Bike Tour Reviews  page 7

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Joseph Wise 5 months ago

    A bike trip to remember.

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The bike trip was the highlight of our two week trip to Germany this year. We went from town to town with beautiful scenery along the way. We moved at our own pace and enjoyed stopping in towns along the way to our next destination. Our luggage was always at the next hotel, usually before we arrived. All hotels were beautiful. Having breakfast each morning was a great way to start each day. We were fortunate to have great weather, but the saddlebags did allow for bringing extra clothing or rain gear if needed. Equipment was in great shape as well. We used e-bikes which helped with hills when needed. If you want to see Germany through the eyes of small towns, at your own pace and without the hustle of large cities. This type a bike trip is recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first, but not the last.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dordogne Valley
    (4/5) Marie Fan 5 months ago

    Fantastic riding

    · Dordogne Valley: Between the Dordogne and Lot Rivers

    Dordogne was beautiful. The limestone cliffs, valley views, and rolling hills (e-bike made that much more enjoyable) were gorgeous. The small villages and countless chateaus were a treat. The weather was great as was our friendly guide who took good care of us. Our guide was not French-speaking, as we had hoped, though. The biggest disappointment was there was only 1 other guest on the tour (which was better than no other guest which is what we were told 2 weeks before the start) . The upside was flexibility and the ability to see more (loved the side visits, especially the Padirac caves) and not have dinners taking hours on end. The dinners were all 5 star affairs. The lodging was not the highest end (mostly 2-3 stars), but we didn’t sign up for that. Overall, it was a great trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Renee Fogelberg 5 months ago

    Great trip

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    It was a lovely combination of epic landscape and gorgeous towns to visit. Food was fabulous. Hotels were perfect.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 3023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Renee Fogelberg)
    •  (photo by Renee Fogelberg)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Explore the highlights of Istria on this e-bike and boat tour!
    (4/5) Bob VG 5 months ago

    Wonderful trip!

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    Explored the Istrian Peninsula by day while relaxing on the wonderful Andela Lora at night. Pro tip: Don't book a lesser boat! Staff was very attentive. Guide Yana was a delight with her bubbly enthusiasm. Appreciated many costal ports as well as old historic inland villages. Would have appreciated the opportunity to for upgraded bikes and more food variety. The booking process was smooth and we would defiantly go with BikeTours.com again!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bike through bustling Bruges
    (5/5) Margaret Medernach 5 months ago

    Bike tour

    · Bruges City Bike Tour

    Great tour. Guide was very informed and knew the city well. Very enjoyable ride through Bruges

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 5 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Renee Fogelberg 5 months ago

    Great trip

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    It was a lovely combination of epic landscape and gorgeous towns to visit. Food was fabulous. Hotels were perfect.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 3023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Renee Fogelberg)
    •  (photo by Renee Fogelberg)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (4/5) Barbara 5 months ago

    Beautiful country with lots to see and do

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Slovenia ranks as one of my favorite countries to cycle. Friendly, hard working people. Roads are in great condition ( minus a few construction zones due to recent flooding), and the routes offered are interesting and varied. From high mountain vistas and zigzagging descents to flat bike trails along the sea, each day brought a new adventure to the senses. We enjoyed getting off the bikes to explore caves, castles, waterfalls, and towns. Most of us opted to cycle and climb the first day to the high plateau of Pokljuka. It actually seemed like an easier climb than the second day to the high plateau of Jelovica. Two people used the shuttle the first day and were not particularly pleased at where they were let off on the route. Had they known better, they would have also cycled to Pokljuka with us. (they were on electric bikes).

    The hotels were good. Regardless of the size of rooms, the beds were comfortable and the breakfasts were bountiful and varied. The hotel in Ljubljana was a 45 minute walk to the city center, but it allows one to see the sites and restaurants along the way. We downloaded the maps on our devices and they were adequate for navigation. It was helpful to have 3 navigators in our group of 8 people.

    Bikes that we used were hybrid ones. They were a definite plus with all the climbing involved with this tour. Sometimes, the small towns we entered had short ascents of 10-12% grade, so it was helpful to have the low gears to pop into. There were a few problems with the bikes. One of the hybrids was not in good condition for riding and was replaced before we started our tour. It was helpful to have the bikes at the hotel the night before ( Day 1) so we could adjust and test ride the bikes. The one electric bike had a problem the first day while riding the hills. It was discovered that a sensory cable was not connected after going to a local bike shop to have it looked at after the second day of riding.

    Bike Tours, the company, there were some problems with communication regarding bike choices. There were problems with obtaining the bikes that were unnecessarily stressful. Overall, they were good enough to use, and eventually the issues were resolved. Also, I'm not a big fan of putting a 75% deposit down 9 months before the tour date which is unusual from the other 6 self guided tours that I've done. Make sure to read the fine print regarding the tour. Extra luggage other than one piece is charged extra. Also, we opted to find our own transport options to and from airports/towns, which were cheaper than what is offered. Staying a night in Kranj after our arrival from Ljubljana airport, before going the next day to Bled, worked out wonderfully.

    Discovering the Best of Slovenia was a treat. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is adventurous and curious. The food, the culture, the people, and the sites were incredible!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Northern Bavaria: Bike and Boat the Main River
    (5/5) Dorothy Keyworth 5 months ago

    Wonderful crew and guide

    · · Northern Bavaria: Bike and Boat the Main River

    The guided rides along the Main River kept my interest as we passed through the small villages between Nuremberg and Wurzburg. There was even an Old Town Beer Festival and parade in Nuremberg at the start of the tour. Staying on board the Merlijn made the trip so easy--the captain and crew kept everyone happy. And Tomas, our guide knew the best bakeries to stop at for morning snacks each day. The route was mostly on protected cycle paths along the river. And the weather was breezy and sunny all week. A perfect biking week.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Sites of Albania
    (5/5) Betsy Alles 5 months ago

    Way Beyond Our Expectations

    · UNESCO Sites of Albania

    From start to finish this Albania tour was excellent in every way. The guides. The support van. The itinerary. The details. The hotels. The food. I could go on an on! What made it great were the guides first and foremost. Dimitri, Mateo and our van driver VC...all were friendly, professional and made sure every special request was granted. Even the coffee stops were at magical places -- all selected for their views, their historic significance and the culture. I just can't even describe what a wonderful time we had...and the group we traveled with were wonderful too! No whiners!! I had suffered a compression fracture in my back a few weeks prior to the trip so had to occasionally ride in the support van and Dimitri let me know if there were any rough roads that day. There were very few gravel sections, btw. The e-bikes we rented were top quality too! I say GO...before Albania is crowded with tourists!! We have traveled around the world and Albania was among the most gorgeous countries we have experienced! And you cannot beat the price of a guided trip!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Albania
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Jordann Dooley 5 months ago

    Feel Adventurous at Ease

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Exploring the German, Swiss and Austrian country side and small towns and cities was such a unique experience. From the moment I arrived to my first hotel to the moment I arrived at my last it was an incredibly easy trip. You are given a map of the area and a guide book to tell you which towns you should go to and what interesting things are in each town and you are free to do as little or as much as you like.
    You are also free to make your way from town to town as directly or indirectly as you like.
    The bike trail is pretty easy to follow, minus the occasional area that isn’t amazingly well marked, but that has nothing to do with the tour company.
    The hotels were all really nice and the breakfasts provided ranged from good to absolutely amazing.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • A Beautiful view and my bike. (photo by Jordann Dooley)
    • This one one of the days of biking, I liked to look up the route on google maps so I could see the estimated biking time. (photo by Jordann Dooley)
    • One of the beautiful towns I stayed in (photo by Jordann Dooley)
    • On the 3rd day I passed multiple wineries so I thought it only made sense to take my break at one of them. (photo by Jordann Dooley)
  • The best of the ‘Birthplace of California’
    (5/5) Emerald Fakas 5 months ago

    Amazing way to see San Diego

    · Best of San Diego E-Bike Tour

    A great way to start off a vacation. We got an overview of San Diego then picked what we wanted to spend more time on another day. Lots of history to learn about on your. We highly recommend. You don’t need to be a bike enthusiast. The bike does all the work.

  • Salzburg Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Steve and Marty 5 months ago

    Salzburg Lakes Tour

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    This was probably the most scenic tour we've taken. Lake Constance a close second. Hotels, E-bikes, orientation, the navigation app were all as advertised --- 5 star!! Of course we did have perfect weather for the entire trip except for our planned rest day in Bad Goisern. Hallstatt has become a tourist hotspot and I would suggest spending your time at the Dachstein Ice Caves instead of too much time in Hallstatt. The last day riding back into Salzburg was the best with lots of climbing but worth the effort for scenery and the downhill switchbacks. Ebikes are definitely recommended even if you are an avid and fit biker.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Balkan Treasures
    (4/5) Mark Mering 5 months ago

    Nice trip through the Balkans

    · Balkan Treasures

    Very beautiful country. Nice people in all of the countries we visited. Hotels were nice. Too many transfers . Some of the roads had no shoulders and a lot of traffic and were not fun to ride on .

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of the Algarve
    (4/5) Chris Downey 5 months ago

    Tour of the Algarve

    · Best of the Algarve by Road Bike

    Great routes through the Algarve for road biking. The hotel were great except for the final hotel in Albufeira where we were given two single beds and each had a plastic mattress protector! A change I would recommend is incorporating Lagos in the bike tour and as an end destination to allow for spending an afternoon in that City to explore the coast after a morning of biking.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • Discover the stunning region of Provence by bike!
    (4/5) Shannon McDougall 5 months ago

    Great Trip

    · Cycling Paradise of Provence - to and from Avignon

    This was a great trip with well organized logistics and routes. We downloaded a GPX file reader and found the daily routes were easy to follow. The files need to be updated for day 4 and day 6 as routes had a couple of deadends but we managed. Overall all a great trip, not too difficult!

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) Gudrun Agisdottir 5 months ago

    Nice trip 👌

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Very beatyful landscape all the hotel was and the local vine was so good.
    Gàbor our guide was so nice and helpful.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    •  (photo by Gudrun Agisdottir)
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Lynn Melin 5 months ago

    Good trip!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    A nice combination of biking and opportunities to experience medieval Catalonian history.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Thayne Lyman 5 months ago

    What an awesome trip!

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    This was our first bike and barge tour and it didn't disappoint! We found that we prefer it to regular river cruising. The tour was very well organized, the bikes were always ready and in great condition. The balance of cycling vs site seeing was perfect for us. We loved it so much that we plan to return next year!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 24, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1 including this tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Caroline Dewar 5 months ago

    A perfect way to see and experience Germany and Austria.

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We loved our cycling trip along the Danube; it was a memorable experience in so many ways. The bike paths were well marked and made the ride so enjoyable. The scenery was beautiful, and we loved each day and the cities and towns we had a chance to visit. The accommodation was fabulous - each hotel/inn was beautiful and unique and we were welcomed with incredible European hospitality. Our luggage transfer was seamless, without a glitch the entire trip and made the arrival (and departure) so easy for us on both ends. I would highly recommend this tour and the company itself - we hope to plan another trip in the future. Thank you Bike Tours.com - it was a trip that we will never forget.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September/October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our second self-guided bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Our first day of cycling (photo by Caroline Dewar)
    • A morning coffee stop (photo by Caroline Dewar)
    • So many things to see along the way! (photo by Caroline Dewar)
    • A perfect holiday from beginning to end! (photo by Caroline Dewar)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (4/5) Cati C 5 months ago

    Incredible trip, but expensive

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia is without an ounce of doubt one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Biking the islands exceeded every expectation - pristine blue waters, olive and grape vineyards + tasting, beautiful stone villages. It was all wonderful. Our hotels in Hvar and Korcula were also outstanding.

    That said, I do not know why this tour is so much more expensive than every other tour offered on this site. Two of our three hotels were excellent, and they do provide boat transfers; however, our hotel in Split (the first two nights) was very mediocre, and most boat transfers are cheap ferry rides. Also, this trip is 6 days long. On Day 1, there is a short option to cycle on Split (12km). On Day 5, there is again a short option to cycle on Korcula island. On Day 6, there is no cycling and they do not include accommodations in Dubrovnik (so, it seems odd that this day is included in the price calculation). I have done other cycling tours that include significantly more cycling/lodging for a fraction of the cost. I am not someone who needs to bike 60+ km a day, but I do think the value of this tour did not match the cost. It would be increased if they included one more cycling day (either on Mljet island or near Dubrovnik on the mainland) and lodging on the last day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Brač (photo by Cati C)
    • Korčula (photo by Cati C)
    • Hvar (photo by Cati C)
    • Sunset wine stop on Hvar (photo by Cati C)
    • Dubrovnik (photo by Cati C)
    •  (photo by Cati C)
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection