Mosel  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Bob and Barb September 11, 2019

    Wonderful Trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Everything about the trip was perfect especially the accommodations and bike supplier who was very helpful. The only problem was the trip itinerary schedule did not match the actual hotel destinations which caused considerable confusion for the first day. Once that was realized the trip was perfect..

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 29, 2019-Sept 3, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) 1961flyer October 14, 2019

    Great time riding the Mosel!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This is a beautiful piece of German wine growing region. The path was well mark and there were plenty of towns and restaurants along the route. The hotels were exceptional and the included wine tasting was informative and fun. We were skeptical about staying on the other side of the Rhine in Koblenz but this was a lovely hotel and a great place to stay!

    What was the date of your tour?
    25th - 31st August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful evening in Koblenz. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • The path and scenery were fantastic. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Paul Miller November 7, 2022

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jeffrey Smith 10 months ago

    Outstanding trip enjoyed it a lot

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The hotels were wonderful and the directions were easy to follow. The luggage transfers were always on time

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Timothy Paradiso 9 months ago

    The trip was well planned

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The trip was wonderful unfortunately a member of our trip was injured and we had to stop our trip early. However the portion that we were able to do was wonderful, the hotels was great with a wonderful and very helpful staff. My only wish is that I would really like to have the GPS option, following the path was not difficult but would have been easier with the GPS, and made the trip more enjoyable.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Emil Koenig 8 months ago

    What a Wonderful Bike Trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    My Family enjoyed all aspects of this bike trip. It was culturally rewarding and added up to a great bonding with my Family

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • (5/5) Janice Render 7 months ago

    Mosel bike Path

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had no guide but 4 of us, we enjoyed doing it on our own with all hotel booked and ready for cyclists. The maps and instructions are a good idea but need to be updated we got lost and spent a lot of time trying to figure out where we were and how to stay off roads to get there. Hill in Cochem to hotel was not pleasant. Needed better instruction on getting there and to garage

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11,2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Joseph Wise 6 months ago

    A bike trip to remember.

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The bike trip was the highlight of our two week trip to Germany this year. We went from town to town with beautiful scenery along the way. We moved at our own pace and enjoyed stopping in towns along the way to our next destination. Our luggage was always at the next hotel, usually before we arrived. All hotels were beautiful. Having breakfast each morning was a great way to start each day. We were fortunate to have great weather, but the saddlebags did allow for bringing extra clothing or rain gear if needed. Equipment was in great shape as well. We used e-bikes which helped with hills when needed. If you want to see Germany through the eyes of small towns, at your own pace and without the hustle of large cities. This type a bike trip is recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first, but not the last.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 10, 2023

      Thank you for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that this trip was the highlight of your two-week visit to Germany! Your recommendation for those wanting to discover Germany's charm through these bike trips is certainly compelling. Lovely photos as well! We look forward to being of help to you again in the future.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) RonC July 3, 2016

    Beautiful Country, Food and Wine Outstanding

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Easy ride along bike paths. Time to view castles, churches, and vineyards along the way. Met interesting fellow travelers from Australia and New Zealand. Saarburg was a great place to explore before the tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 18-25
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Debi October 3, 2016

    Wonderful trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Great boat staff and excellent dinners, wonderful scenery, excellent on board guide. Overall a great trip. I would highly recommend this trip if you want to see beautiful German villages, wine country, biking along a lovely river and learning German history.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 17-24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) PattyN October 18, 2016

    Mosel Wine and Cake

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    The staff on the boat spoke English and most, including our guide were completely fluent. Language was not an issue. The food was varied and healthy, although favorite part of the services onboard was tea and cake at 3pm. Although they were comfortable to sit on, the bicycles were quite heavy. Not a big deal on the flat route we were biking, but they did require more effort to pedal than I would have preferred.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    Scores
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Granny on Wheels November 27, 2017

