-October 3
    How many tours have you completed?
    30+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KLVM July 11, 2019

    Biking in the Shoulder Season

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    Cold weather and rain did not prevent us from having a wonderful biking experience. The scenery was beautiful, hotels were in lovely locations, the people were friendly, and the tourist sites were virtually empty.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 12-18, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Hilary Powell November 7, 2022

    Amazing

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    This trip was amazing! I had so much fun and it was very well organized. Any problems we ran into we were able to get answered quickly through email or a phone call. Someone was always available. I had never been to Austria and in one trip I saw a little bit of everything the country had to offer.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Salzburg Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Whereisrick July 26, 2016

    Absolutely Fantastic time!

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    We just finished the ten lakes tour in June, 2016 and had the time of our life. Bike Tours Direct set us up with a local tour provider and delivered everything we hoped for. We opted for the eBikes and those are way too cool. These guys took our luggage from Gasthaus to Gasthaus (okay - inn to inn) and it was sure nice to arrive the next location and find our luggage waiting for us. Our tour took us through some amazing countryside, farms and especially the lakes. We would get to small villages in mid afternoon (i.e. - no tourists!), enjoy a local meal and head off to our next location in the morning. All the lodgings were fantastic with very friendly inn keepers. We will do this again and we will use Bike Tours Direct.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) David vL October 18, 2016

    3-Day Tour of The Lakes Region Around Salzburg, Austria

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    We were grateful to have EuroBike put together a customized, 3-day self-guided tour of the Lake Region as we had limited time in the Salzburg area. The hotels selected for the tour were very familiar with handling bicyclists and very helpful in solving minor problems such as laundering wet clothes and helping us with ferry transportation and pickup on Lake Wolfgangsee. It took us awhile to get the hang of the directions as there are multiple standard tour routes and ours was customized. Once we got the hang of it, there were no problems following the routes and Eurobike signs. We began to love the minor uncertainties of figuring out our routes and being free to stop for lunch and refreshments at places of our own choice

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 4-6, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Richard 69 June 19, 2017

    Gute fahren... aber.....

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    Let me begin by saying that we have taken several European bike tours and the was by far the most scenic. The Alps in the backround, the farms, the lakes and the quaint villages and towns were absolutely breathtaking. However, there are some things you should know. This is a level three ride. Prior to this we had only done level two and the difference can be measured in light years. This was a very challenging ride on heavy rental bikes. We are experienced cyclists, however we are seniors and found ourselves walking our bikes up many, many hills.Also much of this ride is on public roads and there was traffic and the occasional piece of farm machinery. Although most of the roads were fairly quiet, many times we found ourselves on busy highways with very narrow shoulders. This was mentioned in the tour description but in my opinion it was somewhat glossed over. If we had it to do over again we would have inquired about upgrading to a more roadworthy bike or perhaps upgraded to the e-bike.
    The tour company Eurobike provided us with maps and route directions, as well as placing stickers along the route to guide us. This is extremely important because this was a complicated route with many twists and turns. We both had some mechanical issues with our bikes and the company brought us new bikes in a very timely fashion. They also made excellent recommendations for lunch and dinner along the route and in the towns where we spent the night. I must say ate well on this ride. Also the hotels we stayed at along the way were excellent. Small friendly hotels with comfortable rooms and friendly staff.Each hotel provided us with a lovely buffet breakfast. Another point that gets glossed over in the tour description is the hike on the last day's ride. This is a very challenging 3K hike up and over a mountain. I felt like I was climbing Mount Everest.
    In conclusion I would say that if you are an experienced cyclist and are looking for a challenge and some of the most spectacular scenery in Europe then this is the tour for you. If you are just a casual or occasional rider, then you might want to choose a less demanding ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25 - 31 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jenrob August 9, 2017

    Fantastic scenery !

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    Cycling in this area of Austria by bike was just perfect. The scenery was stunning. We were given a really good briefing st the start of the tour and we were provided with extensive maps and instructions to make our trip easy to follow. Having a phone no to ring if we got into trouble was also reassuring. We were mainly on good bike path so or very quite country roads so felt safe for the majority of the ride. We booked the higher grade of hotels as we wanted air conditioning in as early of hot weather. Unfortunately the hotels outside of Salzburg did not have air conditioning so this was a minor disappointment. In general the hotels in this grade of hotels were pretty good providing a good breakfast and all were very central to amenities in the town. Our favourite place Rs were Mondsee and St Wolfgang. We had some relatively hard rides quite undulating so many climbs so grade 3 would be a fair classification for this road. If your not cycle fit not miss out because of this take an E bike as it was a really pretty ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) ualift June 20, 2018

    Could not have been better

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    Well thought out routes and hotel selection. Three 60 and 70 something guys on level 3 Salzburg Takes Tour had great trip with moderate riding. Variety of light to moderate terrain with scenery unparalleled on post cards was fantastic.

    Everyone we encountered from booking to bike and route briefings was outstanding, helpful and seemed to love what they do.

    I'll be looking at future trips as this one ranked very highlly!

    What was the date of your tour?
    01 May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Through some Austrian farmland and countryside. (photo by ualift)
    • You can't make this up. (photo by ualift)
    • Last day on the road.  Hate to call it quits. (photo by ualift)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Anne52 September 24, 2018

    Gorgeous Salzburg Lakes Tour!

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    We had an outstanding week biking around five lakes in the Salzkammergut. We were so lucky with the weather, which was sunny every day except Friday, with highs in the 70's. The views on this trip are superb. We found the instructions to be very good, the hotels were all comfortable and had unbelievable breakfasts. The service at all the hotels was great. We are working on our 5th bike tour in Europe and this is one of our favorites. We were able to swim in four of the lakes and what a refreshing and awesome experience that was, too! One wish was that it would have been nice to have a paper map of Austria, or at least the Salzkammergut so that we could get an overall idea of where we were. All in all we would highly recommend this trip. Thanks to Stefan and everyone who made it possible!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 9 - 15, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three previous ones.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Lake Mondsee, Austria (photo by Anne52)
    • Traun River, Bad Ischl (photo by Anne52)
    • Hallstaat and Lake Hallstaat (photo by Anne52)
    • An Austrian home along the way. (photo by Anne52)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Creaky August 10, 2019

    Lovely lakes

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    Beautiful scenery and pleasant hotels. Good organisation as usual. One forest section (in pouring rain) was pure misery and wouldn’t have been terrific even in good weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    28/7-3/8
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Joannie September 8, 2019

    This is our third bike trip, and by far the most scenic.

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 25 to Sept 2 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) John427 September 11, 2019

    Great adventure

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    We had 7 perfect days of weather and beautiful scenery at every turn. We got a real taste of Austria by traveling its backroads and bike lanes. The hotels were excellent and breakfasts were substantial and delicious. One of our best vacations ever, looking forward to another trip in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 25 to Sept 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by John427)
    • Lake Mondsee (photo by John427)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Glen Kropp 8 months ago

    Amazing bike tour

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    The trip was amazing, like riding in a postcard the whole time. Bike touring was the perfect way to experience Austria. Saw so many wonderful places, stayed in different hotels each night and got to experience all the different little towns. We had great fall weather for our trip and made for a perfect time!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (5/5) Steve and Marty 8 months ago

    Salzburg Lakes Tour

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    This was probably the most scenic tour we've taken. Lake Constance a close second. Hotels, E-bikes, orientation, the navigation app were all as advertised --- 5 star!! Of course we did have perfect weather for the entire trip except for our planned rest day in Bad Goisern. Hallstatt has become a tourist hotspot and I would suggest spending your time at the Dachstein Ice Caves instead of too much time in Hallstatt. The last day riding back into Salzburg was the best with lots of climbing but worth the effort for scenery and the downhill switchbacks. Ebikes are definitely recommended even if you are an avid and fit biker.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection