Bike Tour Reviews: Mosel Bike Path  Dreamy Mosel Valley From Trier To Koblenz


Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

COUNTRY: Germany

6 nights
4.6/5 (43)
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites

4.6/5 (43)
6 nights

Self guided from EUR € 1099

Self-guided:
Daily: Apr 6 - Oct 19, 2024

Description:
Numerous vineyards on both sides of the river and breathtaking natural landscapes will constantly accompany you and deliver a delightful cycling tour. On this bike trip, you follow a more than 2,000-year-old Roman history, in the true sense of the word.

View Tour

  • (5/5) Jeffrey Smith June 22, 2023

    Outstanding trip enjoyed it a lot

    The hotels were wonderful and the directions were easy to follow. The luggage transfers were always on time

  • (5/5) Natalie123 December 28, 2015

    Laid-back riding in scenic German wine country

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. It's long been a popular choice for our clients due to the leisurely riding and low price tag. It turned out to be the perfect combination for me of relaxed cycling, off-bike sites and diversions, and plenty of wine tastings.

    The Mosel valley is known (along with the nearby Rhine valley) for producing Germany's beloved riesling wines. As a white wine lover myself, it was a little slice of heaven! There's no shortage of opportunities to stop in at wineries and tasting rooms to sample the local fare. Some even have stands right on the bike path to bring the tasty wares right to you! It was lovely to stop at these stands and enjoy a glass of the sweet wine while sitting on the riverbank and chatting with other cyclists.

    If you hit bad weather or want to shorten a day's ride, there are good alternative transportation options in this region. An injury from a recent mountain bike crash made longer rides uncomfortable for me during this trip, so I took advantage of a ferry one day to roll my bike aboard and enjoy a little river cruise for several stops before deciding where I wanted to hop off and start riding again.

    Another day I took a regional train to shave off a few miles. I bought a ticket for myself and one for my bike, then boarded the car clearly marked for bicycles and rode a few stops.

    The dedicated bike path makes for care-free riding: well marked for directions and distances, no vehicles apart from an occasional slow-moving tractor (since you're often riding through farmland and vineyards), and paved almost the whole way. The path hugs both banks of the Mosel River, and your map book shows any unpaved sections so you can cross the river in advance if you don't want to ride on short segments of dirt or gravel.

    I found the directions and maps to be reliable, but it's quite difficult to get lost anyway -- all you have to do is point your bike back toward the river and you'll eventually intersect the bike path!

    I was very pleased with the accommodations, a mix of comfortable hotels in larger town centers and family-owned winery guesthouses in the smaller villages. All had hearty breakfasts to fuel a day of cycling and exploring.

    I did this tour solo, as a female in her thirties, and felt safe and secure (of course taking reasonable precautions). I liked that it was in mostly rural areas, but never terribly remote. There was always a farmhouse nearby, and the bike path was traveled enough that I was passing someone at least every few miles. Having the emergency hotline is a good reassurance as well.

    The locals seemed a bit amused by a young(ish) American woman riding the Mosel Bike Path by herself, mostly because the usual clientele is composed more of families, couples, and Europeans. But it was always a good conversation starter to make new friends!  SHOW MORE 

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Video: A typical scene from the bike: a river boat, a castle, and pedestrians promenading along the Mosel.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BEO6hbkAsw (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Vineyards line the valley as far as the eye can see! The green bike signs let you know you're still on the right track. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the balcony at my hotel in Cochem. The bike path runs along the water on both sides of the river. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Waiting for the passenger/bike ferry (over my shoulder) to cross the river and pick me up to reach that pretty little village and a few miles of riding on the sunny side of the river before crossing back again later in the day to reach my hotel. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike path sometimes diverts away from the Mosel for a haunt through lush vineyards like these. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Time to break for a riesling tasting! Nice of them to place picnic tables right alongside the bike path for cyclists to relax. (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Janice Render 10 months ago

    Mosel bike Path

    We had no guide but 4 of us, we enjoyed doing it on our own with all hotel booked and ready for cyclists. The maps and instructions are a good idea but need to be updated we got lost and spent a lot of time trying to figure out where we were and how to stay off roads to get there. Hill in Cochem to hotel was not pleasant. Needed better instruction on getting there and to garage

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11,2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Paul Miller November 7, 2022

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bruce 3 months ago

    Very cold & windy, a bit of hail and even snow; still a great trip

    We've enjoyed many self-guided bike trips in Europe and this is a great one with normal weather.

    Bike Tours highly professional staff slightly modified the standard tour to meet our request, which was promptly and accurately accomplished. The Radreisefreunde representative, a very pleasant person, met us at the first hotel and supplied the bikes. We rode them around the hotel area before confirming they were the right size and in proper working order. We selected one "uniframe" (sloped top tube) bike and one with a horizontal (AKA men's) top tube. Both were 21 speeds and very suitable for the flat bike trip. The standard "Mosel bikeline" booklet for Metz to Koblenz was supplemented with a custom booklet for us, Trier to Koblenz, the portion, we biked. The supplemental booklet provided more details and is very much a worthwhile addition. Thank you!

    All hotels were very clean, well located in the core of each city and allowed easy access to sites, restaurants, etc. Staff were universally welcoming. Special mention as to the Gästehaus Weingut Seminarshof restaurant in Trittenheim...it is located in the same hotel where we stayed. Two related pictures are attached. Mmmmm!

    Breakfast were included and were pretty much same, same. Most of the food was good, especially fresh breads/rolls. The coffee....well, if you're accustomed to the good stuff, downgrade your expectations offered at most hotels.

    The trip is on dedicated bike paths, shared bike/pedestrian paths and a little along shoulders of roads or on very quiet roads. The route is generally well signed and it's pretty obvious how to proceed. However, per usual, we got lost a handful of times and realized such quickly and course corrected.

    We supplemented the booklets using our cell phone and an e-sim from Airalo, with O2 the actual German cell coverage firm. When switching on the service, it instantly connected and provided fast worthwhile assistance to the route and hotels. We used it sporadically each day and 1GB of data ($5.00USD) was more than enough, can be tipped up easily or buy a larger package up front. All hotels supplied free WiFi. Note: the Airalo e-sim we used is data only, no local phone number is included.

    Had the weather been much better, we would have lingered at more cafes along the route, as we enjoy delicious treats mid-day and good coffee.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Spargel  (white asparagus) with hollandaise sauce and schnitzel. (photo by Bruce)
    • Spargel soup. (photo by Bruce)
    • Typical signage. (photo by Bruce)
    • The view along the Mosel River. (photo by Bruce)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Peter Wiedenbeck 2 weeks ago

    Wonderful week of biking in a beautiful place

    I’d like to give a 4-1/2 star rating because, although it was wonderful and we definitely recommend it, there is still room for improvement

    Pros: Wonderful route – the vast majority of the time you are biking on paved dedicated bike paths along the river, separate from the roadway and train tracks. There are a few areas where the bike path is adjacent to the road (especially along the Rhine from St. Goar to Koblenz) and at least one short stretch on packed dirt through the woods. Most of the routes are extremely well-marked. You have to be watchful for turns in towns, where it can be easy to miss the small sign with the arrow to turn, especially when looking at all the sites in the towns. We did better when we stopped at each signpost and made sure we were headed the right way. The Hotels were all very nice and had generous breakfast buffets, which made for a great start every morning. Note that hotels in Germany don’t have AC and often don’t have fans. I had a spray bottle to mist myself while riding and that helped at night, too. Next time, I’ll bring a small fan to help on those hot nights. We didn’t opt for the dinner plan, but did eat in the hotels several times and had excellent meals and service. The organized wine tasting was fun and we did a few more on our own. Luggage transfers all went very well. We added an extra hotel night at each end (Trier and Koblenz), which we would do again. Trier has an amazing amount of Roman history and fabulous restaurants. The extra day also gave us time to ride the other way (upstream on the Mosel) to Saarburg. In Koblenz, we spent an entire day at Ehrenbreitstein Fortress (take the cable car up and across the Rhine to get there). The map book was very helpful and detailed the type of trail for each section. But, oops, one page on the Rhine was replaced by a duplicate page along the Mosel. The specific directions packet included detailed distances between towns and possible sites to see. But…. See cons below.

    Cons: Bikes: we had conventional bikes (not ebikes), and they could have been better maintained. The chains were a bit dry and downshifting often didn’t work. That was not a huge issue on the flat trail, but in towns, it was a problem. The odometer on one of the bikes quit working after 3 days. The seats are not touring seats – they are wide and therefore chafed. Despite doing lots of riding in prep and wearing padded shorts, we were painfully chafed by the end of the trip. We couldn’t figure out how to use the pump without letting out air, but were able to use a pump at one of the hotels. Detours: Our biggest issue is that it is clear the route was not checked early in the season and the directions adjusted. There was a lot of construction in many of the towns that invalidated the directions in the packet. Construction that clearly would be going on all summer. For example, Day 1, leaving Trier, the booklet says: “Start at Kaiser-Wilhelm bridge and cycle along the left bank of the Moselle” Well, the bike path itself is being reconstructed beneath the bridge - it is down to dirt, covered with equipment and bike path entrance blocked off. No detour signs giving you an alternate route. It took us an extra 10 km of going one way then another over a frustrating hour before we were on our way. Not a great start to the trip. There were similar long-term construction issues in at least two other places (Karden and Koblenz). If the route had been checked, a single sheet in addition to the bound booklet could have provided alternate ways to leave town/get to hotels with much less frustration.
    All that said, it was a wonderful experience and we highly recommend it. It is beautiful country, well-maintained bike paths, lovely vineyards and great wine. Being able to have the hotel reservations and luggage transfers all done for us was a pleasure. When there was an issue with the ferry to St Goar, customer service was very responsive and got things straightened out right away. Transportation to Trier and from Koblenz was very easy to arrange on the regional German trains.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Basilica in Trier (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • Villa Rustica in Mehring (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    •  (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    •  (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • Cable car to Ehrenbreitstein in Koblenz (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Timothy Paradiso July 14, 2023

    The trip was well planned

    The trip was wonderful unfortunately a member of our trip was injured and we had to stop our trip early. However the portion that we were able to do was wonderful, the hotels was great with a wonderful and very helpful staff. My only wish is that I would really like to have the GPS option, following the path was not difficult but would have been easier with the GPS, and made the trip more enjoyable.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Padre August 20, 2018

    Moselle River Memories

    We had high expectations going into the five day ride along the Moselle, four on it and one day on the Rhein, and the trip far exceeded those expectations. The views were absolutely incredible, the wines and beer were easily accessible, and the people friendly and helpful. We were fed marvelous European breakfasts each morning in wonderful hotels, which sustained us throughout the day. We had the time of our lives.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30-July 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • One more castle in the midst of the vineyards. (photo by Padre)
    • A view from above the Moselle (photo by Padre)
    • Oh, yes, there were magnificent wines, too. (photo by Padre)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Hutch September 7, 2017

    Everyone should ride the Mosel Valley

    This was our third trip down the Mosel. It almost seems to be created for cyclists. Lots of small towns, plenty of places to stop for breaks (coffee, beer, food, etc). Highly recommend this trip, only question is how many days since several options are available. We actually preferred (slightly) the 5-6 day trip over the longer one, but that's just personal. It's a no worry biking experience. We like that it is self guided and can set our own pace (relaxed). No worry about getting lost since both excellent maps are provided and signs posted at every turn.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 29-Sep 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) 1961flyer October 14, 2019

    Great time riding the Mosel!

    This is a beautiful piece of German wine growing region. The path was well mark and there were plenty of towns and restaurants along the route. The hotels were exceptional and the included wine tasting was informative and fun. We were skeptical about staying on the other side of the Rhine in Koblenz but this was a lovely hotel and a great place to stay!

    What was the date of your tour?
    25th - 31st August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful evening in Koblenz. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • The path and scenery were fantastic. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Hugh September 2, 2017

    The perfect introduction to bike trips

    This trip is extremely doable and enjoyable. We felt gratified to be pushing ourselves just enough to feel like we had really exercised but not so much that we were too tired or didn't have enough time to explore our surroundings. Even despite the rain two of the five days, we had a blast. Trittenheim was our highlight (visit Josef Rosch!).

    The hotel accommodations were great, and the luggage transfers and connections were seamless. The only challenge we experienced was finding the trailhead on the first day. Bike-tours might consider adding more specific details on how to reach the trailhead from the initial hotels.

    There were also lots of typos and errors in the materials. It would be worthwhile to get a native English speaker to review and revise.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/7-8/13/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Hugh)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Hugh)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Hugh)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Joseph Wise 9 months ago

    A bike trip to remember.

    The bike trip was the highlight of our two week trip to Germany this year. We went from town to town with beautiful scenery along the way. We moved at our own pace and enjoyed stopping in towns along the way to our next destination. Our luggage was always at the next hotel, usually before we arrived. All hotels were beautiful. Having breakfast each morning was a great way to start each day. We were fortunate to have great weather, but the saddlebags did allow for bringing extra clothing or rain gear if needed. Equipment was in great shape as well. We used e-bikes which helped with hills when needed. If you want to see Germany through the eyes of small towns, at your own pace and without the hustle of large cities. This type a bike trip is recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first, but not the last.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KenB July 4, 2018

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!
    This part of Germany is so charming that every day cycling was a wonderful adventure. Our hotels were amazing! The meals that they provided through their optional meal plan where without equal. Every evening was fine dining.

    History, culture, excellent hotels, excellent bike trails, and wonderful wine made this one our best bike trips ever!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 11 to June 17, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 2 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 3 (photo by KenB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Mamusia August 20, 2017

    Wine, Sun and Castles

    Great trip! Wonderful experience! Enjoyed biking through wine country and stopping at castles along the way!

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/18-7/23 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • View over the valley (photo by Mamusia)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jenny P August 31, 2016

    Beautiful Scenery, Nice Riding, and Excellent Wine

    Excellent bike tour! Traveling as a couple, we found the hotels nice, and especially loved the Hotel Weinhaus Mayer in Zell. Our favorite stops on the trip include hiking up to Zummethöhe and having dinner at Hotel Zummethof after the first day of biking (Trittenheim); wine tasting at the Vino-thek in Bernkastel-Kues; and everything about our stay in Zell. Breakfasts were excellent, and kept us filled until the afternoon.
    There were many other bike tourists on the route, including families with children of all ages. The route was fairly flat, and there seemed to be options for riding on either side of the river in most cases. The riding can be done in 2-4 hours, and there are plenty of villages to stop in along the way.
    The bike path itself was generally wide and well-paved, although we experienced a few short bumpy segments. The first 10 or so miles of the bike path (leaving Trier) goes through a rather industrial area, but once you've gotten through that, the scenery on the rest of the tour is incredible. We did the tour in mid-July, and had generally great weather. If going in early August, you should be able to eat lots of wild blackberries! We had a great time and would highly recommend the tour to anyone looking for a scenic and relatively leisurely trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 14-20
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • View from Zummethohe, Trittenheim (photo by Jenny P)
    • Typical scenery- a village across the river (photo by Jenny P)
    • Cochem (photo by Jenny P)
    • Biking through vineyards on the first day of riding (photo by Jenny P)
    • Nice Weinhaus and Restaurant in Karden (photo by Jenny P)
    • Koblenz (photo by Jenny P)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) cvanderhorck August 17, 2017

    Awesome revisit

    Beautiful scenery and wonderful villages/stubes along the way to stop and relax and have a wonderful wine or beer. It's an easy ride and we chose to redo this bike tour as we remembered the scenery so well and the nice paths.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18-July 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Senior Adventurer May 16, 2019

    2019 Mosel Bike Path After Action Report

    The best way to explore the beautiful Mosel River Valley from Trier to Koblenz, and then the Rhine from Koblenz to St. Goar. The bikes were in excellent shape and the in-country issue and briefing was perfect. The hotels were very good. For our late April early May trip the weather cooperated perfectly. The morning temperatures were cool but by mid-day we could enjoy lunch at a sidewalk at one of the many scenic small towns along the route. We booked 2 extra days in Trier with the tour company to allow us to explore the city before departure. We were very happy with the hotel they chose and the competitive price we paid for the extra nights.

    What was the date of your tour?
    28 April-4 May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Emil Koenig 11 months ago

    What a Wonderful Bike Trip

    My Family enjoyed all aspects of this bike trip. It was culturally rewarding and added up to a great bonding with my Family

  • (5/5) BroncoFan January 3, 2019

    Super tour through the best wine area in Germany!! A must tour!

    The tour down the Mosel the end of September 2018 was superior and the stops along the way tasting the local wines was superb! I'd do it again, so much to see and so much wine to drink! the hotels chosen were very nice and worth the expense ... except for our hotel in Cochem, fair and clean but not as nice as the other hotels/rooms. I'd also shorten the first day a bit, we went 35 miles a bit too much for day one. September was a great month to bike, crisp morning and lovely afternoons. Rain only one day! Bikes were in great shape and the side bag provided for each bike were a necessity!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by BroncoFan)
    • Fresh picked grapes (photo by BroncoFan)
    • Photo 3 (photo by BroncoFan)
    • Photo 4 (photo by BroncoFan)
    • Breakfast in Traben Trabach (photo by BroncoFan)
    • Photo 6 (photo by BroncoFan)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bob and Barb September 11, 2019

    Wonderful Trip

    Everything about the trip was perfect especially the accommodations and bike supplier who was very helpful. The only problem was the trip itinerary schedule did not match the actual hotel destinations which caused considerable confusion for the first day. Once that was realized the trip was perfect..

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 29, 2019-Sept 3, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection