Bike Tour Reviews  page 2

  • Discover the stunning region of Provence by bike!
    (5/5) B. Powell 1 week ago

    Quintessential Provence!

    · Cycling Paradise of Provence - to and from Avignon

    A great sampling of quintessential Provence villages and sights... hilltop villages, wild poppies, fields of lavender. We thoroughly enjoyed all the scenery and activities along the way.

    The first day of riding between Avignon and CdP was congested with car traffic (as to be expected close to a bigger city/area), but the other days were primarily smaller roadways and paths and very enjoyable and scenic. We did the add-on day to Arles and were really glad that we included that city in our tour. It felt complete to conclude the trip in Arles. A few of the gps routes lead us into the city center at end of day (instead of directly to hotel), but it was easy to navigate to hotels, and the gps tracks were otherwise very helpful to follow.

    We opted for the self-guided tour but felt very supported by the local tour operator who was very responsive to any inquiries we had via WhatsApp.

    We have many good memories of this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    •  (photo by B. Powell)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (5/5) Glen E. 1 week ago

    a nice way to see authentic Czechia

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    I enjoyed it! I got what I view as an authentic look at the Czech landscape with a Czech guide. Jitka took us to obscure places that I would have never found on my own, and even with a GPS, I wouldn't have known the significance of some places without her there to describe them. Henry was great as a driver and rest stop provider, etc, and went above-and-beyond the call of duty, even finding obscure screws when my bike broke down in a small town of 800 people. (Note, I was riding my own bike; from what I saw with the other people, they had no problems with the rental bikes.)

    We had a group of 6 people + ride leader + driver. Everyone was easy to get along with.

    The one thing that surprised me about the trip was that we all rode together; there was no breaking up into different groups based on riding speeds (as I have experienced on other bicycle tours I have done). There were times when I would have liked to go a little faster. Occasionally, I did get ahead of the group and would wait in the next town or when we were coming to a turn. I would just say, this is a trip to see the Czech countryside, not to race and finish the riding day fast. But overall, it wasn't a big problem and I enjoyed the tour.

    The tour was about 35-40 miles per day and was fairly hilly. It wasn't monstrously hilly, but every day except one had a few significant climbs. Cyclists either need to be accustomed to hill-climbing, or else rent an e-bike. Our group was split half-and-half between normal bikes and e-bikes. The e-bike people sometimes tried to make less use of the "e" part, but they had the security of knowing they could turn up the dial and go up any hill easily if they wanted to.

    One comfort I was missing from the USA was air conditioning in the hotels. Most days weren't that hot (avg highs were low 20s Celsius, though a couple days got into the high 20s, maybe even 30); but even so, in the evenings it can be stuffy and a bit humid in a hotel room. 1 or 2 hotels had AC, 1 or 2 had a room fan, and the other 4 or so were, just open a window. I don't fault the bike tour for a lack of hotel AC, I think most hotels in Czechia are that way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 60
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac July 5, 2024

      Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed an authentic look at the Czech landscape with Jitka's expert guidance. Also, it's great to hear Henry went above and beyond to assist you. We look forward to welcoming you on another tour soon!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Kate Richardson 1 week ago

    A trip we will never forget!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    We recently returned from this tour and can say on behalf of our entire family that we were completely WOWed by the experience. Austria is really special and we were so happy to be able to explore it by bike. I don't think we would have enjoyed it in the same way if we had simply rented a car and toured around. We did find that the average mileage each day was a bit longer than we had anticipated. With a 7- and 9- year old, it really put them t the test but they were proud of themselves each evening when we reached our destination. We will absolutely recommend this to others!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac July 5, 2024

      Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that your family had such an amazing experience exploring Austria by bike. Kudos to your 7- and 9-year-olds for rising to the challenge each day—they must have been so proud of themselves! We're delighted that our tour provided a unique and enjoyable way to see the beautiful Austrian landscape. Your recommendation means a lot to us!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Hedda Othilie Hagen 1 week ago

    Over all expectations

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    We had self guided trip and we had so fun experiancing the different countries. It was the perfect way for us to travel. Its the best way to see italy, slovenia and austria

    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Learning Italian from the Saddle
    (5/5) victor dubugras 1 week ago

    I’m Giovanna’s fan

    · Learning Italian from the Saddle: Language Classes & the Coast of Apulia

    In overall the experience was fantastic.
    The region is beautiful, the wines great, nice restaurants, nice bikes and most of all our teacher Giovanna. I became her fan. When I returned home in Milan, I could understand Italian much better and speak a little.
    If the group was bigger than ours, two families only, an end of the line additional guide to look after the low speed participants would make the front group biking experience more pleasant.
    We also had a small accident with no big consequences that was handled by the guide and one participant that was a doctor. But if anything worst happened, I’m not sure what type of rescue would be available.
    Me and my wife were lucky that the other family was fantastic. The bond was 100% and only happy moments all the time happened.
    In other tours with other companies, there was always someone that became an unpleasant weight for the group due to the attitudes.
    I recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 22, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Great Pyrenees and Costa Brava E-Bike Tour
    (5/5) Kate Seppala 1 week ago

    Perfect tour of Catalonia!

    · Great Pyrenees and Costa Brava E-Bike Tour

    From our welcome and thorough briefing in Girona, to the comfortable and capable bikes, the stunning views, memorable accommodations, delectable food and wine, history and wonder of the region, I highly recommend this trip! The tour winds all across Catalonia and offers many miles on trials and nearly car-free roads. The drivers in Catalonia were extremely courteous and always provided plenty of room when passing. We found the directions, information, and navigation app to be easy to use (make sure you bring a portable charger for your phone). The tour operators provide suggestions to customize your itinerary for each day dependent on distance and interest. The e-bikes are a great match for this enticing and challenging route! We traveled in April and found the weather to be quite lovely. Catalonia is windy so be sure to bring the appropriate gear. Yet another reason to love the e-bikes! We opted for the premium hotel and added on a few of the additional tours/meals offered through the tour operator. Happy with all of it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    •  (photo by Kate Seppala)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Highlights of Flanders
    (4/5) Thomas Albrecht 1 week ago

    Well designed route

    · Highlights of Flanders: Belgium’s History, Art, Nature & Cuisine

    Really enjoyed these great cities of Flanders, which I had not visited before. The route was complicated, but the combination of the printed maps and the Garmin kept us confidently on track. Had a few pretty hot days, but I believe that should be fairly rare for this route. Hotels were interesting and nice, with good variety. Overall, having taken several tours now with Bike Tours, I think I prefer more rural routes with smaller towns and villages, although I’m sure many others are very happy with the bigger cities. Much of the route was on bike trails, but in the bigger cities, bike trails along major streets have tons of bike traffic, so vigilance is a constant necessity. Quality of bikes was excellent, with no problems. Overall, a good trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Patrick McHugh 1 week ago

    Awesome trip from Passau to Vienna

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We had a great time. Glad we spent an extra night in Passau before starting the trip. Bikes were in great shape and we had no mechanical problems. We spent an extra night in Melk and added a stopover in Enns. We wish we had spent an extra night in Linz. The last day ride from Tulln to Vienna was the least attractive part --- and there was a strong wind in our face --- so that was a challenge. Those in our group who elected the ebike had no problems... I would highly recommend this trip....

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Discover unmissable Vienna by bike
    (5/5) Ronald Schoen 1 week ago

    Great introduction to Vienna

    · Classic Vienna Bike Tour

    A fun ride with a very knowledgeable and informative leader. Guests should all introduce each other so we connect a bit more.

  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Damon Di Florio 1 week ago

    Fun Way To See Europe

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Nice routes to get to each hotel, plenty of time to add in any extras, lots of pretty towns and villages along the way. Great breakfasts each morning at the hotels, very comfortable beds to sleep in and just enjoyable riding each day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first self guided (solo) tour but have done 4 European group tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Beautiful Seyssel (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • Lake Bourget near Aix-Les-Bains (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • Cruet - Saint - Laurent (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • Lake Annecy (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • Beautiful Annecy (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • Beautiful Annecy (photo by Damon Di Florio)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Baltic Capitals
    (4/5) Alexandra England 2 weeks ago

    Wonderful experience

    · Baltic Capitals: Historic Cities of Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn

    Cycling through the countryside and visiting the towns and cities was a great way to experience the culture and historic sites of the Baltic countries. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history and current culture of each region, giving us a better understanding of what people experienced during the transition to independence.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
  • Discover the highlights and hidden gems of Warsaw
    (4/5) Kreuk Mary 2 weeks ago

    Fun ride through Warsaw

    · Warsaw Highlights Bike Tour

    Educational and fun way to explore the city. Guide was excellent and patiently answered any questions.

  • Burgundy Wine Trails
    (5/5) John Swanstrom 2 weeks ago

    I've been waiting many years to take this trip... definitely worth it!

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    The perfect way for me to experience the French wine country. Beautiful scenery, all bicycle trails and country roads with very little traffic, quaint villages, interesting places to see along the way, and the hotels and meal packages were superb.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first bicycle tour in Europe
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) THOMAS P. 2 weeks ago

    A very fun and leisurely trip

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    This trip was a great way to see Slovenia. We took 10 days to ride from the northern side of the country to the Adriatic coast. Most days were about 30 miles, with about 2500' elevation gain, but really just 3-4 hours' riding. Hotels were great and offered very nice breakfasts. We really enjoyed the slower pace family vacation, seeing a lot but still moving through to new sights every day. Highly recommend.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (3/5) joe eberly 2 weeks ago

    Nice Ride

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This is a very easy ride with mostly flat land around a beautiful lake. We had e-bikes which made it very easy. Hotels all very nice, but no AC for hot weather. June can be risky with the weather. We had two days of five with steady rain. This is our 3rd trip with Bikes.com and was my lest favorite. We never met our local tour operator, even when we picked up our bikes. There was substantial flooding due to heavy rains and some road construction that we didn't know about until we came to it. It was at that time we had to figure an alternate route. A little heads up would have save a lot confusion, especially during our rainy days. On previous trips, the tour operator spent time going over the route with areas we needed to pay attention to. The fact that none of us spoke German didn't help in trying to understand road signs. The route is well marked but makings change from country to country, so pay attention.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Mid-June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Baltic Capitals
    (4/5) Rob Luken 2 weeks ago

    Beautiful Capitals of the Baltic States

    · Baltic Capitals: Historic Cities of Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn

    The Capitals of the Baltic States are beautiful, with plenty of interesting history and worth to visit. However, with the distances so large between the capitals, please note that there is a lot of transfer by mini-bus and ferry to get to the next interesting place to cycle.
    The cycling directions provided were insufficient and it would be good to provide the option of a GPS device attached to the steering wheel with pre-loaded maps and directions for those that can't download the route files on their own mobile phone devices. We got lost several times, on the first and last day, which meant cycling along roads with heavy traffic and thereby creating an unsafe and unpleasant experience.
    Though this was an interesting trip, my inclination is to not book any cycling vacation in the future that includes so much transfer by mini-bus and ferries, and to have a true cycling trip along well-indicated dedicated bicycle paths, in the absence of clear cycling directions. Our previous experience with cycling the west coast of Sweden is more indicative of the type of cycling trip we would prefer.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (3/5) Susan Radtke 2 weeks ago

    First time with a company organized bike trip

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    My husband and I have done a fair amount of biking in the U.S. and in Europe and this was the first time we used a company to plan and support the trip. The good: Some of the hotels that were booked were terrific - especially in the more rural places. The navigation app when it worked was really useful and when it didn't work it seemed to be more of an issue with our phones than the app itself. There was confusion over the timing of our bus transfer over a mountain pass and the woman at the help center worked really hard to sort it out. Also, the luggage transfer was always efficient. The not so good: The bikes were pretty beat and heavy. We had to have one replaced. Although the directions said we would have at least one handlebar bag per room, we had none. Also, we understood that we would have a handlebar mount for a phone and would have brought one from home had it been more clear that we would not. The worst thing was our final day biking into Trieste. The route put us on a road that was absolutely harrowing - no shoulder at times, fast moving traffic including busses and trucks. It felt decidedly unsafe and I would never have put cyclists on such a route. So all in all, we had a good time and saw some beautiful country but moving forward we decided we would go back to planning our own trips where we have more control over the quality of the bikes and the route, plus obviously it's cheaper to do the planning yourself.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Cycle from the stunning city to the sublime Shore of Leith
    (5/5) Alexandra Messham 2 weeks ago

    Fun bike tour - bespoke 2 hours

    · Edinburgh to Shore of Leith Bike Tour

    We all had a lot of fun touring Edinburgh with Ricky! We were a group of 6 and he was very good at keeping us all safe and a very knowledgeable tour guide. It was great to have a bespoke 2 hour tour - although we didn't make it to Leith there was plenty to see in the 2 hours. and the e-bikes were brilliant on those steep hills!