Italy  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (4/5) Suzanne Skinner 8 months ago

    Good but bikes poor

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    The hotels were great. The app worked intermittently which meant we got lost with some frequency. The bikes were heavy, with crazy bad seats, and in generally poor condition (worn chains). We were lucky we did not have break downs.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
  • Lake Garda
    (3/5) Ellen Brown 8 months ago

    Poor route info

    · Lake Garda (based in one hotel)

    While the company rep was great, the app and route map only worked the middle 3 days. First day we had a transfer to Trento, a rather rushed fitting of bikes, then told to just follow the bike path to Riva de Garda, “ it’s easy, you won’t get lost”. Well, we were lost, and we experienced with self guided bike tours. There was no meeting to discuss the use of the app before we took off riding, but then there was no GPS either. Lucky we paid for an international phone plan, I used it to get us to the town. Others on this same tour ended up MILES away from where they should have been.
    They gave us a booklet with written directions that were totally useless as there was no starting point. One direction said start over the bridge, there was no bridge anywhere near our hotel.
    The riding was basically on bike path, so very easy. Lots of dirt and rocks and stones as well.
    The bikes were “ok” but seemed older. I had to switch out my e-bike as the battery wouldn’t detach. The replacement bike I was given had a slow leak in the back tire, so we had to pump it up during the ride.
    While the scenery is beautiful, and the riding enjoyable, I don’t recommend the tour company used in Italy

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 2/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Florence to Rome
    (2/5) Mark Abzug 8 months ago

    meh

    · Florence to Rome

    great cycling, but eurotours was terrible. no orientation, routed us on some busy roads, no customer service at all. I've done 5 of these, and this group was the worst support outfit by far

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Lake Garda
    (5/5) Meg Bates 8 months ago

    Riding Lake Garda

    · Lake Garda (based in one hotel)

    It was a great trip and the hotel and local setting were wonderful.
    Our experience in getting assistance from the local partner, however, was not satisfactory. We had to contact them a couple times about bike needs and malfunctions. The "hotline" is merely place that tell you who else to call. Their communication to resolve issues was horrible.

    There should be more detail about some aspects for the ride. One thing is the availability of public toilet facilities. On at least one ride, there were none.

    Also, the route info was often a problem. It was at time not accurate. You should sonderusing using Rides with GPS, which was a better option.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (1/5) Kenneth Moffat 8 months ago

    The scenery was great the bike company very poor

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    The bikes should be delivered to the hotel we are assigned to.
    No one reviewed the tour nor did we get a bike fitting.
    The group should all stay in the same hotel. We do not want separate hotels.
    There was more than one occasion when the hotel did not have all of us booked in the hotel.
    The bike tools were not adequate to fix some of the bike issues we had.
    None of us would use this company again.
    I should mention the liaison person Penelope was very nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 2/5 Value
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (5/5) Thomas Carr 8 months ago

    Wonderful Trip

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    We did this trip with two other couples who had never done a European bike tour before. We were so impressed with the efficiency of the staff, the accommodations and of course the beautiful route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Paula Zoccano 8 months ago

    Beautiful trail

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    Pros:The hotels were very good. Wonderful cycle routes. Lovely towns.
    Cons: In Riva I would have preferred to be in the old town beside the water. We had 2 hotels who did not have all our group booked. Unfortunately one couple had to stay by the airport a taxi ride to join us in Innsbruck (still trying to get reimbursed for hotel and cabs) and in Riva another couple were not booked but the hotel was able to give them a room. We also learned in one town we were not booked in the same hotel, our group of 5 couples were split up. I found that strange.
    The meet and greet at the beginning was not at the hotel the company booked us to stay. We were expected to go to another location to get our briefing and bikes. I’ve never had that when booking with other cycle companies. We missed that in our notes and not until 7:00pm when the hotel gave us our booklets did we realize we should have been somewhere else. As a result we never had a meet and greet and bikes fitted to us. My husbands bike had a brake dragging and he needed a torque head screw driver to make adjustments and no torque head screw driver was supplied. He had to find one. The bikes should have been tested,
    No water bottle cages on the bikes.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    •  (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    •  (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Passing Apple and grape orchards (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Beautiful ride (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Rainy day. (photo by Paula Zoccano)
  • A Taste of Italy
    (4/5) Desmond Barnett 8 months ago

    Nice way to see parts of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    Self guided, hotels generally good but thought the hotel in Reggio Emilio was poorly sited. One restaurant fully booked little opportunity without taxi’s. Accomodation needs to be located in a town.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4-5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bike Paths of the Dolomites
    (5/5) Linda Croft 8 months ago

    A Scenic Paradise

    · Bicycle Paths of the Dolomites (based in one hotel)

    What an outstanding cycling paradise! The Dolomites are breathtaking. The bike tour operator in Italy was fabulous. I rented an e-bike and it was brand new! The information package was well organized and the trail maps were great. I had no problems with the shuttle on the day I took it. The cycling paths were very well marked with no question as to which way to my destination. The hotel was beyond expectations! I stayed in Dobbiaco at Hotel Laurin’s. The staff were fabulous. The breakfasts were delicious and the 5 course dinner was outstanding every night! The garden, spa and pool area were so relaxing. The value for a solo traveller like myself was unbelievable. I highly recommend this trip!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • The Dolomites (photo by Linda Croft)
    •  (photo by Linda Croft)
    •  (photo by Linda Croft)
    •  (photo by Linda Croft)
    •  (photo by Linda Croft)
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (3/5) Cathy Hendrie 8 months ago

    Innsbruck to Lake Garda

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    There should be a company representative present when the bikes are delivered
    Our 10 person group was divided between 2 hotels …..this should never happen…we travel as a group for a reason….to enjoy our time together…also the notification sent was inadequate

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Umbria’s Green Valleys
    (5/5) Mark eisenberg 8 months ago

    Self guided bike trip in Umbria

    · Umbria’s Green Valleys From the Pilgrimage Town of Assisi

    This was the perfect self guided bike trip. The roads were quiet or on dedicated bike trails. The directions on GPS were easy to follow. The hill towns were magnificent. We chose the hotel upgrade and were very happy with the accommodations. It is in fact true that one can't find a bad meal in Umbria

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Gregory Lebo 8 months ago

    Awesome scenery!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    This route is super scenic and the routing is easy enough to follow, especially in Northern Italy, Austria and Slovenia. The biking is easy although you may want an e-bike if you like to break away from the planned route to visit some castles along the way which are generally located at high points. The accomodations were all very nice and my luggage was reliably transported every day. It’s nice to let someone else plan the details while you concentrate on riding, taking photos, and enjoying the experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 4-11 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    •  (photo by Gregory Lebo)
    •  (photo by Gregory Lebo)
    •  (photo by Gregory Lebo)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Cati 8 months ago

    Stunning, best way to travel

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    This was my first bike tour and, wow, it did not disappoint. Scenery from the get go was absolutely stunning. You traverse incredible border towns between Italy, Austria, and Slovenia on this entire tour, staying at lovely Inns and eating incredible food along the way. My only gripe was that the written directions were confusing at times (have given feedback) but I wouldn’t let this deter you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • Lake bled (photo by Cati)
    • Slovenia (photo by Cati)
    •  (photo by Cati)
    •  (photo by Cati)
    •  (photo by Cati)
    • Hotel (photo by Cati)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Karey Schoenfeld 8 months ago

    Great bike paths and scenery

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The trip was great - it was a beautiful area. It was the first time we had used e-bikes, and the bikes we had were top notch. There were a few more hills than we expected, but we didn't mind with the e-bikes! The app we had for our tour was also excellent. We took the high road into Trieste to avoid the traffic, and was glad we did.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 18, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (3/5) Rudy Paulich 8 months ago

    Italian coast Adventure

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    Study maps and cue sheet as early on as possible for a smooth tour.
    I was unable to down load gps files as it said my device was to new.
    Files and info should be updated so all can download files and pertinent info on trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Sardinia: A Mine of Memories
    (4/5) Beverly Langsch 8 months ago

    Ups and downs

    · Sardinia: A Mine of Memories

    We had A hotels and it was wonderful to have a swim after a hot (+30°C) day of riding. But, these hotels were often away from town centers. Route was very doable on ebike, but riders do need instruction from local operater, regarding battery range. Several in our group had to do last 10 km, uphill, without battery assist. Only GPS instructions were provided; no maps or written navigation cues for backup, so cyclists need to be used to this system. The heat was difficult, so I would never consider this ride in summer. I loved the long downhills, generally low traffic, views to coast on day 5 and 6. Day 4 was a slow, easy day with 2 ferries, but was much appreciated after the hill climbing and heat on days 2 and 3.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 9, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many! Probably 15 or more
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Zinta Harrington 8 months ago

    Magnificent and varied

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    This was our first biketour and I chose it carefully for our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The route comfortable with bike paths for a good part of the way. It was exciting with 3 countries, long declines, forests, fields, Roman ruins, historic towns, fairytale Bled, majestic Trieste. The accomodation was charming and the food enticing. The support was excellent as our luggage arrived each day and the transfers were well organised.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    •  (photo by Zinta Harrington)
    •  (photo by Zinta Harrington)
    •  (photo by Zinta Harrington)
    •  (photo by Zinta Harrington)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Umbria’s Green Valleys
    (5/5) Bill Allured 8 months ago

    A beautiful experience, well-organized and planned out.

    · Umbria’s Green Valleys From the Pilgrimage Town of Assisi

    We received detailed trip information the night before our ride, along with GPS tracks, which made navigation fairly easy. Because we were primarily on back roads, there were many turns so we occasionally went a short distance out of the way. We highly recommend using a bicycle navigation app. Each hotel was a wonderful oasis along the way.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Glen Field 8 months ago

    Very scenic biking tour

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    The trip was very good, excellent bike paths, great scenery, very good hotels, excellent breakfast at all the hotels. A few communication problems stop me from giving this a 5 star review.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 9-16, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Kim L. 8 months ago

    Adventure of a lifetime!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    My husband and I did the self-guided tour with the extra day in Lake Bled. The logistics went smoothly. The e-bikes worked great. The accommodations were good and the scenery was stunning! We downloaded the app and were glad we brought a handlebar mount for a phone. We wish the trip was longer!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    •  (photo by Kim L.)
    •  (photo by Kim L.)
    •  (photo by Kim L.)