Bike Tour Reviews  page 3

  • Basque Country
    (5/5) Linda Croft 2 weeks ago

    Perfect Blend of Cycling, Cultural Experiences, Friends and Food!

    · Basque Country: Bilbao to San Sebastián via Olite

    From our tour of the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao to our last dinner in San Sebastian we packed in a lot of cycling and great experiences! The hotels and Paradors we lovely, well located and comfortable. I'm a solo traveller from Canada and the group was mostly Germans but they spoke English as did the guides so I was always informed. The bikes were great. The cycling was spectacular. We had some gorgeous descents. The food was plentiful and delicious. Many great memories!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    •  (photo by Linda Croft)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) John H 2 weeks ago

    Fantastic blend of bike, boat and beautiful scenery

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia really exceeded our expectations. The scenery, food and wine was great and the hotels on this tour were very nice. (We chose the upgraded options on our tour). Seeing the islands on a bike was the way to go. Also worth noting, we cut out a day on our itinerary due to time constraints and the team was very accommodating.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Mary Arnold 2 weeks ago

    Cask and Castle 2024

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Wonderful experience of the Danube! So beautiful along the river! I wish we could have biked more.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Delights
    (5/5) Kimberly Sykes 2 weeks ago

    Well done!

    · · Danube Delights: Cycling and Cruising in the Footsteps of Royalty

    The Swiss Crown ship was beautiful and clean. Our cabin was roomy and very comfortable. Food was delicious. The crew were exceptional! The cycling was easy and the routes were easy to follow. Would definitely do it again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Deb S 2 weeks ago

    Great way to see the real Portugal

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    This was a wonderful trip. We rented hybrid bikes and they were of great quality-only suggestion is it would have been nice to have a second water bottle holder for the hot days. There was a rear rack with pannier to hold a modest amount of stuff-pretty much what you need for the day (having your luggage transferred of course. The route was so picturesque. We averaged over 40km a day with 2 days close to 60km. Two days were hilly. You need to be in reasonable shape to do this tour-not expert but a regular exerciser. It was well planned out. The accommodations were very lovely-old convents, farm, small inn-really got the feel of Portugal. All of the breakfasts were very good and fueled us for the day ahead. I would highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Discover the highlights and hidden gems of Warsaw
    (5/5) Melanie Schmidt 2 weeks ago

    Best war to get a first impression of Warsaw

    · Warsaw Highlights Bike Tour

    I had a great time with our guide Jan and learned so much in the short about this beautiful city and it's history.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Custom and Private Bike Tours in Portugal
    (5/5) A. Anderson 2 weeks ago

    Fantastic service for a glorious holiday!

    · Custom and Private Bike Tours in Portugal

    Biketours.com crafted our ideal cycling holiday in Portugal flawlessly. The route, dinners, and hotels surpassed our expectations, making for an unforgettable experience. We wholeheartedly endorse their services and eagerly anticipate our next adventure with them.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Patrick Holland 2 weeks ago

    Excellent Active Holiday

    · Danube Bike Path 5-nights (Active)

    Lovely way to experience Austria, lovely hotels and fine electric bikes. Would go again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Explore the highlights of Istria on this e-bike and boat tour!
    (4/5) Elaine Kubicki 2 weeks ago

    Charming Coratia

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my second bike trip with Bike Tours. My first was the Albania tour, which was fabulous! Overall, the Croatia trip was very satisfying, i.e. the yacht was very accommodating, the staff was very attentive and informative including the email personnel who answered questions before the trip, the new chef was great, the e-bikes worked well, the other vacationers made for pleasant exchanges, and the small ports and villages were charming to visit and the staff tours were interesting. On the other hand, there were things that kept this tour from being a 5 rating. My biggest concern was the additional costs, i.e., expected tips and bar/water bills that were not mentioned in the initial cost of the tour and were only made aware a few weeks before the tour and after the initial commitment and payment for the tour was made. Also, along with those concerns, I am curious as to why there was an extra charge for an e-bike when the trip is advertised as “The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike” and everyone rode an e-bike except two people who brought their own bikes? We also had problems mid-week with sewer gases in the bathrooms, which did get repaired within a day or two, and the air conditioning in the cabins worked well only one night out of 7, which made the cabin quite warm and damp. There were 34 bikers riding at the same time and on many more rocky gravel trails and busy highway/roads then I had expected and, at times, felt rather dangerous. However, as you noticed I still gave this tour a rating of 4, so, enough good outweighed to make it a satisfying trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • Sweden’s West Coast
    (5/5) Jann Slayton 2 weeks ago

    Beautiful scenery - great biking

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    The Katgat bike path is a wonderful way to see Sweden. The off road, paved path (about 90% of the 225 miles) is well marked. At times the GPS was off but trusting the signage we stayed on route. We used e-bikes. You have to remove the battery and recharge in hotel room at night. The hotels that were booked were all very nice - each had wonderful breakfast buffets. The location of the hotels to the Katgat trail was good. The hotels were all in convenient neighborhoods with easy walking distance to restaurants and shops.
    Suggestion - if you plan to take the train Bastad to Halmstad as we did, download the app Skare when you have wifi. Trains were convenient and easy to transport bikes. Hotel Halland in Kungsbacka did not have a place outside hotel to park bike. We could either lock at train station (across the street) or carry bikes to basement (which we did). Having a room on the street side of this hotel was very noisy with car and train traffic.
    We were fortunate - last 2 weeks of May - to have ideal weather. The flowers are profuse, the coastal scenery beautiful, and being self guided we could stop for photos or a break whenever we wished. The people at Biketours.com were very responsive and helpful during our planning and with during the trip. I highly recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    •  (photo by Jann Slayton)
    •  (photo by Jann Slayton)
    •  (photo by Jann Slayton)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) Dee by the sea 3 weeks ago

    Slovenia 9 days

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Beautiful country, friendly people, very safe! Would highly recommend visiting!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 16, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Elaine Kubicki 3 weeks ago

    Charming Coratia

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my second bike trip with Bike Tours. My first was the Albania tour, which was fabulous! Overall, the Croatia trip was very satisfying, i.e. the yacht was very accommodating, the staff was very attentive and informative including the email personnel who answered questions before the trip, the new chef was great, the e-bikes worked well, the other vacationers made for pleasant exchanges, and the small ports and villages were charming to visit and the staff tours were interesting. On the other hand, there were things that kept this tour from being a 5 rating. My biggest concern was the additional costs, i.e., expected tips and bar/water bills that were not mentioned in the initial cost of the tour and were only made aware a few weeks before the tour and after the initial commitment and payment for the tour was made. Also, along with those concerns, I am curious as to why there was an extra charge for an e-bike when the trip is advertised as “The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike” and everyone rode an e-bike except two people who brought their own bikes? We also had problems mid-week with sewer gases in the bathrooms, which did get repaired within a day or two, and the air conditioning in the cabins worked well only one night out of 7, which made the cabin quite warm and damp. There were 34 bikers riding at the same time and on many more rocky gravel trails and busy highway/roads then I had expected and, at times, felt rather dangerous. However, as you noticed I still gave this tour a rating of 4, so, enough good outweighed to make it a satisfying trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • (5/5) Mary Lou Taylor 3 weeks ago

    More than I could have hoped for.

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my first bike tour, and I was a little apprehensive. But it was great! The boat was first-rate, with a wonderful, accommodating crew and excellent chef. The tour guides were fun, responsible, and caring. And Croatia is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this adventure.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany
    (5/5) Tom Lester 3 weeks ago

    Tuscany visas

    · Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany

    Great way to experience Val D'Orca area.
    Tour guides were knowledgeable and supportive.
    Staying at the agriturismo provided an authentic look of Italian farm life.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (5/5) Paula Mckenzie 3 weeks ago

    Exceptional trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    This is a wonderful way to see a country. The boat exceeded expectations, the staff were fantastic and went above and beyond. Our chef made lovely gourmet meals. I would definitely go with this company again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Cycle through scenic West Flanders
    (5/5) Tracie Bodnar 3 weeks ago

    Ride around Bruges

    · Bruges to Dutch Border Bike Tour

    This was my first E bike tour and our tour guide. Kim, was exceptional, both knowledgeable and made plenty of stops for pictures and water breaks. She is very personable and fun to be with his part of our group. Kim, took the time to explain every part of the E bike to make me feel comfortable before we started our adventure

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/29/2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • I love seeing the horses makes me want to ride (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    • My first e-bike tour (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    • Very informative about the windmill (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    • Waterway leading to the Netherlands (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    •  (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    • Beautiful church (photo by Tracie Bodnar)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (5/5) Janna Poll 3 weeks ago

    Great crew, great boat

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    We are on the continent for six weeks and agreed this is the best week of the six. Great flexible, wonderful food, fun guides, and lot of experiences.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    •  (photo by Janna Poll)
    •  (photo by Janna Poll)
    •  (photo by Janna Poll)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Cathy Fagsn 3 weeks ago

    My wonderful bike ride Thursday, May 30th. with Kim.

    · Bruges to Dutch Border Bike Tour

    She was fantastic. She was funny, very informative, and efficient. I would highly recommend Bike Tours and especially Kim.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 30th
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Experience Rotterdam from every angle
    (4/5) Englander 3 weeks ago

    Fun tour around Rotterdam

    · 360° Rotterdam Bike Tour

    Fun tour around the city with lovely guides. Good quality (3 speed) bikes. Very gentle with lots of stops, taking in many of the big sights

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 31 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    A few
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Lisa Ayton 3 weeks ago

    Excellent Trip

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    We chose the unguided version, using the Guibo Ap on our cell phones. Definitely worth bringing an extra power bank, as the power available on the cell, was our only concern in terms of getting from A to B. Sometimes the Ap, if there was a criticism, was almost 'too detailed' ie) a slight turn might be described in so much detail, that you think you are to do a much larger turn. Overall a very helpful ap and it corrected our direction a few times. The sites we saw from Bled to Piran 10 Bike Day Bike Tour were amazing and the distances were well planned. You did have to do some cycling on major roads at times, but the drivers seem quite used to cyclists. I recommend taking hotel upgrades when available, as we did not do this, but definitely wished we had, when it came to seeing Ljubjana and staying closer to the city. We felt all the hotels were what we expected (we had chosen a mid-range trip) with 1 major exception, that was a three star hotel. We also felt there were at least two stays that were excellent or above a mid-range feel, one with beach views and another with wine tastings. The country is amazing with views and greenery everywhere you look. At times reminding us of the Alps and at others like our home in BC, Canada and then finally the unique beauty of the Adriatic seaside to enjoy at the end. Our Electric Bikes were excellent, my chain came off twice but we got it back on and my husband ran out of brake fluid on the very last day. There were friendly, helpful people in all hotels and bike shops. We would all highly recommend this trip to others. Take an extra day in the City and by the seaside if you can. We also appreciated that help was only a phone call away at all times, we felt very safe and well served.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia