Bike Tour Reviews  page 2

  • Danube Bike Path
    (3/5) Diane Griffin 3 months ago

    Disappointing - don't go during shoulder season

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    I've done four self-guided trips and this trip was my least favorite. The marketing material pitches "storybook villages" but most days are spent riding through corn fields. The hotels were outside of towns and hard to walk to restaurants. Because it was shoulder season, there were very few restaurants open.
    First day's hotel was outside of town and front desk advised that we go to the mall for lunch. Fortunately we found a fun restuarant down on the river. The initial meeting with the bike company was disorganized and very brief. He barely talked about the tour, he didn't have tools to swap out pedals, there were too many of us attending the meeting and he said he didn't have time to answer questions - only 60 minutes alotted. We asked for spare tubes for the two road bikes but never got them. Skinny tires get flats!!
    The "castle" we stayed in one night was not nice. It was clearly getting renovated - the rooms were nice but there were only five rooms. The property was overgrown and rundown, and with only five rooms it felt very creepy and unoccupied.
    Breakfast at the castle - no protein - no eggs, no yogurt. We're on a bike tour and need energy! No fruit, no granola. Breakfast was just six slices of cucumbers, 10 cherry tomatoes, hard rolls, deli meat/cheese. Bar wasn't open for post-ride beer/wine.
    Donauhotel Letternof - 11k from Enns, very remote, had to walk to a campground for food. Closest restaurant is cash only, need reservations. Front desk tried to make res but couldn't get through. The ONLY local taxi was working in Linz, not available for us. It was due to rain very hard. Hotel loaned us umbrellas and we went back to the campground for dinner.

    Day 3 - arrived at Cafe Braun (the meeting point) at 4:30 and called for shuttle (runs 3-6pm) told to go to a camping store(?) and get the bus as they don't have anyone to pick us up. One guy in our party was willing to make the 3k very steep climb to get us a ride. This hotel was nice but since it was past high season everything in this cute village was closed. Only one restaurant was open.
    Last day - Vienna - hotel was so far from center city and far from anything interesting. Very long and confusing ride through busy city. Very limited restaurants. Shortest riding day and yet our bags didn't arrive until 5pm.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 2/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Kathleen Cook 4 months ago

    Great Trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Our group of 15 riders had a great trip. Some were on road bikes, some on e-bikes, and some on hybrid bikes. I would not recommend the hybrid bikes for this trip. The climbs were very challenging on the hybrids even for experienced bikers. The climbs were tough for those on the road bikes, and even those on e-bikes had to put forth considerable effort. But those on hybrids were really at a disadvantage.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Portugal's Atlantic Coast
    (5/5) Regan Wilder 4 months ago

    A wonderful adventure!

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    Bike Tours was incredibly helpful and their support staff was amazing. We had a few rough days, but they swooped in and assisted us. The local knowledge and recommendations on the tour guide were perfect choices for us. I can't recommend this tour enough for adventure seekers. Even with rain and wind it was still a great adventure! I do recommend getting hybrid bikes if you want to sight see vs a work out for this ride. The hybrid routes were fun and challenging. You see a side of the country few others will. It was difficult to not spend the whole day stopping at all the landmarks and each cafe you pass. Hotels and food everywhere were the best.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2nd
    How many tours have you completed?
    My first one and likely hard to beat! I would recommend hybrid bikes for anyone who does not regularly cycle longer distances.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Regan Wilder)
    •  (photo by Regan Wilder)
    •  (photo by Regan Wilder)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Enjoy a sunset cycle in the City of Light
    (5/5) Dee Knight 4 months ago

    Extremely Fun, Knowledgeable Host/Lead

    · · Paris Evening Bike & Boat Tour

    This was an excellent start to my trip, and I suggest it as a beginning to any trip here. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, fun, and kind! Just a joy to be around and learn from. We got to see the major landmarks and hear of such rich history. The Louvre, Eiffel, Notre Dame, Seine, just packed with so much awe! 10/10 recommend! Also, I'm a bigger girl, don't really exercise much aside from swimming, and I was able to keep up with the group, just slowed a bit on the last leg because I thought we were done at the boat trip, but it is very doable for I think almost ANY level of fitness. Walked the bike up two hilled areas and was still able to keep up with the whole group at the time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    0 before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Louvre fun (photo by Dee Knight)
    • Riding bikes around the Louvre was fun. (photo by Dee Knight)
    • Notre Dame was incredibly beautiful at dusk (photo by Dee Knight)
    • Paris' Architecture from the Seine (photo by Dee Knight)
    • Eiffel Tower from the Seine (also biked past it during the day) (photo by Dee Knight)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac November 17, 2023

      Hi Dee, thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear you had an excellent start to your trip and enjoyed the tour with our knowledgeable and kind guide. It's wonderful to know you found the experience awe-inspiring and doable for all fitness levels. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Granada, White Villages and Costa del Sol
    (5/5) James Watson 4 months ago

    Granada to Marbella

    · Granada, White Villages and Costa del Sol

    Excellent trip
    Beautiful scenery
    Great towns to visit

    The last day from Ronda to Marbella is only for experienced cyclers comfortable with decending on a mountain road with traffic

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct. 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tour the traditional Cotswolds countryside
    (5/5) Andrew McGarry 4 months ago

    Enjoyed every minute - I think you will, too

    · Cotswolds E-Bike Tour

    Hats off to Alasdair and our tour guide, Mike! My friend and I had a fantastic time touring the idyllic pasturelands and historical sites of the Cotswolds thanks to their cheery attitude and attentive guidance. Mike's insights proved that no one can give you a better sense of a place than a local, and as we toured, he ensured that even as we were wowed by the scenery, we were attentive to the rules of the road and got where we were going together.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Andrew McGarry)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • An unbeatable e-bike tour of Malta’s West Coast
    (4/5) PD 4 months ago

    A good fun tour

    · West Coast of Malta E-Bike Tour

    Saw some great sights, including mdina, great cliffs and bays. Paul was a humorous guide

  • Andalusia: Southern Spain
    (5/5) David Princep 4 months ago

    Great trip, excellent accommodation.

    · Andalusia: Southern Spain

    Challenging trip, but excellent value for money and quality of accommodation was best we'veexperienced in over 10 years of cycling holidays. Recommend book extra nights - Seville, Carmona, Arcos. Jerez & Cadiz all suitable. If returning to Seville etc by train book early as even in November trains were very busy. Good scenery on days 4 & 5.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    25+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (4/5) Angela Henderson 4 months ago

    Portugal is SPECTACULAR

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Portugal is beautiful, the people even more so! We will definitely be back!

    The bike tour needs some work. The GPS system is too small, half the size of my cell phone, and the written instructions not detailed enough, or accurate to what is happening on the ground around you. Because there are no consistent street signs, or bike tour signs through the entire route, the written directions that go along with the GPS are critical to guiding you on this tour. The number of u-turns, poorly written directions, etc., made what should have been a straightforward three hour bike ride into a 5 to 7 hour bike ride, not allowing us time to really enjoy the areas we rode through.

    The company also didn’t fit us to the bikes and one of our friends suffered with some pretty serious neck and shoulder pain as a result.
    I think the company is good, I just think they need to do some refining of their program.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Angela Henderson)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac November 9, 2023

      Hello Angela, thank you for sharing your experience in Portugal! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beauty and warmth of the country.

      We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the bike tour challenges and will certainly use it to refine and improve our program. Your insights into the challenges with the GPS system, written instructions, and bike fitting are invaluable. We take your comments to heart and will be working diligently to refine our program in time to come. We hope to welcome you back for a smoother and more enjoyable experience in the future.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • A Taste of Italy
    (4/5) Cathie Macmillan 4 months ago

    Enjoyable trip through the food bowl of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    This tour was well organised and easy to follow using the Ride with GSP App. It was great to spend 2 nights at each destination and not rush from one town to the next. The e bikes were very well maintained and comfortable to ride. Unfortunately one of my drink holders broke as I cycled down a hill!
    The route was a mix of bike paths, main roads and smaller roads. We didn't enjoy the main roads as the traffic was quite busy and passed us very quickly which was scary at times. I wouldn't recommend the tour to first time bike tourists or families as it was a bit dangerous on so many main roads.
    Most accommodation was comfortable and met our needs. Our favourite accommodation was definitely La Razza Agritourismo! Hotel Button was our least favourite as it didn't have a fridge or tea making facilities in the room.
    Cycling through the food bowl of Italy gave us the opportunity to see how Parmigiano Reggiano and Balsamic Vinegar are made. Tasting the products was even better! We took the dinner options but in hindsight probably would have preferred to organise our own dinners.
    On reflection, we probably should have chosen a tour with a harder rating and more hills. The route was very flat so we didn't experience many good views of the scenery. We enjoyed the loop ride into the hills of Reggio Emilia. We didn't do the loop ride from Modena due to illness and poor weather so perhaps missed one of the good scenery days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (3/5) Ann English 4 months ago

    Prefer not to be riding on hwys and in big cities

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The friendly people in Portugal, the delicious and nutritious food, and most of the hotels were wonderful! The e-bikes were fine and when needed I quickly got a replacement. However, the bikes should be fitted to each person as well as the replacement bike. That was not done so the inappropriate fit gave me much shoulder and back pain. The route had way too many hwy and larger cities round abouts for us. We prefer small towns and rural/ocean scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    We have been on 4 bike tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Experience the unforgettable in Washington DC
    (5/5) Robert Runo 4 months ago

    An informative and easy way to get around DC

    · Washington DC Monuments & Memorials Bike Tour

    Bicycling in DC was the best decision I made as a mode of transportation for sightseeing. Joe Brady was a wealth of knowledge and I discovered areas of DC that were unbeknownst to me.

    •  (photo by Robert Runo)
  • Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour
    (5/5) diane Nothnagel 4 months ago

    Best kind of Bike Trip

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    This is our 4th bike and boat tour-if you ve never traveled this way you need to give it a try . What could be better than starting your day in a small harbor, with a wonderful breakfast on deck, then going for an exciting ride , coming back for a swim in the Adriatic, and then cruising to the next port in time for dinner? The food n the boat was plentiful and delicious. Because it’s a smaller boat we were able to spend time in smaller uncrowded harbors. He biking was challenging but the excellent e-bikes made it fun for all ages . Everyone on the boat agreed that two weeks was ideal-a one week trip just doesn’t give you enough time to settle in. There was never a dull day and if you don’t want to ride you can stay on the boat or walk the town-lots of options and flexibility. This would also be a good trip for a non rider in the family. I also highly recommend the Croatia bike and boat trip-it was fabulous. October is the best time to be in any of these places. The weather was warm enough to swim all the time and things weren’t as crowded as during the summer

    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
  • (4/5) Cornelia Young 4 months ago

    Trip of a lofetime

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Guides were so knowledgeable about one of the most checkered areas of the world. Many civilizations had influence here. And the biking and scenery were spectacular

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Douglas Emzie Miller 4 months ago

    7 days on boat 7 days on land Ireland .

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Excellent trip except the physical condition of the boat was unacceptable. IslAanding Hopping did a superb job as well as the boat crew. As we paid extra for our room we were very disappointed. We have traveled with Jim Johnson for 20 Yrs. All have been excellent as we continued to travel with Bike Tours. This trip was disappointing due to the condition of the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) diane Nothnagel 4 months ago

    Best kind of Bike Trip

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    This is our 4th bike and boat tour-if you ve never traveled this way you need to give it a try . What could be better than starting your day in a small harbor, with a wonderful breakfast on deck, then going for an exciting ride , coming back for a swim in the Adriatic, and then cruising to the next port in time for dinner? The food n the boat was plentiful and delicious. Because it’s a smaller boat we were able to spend time in smaller uncrowded harbors. He biking was challenging but the excellent e-bikes made it fun for all ages . Everyone on the boat agreed that two weeks was ideal-a one week trip just doesn’t give you enough time to settle in. There was never a dull day and if you don’t want to ride you can stay on the boat or walk the town-lots of options and flexibility. This would also be a good trip for a non rider in the family. I also highly recommend the Croatia bike and boat trip-it was fabulous. October is the best time to be in any of these places. The weather was warm enough to swim all the time and things weren’t as crowded as during the summer

    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Chris Hayman 4 months ago

    Our Favourite Bike Trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This is our seventh and most favourite bike trip.

    The guides were great, the itinerary fantastic and the accommodations far surpassed expectations.

    Highly recommend this trip. While holly we rented e-bikes which made it very accessible

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
  • Royal Zealand and Copenhagen
    (5/5) Liliane 4 months ago

    great family experience

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We had a great family time. Following the tour was easy - one followed the map, the other the instructions - it was worth following the proposed route and not google maps.
    On the 65km day, we arrived late at our destination and one of the highlights was already closed. Including a bit of info of the main cultural attractions would be helpful. Have Pellerines ready in your bile box - the weather changes quickly. Tanja was of great help and very responsive! Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark