Ireland  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (2/5) David Anderson October 4, 2022

    Pretty location, ok organization

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    In general, it was a great experience. I'd never been on a bike tour, and this was a load of fun. My wife and I plan to do more bike tours. However, if I had to choose between bike tours, I wouldn't recommend this specific one.

    Going over this bike tour's organization.

    GPS / Directions.

    A few things here to complain about.

    1. The printed directions were inconsistent between people on the tour. Some printed directions said left at an intersection, others said right. They were simply out of date, and the tour didn't re-print everything. Old printouts = old directions.

    2. The printed directions were inconsistent with the web directions. We were sent PDFs of directions. Those didn't match up with the printouts. Again, likely because they were older or newer (we couldn't figure out which). Different roads sometimes, different turns.

    3. The printed and web directions were inconsistent with the GPS tracks. This was super annoying, because we were biking along listening to the GPS directions (on the unit provided), and the GPS would say "turn here!" and the printed directions indicated we should go another few blocks.

    4. The printed / web / GPS directions were out of date for actual road conditions. In two different locations, the road was literally closed, and we had to detour around an area using Google maps. In one place, the GPS road literally had grass growing on it, and had obviously moved at least 5+ years before. These directions are *very* out of date at times.

    These direction inconsistencies didn't mean we got lost, but it did mean *daily* stops to consult our map, Google maps, GPS directions, and try to figure out where the tour intended us to go, regardless of all the inconsistencies. I'd highly suggest having offline Google maps if you're going to take the tour.

    Lodging.

    Some places were outstanding and high quality. Other places were lower quality. One place in particular stank heavily of peat smoke, with smoke literally billowing in through our windows. I don't know how often the tour company inspects the places they're sending people.

    Food.

    The tour included breakfast. It was sometimes great, mostly fine, but sometimes a bit low quality. Again, perhaps a lack of inspection on exactly what they're paying for.

    While the tour didn't provide dinner, we sometimes had trouble finding any place which was open. In one town, we got *lucky* that there was a food truck open, because otherwise every single restaurant in town was closed down. The locals all said that it made no sense that we hadn't planned on dinner, because their town didn't have restaurants open in this season. Many locations only had a single restaurant option. I think if you're going to operate a tour this late in the season, you need to scout out restaurants which will actually be open.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (3/5) Brendan July 12, 2017

    Beautiful bike ride but not a good value at the price.

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    This is a remarkable part of Ireland with an amazing history and a haunting landscape that is quickly changing as this part of Ireland attracts more visitors.

    First the good parts: we were a family of six and had a wonderful biking vacation. The people at Connemara Adventure Tours were very helpful and kind. Specific thanks to Conor and Chloe who were so thoughtful as we arrived and set out on our first day. There were no issues with baggage transfers etc.

    But here are a few critical things to consider before booking this trip.

    1. Clifden is the only true town on this trip and yet only the first and last nights are spent here. If you are looking for music, as an example, it will be difficult (if not impossible) to find at the other destinations. In Clifden there are several pubs with music every night of the week and a much wider selection of eating options.

    2. The idea of a Connemara Loop is nice in concept when looking at the map but the B&Bs we experienced were not at all consistent and a couple just seemed cheap considering what we paid. One happy exception was Connemara Country Lodge on our last evening. "Singing Mary", the host, was the epitome of Irish hospitality.

    3. At €900 ($1000) this is not an inexpensive trip for six people. But if I had friends wanting to repeat this trip, I would suggest they find a good bike rental in Clifden (€100/week per person). Get a nicer B&B or house rental in Clifden and stay put and bike north and south from there. And then work with a local guide to plan daily loops that align with the ability and interest of your group. It would also be easier to manage the weather issue since this part of Ireland is often cloudy and wet.

    4. The maps and assistance by Conor on routes and restaurants along the way were very helpful. But the condition of the bikes were just average. And when they charged for panniers and "souvenir" water bottles as we prepared to leave, I felt nickel and dimed. Note to Connemara: when a family pays more than $6k for a week of cycling, kick in the panniers and water bottles or price accordingly so basics are not being charged. Grrrr.

    Our family biked through Normandy earlier in the summer and the bikes and hotels were far better for a minor increase in cost. The lesson for me is that our next bike tour will be direct with a local operator so costs, routes, equipment and expectations about hotels and restaurants are better aligned.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 3 - 9
    How many tours have you completed?
    +10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Kylemore Abbey is certainly a highlight. (photo by Brendan)
    • Connemara National Park is worth the uphill climb. Kids loved hiking to the top of Diamond Hill. (photo by Brendan)
    • On the way to Lough Inagh - be prepared for clouds, cool weather, and moisture. (photo by Brendan)
    • Enjoying the classic Irish pubs is part of the attraction of this trip. (photo by Brendan)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson July 13, 2017

      Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry you weren't fond of the route and many of the overnight locations. When I did this tour two years ago with a friend, we actually loved the route and where we stayed. Likewise, all clients who have rated this tour until now have given it 5 stars, including for route and hotels. But you're absolutely right that it's not the best route if you want music and nightlife each evening. It's more for those who prefer rustic settings. Preferences definitely come into play.

      We're going to be in touch with Chloe at Connemara Adventure Tours and inquire why you were charged for the panniers and water bottles. To my knowledge, that has never happened before. If you send an email to me at jim@biketours.com, I'll make sure we reimburse you for those costs.

      You mentioned that next time you'd book directly with the local operator. As you noted, Connemara Adventure Tours was the local operator in your case. BikeTours.com serves as their representative, and we keep their pricing. We have similar relationships with about 70 local companies across Europe. So, while we were an intermediary, you traveled with the local tour company that designed and operated your tour. And we hope you'll continue to book your tours through us!

    • 2/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Marge Anderson October 5, 2022

    Lots of friendly people

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    We had beautiful weather. This helped make the trip really nice. We had very nice hosts at our accommodations. Some of the places were much nicer than others. The Brennan B&B was excellent. Other places had some problems like plumbing, but in general the accommodations were fine. We did arrive in one town (Glencolmcille) to find there weren't any restaurants open. We thought this wasn't very good planning on the part of the bike company.
    The roads were ok. Some of the roads were a bit busy. Some were very nice country roads. There was a section that was gravel that was a bit tricky. The scenery was lovely.
    There were some errors in directions that should be fixed.
    I've been on a few other biking trips. This was my least favorite.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Ireland’s West Cork
    (3/5) u d i July 4, 2019

    Lovely landscape shame most of the cycling is on asphalt with fast cars ..

    · Ireland’s West Cork on Tranquil Lanes Following the Coast

    We had great time riding at CORK area, the weather was on our side also. everything was green and blooming, we all had e-bikes which was a great descision to do since first 3 days we traveled more than 70KM each day.accomodation was very good and so was the food, especially fish and sea food, we also had one night stay at a lovely castle fron 16th century on the atlantic beach.since most on the track was dedicated to the West Atlantic Way and many parts of it on the N71 we changed it and went deep into the countryside which was eaven nicer, plenty of fields and woods as we went up and downhill.it is advisable to change parts of the route to offroad routs.

    What was the date of your tour?
    june 16 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is our 8th
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by u d i)
    • Photo 2 (photo by u d i)
    • Photo 3 (photo by u d i)
    • Photo 4 (photo by u d i)
    • Photo 5 (photo by u d i)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 5, 2019

      Thanks kindly for your feedback. We're so glad to hear that you were able to improve your experience by altering your route. And thank goodness for e-bikes; they truly are a game changer! Love that you had wonderful weather, food, and accommodations. Thanks again for the review (and the pictures).

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Tee Jay August 8, 2017

    Interrupted trek

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    Fabulous day and a half. An unfortunate accident resulted in a trip to the hospital. Wet grounds and inexperienced riding led to crash and 9 stitches. Great help by tour staff to get us from hotel to hotel to finish the route. We recommend warning riders of the risks of skids and to always wear helmet. BTW modify your brochure to show riders to wear helmets. It doesn't.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Dublin and West Ireland
    (4/5) MarcieB August 23, 2019

    The Wild Atlantic Way of Ireland is not to be missed!

    · Dublin and West Ireland E-Bike Tour

    There were two dates for the E-bike tour (Dublin and West Ireland). . . July and August. We selected the August date and packed rain/wind gear . . . just in case! When we received the advanced brochure for the trip, it was in English and the bike tour company was indicated: Rotalis ~ Die Radreise Manufaktur. Hmmm, I thought. An e-bike tour of Ireland by a German outfitter will probably be a mixed group of English and German speakers. That was true, up to a point. Of the thirteen members of the group, eleven were German speakers and we were the two English speakers. Several in the German group told us they take Rotalis trips on a regular basis and wondered how we had ended up in a predominately German tour. The good news is that I understand some conversational German. Although attempts were made to converse with us in English, among themselves it was natural to speak their own language. The Dublin city guide assumed everybody spoke German and off we went. My husband and I had to return to the hotel within 15 minutes because it was a bit overwhelming for me to try and translate all the architectural/historical details the guide was providing. She felt badly to see us go and said she could have provided an English translation, but she was providing a lot of information and we felt we would have slowed down their pace.

    So, other than the language issue, I would highly recommend this tour if the number of English speakers could bring the ratio to 50-50. The two guides (a driver/chef/mechanic and the tour guide/mechanic/group leader) were extremely helpful and always spoke to us in English.

    The E-bikes had already served several groups and were beginning to show some signs of wear. Chains would periodically fall off and need attention and some of the hand brakes were only working on one side. At one point, they ended up renting an additional bike for my husband in Clifden so he could continue riding. They mentioned that 2020 would bring a new fleet of e-bikes. With Bosch components they were pretty impressive as far as ease of use and power choices were concerned.

    Staying two nights in three different locales was fabulous. The food, snacks and activities were always locally sourced and culturally authentic. The pacing was good, the stops were timely and the adventures unforgettable! I don't think any of us will forget the turbulent little ferry ride to Inishmore in the Aran Islands. Yes, there was some rain, some wind and some challenges, but we all made it and made some new friendships.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 3-10, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our 10th Biketours.com
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Ten Germans and two Americans . . . somewhere in Western Ireland! (photo by MarcieB)
    • A sumptuous snack beachside. From fresh fruits and veggies to seafood pates, hearty breads and wine/beer/water, we were well served. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Kylemore Abbey and its Victorian Walled Garden was worth a visit. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The Rosleague Manor Hotel was home to Tyson, a very friendly black lab. The food and ambiance were wonderful. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The day we wore all our wind/rain layers to get from point A to point B. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The Killary Sheep farm demo included watching Jess run the sheep from paddock to pen, a shearing demo, bottle feeding the lambs and our group enjoying our snack in the shearer's shed. (photo by MarcieB)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 24, 2019

      Marcie - thanks kindly for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the tour despite the language issue. You never quite know what the make-up of a group tour will be, but it always makes things interesting! The guides on this tour are always bilingual and able to provide an English version of the information - don't hesitate to utilize it! Thanks also for noting about the e-bikes and their imminent replacement. We're so glad you enjoyed your trip overall, and we LOVE the photos, thanks for posting them! And, 10 BikeTours.com tours, WOW! Thank you!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (4/5) Faye October 2, 2017

    A very good trip

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    The trip was generally great, as we were lucky with the weather. The B&B's were generally very good, particularly the one in Glenties. All of the B&B owners were helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were great. The B&B that we stayed at in Donegal was not as good- the bed was uncomfortable, the curtains didn't block out the light, and the toilet didn't flush very well.

    Great to have an electric bike for those hills, and a GPS to navigate!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 15 to 22nd, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) joseph eberly 10 months ago

    Amazing scenery and people

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    The North West coast of Ireland is breathtaking. For the most part, quiet country roads or bike paths. Our B&Bs were very nice and the hosts even nicer. There are some areas that were quite challenging and we were very happy to have e-bikes. A little rain but nothing that kept us from riding. We had a fun and challenging ride through the national park with a dirt path and a steep climb on a gravel path. We had some equipment issues that slowed us down but operator got us going again. The Garman GPS was amazing. We made plenty of wrong turns, but it always got us back on track. All in all, this is the most beautiful part of Ireland and we had great food at every stop.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our second trip with Bike Tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (4/5) Brittany at BikeTours December 3, 2015
    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. Connemara is a dreamy, scenic region of Ireland! The views were magnificent. The route was 95% on quiet back roads. The cycling is definitely a level two tour, with intermittent rolling hills. As this tour has very low mileage, there is plenty of time to meander and take in the surroundings. I went at the end of the season (mid October), and I experienced closed establishments for the upcoming winter. However, there were 1 or 2 dining places to choose from in each village, even with the closures. I would recommend this tour to first-time travelers and travelers that want to have an off-the-beaten-path experience.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • The Kylemore Abbey (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Hiking on Diamond Mountain in Connemara National Park (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • The Atlantic coast (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Resting near Leenaun Village (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Sheep! (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (4/5) Chris 77 September 6, 2018

    Good tour of the Atlantic coast

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    14
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Heidy December 3, 2015

    Beautiful Scenic Bike Tour

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    The perfect way to experience Ireland! My husband and I biked this tour in September 2014 and were totally taken away by beautiful Connemara region. Along the way, we enjoyed beer and seafood in local pubs and a smoked mackerel and champagne in Ballynahinch Castle. The bicycles were in good condition and the accommodation in B&Bs was fine for us. The hosts were friendly, the facilities clean and the Irish breakfast huge and delicious. I bought us all the rain-gear I could find, but we did not need it once. Some mornings were foggy but it only added to the charm of the countryside.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Tzee September 11, 2016

    Beautiful Ireland West Coast Bicycle Trip

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    A great way to experience this wonderful region of Ireland. My wife and I decided on a late August tour and weren't disappointed, but be prepared for changeable weather each day, from rain and clouds to sunny and warm. Definitely rent some panniers to hold rain gear, jacket, etc. The bicycles performed well and we cycled through all the gears in the hilly countryside.
    The Connemara Tour staff were friendly and very helpful.
    Many of the B&Bs had fabulous views out to the sea and mountains and all rooms were comfortable and near town centers or other points of interest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 21-28
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Many beautiful horses and ponies (photo by Tzee)
    • Fantastic views along the way (photo by Tzee)
    • Alternative local craft brew to Guinness (photo by Tzee)
    • Typical roadway along the Wild Atlantic Way (photo by Tzee)
    • Morning pedal into the valley (photo by Tzee)
    • Many charming villages (photo by Tzee)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Keats October 18, 2016

    Cycling the Wild Atlantic Way in Ireland

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    My wife and I greatly enjoyed our tour along Ireland's west coast. The slow pace allowed for many stops, great views, and meeting locals in B and B's and pubs. Mostly on back roads, we encountered very little traffic, and even when we did, the local drivers were well aware of us, slowed until they could safely pass, or expressed appreciation when we pulled over to let them pass. Our longest days were 45 and 38 km, and the rest closer to 30 km. We were in pretty good condition for the tour, though we do not bike these distances regularly, and felt comfortable with them each day, albeit a little saddle sore.
    Weather was cool and cloudy, so good for cycling, and only occasional showers for which we were well prepared with rain gear. The bike were in good condition, and geared appropriately for the hilly terrain. Tools for adjusting seats and gear shifters were provided, and we made use of them. We would have preferred to sit more upright on the bikes, but this was not possible since handle bars could not be raised. With this exception, the bikes were comfortable. We rented one pannier between the two of us for rain gear and extra clothing.
    Wind was occasionally a factor, especially when facing west toward the Atlantic, but as soon as we headed east or northeast, it was at our back and an asset.
    The B and B hosts were friendly and helpful with advice. Most were well located near pubs for dinners, and all provided very hearty and tasty breakfasts. The pubs along the way were great for a generous bowl of seafood chowder and a beer--a good energy boost on cool days, as well a spots to dodge occasional showers.
    The scenery was spectacular along the route, including seascapes and pristine beaches, lakes, farms, sheep, Connemara ponies, donkeys, the 12 Bens mountains, and small, friendly towns.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 19-Oct. 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) hapberly November 6, 2016

    Awesome tour of the West Coast!

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    This bike trip was a great way to see the beautiful country in western Ireland. The route was easy to follow and there was a lot to see. I would highly recommend it.

    We had only one day of rain, and two windy days. Those were probably the hardest days, because of the weather, not the route. Be sure to pack rain gear. We chose to stay in the bed and breakfasts, which I highly recommend. Most of the bed and breakfast were great, the hosts very friendly. It gave us a chance to get to know locals and ask lots of questions about what we were seeing.

    Most of the bed and breakfasts were located near the town and pubs. The pubs had great food and friendly locals. We were not disappointed with any of the food on our trip. We saw lots of sheep, donkeys, cows, mountains, and the ocean.

    The bikes provided were great, the maps and other information was also very easy to use and follow.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) katrien August 11, 2017

    Admiring nature while cycling with kids in Connemara.

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    We did this trip with our 3 children (6-12 years) and we loved every minute of it. The bikes were great, the maps and organisation really good. It did not feel that "lazy", with trips of 50 km and lots of wind and activities along the way. Nice were: the beaches, islands, pubs, abbey, sheep farm and swimming pool in one hotel. We all fell in love with the nature of this piece of the world!

    What was the date of your tour?
    juli 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by katrien)
    • Photo 2 (photo by katrien)
    • Photo 3 (photo by katrien)
    • Photo 4 (photo by katrien)
    • Photo 5 (photo by katrien)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) PKinGeorgia August 17, 2017

    Beautiful Connemara

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    This was a great trip that I took on the roads of western Ireland with my 14 year old son. We had good maps and bicycles and the B & Bs were excellent. I recommend it highly to people like us who are not the most physically fit, but enjoy the outdoors.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 17 - 21
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • Photo 2 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • Photo 3 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • Photo 4 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • Photo 5 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • Photo 6 (photo by PKinGeorgia)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Karen54 August 5, 2018

    Best Week in Ireland

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    We had a wonderful week long bike trip in Connemara. The scenery was amazing, the equipment was great and the lodging was fanastic. This is the best way to see Ireland! Our support team provided us with maps, and great places to stop along the way and amazing detours. They also called us on rainy days to see if we wanted to hitch a ride, but the weather never stopped us. It was a little rainy and windy sometimes, but our trip was in early May. We highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • First day of cycling - just outside Clifden (photo by Karen54)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Karen54)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Christine Wilson 7 months ago

    Stunning self guided trip through Connemara

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    Cycling was the perfect way to see Ireland. We loved everything about it..our accomodations, the locations, landscapes and the food! The first day was the most challenging of the cycling days with the hills & terrain. My only suggestion is to confirm your bike size is correct. Mine was a medium upgraded hybrid bike which should have been a small. The bike was to big & heavy making the first day's ride more challenging for me, but I wouldn't have traded my experience of riding that day for anything! I did receive the correct size bike for the remainder of the trip. We had three exceptionally beautiful clear days and two very rainy days, which we were prepared for since we brought rain gear suggested for the trip. We had a true experience of Ireland weather! I would definitely recommend this cycling trip for anyone who is looking for an amazing adventure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dublin and West Ireland
    (5/5) Tim and Priscilla August 22, 2022

    Best Ebike trip ever: Irish countryside with adult children

    · Dublin and West Ireland E-Bike Tour

    We just wanted to thank you. Our recent Ireland ebike tour with Stephano as guide and Sarah as driver/picnic arranger was too perfect for words. Although the guides spoke in German and in Italian, Stephano also spoke exceptionally well in English. We were worried due to reading another guest review and as the other 10 bikers were Swiss or German. However, half of the guests also spoke English. We connected well and had a most enjoyable time with a lovely group of strangers that got along amazingly well. Our hotels were wonderful and varied from a charming inn to a mansion - and all very clean and lovely. The food was simply the best at each place of lodging, and included. We especially enjoyed the amazing picnics the two guides arranged for us so we could bike on the most scenic roads with numerous cows, sheep, horses and boats etc - and not worry about where to eat. Stephano was exceptionally knowledgeable and happy, sharing interesting history along our route and equal kindness for all the guests. He was an expert biker and made 30-40 miles of biking up and down hills easy and fun - and, we were on terrific ebikes. He encouraged us to stop whenever we wanted, and we did, to take many photos along the way. Sarah as the driver brought extra bikes in case we needed them (we did not) and prepared amazing picnics in lovely shady spots, as well as had our luggage waiting in our rooms at each inn upon arrival. They worked as a seamless team and were happy everyday not letting us know how much work they did behind the scenes making sure our bikes were all in tiptop shape. We stayed 2 nights at each inn/hotel as we came in a night earlier to Dublin to see the Book of Kells. However, the biking on quiet lanes and the ferry with hike on Inishmore (Aran Island) was more beautiful than we expected or we can describe. The weather was sunny everyday - in Ireland! But we were prepared with rain gear just in case too. We could not have asked for a better trip for our two adult kids and us (ranging in age from 40 - 70.) The trip had 14 guests (ages 19 -81) and two well experienced guides. So much fun! Ireland is so beautiful. I would highly recommend this trip, and hope to ebike with Stephano and Sarah again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first guided ebike tour we have gone on. We love biking, and recommend bringing padded bike liners/pants. ;D
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    •  (photo by Tim and Priscilla)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (5/5) Alpskier November 14, 2015

    The Rugged Beauty of the Emerald Isle

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    Highlights of the Highlands was one of my favorite trips. The affable local tour operator met us at our b&b in Donegal Town and told us what to expect. Bikes were great and the b&b lodgings were solid, including a satisfying breakfast. To be sure, the ride has parts that are truly rigorous, including a couple of long, steady inclines. And most of the ride follows low-trafficked roads, first along the rocky coast and later inland through national parks. The Irish were most welcoming and so were the pubs. But the beauty is in the land, resplendent vistas, hours of riding through glacial valleys. It was a pretty cool thing to ride through a pack of sheep. We road in the summer. Expect changeable weather, a bit chilly and rainy. Needless to say, bring a camera!

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection