Mosel  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Jiggy September 23, 2018

    Fun time was had by all

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Our group of 29 people had a wonderful time enjoying the scenery and relaxed atmosphere of the Patria. Although the cabins are quite small we made the best of it....and felt it was good value for the money. Was surprised with the lack of safety talk regarding the bikes and also the boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    sept 1, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Minna September 23, 2018

    Amazing Experience

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Joyce September 18, 2018

    The Mosel Valley Bike & Barge adventure is a perfect combination of stunning scenery, exercise and wine!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Excellent help from the BikeTours.com staff – especially Liv! Comfortable accommodations aboard the MS Patria, delicious food, staff exceeded all expectations, bikes were good, pedaling was easy, scenery beautiful, route went thru interesting and historic villages and cities. With a group of 29, there was something for everyone – every day – and no complaints from anyone!
    BTC staff review “Liv helped our group of 29 get booked……and was accommodating with every change and request along the way. Everyone thought a group that large would be impossible to book…but, Liv made it easy!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 1 - Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • The 'Hawaii Group'  gathered for one last photo 'up top' on the barge (photo by Joyce)
    • MS Patria with Cochem Castle in the background (photo by Joyce)
    • One of many delicious meals aboard the MS Patria (photo by Joyce)
    • Rest stop! (photo by Joyce)
    • Courtyard in Bernkastel (photo by Joyce)
    • Saarburg - a wonderful place to start the Bike & Barge adventure - spend at least a day or two there! (photo by Joyce)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (3/5) Water Bound September 15, 2018

    Disappointed

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1-9/7/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    -1- before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Karin September 15, 2018

    LIVE AND LOCAL

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Going with my group made a big difference - we didn't always cycle together, but knowing there were others on the trail helped! Scenery, countryside, conviviality were awesome. Accommodations were spartan, but the meals were terrific, the crew excellent and the experience more than worthwhile. Recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 Sep 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • German Wine Country
    (5/5) frank September 5, 2018

    Amazing scenery in a part of the world I did not know about.

    · · German Wine Country along the Saar & Mosel Rivers

    This was a week long immersion in German culture in the Mosel /Saar river valleys. The rides were slow, easy rides on the riverbanks on dedicated bike paths alongside steep, wine grape orchards. Every day we would pull into a tiny picturesque German village. The Zwaan was our home base boat and we grew to really love the little barge, the food served and the group of new friends we made. Amazing Dutch crew that went out of their way to make us all feel at home. The guide was funny, easy going and very helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    08/19/20108
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Padre August 20, 2018

    Moselle River Memories

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had high expectations going into the five day ride along the Moselle, four on it and one day on the Rhein, and the trip far exceeded those expectations. The views were absolutely incredible, the wines and beer were easily accessible, and the people friendly and helpful. We were fed marvelous European breakfasts each morning in wonderful hotels, which sustained us throughout the day. We had the time of our lives.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30-July 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • One more castle in the midst of the vineyards. (photo by Padre)
    • A view from above the Moselle (photo by Padre)
    • Oh, yes, there were magnificent wines, too. (photo by Padre)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) MarcieB July 6, 2018

    Life on a Mosel/Saar River Barge is good!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Not our first self-guided bike tour, BUT our first barge/bike "all inclusive" ride. We loved it. The barge rooms were small, but clean. The on-board meals and "make your own lunch from breakfast buffet offerings" were excellent! Kudos to the chef of the MS Patria. Staff from Czech Republic and Poland were hard working and friendly. Dagomar, the activities director, was enthusiastic and dedicated to making sure everyone was taken care of. Seating assignments in dining room were well thought out, placing the two of us (Oregon) with traveling relatives from BC. The rest of the table consisted of a group of eight Danish folks who spoke English! Bikes were 7-speed models and with a headwind, I was regretting not having an e-bike. Live and learn. Excursions/field trips were interesting and offered cultural highlights. The Mosel/Saar River valleys are simply breathtaking. There was a mix-up the day of our arrival in Koblenz, as we had not received the e-mail regarding the change in mooring. Our German friend was able to call the Harbormaster to locate the MS Patria, and after a rather long walk pulling our suitcases, we located a small local ferry that took us to the opposite shore (Rhine) where we boarded the boat. I don't think I would have thought to call the Harbormaster, and my husband's phone (with contact info) was out of battery power. Technology! All's well that end's well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 16, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our NINTH tour!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) KenB July 4, 2018

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!
    This part of Germany is so charming that every day cycling was a wonderful adventure. Our hotels were amazing! The meals that they provided through their optional meal plan where without equal. Every evening was fine dining.

    History, culture, excellent hotels, excellent bike trails, and wonderful wine made this one our best bike trips ever!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 11 to June 17, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 2 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 3 (photo by KenB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Granny on Wheels November 27, 2017

    Saarburg to Koblenz Great Trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    A great way to get out and explore Germany and suitable for all levels of fitness. The staff was very friendly, caring and well organised, speaking English and German. Our October trip was a little wet but still beautiful....the colours of the Autumn Fall were spectacular. Riding through the quiet streets of the villages along the Moselle was like taking a step back in time. A great way to get a feel of Europe past and present. The meals and afternoon teas were amazing. Although the boat is old, it is well kept and extremely clean. Our bedding was much more comfortable than I expected judging from the photos and we slept well...no noises at night. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and felt very safe. Would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    21 - 28th October 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Lolacharlie November 6, 2017

    Lovely Vacation

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The perfect way to truly experience a country. I have traveled all over Europe before, the big cities of course, but this trip showed me the other side, Small towns and its people. Biketours is a great company with very helpful and professional people on the ground and online!
    I was a bit concerned about the journey, because I get lost a lot, but I did very well! Had a great time!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 12 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Lolacharlie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) mean November 2, 2017

    relaxing and enjoyable biking

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This bike trip combines wonderful natural scenery --- kilometres of vineyards stretching up steep hills on both sides of the river, the meandering river with huge bends that continually open up to new vistas---with lovely, often quaint villages and towns. The biking is gentle and easy, mainly on an off road trail. And there's always an opportunity to stop for a coffee or glass of wine around the next bend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct. 13
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Pedalann October 7, 2017

    Surrounded by Vineyards

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This was an easy ride along the Mosel River in the heart of the wine country. It was impressive to see the intense grape cultivation on the steep hillsides on both sides of the river as we cycled along, mostly on the flat. The scenery and small towns along the way were lovely even though, at times, you were between the road and or train tracks and the river.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 28-Oct. 3
    How many tours have you completed?
    At least 19
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 1 Fred and Ann in front of Porta Nigra in Trier (photo by Pedalann)
    • 2 Hundreds of steep vineyards line the hillsides of the Mosel (photo by Pedalann)
    • 3 A bicycle-themed sculpture along the trail. (photo by Pedalann)
    • 4 The lovely winegarden at our hotel in Piesport (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5 Coming into Cochem on a rainy afternoon. (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Hutch September 7, 2017

    Everyone should ride the Mosel Valley

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This was our third trip down the Mosel. It almost seems to be created for cyclists. Lots of small towns, plenty of places to stop for breaks (coffee, beer, food, etc). Highly recommend this trip, only question is how many days since several options are available. We actually preferred (slightly) the 5-6 day trip over the longer one, but that's just personal. It's a no worry biking experience. We like that it is self guided and can set our own pace (relaxed). No worry about getting lost since both excellent maps are provided and signs posted at every turn.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 29-Sep 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, Founder and President September 8, 2017

      Hutch, I'm so glad you enjoyed your third trip down the Danube. It's one of my favorites as well and is definitely "no worry!" Thanks for your feedback!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Hugh September 2, 2017

    The perfect introduction to bike trips

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This trip is extremely doable and enjoyable. We felt gratified to be pushing ourselves just enough to feel like we had really exercised but not so much that we were too tired or didn't have enough time to explore our surroundings. Even despite the rain two of the five days, we had a blast. Trittenheim was our highlight (visit Josef Rosch!).

    The hotel accommodations were great, and the luggage transfers and connections were seamless. The only challenge we experienced was finding the trailhead on the first day. Bike-tours might consider adding more specific details on how to reach the trailhead from the initial hotels.

    There were also lots of typos and errors in the materials. It would be worthwhile to get a native English speaker to review and revise.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/7-8/13/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Hugh)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Hugh)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Hugh)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, founder and president September 3, 2017

      Hugh, thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the Mosel--one of my favorite cycling regions. We will pass along your comments about the directions and typos to the tour company.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Mamusia August 20, 2017

    Wine, Sun and Castles

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Great trip! Wonderful experience! Enjoyed biking through wine country and stopping at castles along the way!

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/18-7/23 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • View over the valley (photo by Mamusia)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) cvanderhorck August 17, 2017

    Awesome revisit

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Beautiful scenery and wonderful villages/stubes along the way to stop and relax and have a wonderful wine or beer. It's an easy ride and we chose to redo this bike tour as we remembered the scenery so well and the nice paths.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18-July 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) BJohnson August 14, 2017

    Very nice vacation

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had a really nice time biking the Mosel Valley. This area is great for beginners or families.

    What was the date of your tour?
    17th July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection