Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 32)

  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (3/5) Ginny50 June 8, 2016

    A Challenging and Rainy Ride

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This was a good tour and we enjoyed the adventure, but I can honestly say I would not recommend it to a beginner. Many of the reviews said this was a good ride for beginners. My husband and I started riding 2 years ago so we are slow but steady riders. We rode the Danube path (Passau to Vienna) last year with no problems so this one sounded like a good tour for us.
    We booked this ride based on the level 2 status and the few reviews we saw. In my opinion it is more of a level 3-4. The gently rolling hills were very steep on the first 2 days. It would have been easier with an e-bike but for beginners it was almost impossible with a regular bike. Most of the time the paths were paved but several sections were packed “gravel.” These paths were well maintained and easy, but often a bumpy ride. The biggest problem was these paths were not much more than 2 feet wide so if you are a slow rider you tend to collect 30 faster bikers behind you with no way to pass.
    The Lake Constance cycle route is one of the most popular bicycle routes in Europe.
    This just about sums it up - the most popular path in Europe. It was over-crowed almost to the point of being dangerous in many sections. We wondered about the high level of bike traffic during the month of May, until we were enlightened that we were enjoying “Pentecost Holidays” with the throngs of locals.
    The bikes provided by the company were wonderful. I highly recommend this tour company/bike shop and crew. My husband was not happy with his first bike and they quickly swapped it out with no question.
    When we received our tour documents we noticed one day stated that the ride was 35miles/55km. Most of those miles were on a shared road with cars - Not a dedicated bike path. Cars whizzing past you on a busy road is not fun for us. That day our bikes took a train ride! FYI - When I asked one of the tour guides if many people ditched this ride mid-way he did say that quite a few riders just gave up. I can see why!
    Each hotel was fabulous. The rooms were lovely and the food excellent.
    We really did enjoy this trip and we pushed ourselves more than we ever thought we could. We had 2 good days of seeing the lake and views, but missed seeing the beautiful scenery because of the incessant rain and many detours. Better rain gear will be on our wish list before we ride again. It was a challenge that we were proud to complete.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) emma June 7, 2016

    Amazing adventure!

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    This was a great trip for 2 friends to take together! It was my first bike trip ever and I can't wait to go on another! The bikes were comfortable enough for me to ride without padded shorts and there was a lot of flexibility in extending or taking short cuts most days, to accommodate how we were feeling. It was great to feel active every day! Some of the hills were a challenge but we always made it. I commute to work on a bike in San Francisco but don't do any longer rides. The food was excellent and we had great luck with the weather. The trip was a great mix of beautiful scenery, small town charm, and history/culture. I highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Isaac June 7, 2016

    excellent guided bike trip

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    I am participating bike trip almost 30 years and this was the best one .
    The service , very good guided tour explanations in every spot we visited .
    The food ,restaurants are great. Worth every penny.

    What was the date of your tour?
    21May ,2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Lgoeller May 19, 2016

    First Bike Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    My husband really prepared for this trip, and I was glad he did. Biking is the only way to go if you want to experience every second of your adventure. We both like to participate, so we thought touring in a car was not a good option. The things you see, people you meet, and experiences you have are great! Be prepared for rain and thankful when it does not. The directions were good, but the English version was not always correct. If you are worried that you won't be able to make it on a bicycle, rent an e-bike!

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jannykae May 19, 2016

    Unbelievably fabulous!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We were surprised at how lovely the week long trip was for us a first time bike vacationers. It had just the right amount of challenge and comfort combined. The weather was lovely and the landscape perfect for this kind of biking.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Wiederholen May 19, 2016

    Great Trip in a Beautiful Part of the World

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The Bodensee cycle path trip was a winner from the start. We went in September when the weather was still nice and the crowds had thinned. After flying into Zurich, Konstanz was very easy to get to by train, and the ABC Hotel there was great, as was the scenery and food around town. We went to the bike shop to pick up our equipment (although they would gladly deliver to the hotel) and met some nice people who mapped out a riverfront route back to the hotel for us. The bikes were perfect and the cycling each day was very easygoing, allowing us ample time to explore (and eat and drink). Pro tip: check the schedule for the ferry from Insel Reichenau to Allensbach in advance - we just missed the 10:00 sailing on our first day, and as the next ferry didn't go until 13:00 we chose to cycle back on the causeway rather than wait three hours for the boat. Not a problem, it just added several miles to the trip on to Stein am Rhein. One of our favorite stops was in Überlingen, which we arrived in via ferry from Wallhausen. The hotel location along the lake was fantastic, and we had fun stopping for drinks along the promenade. I agree with another reviewer that the marina hotel near Kressbronn was out of character with the rest of the journey, but it was a nice, clean, modern hotel with great food and easy access to the lake and I won't downvote the trip because of it. The variety of the hotels we stayed at along this trip was actually one of the positives. Our side trip to the Bronze Age stilt houses (Pfahlbauten Unteruhldingen) was very interesting and worth the stop. The Altstadt and harbor in Lindau are beautiful, and while we were slightly lost for a bit the people in the tourist office were incredibly helpful in getting us back onto the cycle path. In Bregenz, Austria we rode the cable car (Pfänderbahn) to the mountaintop for lunch and, even though it was an overcast day, still had some great views of the lake below, even if the Alps were obscured. Crossing the Rhein back into Switzerland brought us many miles of cycling right along the beautiful south shore of the Bodensee (highly recommend a lunch stop on the lakeshore patio at The Pier in Uttwil). Crossing the border back into Konstanz was slightly confusing, but part of the fun of these trips is finding your way. It was nice to get back to Konstanz and spend some more time exploring that town.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Wine tasting in Überlingen (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Sunset over the Bodensee (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Visit to the Bronze Age Pfahlbauten (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Navigating the Altstadt in Lindau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Taking a break on Insel Reichenau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Beautiful architecture in Konstanz (photo by Wiederholen)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash May 20, 2016

      Such a helpful and detailed review. Thank you for sharing!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Whatever May 15, 2016

    Castles and wines

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    The company Turaventur was one of the best that we have worked with anywhere. The bicycles we rented were excellent with front suspension and a suspension seat post they were perfectly suited to the varied terrain (dirt roads, asphalt, lots of cobblestone) we covered. I also appreciated the female specific gel seat. The routes they chose were really beautiful countryside, small towns and directions were well written and easy to follow. Their support was outstanding, they were available by text, email or phone seven days a week and were always very responsive The castles we visited were just phenomenal and though it was hard to believe after one gorgeous site after another, they just kept getting better! I was only able to do one of the wine tastings and enjoyed it a lot. my suggestion is to be sure to sign up earlly as they seem to fill up ahead of time.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) sandyp May 2, 2016

    Wonderful family vacation!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    Our self-guided tour lived up to our expectations and provided us with a great family vacation. They tour company did an excellent job of responding to our questions and requests. The countryside was beautiful, the bike ride was the right level of both challenging and gentle hills, and the people we met were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this tour if you want to chill out....

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Gay and Snuffy April 26, 2016

    Best Bike and Boat hosts ever!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Zwaantje Boat, Bruges to Amsterdam..fantastic hosts Marjorie & Martene, Trudie & Matthew, guide Felix, all welcoming, friendly with superb meals (especially arriving from the rain and cool temperatures, hot soup, drinks and home made baking). Great group of people on the tour and can highly recommend this relaxed and lovely bike ride experience. Well done Marjorie and Martene....best wishes for many more successful seasons!

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Frankie April 26, 2016

    Great trip

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was the best

    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Darryl April 8, 2016

    Summer 2015 Baotin' and bikin'

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    My wif, son and I had a great time going from Amsterdam to Bruges. Gerat guide and fellow bike riders. all ages lots of fun good equipment and excellent guide, Tom. Lots of fun and food stops along the way,=. very relaxed ride and boat. Highly recommend. Darryl, Chandler, Arizona

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 28, 2015

    Laid-back riding in scenic German wine country

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. It's long been a popular choice for our clients due to the leisurely riding and low price tag. It turned out to be the perfect combination for me of relaxed cycling, off-bike sites and diversions, and plenty of wine tastings.

    The Mosel valley is known (along with the nearby Rhine valley) for producing Germany's beloved riesling wines. As a white wine lover myself, it was a little slice of heaven! There's no shortage of opportunities to stop in at wineries and tasting rooms to sample the local fare. Some even have stands right on the bike path to bring the tasty wares right to you! It was lovely to stop at these stands and enjoy a glass of the sweet wine while sitting on the riverbank and chatting with other cyclists.

    If you hit bad weather or want to shorten a day's ride, there are good alternative transportation options in this region. An injury from a recent mountain bike crash made longer rides uncomfortable for me during this trip, so I took advantage of a ferry one day to roll my bike aboard and enjoy a little river cruise for several stops before deciding where I wanted to hop off and start riding again.

    Another day I took a regional train to shave off a few miles. I bought a ticket for myself and one for my bike, then boarded the car clearly marked for bicycles and rode a few stops.

    The dedicated bike path makes for care-free riding: well marked for directions and distances, no vehicles apart from an occasional slow-moving tractor (since you're often riding through farmland and vineyards), and paved almost the whole way. The path hugs both banks of the Mosel River, and your map book shows any unpaved sections so you can cross the river in advance if you don't want to ride on short segments of dirt or gravel.

    I found the directions and maps to be reliable, but it's quite difficult to get lost anyway -- all you have to do is point your bike back toward the river and you'll eventually intersect the bike path!

    I was very pleased with the accommodations, a mix of comfortable hotels in larger town centers and family-owned winery guesthouses in the smaller villages. All had hearty breakfasts to fuel a day of cycling and exploring.

    I did this tour solo, as a female in her thirties, and felt safe and secure (of course taking reasonable precautions). I liked that it was in mostly rural areas, but never terribly remote. There was always a farmhouse nearby, and the bike path was traveled enough that I was passing someone at least every few miles. Having the emergency hotline is a good reassurance as well.

    The locals seemed a bit amused by a young(ish) American woman riding the Mosel Bike Path by herself, mostly because the usual clientele is composed more of families, couples, and Europeans. But it was always a good conversation starter to make new friends!  SHOW MORE 

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    Video: A typical scene from the bike: a river boat, a castle, and pedestrians promenading along the Mosel.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BEO6hbkAsw (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Vineyards line the valley as far as the eye can see! The green bike signs let you know you're still on the right track. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the balcony at my hotel in Cochem. The bike path runs along the water on both sides of the river. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Waiting for the passenger/bike ferry (over my shoulder) to cross the river and pick me up to reach that pretty little village and a few miles of riding on the sunny side of the river before crossing back again later in the day to reach my hotel. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike path sometimes diverts away from the Mosel for a haunt through lush vineyards like these. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Time to break for a riesling tasting! Nice of them to place picnic tables right alongside the bike path for cyclists to relax. (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 9, 2015

    Outstanding itinerary and tour company

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a staff member at BikeTours.com. I did this itinerary, but not on the Fluvius (the boat described on this page). I was on the Magnifique, which can also be booked on this site. Here are the parts of my review that you can find on the Magnifique's tour page that apply to this same program on the Fluvius...

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: A typical scene along the route - cows and sheep aplenty, quiet and well maintained bike path, and of course windmills!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nczbAMMMCM4 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Holland may be famous for its tulips, but early fall is also in full bloom with hydrangeas everywhere and beauties like these in a castle garden. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Rest stop among a field of scarlet begonias (photo by Natalie123)
    • Enjoying a juicy pear from a friendly farmer's orchard that lines the bike path. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Best friends on tour! This was a fabulous girls' trip - active but relaxing, and with most nights docked in cities with as much nightlife as you want to get into. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The canals and swans of Bruges on an early-morning ride before the tourist buses arrived! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) mountain broad December 9, 2015

    Perfect Pleasure Times Two

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was such a wonderful trip when my husband and I experienced it the first time for our thirtieth wedding anniversary, we took it again, in the opposite direction, two years later!
    The small towns we traveled through were charming and welcoming. We saw places that were unique and off-the-beaten path of the general tourist. Chioggia, Ferrara, Zelo: they each kept beckoning us back.
    Then, too, the Vita Pugna was any thing but "hard life". The staff treated us like treasured family members. The fed us local cuisine that was fresh, creative, and oh, so satisfying. They were enthusiastic and welcoming every day of the journey. Our bicycling guides, on each trip, revealed history, culture, and sites, that only the well-informed local would usually enjoy.

    My husband and I have traveled on five bike trips with biketours.com, and we have plans of cycling again to an, as yet, undiscovered destination. The company makes our travel dreams affordable, successful, and worth repeating.

    These memories are golden!

    How many tours have you completed?
    six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Sailing into Venice. (photo by mountain broad)
    • To Venice! (photo by mountain broad)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (4/5) John Parsons December 7, 2015

    Really great trip.

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    To start off with the Sound of Music Tours and then fairly leisurely riverside roads and fantastic food and culture - we just loved it. One of the towns was not as good as the rest but for the most part just great

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 7, 2015

    Leisurely luxury through classic Europe

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I was excited to check out this ever-popular bike and boat tour because our clients usually give it rave reviews. Now I know why!

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The Magnifique is cozy. The cabins are small (as expected) but comfortable, the dining room and bar are nice communal spaces for relaxing with new friends, and the hot tub on deck is the very best place to watch the passing scenery! The food is excellent, and the guide took us on a walking tour each night after dinner to learn about whichever city we were docked in overnight.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Pedaling along a canal-side bike path in Bruges

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WgZNJQ3t40 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • The Netherlands look shockingly just like what you imagine - lush greens, canals, windmills. Accompanied on this trip by my best friend and traveling companion, Kelly. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A short test ride on day 1 aboard the boat to get comfortable with our bikes. Check out that beautiful castle! (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the dining area through the bar and sitting area. Our fellow travelers are relaxing between ride time and dinner. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A quiet morning of cycling in Bruges before the tour buses arrived and the streets became crowded. Highly recommend early a.m. or late night jaunts! (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike paths make it pretty clear which way cyclists should go! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Prague to Vienna
    (3/5) Chloek1234 December 3, 2015

    Interesting tour for the well-traveled individual

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I think that this tour has some wonderful highlights - Prague, Cesky Krumlov, but also is a bit monotonous. I enjoy riding in more varied scenery that this tour offered. However, the bike path network within the country is extensive (and I was impressed). The accommodations and food were basic to nice. The Czech people were very kind and down-to-earth. Our guide, Jitka, was always helpful and informative. This tour is consistently hilly and is a true level 3 in that sense. I would recommend this tour to a intermediate level cyclist, who is well traveled and wants to experience the less traveled side of Europe.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • Photo 1 (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Poppies! These guys were in bloom everywhere. (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Signs for the Czech Republic's extensive bike path network (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Cycle path-side adult beverages (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Our group visiting the only remaining portion of the Iron Curtain in Czechia (photo by Chloek1234)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (4/5) 1961flyer November 11, 2015

    Great ride through Austria.

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had a wonderful time on this ride. The hotels mostly had nice saunas to relax and enjoy. The markings on the trail were very good and it was easy to navigate. We enjoyed the day in Zell am See to recharge and see the sights, (we also got a nice massage in Zell am See). We would recommend an extra day in both Innsbruck and Salzburg as both cities have numerous things to see.

    In preparation for the trip we reviewed Rick Steves books on Bavaria/Austria which offered insights and hints to our vacation.

    The riding was easily done each day and was very comfortable with numerous options to stop and eat and drink along the way. The country side was delightful as we rode.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Good ride (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Photo 2 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful scenery along the way. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection