Bike Tour Reviews  page 129

  • French Alpes Tour
    (5/5) Doktar July 2, 2016
    · French Alpes Tour: Alpes and Ventoux

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/25
    How many tours have you completed?
    1st one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) JJHNL July 1, 2016

    Great trip

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Best tour ever. Great scenery and great tour company.

    What was the date of your tour?
    june
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) Jonathan M July 1, 2016

    Amazing ride along the Loire!

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We loved the tour. It is relatively easy riding along very well marked trails, so the navigating is much simplified. The route follows dedicated bikepaths or very sleepy country roads with few cars. The French countryside is beautiful, and there are many interesting places to stop. Friendly people and delicious food, too.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Donnan Party June 30, 2016

    Amazing Trip With Lots of Hills

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Our Croatian adventure exceeded all expectations! The routes were very scenic, the locals were so friendly, and the food was delicious and totally fresh! We've done several bike trips in Europe, and this was definitely one of our favorites.

    We paid a little more for the hotels and were very pleased with the accommodations. The breakfasts were very generous, and the rooms were spacious and clean. Hotel staff was great at all locations, too. There were two nights at each hotel, which was nice, since we weren't constantly packing and unpacking.

    Our booking experience was great. There were 8 in our party, with all different itineraries, and everyone signed up at different times, which created hotel booking challenges. Brittany was so patient and answered all of our emails promptly. Most of us needed to add nights onto the basic package, and Brittany took care of that for us, too.

    I can't say enough good things about the local tour company. We were self-guided, but when we ran into a little trouble on our first day (someone in our group fell off the bike), the local company was incredibly responsive and there when we needed them. There was constant communication throughout the trip, and they made sure everything went smoothly. Our luggage was transferred without incident and was always waiting for us in our room at the end of our travel days.

    The directions on the route sheets were easy to follow, and with odometers on all the bikes, we never really got lost (which is a first for us). Having a choice of rides on most days, and the details on restaurants and points of interest in each of the towns we passed through made the rides even more enjoyable. The bikes were comfortable and everything we needed was supplied: tire repair kits, spare tubes, pumps, locks, etc. The collapsible panniers were awesome and transported wine very nicely!

    The only negative thing I could say about the trip is that we were on main roads more than I would have liked. On previous trips to Italy and France, there were more back road options. But there wasn't a whole lot of traffic, and the cars generally gave us a comfortable amount of space when passing. The ride was definitely hillier and more difficult than we expected from a difficulty rating of 3, but the uphills weren't too steep and they were definitely worth it for the views!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/11/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • French Alpes Tour
    (5/5) Greg3904 June 30, 2016

    Best Vacation Ever!

    · French Alpes Tour: Alpes and Ventoux

    My wife and I were blown away with the trip. We had never been to Europe and had no idea what to expect. Our expectations were exceeded beyond belief. It was a fantastic experience!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/18/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    First time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) DarTer56 June 26, 2016

    Exceeded many of our expectations

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    When we first booked this trip we could not find any actual traveller reviews on the Bike Tours website so we were unsure of what to expect. However, from the very start we were made to feel comfortable and the staff of the tour company were amazing. A special shout out to the Soleo crew. Our tour guide was very familiar with the area and always looked out for the comfort and safety of the cyclists. There was quite a difference in the ages and abilities of the cyclists, but he took care to meet the overall needs of the group.The bikes were in every good condition, well maintained and comfortable to ride. The accommodations were comfortable and we never had a problem going to sleep at the end of the day! This type of travel is a great way to experience the country and to meet new people. This is the type of vacation we would definitely do again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 4-11/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Pont du Gard (photo by DarTer56)
    • Lounge area on boat (photo by DarTer56)
    • Dining area on boat (photo by DarTer56)
    • Sur la pont D'Avignon! (photo by DarTer56)
    • Relaxing after a long day! (photo by DarTer56)
    • Resting (and learning!) along the way (photo by DarTer56)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Cycling in Western Spain
    (5/5) Big Wave Dave June 24, 2016

    A Beautiful Ride With Great Accommodations

    · Cycling Spain’s Land of the Conquistadors

    This was our tenth self-directed tours with BikeTours.com and was one of the best. The seven of us - three quite fit mid-sixties and four thirty-somethings - had a fun time exploring the very pretty countryside and ancient towns. The Paradors were spectacular - the best accommodations we've had on a trip. The rides were challenging with a good bit of ups and downs. The bikes were relatively new and in good shape. As usually happens, we had a couple of mechanical challenges, but the support team was excellent and made the issues into an adventure rather than a detriment.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    11
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) The Bicigrinos June 24, 2016

    Biking with friends along the Danube

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Our group of five throughly enjoyed our bike ride. The bikes were excellent, with no technical problems. Every hotel that we stayed in was different from the others and offered us an excellent accommodation. We were supplied with a set of maps and various coupons. We particularly loved the free wine tasting and 600 year old cellar tour. The terrain, small villages, and varied weather all played their part in our wonderful adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 8-15
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 2 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 3 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 4 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) The Bicigrinas June 24, 2016

    Fabulous Trip

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Our seven day trip along the Danube was delightful. Five of us (all over 65) from Northern California began in Passau. Try to get there early as this charming city has much to see.
    The hotels were beautiful and most had delicious restaurants and fabulous breakfasts each morning.
    If I were to do it again I'd do the trip in 10 days to have more time to explore Linz, Melk, Enns, Tulln and Krems and have a shorter biking day.
    Anya and the staff are so wonderful and responsive.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 7-15
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Even riding in the rain is fun! (photo by The Bicigrinas)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Classic
    (5/5) Tush June 22, 2016

    Excellent!

    · Lake Constance Classic (11-nights)

    Overall an excellent tour. One thing which would have improved it would have been a little more precise directions - possibly in the form of a printed addendum - giving the INITIAL directions from each hotel to the start point e.g. bike path for each day's ride. Sometimes this was tricky and the scale of the map wasn't helpful. A classic example was the hike day at Rorschach. Most of us missed the hike trail because it was unclear where it started in relation to the Heiden train station.
    Having said all that, I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

    What was the date of your tour?
    677/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Sharlene June 22, 2016
    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    What was the date of your tour?
    June4-11
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Majorca
    (5/5) Cecilia7 June 22, 2016

    The only way to see Mallorca

    · Majorca: A Loop Tour of the Beautiful Balearic Island

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip around Mallorca. I cannot recommend this tour enough!you really get to experience the island as a whole, and see al the different landscapes.it is value for money, i was pleasantly surprised every day and everything exceeded my expectation ( and my expectation was high).All the hotels are located right at the beach, the food was great at all the hotels, the rooms basic and clean we needed nothing more.service where great and location superb!the tour itself is worked out in every detail and the routes are beautiful!the people of mallorca are really friendly and very tolerate of cyclists.we were a group of 8 friends and yes i want to see every country on my bucket list on a bike now!the lunch at fornalutx (spelling?) was absolutely fabulous with the most beautiful little town and view from deck!go ahead and book this epic tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    3-10june2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Photo 1 (photo by Cecilia7)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Cecilia7)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Cecilia7)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Cecilia7)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Cecilia7)
    • Lunch at fornalutx (photo by Cecilia7)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Jaco June 22, 2016

    Great trip with good friends

    · Majorca: A Loop Tour of the Beautiful Balearic Island

    What was the date of your tour?
    4 June 2016 - 10 June 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tuscan Wine Classic
    (5/5) Rotsen June 21, 2016

    A great way to embark on the endless search for a bad Tuscan wine.

    · Tuscan Wine Classic: Pienza to Castellina via Siena

    The only thing that wasn't absolutely perfect on this trip was the weather. The bikes provided were new and light, 25c tires, Shimano 105 11sp compact group w/32T cog for easy climbing.

    The route selection was wonderful, with a loop the first day to get acclimated and a loop the last day to provide options. The route cue sheets and maps included profiles and were spot-on so we hardly even bothered using the GPS routes they gave us to upload. We didn't have as much freedom to actually "tour" and stop at all of the sites as we usually do on tours due to the nearly constant threat of rain. Still we mostly avoided the rain until it arrived within last 5 or 6 kilometers on three of the days.

    The upside was that we had more time in the towns we spent the nights, for wine and cheese tastings, and of course Gelato (If you ever come across Pear-Pecorino-Honey gelato don't be shy.) The hotel accommodations were terrific! Our luggage always made it there before we did. The breakfasts, the only meals included, were above par Continental with great coffee and, at the least, hard boiled eggs.. A number of times we ate dinner at the Hotel Restaurant. Following our arduous afternoon and evening searches for bad wine we kind of liked being close to our beds.

    I am happy to admit that we failed utterly in our quest for a less-than-great Tuscan wine. We didn't bring any of the terrific Brunello's or Rosso's or Chianti's that we drank back, but did return home with 22kg of Pecorino Cheese most notably the Formaggio di Fosse. (My apologies to those who shuttled our baggage.) Someday soon we will return to continue our search, perhaps during a more dependably dry part of the year.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) ukidocny June 20, 2016

    Perfectly organized.

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Great trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All perfectly organized by local tour company; German of course. Hotels were all centrally located but I would have preferred higher tier hotel options. Perfect for ALL different types of cyclists. I would STRONGLY recommend this tour; easy, beautiful and varied landscape, innumerous food options, multiple detour options to extend your daily mileage etc.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 5, 2016 start date
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) jaesc June 19, 2016

    Lake Constance Bike Tour

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Truly enjoyed the experience! Completed 33 500 mile rides in the USA and the Lake Constance tour was the best! Hotels better than expected and rental equipment excellent, highly recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 01 - 07
    How many tours have you completed?
    33
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (4/5) debo June 17, 2016

    Fun trip

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    All in all, a great trip. Some communication issues between cruise director and guides and cyclists. Cruise director clearly overwhelmed and attimes, Difficult To Follow. Bike was very comfortable and routes, interesting and scenic. Having trouble adding photos.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22-29
    How many tours have you completed?
    many, but not lately
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) JenniferW June 16, 2016

    Wonderful family vacation!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    The Danube bike path is an amazing ride and great for kids, ours were 9 and 12. The ride has endless beautiful river and hillside views, charming villages, cafes for lunch along the way, and fun parks for the kids to stop and play. The monastery in Melk is awesome. The hotels were lovely and unique, and the rooms were spacious for four. There are paths on both sides of the river, and many opportunities to cross back and forth for different scenery. There were a few short sections along roads shared with cars, which could usually be avoided by crossing to the other side over a bridge. The ride to the hotel in Vienna was easy, it is close to the waterfront path, past the amusement park along a few bike friendly streets. Vienna itself is very bike friendly. A representative from the local tour company met with us at the hotel the night before we started the trip, he was very helpful and explained all the maps and provided local contact information. The bikes were great. Highly recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2015
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 2 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 3 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 4 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 5 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 6 (photo by JenniferW)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Burgundy Wine Trails
    (4/5) B and L June 15, 2016

    Easy trail through historic Burgundy

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    Wonderful historic sites in Cluny and Cormatin. Picturesque ride through the vineyards between Santenay and Beaune. We enjoyed detours into small towns along the way. The trail was well marked and an easy ride

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/30/16-6/4/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Canal du Centre near Remigny (photo by B and L)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Baltic Capitals
    (5/5) Ronald June 15, 2016

    Endless amazing surprises.

    · Baltic Capitals: Historic Cities of Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn

    Marvellous cities,beautiful uncrowded countryside,and endless Baltic beaches - a great backdrop for a wonderful tour through centuries of tumultuous history brought into focus by our two fantastic Lithuanian guides. This is what great travel is all about. Ron Orieux. Vancouver.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 30 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)