Hungary  Bike Tour Reviews (page 5)

  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) PattyN October 4, 2019

    Wine, Food and Culture - and a Bit of Biking

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    This was an amazing tour of the high quality food and wine in Hungary's Balaton region. There was a bit of biking involved, but mostly that was just to get to the next fabulous meal and wine cellar. My group also enjoyed the castles, monasteries and churches along the route, and Gabor's explanation of how they fit into Hungary's history and his family's experiences.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    hundreds
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Middle Europe October 2, 2019

    Mighty Danube

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We enjoyed the experience of cycling from Vienna to Budapest through 3 different countries. The people were lovely as was the ever changing scenery along the mighty Danube. All the hotels chosen were excellent. We appreciated that our luggage was always there when we arrived usually in the late afternoon. Distances were very manageable. Loading the electric bikes on the trains in Slovakia and Hungary was a challenging feat. Locating our hotel in beautiful Budapest was somewhat difficult due very busy traffic and not much cycling infrastructure. The reward of a lovely hotel with thoughtful staff soon eliminated any angst we may have had. Overall this is a trip I would happily endorse.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    over 20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) Boise cyclist October 2, 2019

    Hidden Gem!

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    What a great trip - Gabor was an amazing host and guide. Bright, entertaining and so knowledgable about the history and culture of the area. Food and wine were plentiful and delicious. The scenery was wonderful, biking through the vineyards and along the lakeside delightful at a leisurely pace on great bike paths and low traffic roads. The hotel selections were great and the local people we met all gracious and friendly. The E-bike option makes this tour a really easy cruising pace, but is not necessary, as the mileage distances and routes never felt excessive. Our entire group of mixed level cyclists all handled the routes without difficulty. The highlight for me was Gabor's knowledge of his country. Every day we were treated to detailed discussions about the sites we visited as well as insight into the history, culture and economics of the area, both from his perspective and also that of his parents and grandparent's generation's experiences. Gave me new appreciation for the complex history of Hungary. Heartily recommend the guided version of this trip. Thanks Gabor!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12-15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • Photo 1 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Nitronan September 4, 2019

    Good trip

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Boat crew was fantastic, cruise director was a hoot. Very accomodating.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 19-26, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (1/5) Eric September 3, 2019

    Lackluster field tour!!

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Hate to be the negative Nelly,but this tour was nowhere near where i'd hoped it to be...It really shouldn't be listed as a Danube River tour,as the only day i saw the river all day,was the last.Several days of riding through corn and sunflower fields on unmarked trails with poor direction. Let me be clear,I chose to follow the map and directions given,as I had no cell phone service in Europe. The last tour I did was Prague to Dresden.Clearly marked trails,with a GPS that wasn't great,but sufficient. Apparently I got my hopes up too high after that one.Spent most of my time checking and double checking Km markers in the guide Vs. Km markers on the bike. Not the relaxing ride I had hoped for.I,along with several other riders,spent some extra time looking for the actual trail. I was watching many people do the same as me...looking for the trail!! Too many unmarked junctions,this trail is really undeveloped in this part of Europe,which was unfortunate-this is what i went for,the ride.A lot of off road time,which would be fine,if I wasn't so busy checking and double checking maps.Really stressful when it should've been relaxing. The positive is the towns were great,the hotels were all very nice,the bike was better than I expected and handled everything-including the off road,and my luggage was always where it was supposed to be.I just so badly wish the ride would've been more relaxing....As i said when i began-the last day of the tour was what I had hoped for the whole length of the tour,relaxing and enjoyable.Unfortunately,it was the only one...

    What was the date of your tour?
    8-13-19
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 4, 2019

      Eric, thanks kindly for your review. We're sorry to hear that this tour was not what you'd expected. We hope that your feedback may serve to educate future clients. As you have noted this tour is quite different from the Danube Bike Path from Passau to Vienna, as it doesn't follow the river. And, it's a more rustic trail that requires navigating, as opposed to the Prague to Dresden tour. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the towns, hotels, bike, and that the luggage transfer was well executed. Thanks again for your feedback - we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts.

    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Todd August 27, 2019

    What a Great Way to See Europe!

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    We did the cycle trip from Passau to Budapest. Its two trips really as the trip to Vienna is a bit different than the trip from Vienna to Budapest in terms of cycle experience but each were satisfying in their own ways. The paths in Austria were better generally than the paths in Slovakia and Hungary. The entire way was well signed generally with just a couple exceptions, and easy to follow with the map. Navigating the larger towns and cities was a bit more challenging. The services support was great from the tour operator, our luggage arrived reliably every day and the accommodations were very satisfactory overall. We had a problem with the Hotel Peklo in Komarno in that they provided us a room that (1) had obviously been a smoking room recently, and (2) had been flooded from the bathroom the day before (hotel explained) and the carpet was still wet and eventually left a musty smell in the room. The room should never have been offered. Additionally, management made no attempt to assist us in covering over the wet area so that we wouldn't slip on the tile in the bathroom. Would not recommend this hotel for your stay. Otherwise, the trip was excellent and I would recommend this cycle adventure without reservation!

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/10 to 8/24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (2/5) Sequoia August 18, 2019

    Not quite the Danube River Trip we expected

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Too much of the trip was off the river, and off trails. Going through corn fields was not our favorite. Dams should be called levees. The route through Budapest on sidewalks was difficult, too busy with trucks and traffic. It is not a bicycle friendly city. Hotel could have been closer to the river. We would recommend 2 nights in Bratislava, there is so much to see there. Add another day to sleep over in Hainburg. We loved the hotel in Vienna. We recommend the lower trail through the National Park on day one, to go swimming!!! The day one detour was difficult because of traffic, maybe there's a walk around the detour on bike path instead of so much road. We loved Gyur. Three days were totally off the river. We enjoyed the ferry rides very much. The last two days were on the river and were the best days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July
    How many tours have you completed?
    over 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 19, 2019

      Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of this tour. We find that clients have varying opinions of this tour. We agree that it's quite different from the (Danube River cycle path) Vienna to Passau section. The tour itself doesn't have the same feel, and the country infrastructures are more varied. While I'm sorry to hear it was not your cup of tea, we're glad you found some aspects you enjoyed. And thanks for the note regarding the lower trail on day one, perhaps future clients will also go for a swim!

    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) Marce August 9, 2019

    wonderful trip

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Great experience, upscale accommodations, inviting and easy country to visit, stunning hillside vineyard scenery and lakeside vacation activity at once elegant, lively and easy going.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 21 -28
    How many tours have you completed?
    only this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Marce August 8, 2019

    Everything we were hoping for.

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    We both loved this trip great biking, lodging wine and food

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 19-26
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Kathleen August 1, 2019

    Vienna To Budapest

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Bike Tours did a nice job connecting us with a good tour operator.
    Bikes were in good condition. The route was excellent.
    They also accommodated our hotel request change for Budapest and were very responsive to a small financial glitch. Highly recommend them

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    more than 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Victor Gonzalez July 18, 2019

    My first leasure biek trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Everyuthing was perfect. Since the metting to give us all the details, the bikes, the hotels, the suitcase transportation, etc. But the best was the views and the roads

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1-6
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • Happy (photo by Victor Gonzalez)
    • Nice roads (photo by Victor Gonzalez)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) jackie20 July 9, 2019
    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    What was the date of your tour?
    Jun 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Hermann Vestri July 6, 2019

    Good trip, wish I had more time

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    What was the date of your tour?
    Every day were good
    How many tours have you completed?
    1 before
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Dmendrop July 2, 2019

    Vikes on Bikes

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    This tour was not exactly what we expected. We brought our own tandem, but were often on dirt or gravel roads for miles, which was difficult with our tires. The directions were confusing and not clear often, a GPS option would be so helpful. Sometimes there was construction on bike baths, obviously not new, which caused us to take alternate route. Accommodations were excellent, I loved seeing all the small towns along the way. Don’t be fooled, you are not often on the Danube.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 14-21
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 3, 2019

      We appreciate this feedback. Thanks for letting us know the directions were sometimes confusing; we can forward this feedback to the tour operator. GPS tracks are available (We can send the files to you after you have booked, although you'd need a GPS or appropriate device). And I'm sorry to hear your tandem was not ideally suited for this tour but so glad that you enjoyed all the small towns and accommodations. Thanks again for this review -- all very helpful information!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest
    (3/5) Mycycle50 July 1, 2019

    Very beautiful but more difficult than advertised.

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    Our outfitter provided lots of info- maps, gps routes and suggested sites to visit. Some very rough roads, some steep hills.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22 to June 15
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • Ceske Krumlov castle (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Cesko food (photo by Mycycle50)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 2, 2019

      Thanks kindly for your review. We're glad to hear that the operator provided material aplenty to guide you on your trip. We appreciate you letting us know that you experienced some rough roads and steep hills. That's wonderful information for future clients considering this tour to be aware of.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (4/5) antovince June 29, 2019

    Fun trip!

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 10-17, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)