Staff Picks  Bike Tour Reviews (page 4)

  • Cycling Spain's Ebro River
    (4/5) Mary Ricks September 21, 2022

    A way to see some more of Spain.

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    The ride was great after the first day. Three of us were together and one bike kept losing its chain and something was rubbing. We called BikeTours and they delivered a different bike and we had no more problems. Ignacio from BikeTours was great as he kept in touch with all of us during the trip.
    The first day did not offer much in scenery. Would have liked to start the ride with second day itinerary and continue.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    20; not all same company
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Katherine Johnson September 20, 2022

    Fantastic

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We were blown away by the quality of the cycle trails and the beauty of Austria. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely, and the bikes were comfortable! We highly recommend this trip!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (4/5) Bev Langsch September 19, 2022

    Lots of ups and downs, super on Ebike

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    Our group of three ebikers, average age 75, enjoyed zooming up the long, steep hills and then drifting down again. The route was on paved roads, with very little traffic. Wind and clouds in mid-September were with us, but rain came in late afternoon, and by then, we were resting in our new hotel. Scenery with mountains, very small towns and old churches was interesting. Hotels were varied, from very simple near Frias to renovated mill to luxurious in LaGuardia. The GPS routes were very helpful, but we usually read and reread the written information. The written notes would be more helpful if the actual number of the road was included. We had a bit of trouble adapting to Spanish meal times, but loved the tapas served in bars (only until 3 or 4 pm) and waited anxiously for dinner after 8.30. Three other bikers were doing the same route and joined us at mealtimes. The six of us had a wonderful time together.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 11, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Robin Jones September 16, 2022

    Breathtaking scenery and flawless trip

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was an incredible trip and the perfect way to see Austria! Cycling through the back farm lands was incredible and we were amazed at how absolutely green it was! The hotels were nice (some quite noisy)depending on where your room is located. Our bikes were top notch and we couldn't have asked for more. They were easy to handle, comfortable and worked perfectly for the duration of the trip. We didn't use the provided guide book but used google maps instead. This allowed us to take a few "off route" trails. It's amazing how accessible Austria makes it for people to be outdoors and enjoy nature, and the maintenance of the trails are perfect. We were concerned when the travel company did not provide us with luggage tags for our luggage transfers but they arrived daily without a problem. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Jessica Phelan September 12, 2022

    Beautiful Scenery!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This trip was absolutely stunning. The views were beyond beautiful form everywhere. For the most part you are riding along the river and the ride is very relaxing. Most days are fairly flat with a few small hills and many downhills. The trails are well marked and the map by the guide company is pretty easy to follow. Our group did the trip with hybrid bikes, but if I were to do it again, I would definitely get an e-bike. There is one day with some really big climbs and an e-bike would have made the whole a thing a bit more leisurely. We also did not pack helmets since they wouldn't fit in our suitcases and the bike shop ran out of rentals. I would advise bringing one with you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (4/5) Sara Ching September 12, 2022

    Beautiful scenario in the Bavarian alps

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    The route is breathtaking. From Innsbruck to salzburg, we opted for the rest day in zell am see (100% recommmended) where we got a day off to take the gondolas up to see the mountains, go to the glacier lakes in kaprun and swim in zell am see lake. The hotels and breakfasts were great! The bike company they use to source the bike was a bit disorganized, the bikes were ok though seats were the hard racer types. Bike company also an out of bags and locks. They didn’t give us enough baggage tags and when they split our groups across two hotels, the baggages were often at the wrong hotel. There weren’t a lot of recommendations on optional things to do and places to eat so you definitely have to do a lot of your own research. Overall I would recommend the tour because the itinerary and accommodations were very nice but the agency that ran the tour itself could be better organized.

    Also note the second day of biking (day 3) has a lot more uphills and downhills than it seems. And it rained really hard the last three days of our tours so definitely make sure you have good rain gear if you go in September.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) Charles Curtis September 11, 2022

    Second great trip to Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We loved the first bike and boat trip to Croatia: Highlights of Dalmatia - that we booked this one. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip but not quite as outstanding as the first. Not quite as many interesting stops and the food was good but not outstanding which is why we gave it only four stars.
    There were hills but not as rigorous as the Highlights rides so several had regular bikes and we ebikers didn’t have to wait too long for them to catch up after a climb. The waterfalls at Krka National Park was a highlight

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Charles Curtis September 6, 2022

    Second great trip to Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We loved the first bike and boat trip to Croatia: Highlights of Dalmatia - that we booked this one. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip but not quite as outstanding as the first. Not quite as many interesting stops and the food was good but not outstanding which is why we gave it only four stars.
    There were hills but not as rigorous as the Highlights rides so several had regular bikes and we ebikers didn’t have to wait too long for them to catch up after a climb. The waterfalls at Krka National Park was a highlight

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (4/5) Earl Naue August 9, 2022

    Innsbruck to Salzburg Ride

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was our first of two bike tours in Austria this year and both were handled by two different tour providers and the services and directions provided by each were significantly different. The lodging choices were excellent for both, but riding directions were on opposite ends of the spectrum. Advise that you go with a tour company that provides an application with directions utilizing GPS.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Liv August 24, 2022

      Hi Earl,
      Thanks for your comments. I really hope you had a great holiday through this beautiful area. I just wanted to point out that we do offer GPS rental with this tour (see Dates & Prices). I agree, using GPS really makes a world of difference.
      Thanks again,
      Liv

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Barbara Owens August 9, 2022

    The scenery was great. The maps and tour company were not.

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This was our second tour with Biketours.com and we discovered that there is a huge difference between the tour companies they contract with in Austria. Our first tour was great. This one, not so. The map book and directions provided were just terrible. Rather than say "follow the well marked trail named xx, it was "go to the end of the hamlet and turn right" No street names. No named landmarks or areas. The ENTIRE book was that way. One day we had to be transported by van over a mountain but it did not explain that. It said to be at a train station in a certain town at 2 pm. We got there, thinking we were taking a train but could not figure it out. I called the company and they said a van was coming to get us. Other people on the same route also did not understand and they literally rode over the mountain. Communication from the company was terrible -- and I speak German!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from kirsten August 9, 2022

      Thank you for traveling with us again, Barbara! We are sorry to hear that the route information provided to you was not clear and detailed. We have passed your message along to our partner to ensure that these issues are addressed, in hopes that future travelers will have an easier time following the maps as well as be made aware of included transfers during the tour. We appreciate you reaching out!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tricia Hoggan August 8, 2022

    Amazing

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    It was wonderful. The scenery was spectacular. The hotels were perfect. I can't say enough good things about the trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Michelle Franks August 8, 2022

    Absolutely fantastic!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    We are so so impressed with everything about this trip! The planning, attention to detail, the hotels, the local guides, etc. Everyone was so helpful and the trip went off flawlessly. We did it in July during a heatwave and ended up switching to e-bikes halfway through, which was a great decision. ARCAS, the local bike company that took care of us in Greece, was absolutely wonderful and extremely accommodating. I did this trip with my 16 year old daughter, and it was perfect. This trip was a resounding 10/10!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    just this one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Vic Wieland August 5, 2022

    An amazing experience

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Boat bike is the way to see Croatia, the whole experience was fantastic, comfortable accommodation on the boat, fantastic crew who couldn’t do enough for us, and excellent food.
    The Captain stopped for us to swim every day after cycling, and at night we explored the gorgeous villages.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Cycling Spain's Ebro River
    (5/5) Andres Volosin August 4, 2022

    Bike kids bike!

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    I was a great way to experience the Rioja area and great for our first bike trip with our kids.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Wendy Sigler August 3, 2022

    Perfect explanation of trip. Could sound a little more magical.

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    The staff from the bike company was stellar and very responsive to any assistance we needed. The bikes provided were ok, they were a little grungy like they could use a tune up, but serviceable and once we got used to the battery configuration they were fins. The routes and stops were fabulous! The locals made the experience so enjoyable and special. My Only complain t was that one of our days fell on a country holiday which meant we couldn’t go to the cave, it was closed. We had no idea of this until the day the tour started and would t have known if it hadn’t come up in conversation, we would have ridden all that way to see the cave and been let down. It would be nice if the company provided a list of holidays and better indication of how it could affect the trip. There was a brief mention somewhere, but that would t have helped us, the actual holiday fell on a Sunday so got celebrated on Monday instead so it was unlikely we would have discovered it in our own.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Cycling Spain's Ebro River
    (5/5) Ken Schneider August 3, 2022

    Great Trip

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    Absolutely beautiful route with good places to stay. Significant climbs every day made the E Assist bikes a necessity for our group. (We had 6 people about 60 years old and in quite good shape). It was unseasonably hot for our week and a number of the smaller hotels in the mountains did not have AC. I'm not sure how often that would be an issue but sleeping was tough for a few nights. The local crew was friendly, timely and helpful. I would recommend the trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • (5/5) Dorothy Westerfield August 2, 2022

    Fabulous trip!

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    Possibly the most beautiful scenery we’ve seen yet. All the hotels were wonderful, and the self-guiding directions and maps were perfect. We would highly recommend this trip, but I do think it should be rated as a 3 in difficulty. Lots of hills, and I was very glad to have an ebike!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Robert Alexander August 2, 2022

    Great trip, great guides.

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    Tons of fun (notwithstanding that we got COVID on the trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)