Bike Tour Reviews  National Parks Of Dalmatia By Bike/E-bike And Boat (page 2)

  • (5/5) Carlosm November 11, 2018

    A very special experience

    This was one of the last tours offered for 2018 and Bike Tours acted quickly to get us signed up, and responded immediately to several questions we had. As for the tour company, we could not have been more pleased--the guides were excellent, the boat staff worked hard and were always helpful. And, the beauty of the coastline is exceptional.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 13 to 20, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    none before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Granny Annie September 6, 2018

    Everything Was Perfect!

    This was a family bike trip with 11 people ages 13 to 88 and it was perfect for everyone. The Dalmatian coast is the most beautiful in the world. The towns are interesting and best of all it was the World Cup and Croatia was winning. Each day we biked from 9 to 1 with a coffee (or ice cream) break in the middle. The terrain was challenging and three of us were happy to have bikes which worked perfectly. In the afternoon we could relax or hike or explore a town or village.The boat, the Melody, was wonderful with roomy cabins and bathrooms, a hot tub and an excellent masseuse. The captain and crew were pleasant to deal with , the food was excellent and our two biking guides were really terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Labia September 6, 2018

    Glad we did it - but too hot in August

    This is our third bike tour. The boat was much nicer than others we have been on. The cabins were very large and a good size bathroom. The food was good (not great). It was nice to have two tour guides. The downside was that it was really hot and the sun too blazing to enjoy the bike rides a lot. The landscape I would also say is a bit repetitive. All in all I wish we could have done it some weeks later with fewer crowds in town and especially cooler weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    18 August
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Nanachan July 14, 2018

    Enjoyed every moment with guests, guide and crew

    The perfect way to experience the hospitality of Croatia together with guests from many countries.

    What was the date of your tour?
    2018/06/30
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Surprise party on the boat by the captain (photo by Nanachan)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Finellsmith July 4, 2018

    First cycling trip ~ but not our last!

    Cycling along the coast and through the Dalmatian Islands was a great introduction to Croatia for us. April seemed like the perfect time of year for our cycling adventure ~ the weather was terrific and the crowds were minimal, although the swimming was cool! The boat was very comfortable, from our private room to the salon and upper deck. The bikes we used were in very good condition. The guides were very friendly, knowledgable and quick to attend to anyone's specific needs.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 21- 28/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Matt L October 19, 2017

    The Dalmatian life

    This is a tour I will continue to dream about for many years to come. The tour was structured in a way that was relaxed but included a taste of Croatia’s culture and nature. 

On the first day, I arrived early to check in and they greeted me professionally and placed my bags in my cabin for me. This allowed me to explore the bustling but gorgeous city of Trogir for the next few hours. 
 While on the boat, the local boat crew was always there willing to help. They were up before I woke up each morning (6:30 am) and did not go to bed until after the last guest was in their cabin (usually around midnight). They were a very well-oiled machine in making our experience a pleasant one. We always felt safe with them. Croatia is a beautiful country with lots of hills. Some days were easier than others, but every day we were all challenged at some point. I rented an e-bike and loved it. I can guarantee I was still getting a serious cardio workout each day even with a little help from the bike. It made the 15%-17% climbs doable (even though they were not every day). I would highly recommend an e-bike if you are someone who is not used to riding on a weekly basis or if you want to save your knees. The rides, for the most part, were on the backroads, but you still need to be careful of cars in some areas. I would not recommend this tour to anyone under the age of 13 and only if they are a very responsible rider due to the cars in some of the areas. 
Climbing to the top of the mountain and seeing our boat huffing along the islands besides us was breathtaking. Each small (and large) town we got to had a bell tower that always reminded us what time it was with a beautiful ring. I would highly recommend doing the second ride (sunset ride) on day 3 on Molat. It is a beautiful ride that allows you to explore a little on your own and maybe invest in some local goat cheese. The food was delicious. The chef never left you hungry. There was enough food each meal. Usually a three-course meal for lunch and dinner that was carefully and deliciously prepared. After each meal, the local tour guides would give us a briefing of the rest of the day or what we would be doing the next day, keeping us informed on what to expect. The guides (Marin and Lucija) in-depth knowledge and energy made this tour even better. They responded accordingly when problems would arise and communicated very well with the guests. They truly made it so you did not have to think about anything except relaxing and enjoying yourself. It was “turnkey” service at its finest. In Zadar, Sibenek, and Trogir, we had informative sunset tours (430/5pm) set up for us explaining the history and culture of the cities from a local tour guide that was from the given area. I loved the boat. The Princeza Diana is a steel hull boat with a wooden trim. This wooden trim gives the boat a homey and comforting feel like a “Woodie”. The cabins were pristine and spacious for a boat. The beds are very comfortable and made for a great rest each night. The public spaces were very eloquent but comfortable allowing everyone to enjoy the remarkable scenery and sunsets from the bow or stern of the boat. Somedays it was great to jump in the hot tub with a glass of wine while taking in the beautiful Kornati Park on the bow of the boat. If you have issues with going up and downstairs on land, I would recommend getting an upper deck cabin since the stairs to the lower deck cabins are a little steep (as is on most boats). One of my favorite aspects of the boat was the swimming platform on the back of the boat. Almost every day after our ride, we had the option to jump in for about 45 minutes to an hour, to cool off. Most people did. It was easy for everyone (25-82 years old) to get in and out of the water safely with a shower head available to rinse off. One last recommendation. If you have room in your luggage, bring a sleeping bag and sleep on the deck out under the stars. The deck beds are very comfortable. I did it the night we were docked in Molat and I am happy I did it.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 30, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Staff Submitted Review (photo by Matt L)
    • The breakfast each morning was mouthwatering. (photo by Matt L)
    • A daily briefing with Marin (local tour guide). (photo by Matt L)
    • Walking around Krka Falls is a highlight of this tour. (photo by Matt L)
    • Walking around the 2600 year old city of Zadar is majestic. (photo by Matt L)
    • Relaxing in the boat jacuzzi after a 30 mile bike ride while enjoying a glass of wine and the cruising through Kornati National Park was unforgettable. (photo by Matt L)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Patty October 10, 2017

    Awesome experience!

    I was very impressed with the Princessa Diana, she was a beautiful vessel and commanded a lot of attention when we came into port. The guides were phenomenal. Very informative, friendly and helpful. The itinerary was awesome and presented some challenging rides, but the views made it all worth while.
    Food onboard was good and plentiful.
    Would like to see the option of included wine and coffee/tea with dinner and coffee/tea for lunch. (Or offered as an optional add on to the base package price).

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 30, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kelowna123 October 9, 2017

    Once in a life time adventure

    From the first to the last day we loved every second of our adventure. The Melody is exceptionally clean, comfortable and most of all, a safe boat. Staff were courteous, professional and accommodating. Our tour guides quickly became our friends. There were only 26 people in our group - - most we did not know. The guides went out of their way to advise us of what was ahead and set a comfortable pace. It was advantageous to have a sweep in the back. The "plus" side to this trip were the private tours, eating at local restaurants, karaoke night, and the small but significant personal touches. We should mention the food - - unbelievably good. We had menus and were able to choose our dinners/lunches - - The Melody is the only boat that has this option..
    The Northern National Park hills were challenging but so worth it as the views were spectacular. We highly recommend using an ebike. Those that didn't struggled everyday. A few dropped out, some stopped biking on day 3 or 4. At times the 12% inclined hills were 3-5 kilometers long. No joke!! Enjoy the journey.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 23 - 30
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Brittany October 10, 2017

      We're delighted to hear your rave review of this tour! I completely agree that eBikes are perfect for this type of tour to level out some of the climbs.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Bob and son October 9, 2017

    Better Than Expected

    This tour was more challenging than I expected but the E bikes more than offset the additional challenge. The tour was very well organized but definitely is an adult tour. I would not recommend for children under 15. The boat was well designed and the cabins very comfortable. The food was great, perhaps a little too much in total. The tour guides were excellent and the itineraries were nicely put together. There was very little stopping and exploring any unusual buildings or industry and there was almost no explanations while cycling. On other tours we would stop several times a day and the guides would explain something about the area. We did have several city tours where we walked through a town. Croatia is a beautiful country and the water was wonderfully clear and clean and the towns were spotless. I would strongly recommend this tour to cyclists who have some experience on a bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 30 to Oct 7, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Brittany October 10, 2017

      We're glad to hear you enjoyed your cycling vacation and this tour was well organized for you! Thank you very much for your thorough review.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Tina Turner September 30, 2017

    Loved every minute!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) EDWH August 23, 2017

    Fun, but a few qualifications

    We had a great time but the parks were not quite as interesting or attractive as we had hoped. And some of the bike rides (the 3rd day in particular) difficult hills with nothing at all to see. Description said a ride around Vraner Lake and we never even saw it. That was coupled with the hottest week in the summer as temps were near or over 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Guides showed little flexibility in schedules or changes to accommodate the heat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 29, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    25 or 30
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson August 24, 2017

      Thank you for your feedback, and I'm very sorry you did not enjoy the tour. It's one of our more popular tours, and we've generally received great feedback. I did it a number of years ago and loved it. That said, guides change from year to year (or even more often), and other changes (positive or negative) can come into play.

      As luck would have it, one of our staff members will be checking out the tour in a couple weeks, and he will pay special attention to the issues you rose.

      Again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) DickZee August 12, 2017

    Dalmatian Coasts up close

    This trip met my expectations. Ebike made it easy (I'm 86) Well planned itinerary as trips started easy and progressed in difficulty.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 29-Aug 5, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    over a dozen
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Nicsteiner June 9, 2016

    Amazing trip and guides

    Everything was great!!! The trip, the guides, the tripulation, the food one of the best trips ever!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) SusieQ October 22, 2015

    An Excellent Adventure On Board

    We just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our Bike/Boat tour on the Princess Diana.
    We had requested an upper cabin and found that all had been filled already. We loved our lower deck cabin. It appeared to be larger with two double berths than the upper cabins.

    The crew of 9 with only 22 passengers, made for fabulous service. The two guides, a married couple,were very organized and attentive to any needs or concerns. And the E Bikes were really phenomenal.

    We are both in our 70's, and fairly active. We found the terrain to be varied with many hills with grades too steep for us to climb, if we had been on regular bikes. It was so much fun to ride through the wine and olive growing areas on a bike and enjoy sightseeing up close.

    Meals were really healthy and elegantly served.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike tour.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)