Bike Tour Reviews  Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)


Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

COUNTRY: Austria, Germany

8 nights
4.8/5 (73)
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites

4.8/5 (73)
8 nights

Self guided from EUR € 1479

Self-guided:
Daily: Mar 30 - Oct 12, 2024 (minimum 2 participants)

Description:
While most clients are more than pleased with our Classic tour, many have asked for a more upscale option. We're pleased to introduce Danube Bike 8 Nights Path: Upscale Lodging, which stays in the top hotels in each overnight stop along the way…

View Tour

  • (5/5) Patrick McHugh 1 week ago

    Awesome trip from Passau to Vienna

    We had a great time. Glad we spent an extra night in Passau before starting the trip. Bikes were in great shape and we had no mechanical problems. We spent an extra night in Melk and added a stopover in Enns. We wish we had spent an extra night in Linz. The last day ride from Tulln to Vienna was the least attractive part --- and there was a strong wind in our face --- so that was a challenge. Those in our group who elected the ebike had no problems... I would highly recommend this trip....

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Matt F August 5, 2022

    Loved it!

    This was a fantastic way to see Austria. The hotels were excellent and the food was to die for. No problems at all with bikes, luggage, navigation, or reservations. Stunning views that change with each leg of the trip and excellent opportunities to see some off-the-beaten-path sights. Very much recommend.

  • (5/5) Jason Hartford August 7, 2022

    Memorable trip well organized

    We had a great experience with Bike Tours. Positive: good communication pre trip and the night before. Good pre-trip description of the hotel locations, hotels, and what to expect from the bikes. Night prior, very good review of what to expect. We rented the premium bikes and glad we did--worked very well. On the tour, very good ideas of what to see, and the distance between towns seemed to be well thought out with the first and last legs the shortest. Hotels were great. A diversity of new and classic and all had more to them than what I expected. Often ate at the hotel restaurants which were very good.

    On the negative side, not much. Directions into and out of town accurate except the last leg going into Vienna -- on that one Google maps was much better.

    We will definitely do another trip with Bike Tours and even this exact one-- it was memorable and fun and want to experience it with more friends.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) James Sinnott August 8, 2022

    Everything I had hoped for!

    What a great way to see a beautiful part of the world. I had wanted to do this fr nearly 50 years and the E-bikes made it possible. The accomodations were great and bike friendly. Food was always well prepared and tasty. My wife has a very strict vegan diet and all the facilities were aware of it and most helpful. My brother fell and cracked his wrist and the hotel was most helpful and got us to great care. (Note to biker: do not try to take pictures with a phone in the right hand and then try to brake with just the left hand....a go-pro would have been worth it) We extended in Vienna and enjoyed tours there and a day to Budapest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    one now but 50 years ago my wife and I biked through Southern Norway
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Ricksweetca July 22, 2019

    Awesome Adventure

    This was a a beautiful ride through mostly flat terrain. I ride a lot and my wife rides a limited amount. She enjoyed this tour so much that she suggested that we do a bike tour next summer also. The lodging was excellent and the food was good to excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) MF November 7, 2022

    Made for an unforgettable honeymoon!

    This was a great tour through Austria and the upscale markup was definitely worth it. The trip went exceptionally smoothly and we had a great time! Great food and scenery that changed every day of the trip, comfortable accommodations, and no worries. Having the luggage forwarded each day made for an easy trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Carol McClennan November 7, 2022

    Very relaxing and scenic

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

  • (5/5) Trez July 15, 2019

    Exceeded our expectations in every way

    Very organized and stress-free. The bikes were excellent, the hotels were great and the orientation meeting the evening before the trip was very beneficial in explaining the details. The variety in hotel styles; from modern to classic at the Schloss was a great way to experience the cities and villages we stayed in.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30- July 06, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Team Drafting Table from Wixom, Michigan ready to roll out of Passau (photo by Trez)
    • The team made a first stop in Obernzell at a friends house for Weisswuerst und Weissbier! (photo by Trez)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 16, 2019

      So glad you guys enjoyed! LOVE the shirts!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Charles Eberhard 2 days ago

    Fabulous Ride, Scenery and Hotels

    Just a fantastic ride down the Danube. The river valley scenery was especially beautiful, but we all also enjoyed riding through the small towns along the way. Great choice of hotels which all had excellent breakfasts to start us on our day. The only real disappointment we had was the introduction to the tour and bikes by the representative of the tour company. He was late, didn't seem too interested in helping us, and didn't check that the bikes were adjusted correctly for each of us. We had to do some additional adjustments ourselves the next day which caused some problems and could have been totally avoided if he had just checked each of us and had tools to make final changes. That wasn't a good start, but after that, the ride, directions and hotels were all great. Also glad we did an unguided tour as we really didn't need a guide for this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June '24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Carol McClennan November 8, 2022

    Very relaxing and scenic

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

  • (5/5) Robert and Kathy England 9 months ago

    Great trip for a group of five people with mixed biking abilities

    The sights on this trip were perfect and so enjoyable. Everyone felt that generally speaking the cycling was the right level and the scenery was everything we hoped for. There was a section of the bike path going into Linz that was on a narrow sidewalk next to a busy road that was not suitable for the less experienced members of our group. Also generally speaking our daily mileages as recorded by our GPS watches were several miles longer than the distances noted in the tour description on the website. On the whole, the hotels were charming and the service to move luggage was very effective. Luggage was often early and never past the promised time of 6 PM, although the last day cut it close! Trail directions were excellent, among the best we've had on several bike tours we have taken. Directions to specific hotels were mostly good, except for the directions to Landgasthof Winter in Ardagger Stift. Those directions were really terrible and caused us to get seriously lost. In addition, that hotel was very very charming, but not in a great location as it was a ways off the trail and up a steep hill. In the time before the trip BikeTours.com was slow in responding to questions and requests. Regardless of some of these points, on the whole we all absolutely loved this trip, would recommend it to others, and would look for one like it to do again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 8, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7+ like this, 10+ do our own route, carry our own luggage in panniers
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from jan October 2, 2023

      Thanks for your business, the wonderful review, and updates to this tour! Also, apologies for the tardy reply pre-trip. September is by far the busiest month for everyone in our business so the entire team was buried with requests. Hope to see you again.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
  • (5/5) Ian Bailie 2 months ago

    Danube biking adventure

    Riding along the Danube river through Austria to Vienna was a wonderful experience. Everything was very well organised, from bike collection, through route guidance, accommodation and support. The riding is easy, though on our ride we did encounter some strong head winds. There is spectacular scenery and interesting villages to keep interest up. We thoroughly recommend the bike tour.

    •  (photo by Ian Bailie)
    •  (photo by Ian Bailie)
    •  (photo by Ian Bailie)
    •  (photo by Ian Bailie)
    •  (photo by Ian Bailie)
  • (5/5) Family4 September 8, 2018

    A great vacation

    This was a great way to experience Austria. Along the bike path are vineyards, castles, restaurants, monasteries and a concentration camp. We were able to start late morning (to accommodate the teenager sleeping schedules and work commitments) and go at our own family pace throughout the day. We selected the upscale accommodation version and enjoyed something unique at each place. The ride along the path was level, as promised. This is a very popular path and there were many other other cyclist to connect with along the way. We had a great time as a family of four riding, site seeing and reconnecting. I would highly recommend this trip to any active person / family

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 12-20
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Gonzo September 8, 2018

    Bike Tours Direct delivered on everything that they promised!

    We were extremely pleased with Bike Tours Direct on our recent trip down the Danube. Everything that they promised, happened. Their representatives were extremely reliable, and helpful, Our luggage always was waiting at our hotel when we arrived, and their equipment was top notch. The route was well laid out. My wife and I were extremely complimentary of Bike Tour Direct

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tina September 8, 2018

    Danube

    My daughter and I loved the 7 day biking experience. The days were not too long. A great way to spend a week together exploring the Danube on a bike. Lots of opportunities to take in tourist destinations as well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RS52 July 8, 2019

    Overall Great Experience from Start to End!!

    This was our first bike tour as a family, but based on our experience, it won't be our last. Overall, everything went smoothly and was great!! BikeTours was responsive to my many questions and easy to work with. The representative from the tour company brought the bikes and documentation as expected, and was flexible when one bike didn't fit correctly (our error) and needed to be exchanged. Service at every stop was very good to outstanding, and the accommodations were very comfortable and clean without exception! Our luggage was smoothly transported from one day to the next. The bikes were comfortable, and riding along the Danube was really special!

    I agree with another reviewer who suggested reading through the touring documents each evening to decide on where to stop the next day. That worked well for us too. We also brought snacks and water, and made a point of stopping regularly, given particularly warm weather. I would also recommend having at least one phone with a GPS application, as finding the specific hotels was sometimes challenging, particularly in the larger cities.

    Biking through small cities and towns provided a different type of vacation experience for us, as we are used to visiting larger cities. We really enjoyed seeing the country in this way. I found a few of the longer days of biking to be challenging, but as promised, the path was flat to slightly downhill and we were on bike paths for the majority of the time. Even in Vienna, there were bike lanes in the city to get us to the hotel. The paths were well traveled and always felt safe.

    Overall, everything was great and I would do it again in a second!

    (There were 4 of us traveling...my husband, me and our 2 children in their early 20's. We really liked the flexibility of being self-guided.)

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Passau (photo by RS52)
    • Crossing from Germany into Austria on the R1 (photo by RS52)
    • Melk Abbey (photo by RS52)
    • Photo 4 (photo by RS52)
    • Biking through vineyards in the Wachau region (photo by RS52)
    • We did it! (photo by RS52)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kristin September 5, 2018

    Such an incredible experience!

    I heard about the tour on Travelling Jackie’s Instagram and was intrigued. I love to travel and thought this was such a unique way to see country. The accommodations were fantastic and the path was mostly easy to follow. The bikes were great and the local company that met with us to go over the details was very helpful. BikeTours.com was also very responsive to my emails and calls. I hadn’t been on a bike in two years (though I am physically fit) so I was a little nervous, but the tour along the Danube was no problem! All of the resources on biketour.com were very helpful and the experience was pretty much as described. I have recommended this experience on all of the travel groups I am part of on FB. Would do again in a heartbeat!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Biking through vineyards! (photo by Kristin)
    • Beginning of the trip! (photo by Kristin)
    • Resting on the Danube! (photo by Kristin)
    • Sunset from dinner at our first hotel. (photo by Kristin)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JCost October 26, 2019

    Nice ride, great accommodations

    The ride was beautiful in places, often stunning. The accommodations were amazing. Each one different, all of them lovely.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) WalterBetta June 30, 2019

    Unforgetable trip !!!

    The tour was really great, cycling beside the Danube. The hotels were really good and the tour was easy for the majority of the group of 10 people

    What was the date of your tour?
    June, 08 thru 15 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Thomas Mitchell 2 months ago

    Well planned. No problems at all.

    The e-bikes are a game changer for older people. Ours were perfectly maintained. They might have been new. The upscale hotels were excellent; a couple of them were beyond excellent. The towns we visited were charming and friendly. We would have spent an extra day in most of them if we had the trip do over. We had perfect weather but we understand that is highly unusual in early May. Our bags were moved reliably.
    I recommend a phone holder if you want to use the excellent app for directions. When it's in the provided waterproof handlebar pack, glare makes it very difficult to see, and accessing it is a hassle.
    The directions don't guide you all the way to your hotel. We used Google Maps for the final directions.
    Overall it was a great trip for us.