    Saarburg to Koblenz Great Trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    A great way to get out and explore Germany and suitable for all levels of fitness. The staff was very friendly, caring and well organised, speaking English and German. Our October trip was a little wet but still beautiful....the colours of the Autumn Fall were spectacular. Riding through the quiet streets of the villages along the Moselle was like taking a step back in time. A great way to get a feel of Europe past and present. The meals and afternoon teas were amazing. Although the boat is old, it is well kept and extremely clean. Our bedding was much more comfortable than I expected judging from the photos and we slept well...no noises at night. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and felt very safe. Would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    21 - 28th October 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) MarcieB July 6, 2018

    Life on a Mosel/Saar River Barge is good!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Not our first self-guided bike tour, BUT our first barge/bike "all inclusive" ride. We loved it. The barge rooms were small, but clean. The on-board meals and "make your own lunch from breakfast buffet offerings" were excellent! Kudos to the chef of the MS Patria. Staff from Czech Republic and Poland were hard working and friendly. Dagomar, the activities director, was enthusiastic and dedicated to making sure everyone was taken care of. Seating assignments in dining room were well thought out, placing the two of us (Oregon) with traveling relatives from BC. The rest of the table consisted of a group of eight Danish folks who spoke English! Bikes were 7-speed models and with a headwind, I was regretting not having an e-bike. Live and learn. Excursions/field trips were interesting and offered cultural highlights. The Mosel/Saar River valleys are simply breathtaking. There was a mix-up the day of our arrival in Koblenz, as we had not received the e-mail regarding the change in mooring. Our German friend was able to call the Harbormaster to locate the MS Patria, and after a rather long walk pulling our suitcases, we located a small local ferry that took us to the opposite shore (Rhine) where we boarded the boat. I don't think I would have thought to call the Harbormaster, and my husband's phone (with contact info) was out of battery power. Technology! All's well that end's well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 16, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our NINTH tour!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Karin September 15, 2018

    LIVE AND LOCAL

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Going with my group made a big difference - we didn't always cycle together, but knowing there were others on the trail helped! Scenery, countryside, conviviality were awesome. Accommodations were spartan, but the meals were terrific, the crew excellent and the experience more than worthwhile. Recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 Sep 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Joyce September 18, 2018

    The Mosel Valley Bike & Barge adventure is a perfect combination of stunning scenery, exercise and wine!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Excellent help from the BikeTours.com staff – especially Liv! Comfortable accommodations aboard the MS Patria, delicious food, staff exceeded all expectations, bikes were good, pedaling was easy, scenery beautiful, route went thru interesting and historic villages and cities. With a group of 29, there was something for everyone – every day – and no complaints from anyone!
    BTC staff review “Liv helped our group of 29 get booked……and was accommodating with every change and request along the way. Everyone thought a group that large would be impossible to book…but, Liv made it easy!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 1 - Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • The 'Hawaii Group'  gathered for one last photo 'up top' on the barge (photo by Joyce)
    • MS Patria with Cochem Castle in the background (photo by Joyce)
    • One of many delicious meals aboard the MS Patria (photo by Joyce)
    • Rest stop! (photo by Joyce)
    • Courtyard in Bernkastel (photo by Joyce)
    • Saarburg - a wonderful place to start the Bike & Barge adventure - spend at least a day or two there! (photo by Joyce)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Minna September 23, 2018

    Amazing Experience

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Miguel September 24, 2018
    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sep1-8
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jan1 September 25, 2018

    Wonderful bike trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    This was my first bike n boat trip. It was better than I expected. I had taken a big river boat trip and this was so much better. The trails and small towns and vineyards were amazing. I would do this again. The crew was the best!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) San30 May 5, 2019

    A trip like never before

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    The bike tour was an amazing first time experience. The crew of Patria are charming and kind and helpful. Thank you for a once in a lifetime kind of trip

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 20th 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    My First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Anita May 20, 2019

    Amazing Germany

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    The boat Patria and the staff there were excellent ! The dinners were fantastic ! The maps were good and so were bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    20 April 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection