Bike Tour Reviews  page 117

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 9, 2015

    Outstanding itinerary and tour company

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a staff member at BikeTours.com. I did this itinerary, but not on the Fluvius (the boat described on this page). I was on the Magnifique, which can also be booked on this site. Here are the parts of my review that you can find on the Magnifique's tour page that apply to this same program on the Fluvius...

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: A typical scene along the route - cows and sheep aplenty, quiet and well maintained bike path, and of course windmills!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nczbAMMMCM4 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Holland may be famous for its tulips, but early fall is also in full bloom with hydrangeas everywhere and beauties like these in a castle garden. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Rest stop among a field of scarlet begonias (photo by Natalie123)
    • Enjoying a juicy pear from a friendly farmer's orchard that lines the bike path. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Best friends on tour! This was a fabulous girls' trip - active but relaxing, and with most nights docked in cities with as much nightlife as you want to get into. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The canals and swans of Bruges on an early-morning ride before the tourist buses arrived! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (4/5) John Parsons December 7, 2015

    Really great trip.

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    To start off with the Sound of Music Tours and then fairly leisurely riverside roads and fantastic food and culture - we just loved it. One of the towns was not as good as the rest but for the most part just great

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Aare Cycle Route
    (2/5) John Parsons December 7, 2015

    Can't recommend it

    · Aare Cycle Route: Along the Jura, Aare, and Rhine Rivers

    Food organization poor. Rhine River portion very industrial

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Switzerland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash December 8, 2015

      Hi John, thanks very much for your review. We're sorry to hear this trip did not meet expectations. Since this is a self-guided tour, only breakfast is provided. The rest of the meals are on your own, as is typical with self-guided tours. We're glad to see, though, the higher ratings for the local tour company services and bikes/equipment. Thanks again for your feedback.

    • 1/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 7, 2015

    Leisurely luxury through classic Europe

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I was excited to check out this ever-popular bike and boat tour because our clients usually give it rave reviews. Now I know why!

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The Magnifique is cozy. The cabins are small (as expected) but comfortable, the dining room and bar are nice communal spaces for relaxing with new friends, and the hot tub on deck is the very best place to watch the passing scenery! The food is excellent, and the guide took us on a walking tour each night after dinner to learn about whichever city we were docked in overnight.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Pedaling along a canal-side bike path in Bruges

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WgZNJQ3t40 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • The Netherlands look shockingly just like what you imagine - lush greens, canals, windmills. Accompanied on this trip by my best friend and traveling companion, Kelly. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A short test ride on day 1 aboard the boat to get comfortable with our bikes. Check out that beautiful castle! (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the dining area through the bar and sitting area. Our fellow travelers are relaxing between ride time and dinner. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A quiet morning of cycling in Bruges before the tour buses arrived and the streets became crowded. Highly recommend early a.m. or late night jaunts! (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike paths make it pretty clear which way cyclists should go! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) JimJ December 3, 2015

    Far exceeded my expectations--which were already high!

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member and was joined by a friend. More than a year later, we still talk about it: the quiet routes, the lush rural settings, the seaside views, the welcoming villages, the wonderful lodging, the charming people, the superbly attentive tour company and the tasty Irish cuisine (far tastier than I expected). Everything exceeded our expectations. I have the opportunity to go on tours all over the world, and I rarely do "repeats." I'd repeat this tour with joy. The daily distances were perfect for our leisurely cycling, the terrain mostly flat to rolling with just a few longer or steeper climbs that challenged us.

    The Wild Atlantic Way is an amazingly scenic route covering the western coast from north to south. I've done not the whole route, but I'd rate this segment a 10 for sure. The mix of countryside, seacoast, farms, woodlands, rolling hills and even a spectacular fjord and a remote island (with overnight) made this bicycle tour one we'll remember even above most others.

    How many tours have you completed?
    35
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by JimJ)
    • Remote island of Inishbofin (accessible only by ferry) offered some of the more memorable scenery of the tour. (photo by JimJ)
    • Inishbofin harbor at low tide (shot from hotel room) (photo by JimJ)
    • The ruins of Murrisk Friary overlook centuries of tombstones. (photo by JimJ)
    • No bicycle tour to Ireland is complete without visits to local pubs--with live music, of course. (photo by JimJ)
    • Very content coastal cows roam the beaches. (photo by JimJ)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Heidy December 3, 2015

    Beautiful Scenic Bike Tour

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    The perfect way to experience Ireland! My husband and I biked this tour in September 2014 and were totally taken away by beautiful Connemara region. Along the way, we enjoyed beer and seafood in local pubs and a smoked mackerel and champagne in Ballynahinch Castle. The bicycles were in good condition and the accommodation in B&Bs was fine for us. The hosts were friendly, the facilities clean and the Irish breakfast huge and delicious. I bought us all the rain-gear I could find, but we did not need it once. Some mornings were foggy but it only added to the charm of the countryside.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (4/5) Brittany at BikeTours December 3, 2015
    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. Connemara is a dreamy, scenic region of Ireland! The views were magnificent. The route was 95% on quiet back roads. The cycling is definitely a level two tour, with intermittent rolling hills. As this tour has very low mileage, there is plenty of time to meander and take in the surroundings. I went at the end of the season (mid October), and I experienced closed establishments for the upcoming winter. However, there were 1 or 2 dining places to choose from in each village, even with the closures. I would recommend this tour to first-time travelers and travelers that want to have an off-the-beaten-path experience.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • The Kylemore Abbey (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Hiking on Diamond Mountain in Connemara National Park (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • The Atlantic coast (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Resting near Leenaun Village (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Sheep! (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube River and Black Sea
    (4/5) JimJ December 3, 2015

    First time in Bulgaria won't be last!

    · Danube River and Black Sea

    (Staff review) Bulgaria did not disappoint! During this tour, we explored seacoast and farmland, toured castles and monasteries, and ate in fine restaurants and village homes. Our guides were excellent--committed, knowledgeable and cordial. One of them was a bird expert, and we learned so much about the fauna in the region. After a day along the Danube in Romania, we overnighted in a tiny farm village where we became the main attraction. We couldn't speak Romanian, and the farm folks couldn't speak English, but we all made ourselves known. And three of our party even got invited into a private home to enjoy the local home made brandy! Some days were on routes that sometimes had too much traffic for my taste, and we've advised the local tour operator on ways to avoid or bridge these sections.

    How many tours have you completed?
    35
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bulgaria, Romania
    • Photo 1 (photo by JimJ)
    • Cycling through cornfields and farmlands (photo by JimJ)
    • Leaving our bikes to walk to an ancient fortress on the Black Sea (photo by JimJ)
    • Who could turn down this sweetheart selling almonds soaking in honey? All grown or harvested locally, of course. (photo by JimJ)
    • After a few days inland, we celebrate reaching the Black Sea again. (photo by JimJ)
    • Clambering along cliffs and across a natural bridge on the Black Sea (photo by JimJ)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (4/5) Brittany at BikeTours December 3, 2015

    Beautiful scenery and quaint villages!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking! The tour is 80% downhill. This made for cycling near the Austrian Alps fantastic. This tour is mostly on dedicated bike paths and quiet back roads, except for brief moments of cycling near the main road. The route maps are more basic which allow for more adventure. I would recommend this tour for a first-time traveler and casual cyclist.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Krimml waterfalls (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • The Schmittenhöhe (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Cow crossing (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Zell am See Lake (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • Austrian Alps (photo by Brittany at BikeTours)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (3/5) Chloek1234 December 3, 2015

    Interesting tour for the well-traveled individual

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I think that this tour has some wonderful highlights - Prague, Cesky Krumlov, but also is a bit monotonous. I enjoy riding in more varied scenery that this tour offered. However, the bike path network within the country is extensive (and I was impressed). The accommodations and food were basic to nice. The Czech people were very kind and down-to-earth. Our guide, Jitka, was always helpful and informative. This tour is consistently hilly and is a true level 3 in that sense. I would recommend this tour to a intermediate level cyclist, who is well traveled and wants to experience the less traveled side of Europe.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • Photo 1 (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Poppies! These guys were in bloom everywhere. (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Signs for the Czech Republic's extensive bike path network (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Cycle path-side adult beverages (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Our group visiting the only remaining portion of the Iron Curtain in Czechia (photo by Chloek1234)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Chloek1234 December 2, 2015

    Great trip for leisurely bikers seeking variety and leisurely travel

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member, and I think this is a great tour for a variety of folks. There are big cities, forests, small towns, ancient ruins, vineyards, and more. The cycling is very easy and simple to navigate. The directions and maps are basic, and leave you to discover things on your own. The tour is 95% or more on bike paths. You do have to leave the bike path oftentimes to venture to the night's accommodations. All of the accommodations were quite lovely, and breakfast ranged from adequate to delicious! I think I could take my entire family on this tour, from my grandma to my baby cousin and everyone would love it. It's really is the quintessential European bike tour experience.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Passau, Germany (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Hauptplatz, Linz, Austria (photo by Chloek1234)
    • View from Maria Taferl (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Wachau, Austria's most famous wine-growing region (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Quaint accommodations, Tulln (photo by Chloek1234)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (4/5) Richie November 24, 2015

    Diverse cycling through three countries

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Diversity is the theme of this tour. From the Dolomites, to the Julian Alps, to the dreamy Lake Bled, to the Friuli Italian wine country, to the Adriatic Coast, this tour has it all. Riding in three countries in one day is an awesome experience as well.

    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • Photo 1 (photo by Richie)
    • First ride leaving the Dolomites (photo by Richie)
    • Church in Feistritz (photo by Richie)
    • Slovenia (photo by Richie)
    • Lake Bled (photo by Richie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) Alpskier November 14, 2015

    A Great Trip Across a Great Country

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Loved cycling through Slovenia. Warm, friendly people, terrific accommodations, and spectacular scenery made it very, very special. The ride begins in the majestic Julien Alps and courses its way through verdant farm lands, remote villages, the capital city of Ljubljana, and ends on Adriatic sea at the beautiful & ancient town of Piran. Accommodations were fine, some were truly charming, featuring architecture unique to Slovenia. The meal plan was a bargain and the foods and beers were delicious. The 9 day ride largely followed low-trafficked roads, where drivers were courteous. The well-devised road book made navigation manageable, as the route isn't as clearly marked the way it's done in most of Western Europe. Still, there were no worries at all, even as a solo rider. Surprisingly, English was widely spoken. The route featured rolling hills, none of which were too strenuous, nor was mileage an issue. There were lots of downhills as the trip starts high in the Alps and descends to the sea. The local tour operator was very helpful and the bikes were well maintained. Starting out in the fairy-book town of Lake Bled with its famous island church was a reward in itself. Here's a good tip: It's worth the 15 Euro to have a van bring you to the top of the mountain on the second day. Biking it seemed absurd. The capital city was accessible and having dinner near the famous three bridges confluence still brings a smile to my face as I remember the sea of young people going from bar to bar. It's all good, not to mention one of the great travel bargains in the Biketours universe.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (5/5) Alpskier November 14, 2015

    I've Done 8 Trips. Here's My Favorite!

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    It's simply a magnificent ride. You begin in Venice, ride along the coast, passing beautiful beaches, going inland through rural farmland, and finally reaching Trieste, an old city that has a lot to offer. And that's just the Italian portion. The ride then takes you into Slovenia and ends in Croatia. For me, the century-old towns of Piran, Slovenia, and Porec, Croatia were magical - adult Disneyland. They are well-preserved and inviting as you aimlessly walk through narrow streets with stunning architecture. Locals were great. The ride is well-marked and the road book you're given is easy to follow. The local tour operator is most helpful. Most of the ride is easy, flat, doable miles per day - about 35. Once you get into Slovenia, you follow a beautiful paved bikeway along the rugged coast that brings you through one picturesque town after another. Finally, the last ride is a bit challenging as you reach hilly, yet doable terrain. I loved the hotels as they all were family-run and charming beyond belief. I guess it's the diversity of the journey. And riding a bike through a country is simply the best way to connect to the culture, people, and the land. Book this one. You won't be disappointed.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (5/5) Alpskier November 14, 2015

    The Rugged Beauty of the Emerald Isle

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    Highlights of the Highlands was one of my favorite trips. The affable local tour operator met us at our b&b in Donegal Town and told us what to expect. Bikes were great and the b&b lodgings were solid, including a satisfying breakfast. To be sure, the ride has parts that are truly rigorous, including a couple of long, steady inclines. And most of the ride follows low-trafficked roads, first along the rocky coast and later inland through national parks. The Irish were most welcoming and so were the pubs. But the beauty is in the land, resplendent vistas, hours of riding through glacial valleys. It was a pretty cool thing to ride through a pack of sheep. We road in the summer. Expect changeable weather, a bit chilly and rainy. Needless to say, bring a camera!

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (4/5) 1961flyer November 11, 2015

    Great ride through Austria.

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had a wonderful time on this ride. The hotels mostly had nice saunas to relax and enjoy. The markings on the trail were very good and it was easy to navigate. We enjoyed the day in Zell am See to recharge and see the sights, (we also got a nice massage in Zell am See). We would recommend an extra day in both Innsbruck and Salzburg as both cities have numerous things to see.

    In preparation for the trip we reviewed Rick Steves books on Bavaria/Austria which offered insights and hints to our vacation.

    The riding was easily done each day and was very comfortable with numerous options to stop and eat and drink along the way. The country side was delightful as we rode.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Good ride (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Photo 2 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful scenery along the way. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) SWTA November 6, 2015

    Slovenia: Europe's hidden gem!

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    We did this trip as a family of 4, including a 13 and 15 y/o. We have traveled extensively and we all found Slovenia wonderful. We all agreed this was one of the our best trips ever. Modern enough to be comfortable but still having a lot of old world charm. The hotels were comfortable and we had no trouble finding a good meal. The other positive is that everyone spoke English and we had no language barriers.

    The biking was moderately challenging even as a 2 rated trip. But every day was was really great and different. From the mountains to the sea. We rented the bikes from the base company - Helia - and didn't have any equipment failures!

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • Photo 1 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 2 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 3 (photo by SWTA)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection