Hungary  Bike Tour Reviews (page 2)

  • (5/5) Ellen Speare 8 months ago

    Danube waltz bike tour

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    I chose this trip for my 70th birthday with friends. riding through the beautiful countryside was wonderful. sitting on the deck going through the Danube river was so relaing and lovely. The food and accomadations fro perfect. Loved this whole trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tim Yancy 9 months ago

    Relaxed ride along the Danube River

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    We enjoyed the structure of the tour, with 3-4 hours of riding per day and details on the many sights to see along the way. Onboard service and meals were excellent, and the boat had a nice mix of people from all over the world. We also liked the time to explore several cities on non-ride days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (4/5) Francis Farrell 9 months ago

    A Family Danube Adventure

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS SE-Manon

    As Grandpa, I organized this adventure for my daughter, son and his family. This seemed an ideal year to do it since my grandson, 16, wouldn't be bored and my granddaughter, 12 and the youngest passenger, would be able to manage the biking and appreciate the countries and cultures she'd experience.
    The ship, cabins and, except for the grand kids, the meals were good.

    On the downside, there were very few English speakers including the tour director. He spoke only German but his wife would do a reasonably good job of translating. Many of the crew and other passengers were capable in English. Also, the cruise line offered a "Drink Plan" with unlimited alcohol for 15 Euros/day for all seven days. This would have been 630 Euros for us, all but me non-drinkers - ridiculous!

    I'm sure we will take another "boat & bike" trip but I doubt with CD Cruise Lines.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 11-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    16
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Tim Frendin 9 months ago

    The best way to explore this part of the world!

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    A great cycle ride for all. The 650km from Passau to Budapest is not nearly as daunting as it first may seem. Plenty of time to for an otherwise active person to accommodate the challenge of riding 4 hours or so each day and enjoy the experience. Excellent flat course on mostly paved, purpose built cycle paths. Great, historic towns and cities to explore along the way but much of the ride is through glorious riverside and countryside, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Excellent accommodation every night and fabulous organisation from BikeTours ensured a truly memorable and magnificent holiday for us. Unreservedly and enthusiastically recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) John 10 months ago

    Dream trip!

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Cycling is such a great way to travel in this part of the world. It's safe - almost the entire trip happens on protected bike paths, it's flat - suitable for kids, families, and travelers interested in seeing the countryside and towns along the way as they test their fitness on the trail each day. Each day covers between 40-80k of distance and rides through beautiful natural areas, villages, and farmland. Each evening ends in a beautiful town, village, or capital city with tons plenty of sites to see, delicious food to each, or activities to take part in (like the thermal baths in many of the towns along the way). We traveled as a group of six with 2 kids and 4 adults and everyone had a wonderful time. I highly recommend it.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
  • (5/5) Donald Zirkelbach 11 months ago

    A great family trip - highly recommend

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Family of 6 adults. 4 were first timers on a bike vacation. 2 had never been to Europe. Trip was enjoyed by all and went very smoothly. Hotels were good. 2 E bikes and all 6 bikes were in good condition with no issues.

    In researching the trip last year, the one thing that came up multiple times were that the trail wasn't always clearly marked and the paper map/ instructions weren't always easy to follow. They have an App now that goes along with the paper instructions. It marks your location to the route. This is the 1st year for the App. I rate it very good. It could be excellent if they made a few mods. Would be happy to share my thoughts on those if they ask.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
  • (5/5) Anne Nurse 11 months ago

    Easy, fun, and beautiful

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We loved this tour. The biking was beautiful and the distances manageable. The tour company was super supportive--they provide paper maps plus an app. Our luggage always arrived on time and the hotels were excellent. In the past we have biked on our own but this was so much easier and it was nice to know that if something went wrong a local person had our back. Highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Only on our own in the past
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jeff and Sue Ross 12 months ago

    Great Adventure Worth Taking

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    This Self-Guided relatively flat route took us to some amazing places. The App which was included by the local company proved each days GPS Maps on your phone and work flawlessly. With the app, paper maps were not really needed, but helpful to have just in case. We were pleased with the quality of the hotels the local company had us stay in, all within walking distance to sites to see in each town. We wend in early June, which turned out to perfect, the weather was good and flowers in bloom. The route included a combination of paved and gravel trails and a few miles on roads that were not busy. The few roads turned out to be a non-issue.
    Our only suggestion to riders, be familiar with Google Maps, download the area to use offline and maybe even pinpoint your hotels in Google maps ahead of time. With ALL tour companies, the GPS Maps and even paper maps do not always take you to your hotel, since in some cases they have multiple hotels they may use in each town. The end of the map rides may be close, but in some of these towns things can get confusing.
    Last Added Note:
    Our adventure was a combination of 3 separate rides, Innsbruck to Salzburg, Salzburg to Vienna and then Vienna to Budapest. all offered BikeTours.com. We combined all with few rest days in-between, to take in the sites in Innsbruck,Vienna and Budapest, taking 31 days to complete, if you have the time, well worth doing, we would do each of the rides again in a heartbeat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    We combined 3 bike tours into this one adventure (see review section), These were tours 6, 7 and 8, so 8 in total.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Michael Beiley 12 months ago

    Top quality bike trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Excellent,. Dedicated bikepaths or other bikepaths along most of the route, app very easy to follow, beautiful scenery, many places to stop along the way, biking all flat and most days biked between 30-40 miles. Hotels were very nice, near bikepath and near city center and restaurants. Rented hybrid bikes were very nice but needed a few adjustments along the way. Bike company picked up and delivered without any glitches. Highly recommend for beginners to intermediate riders.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May/June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Gib Egge 12 months ago

    Nice, albeit very different, sequel to the Passau-Vienna ride.

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We did the Passau-Vienna ride a few years back and wanted to keep going! This ride is a bit different, but still well worth the trip. Days are not difficult. Even the first (longest day) was not a problem for any of us. Flying into Vienna, we had time to settle in before the meeting with the vendor to go over travel documents and receive our bikes. Note that tourist tax is still due at check in, we were notified by this so no surprise. Some had to share a double bed as they didn't have enough two single rooms at the hotel in Vienna even though we requested one. The remainder of the hotels all had our rooms with two beds. Upon receiving or travel documents and bikes, there were a number of issues (bikes too big, squishy front suspension forks, lack of locks, no cycling computer) with the bikes that were addressed and fixed either on-site or in the next 24 hours. Two bikes were a bit too big and the riders used them for the first leg and got their smaller bikes in Bratislava. Apart from that, all 12 of or bikes worked well for the duration of our ride. All hotels met or exceeded expectations. Breakfasts all surpassed the standard continental breakfasts here in the states. We purchased the dinner package as well and all meals were filling and complemented the destination. One of our riders was a vegan and most places were able to deliver him a suitable meal. Only real issue was upon arriving in Bratislava, we were told by our hotel that they didn't have rooms for us, and that the company booked us other rooms elsewhere. I it was a bit of a challenge getting there as it involved bringing bikes up flights of stairs, but the substitute hotel was nice, returned to the overbooked one for our dinner. With the exception of one day, our bags were at the hotel before us. The ride was a bit different each day. Though it doesn't follow the Danube entirely like the Passau-Vienna ride, you do get some time along the river. Most of the towns were what you would expect traveling through the European countryside. A nice church, or castle here or there. Bike trails part of the time, trails that paralleled roads and then roads. Most of the terrain is in good condition with the exception of a section of the bike path before Esztergom which took some time to get through. Few hills or changes in elevation. The busy roads were the chief complaint from the group. Not many during the beginning but the last two days of the ride were a bit stressful for some. If you are comfortable with road riding, you will be fine. Often times, away from the capitals, we encountered clerks, and wait staff that didn't speak any English so have a good translation app or patience to communicate. Most of us liked this we really felt like travelers and not tourists. Navigational materials were excellent. The app that the company provided was helpful with keeping us on trail the whole time, and the printed maps were additionally helpful. I would recommend this ride if you have already done there Passau-Vienna ride and are looking for more. Off to plan the next one!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • Bike ramps on the stairs in Bratislava (photo by Gib Egge)
    • One of the ferry crossings (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Sample menu from the dinner package (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Along the trail (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Poppies in bloom at the end of May (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Disused military bunkers built to defend against Nazi invasion on the outskirts of Bratislava (photo by Gib Egge)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Estee Beard May 28, 2023

    Beautiful Trip!

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    This trip is a wonderful overview of Several counties, each one unique and interesting!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 5, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • Countryside in Hungary (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Ready to Ride! (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Beautiful Vienna (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Largest Pipe Organ Ever! (photo by Estee Beard)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Kathy Jones May 26, 2023

    Wonderful Experience

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    The staff were very attentive to customer service. The boat was impressive & the cabins were always clean. The scenery was spectacular.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 11, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Lisa Hauenstein May 25, 2023

    Wonderful bike and boat experience

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    The Swiss Crown was a great way to experience riding and touring Austria, Hungary, Serbia and the rest of places we had the pleasure to see. It was disappointing that we were not able to sail to the Iron Gates because of the weather.
    The self guided tours was good and relatively easy to follow despite our tour guide. We did not feel he did not do a good job at all He did not speak English well and a lot of what he tried to say got lost in translation and he was not very patient with our questions and concerns. We so enjoyed the boat -- everything about it was just perfect. The food was excellent and our staff were well trained and pleasant.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6 to May 20
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (4/5) Sandra Babich May 25, 2023

    Great Trip

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    This was a perfect way to see parts of Austria, Hungary, Germany, Slovakia. Everything is very well organized and there is the freedom to leave the boat and cycle at own pace following the well laid out bike trails. The food on the boat was very good, staff were very courteous and always helpful, and our room was clean. We added extra time to our trip in Vienna because there is so much to see. Would also be a good idea for Budapest. Even though we had a considerable amount of rain and some flooding on our trails it was still a great adventure and enjoyable trip. Our boat was recently renovated and that was a bonus.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) John Gallagher May 24, 2023

    Better than I had hoped

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    Everything about the ship was five star. The food was shockingly good. I had been on other bike tour companies with the food was very good for almost twice the price. The staff were all wonderful especially our waiter Samir. The boat was very comfortable and exceedingly well-maintained. We booked through Biketours.com who did an excellent job. The tours can be booked directly with rad and risen an Austrian company but it was the same price. It was an excellent value and I’m already daydreaming about a river cruise with bike in barge in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Amy Dosser May 24, 2023

    Beautiful River

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    A lovely boat and lovely people. Great book and app to guide you on your biking. Food was wonderful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Fady Abiassaf November 9, 2022

    nice trip

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    nice trip, nice company, good organization, almost perfect, nice company people and always worry about every detail of our trip. Nice views along our trip, nice towns, nice people in Austria, Slovenia and Hungary.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Al Carruthers November 9, 2022

    Directions too vague

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    The bikes, biking, hotels, food and weather were all good. The route descriptions were too vague. We were given German maps which were no help. We were told they were out of English maps and were not getting them reprinted. Directions were particularly vague when trying to find hotels and how to leave hotels correctly in the mornings.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from JV November 9, 2022

      Thanks for your feedback, Al. Next year the German map language issue will no longer be problem as our new process will prevent this from happening. Cheers and happy cycling!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection