Bike Tour Reviews: Greece  The Peloponnese Peninsula


Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

COUNTRY: Greece

7 nights
4.8/5 (33)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours

4.8/5 (33)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 840

Self-guided:
Saturdays: Apr 6 - Oct 26, 2024.

Description:
This is a fascinating bike trip for the admirers of Greek Archaeology and cultural experiences. It is unique as you start biking high in the mountains but end up cycling next to the sea for a couple of days. It combines the magnificent fir trees of…

View Tour

  • (5/5) musicmama44 May 17, 2022

    See the real Greece!

    Our tour was the perfect blend of Ancient sites, beautiful nature and authentic Greek culture. The hotels we were put up at were all run by the nicest people and generally in great locations with easy walking to the center of the towns we were in. We especially enjoyed our stay in Nafplio. The local company helping us, Arcas, was easy to communicate with on the road. We experienced a broken chain on day 1 and they had someone out to rescue us in 30 minutes and a new bike by that evening. We did hit a national holiday 1 day and so the sites we were supposed to see were not going to be open, it happened to rain a bunch that day as well and we probably wouldn't have wanted to ride out there if it was open, so it worked out, but it would have been nice to have some pre trip notice or an alternative plan for a ride that day. Both companies, Arcas, and bike tours were great with answering our questions and helping us prepare for the trip. We had some specifics we needed help with like bed requests and we decided to bring our own saddles, and everyone got back to us with answers to our questions within 24 hours each time. The phone app used by the company does not require internet and gave easy turn-by-turn directions as well as historical info and all kinds of other trip info like where the hills were and far you had to go.

    I have a little feedback about this particular trip if you need some particulars or aren't sure it is right for you. We are E bikers here in the US, we ride several times a week 9 months out of the year, mostly on a greenbelt system (10-25 miles range per trip). We are in our late 40's, in good health, could be in better shape and I have a knee injury that affects my riding. This trip was a 2 out of 4 difficulties, in my mind, this seemed more like what I thought a 3 would be, maybe a 2.5. While the riding was doable, it was definitely more challenging in spots than we anticipated. The batteries provided did not hold a charge as long as we expected so we were really having to push ourselves on the uphills more than we anticipated to ration the battery. Definitely download the manual for the control panel, there were all sorts of ways to customize its use as well as instructions about how to get it to recharge in the downhills, not a lot, but it did help. With the exception of the very first ascent which was very long, most of them were shorter, but the places to stop and recharge were far and few so you had to really watch your charge. The roads for the most part were back roads and/or unused older highways and that was wonderful, little to no traffic and wide open spaces and beautiful scenery. When you did have to be on a highway, however, there was a lot more traffic, and they were moving pretty fast, so it was a little intimidating at times.I'd say you were on main highways about 10% of the time, the rest was more remote. We don't do much highway riding here, I would absolutely do it again, this is just info that I would have found helpful. I think the difference in expectation on the difficulty of the trip had more to do with us and our vision than what was communicated to us, we are kinda wimpy, in other words!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    May1-8
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Michelle Franks August 8, 2022

    Absolutely fantastic!

    We are so so impressed with everything about this trip! The planning, attention to detail, the hotels, the local guides, etc. Everyone was so helpful and the trip went off flawlessly. We did it in July during a heatwave and ended up switching to e-bikes halfway through, which was a great decision. ARCAS, the local bike company that took care of us in Greece, was absolutely wonderful and extremely accommodating. I did this trip with my 16 year old daughter, and it was perfect. This trip was a resounding 10/10!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    just this one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Icebikers July 20, 2019

    Greece has been on my list for a long time!

    Cycle is a perfect way to see fantastic places in many countries, Greece is no exception. I saw places that are spectacular like old theatre build 4000 years BC. Cycling in the country side as well as the coast is fantastic. Epidaurus, Nafplio and many other players in this tour as well as the Corint Canal on my way back to Athens is worth seeing.........

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6th to July 13th 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Nafplio (photo by Icebikers)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Beth Gray November 7, 2022

    The best part of Greece!!!

    We spent a couple of weeks touring Greece before heading to the Peloponnese Peninsula. What a great way to end our trip! The roads were beautiful, the hills manageable, accommodations were great except for one night where the location was fabulous, the hotel not so much. We met some great people who may be international friends from Amsterdam and Australia now!
    Thank you Bike tours for another incredible ride and looking forward to the next.

  • (5/5) Darrell8 November 14, 2019

    Beautiful Scenery

    Excellent service that was provided by the local bike company, the gentleman was very friendly and gave us great information when asked. The bikes were excellent and all hotels were very nice with great breakfasts that was included in the rates. GPS were included so finding the right route was seamless.
    There were lot of great sites to see along the way and the scenery was amazing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 5,2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Love2ride July 15, 2019

    Great way to see Greece!

    Overall, we were highly satisfied with our experience on this self guided bike trip. The scenery was great, starting in the (relatively cooler) mountain town of Vytina, cycling down into Tripoli. We enjoyed the day trip to the Kapsia Caves. The ride from Tripoli to Astros was scenic, with a very noticeable flora change as we dropped over the pass and started to head down to the (much warmer) seaside. The dip in the Aegean to cool off after the day's ride was exultant. The ride along the coast to Nafplio was beautiful, and we enjoyed the ancient sights along the way (Agros). Nafplio is a charming town, absolutely worth staging out of for the final few days.
    Pluses: Hotel and staff in Vytina, Tripoli, Nafplio. The ancient sights to visit got better and better with each day (Argos, Mycenea, Epidaurus). The charming towns, intimate small lanes and shops, late night restaurants out in the squares or along pedestrian streets in Paralion Astros, Vytina, Nafplio were a delight. Dips to cool off in the Aegean a joy.
    We found the Greeks, those with the local tour company, the shuttle pick up and drop off, the Hotels and well, just about everywhere along the way, to be friendly and eager to engage and to help. Also, the relative cost of goods, meals, etc. were quite affordable.
    Specific to the bike tour company...friendly and prompt pick up at the airport, and the GPS units provided (50 EURO refunded deposit) had each days routes preloaded and worked out quite well (given the routing had a lot of zigs and zags at times, I don't think we'd have been able to follow the route with a paper map/sticker process common to other bike company rides). Baggage transfers went without a hitch. Very accommodating for our request to switch bike types at the start of the ride.

    As for 'room for improvement'...there were a few items. Relative to the info we were sent, this tour was a bit thin on details on where and when to expect to see some of the sights...just that 'we'd bike by them' (and we did, but at the 10 mile point, 15 mile point or ? - the GPS path did not indicate that type of info). One minor irritation, was our third day leg (Tripoli to Astros). We found the ancient site and museum at Tegea per the route description, only to find it was closed on that particular day we were routed to bike thru it. Also, the GPS, as stated it was overall very useful (only steered us off in a minor way once, and we were able to figure out where to go well enough). But the unit would tell us we'd be at the destination...and we'd look around and not see our hotels. We'd spend time walking around, circling about to find it (and the small hotel in Paralion Astros had the hotel name in subtle letters on a glass door...we walked right by it). Similar experience in Nafplio, I had to plug in the name of the hotel in my own smartphone to have it navigate us down side street alleyways to the hotel entrance. So a bit better directions on how to find our hotel upon arrival would have saved us some time out of the sun (already tired after a hot day cycling). And finally along those lines, there was a switch in our hotel in Nafplio versus our stated first night destination (we'd not been told this). That killed time trying to sort that out. Again, more a nuisance level...folks at both hotels quickly helped us figure out the slip up.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    First week of July, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    ~6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tony123 October 27, 2019

    Excellent itinerary

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-19
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) GRL3 October 21, 2019

    Fantastic trip thru Greek Peloponnese

    This is a must do trip. One of our best ever. The scenery, accommodations, rental company and everyone we interacted with were 5 star in every way. Bikes were great, GPS systems worked fine, and the routes were as expected. They really focus on keeping you off the main roads as much as possible, but even when you were on the main roads, ALL drivers were very courteous and gave lots of room. Absolutely no issues with anything, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to see the beautiful Peloponnese Peninsula the right way (by bike). Yes, there were some hills to climb, but nothing insurmountable, and it was always rewarding to come down!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JBxx August 14, 2018

    A perfect way to see working class Greece with lots of history

    We ( 3 couples) did the self guided tour . The bikes were comfortable and worked very well.. The route instructions and GPS were easy to follow. The route took us through rural / agricultural Greece , with daily visits to one or more spectacular historic site. The riding as advertised was light to moderate. The Hotels were good to excellent - The Grand Sarai in Nafplio was excellent. We were fortunate that the weather was good - in fact a few very hot days - but lots of water dealt with that. We made some great new temporary friends that were doing the same tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2-9 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Cyndi2838 October 13, 2019

    Greece was surprising!

    The landscape was amazing, from the Fraser Fir trees to the beaches our ride was wonderful. The GPS needs updating as many of the roads are small.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 28,2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Pedalann June 14, 2019

    A Beautiful and Educational Tour in Greece

    This tour gave us a chance to see the natural beauty in Greece from mountains to seashore, the agricultural richness of some of its orchards from olives to oranges and the amazing cultural history during our visits to sites such as Mycenae and Epidavros. The preprogrammed GPS made each day's navigation easy and allowed us to concentrate on the sightseeing along the way. Since our tour was selfguided, we could cycle at our own rate and stop frequently to take photos and read information posters that interested us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 4-11, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    More than 20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • The displays of wildflowers were amazing - everywhere we went. (photo by Pedalann)
    • A strong wonderful memory will be the fragrance of oranges as we cycled through the orchards. (photo by Pedalann)
    • An evening stroll with Nafplio in the background. (photo by Pedalann)
    • The huge amphitheater at Epidavros - I can hear Fred talking with the two women far below me. (photo by Pedalann)
    • We rode through the mountains on very quiet roads, lined with wildflowers. (photo by Pedalann)
    • Fred, being welcomed by our hostess in Nafplio.  All our hosts and hostesses were very friendly and helpful. (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jim n Anne July 5, 2018

    Follow In the Footsteps of the Ancient Greeks

    This tour was scenic, engaging, varied, enjoyable, rewarding. The route was well planned; we would arrive at the highlight of each day's ride just at noon when the big groups had left for lunch so we didn't have to contend with crowds. The Greek people are friendly, happy, and agreeable. The routes were scenic and just challenging enough. The rental bikes were well suited for the terrain and conditions, and the available GPS was a valuable aid. We loved the accommodations, and the luggage service was flawless.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Several dozen
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Julane June 26, 2018

    5 Stars!

    5 Stars! We highly recommend Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula for its incredibly beautiful and spectacular landscapes, ancient history, significant archeological sites, and charming hotels in charming towns. Every Greek we met was friendly and helpful; the food was fresh and tasty; the culture was interesting. We were fortunate to be on this tour during Easter week and were able to observe several traditional practices including a religious procession and a community concert. The services offered by the local tour company, Arcas Travel, were top-notch: GPS routes along the coast, up and down mountains, through olive and citrus groves; well-maintained bikes; transfers to the start and finish of the tour; assistance a phone call away. It was a perfect cycling holiday!

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 31, 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Julane)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Purple Sneakers August 17, 2017

    The Peloponnese

    we were drawn into the sumptuous landscape of the Peloponnese from the first kilometers of our ride around Tripoli, as were taken (by GPS) intimately through a wonderful and beautiful landcape. the second day was largely a continuation of the first, until the farmland gave way to the coast. the following day was perhaps the most beautiful as we climbed along the coast reminiscent of Big Sur, though the water below was utterly, and achingly the turquoise color only found along the Aegean. the route eventually took us inland to the archaeological site of Argos on the Plain, and finally Nafplio, a small seaside village with a Byzantine past. it was a glorious day. while the remainder of the our riding revolved around the nearby archaeological sites—Mycenae and Epidaurus—the landscape remained the draw. an exceptional countryside, highly recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    24 June - 1 July
    How many tours have you completed?
    many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) James Krause May 10, 2023

    Greek hospitality and history combine to make this an unforgettable experience

    How better to learn than while enjoying something so good for the body? This trip, our third biking adventure, feeds the muscles and mind. The hospitality enjoyed was, without question, some of the best enjoyed anywhere. This all leaves an enduring impression.

    Stories are told as new ones are created. Over the course of this adventure, the Greek philosophers remind you of the value of a healthy body, healthy mind. History has a way of reminding us of our roots and progress. The journey was refreshing.

    It was a tour of contrasts, high in the mountains, down to the sea. We experienced life in villages and larger centers. We felt safe throughout and the tour operators responded immediately to all questions or concerns. For us, little things matter much and we were satisfied by those enjoyed.

  • (5/5) James Krause May 10, 2023

    Greek hospitality and history combine to make this an unforgettable experience

    How better to learn than while enjoying something so good for the body? This trip, our third biking adventure, feeds the muscles and mind. The hospitality enjoyed was, without question, some of the best enjoyed anywhere. This all leaves an enduring impression.

    Stories are told as new ones are created. Over the course of this adventure, the Greek philosophers remind you of the value of a healthy body, healthy mind. History has a way of reminding us of our roots and progress. The journey was refreshing.

    It was a tour of contrasts, high in the mountains, down to the sea. We experienced life in villages and larger centers. We felt safe throughout and the tour operators responded immediately to all questions or concerns. For us, little things matter much and we were satisfied by those enjoyed.

  • (5/5) kdorman June 21, 2018

    Amazing Trip!!!

    This was my first cycling tour - and it completely converted me - this is the best way to see/experience a country. Love the fact that you use local biking companies - they really know their country and how best to see it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 20-27th
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KBogg June 20, 2018

    Great itinerary

    Well planned tour with excellent hotels
    Local bike tour staff were amazing

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/24
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Manuel and Maria November 14, 2018

    Great way to explore hidden gems of Greece!!!

    We love feeling like locals, eating like locals, seeing the country the way locals do. Mostly away from touristy places. This was exactly what this tour was about. Combining Greek history, mythology, archaeology, authentic Greek food in authentic tavernas, experiencing warm Greek hospitality, revelling in the natural beauty of the mountains and the warmth of the sea. What more can I say? It was an incredible trip made possible by the Arcas team, local to Greece, coordinated thru bike tours.com. Thank you so much!!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 13 to 20th, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Several
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) LewB November 16, 2017

    October Must Be Best

    My wife and I totally enjoyed our first bike tour together with the very pleasant Peloponnese itinerary. We had beautiful views on quiet roads through villages and hills. Every effort biking uphill was rewarded on the downhill, and with nice flat stretches in-between. The four nights based in Nafplio gave us the time to enjoy the special charms of that town. The local operator was great and BikeTour's guidance is reliable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 28 - Nov 4
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection