Bike Tour Reviews  Balkan Treasures


Balkan Treasures

COUNTRY: Croatia, Albania, Montenegro

7 nights
4.3/5 (10)
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours

4.3/5 (10)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 1188

Self-guided:
Daily, upon request: Apr 1-Oct 31, 2024.

Description:
This cycling tour takes you from the star of the Adriatic Sea, Dubrovnik , to hidden gems in Montenegro and Albania. On small side roads, you'll experience the diverse nature, culture, and food of these three countries. A vehicle supports you to climb…

View Tour

  • Balkan Treasures
    (4/5) Mary Lynn Griff 6 days ago

    Our Balkan Adventure

    We really enjoyed our bike tour of Croatia, Montegreno and Albania. The hotels were great as were the transfers. My notes of caution; first I suggest bringing mirrors and/or suggest they be provided. This tour was entirely on narrow roads with little or no shoulder so being able to see what is coming behind you is better for your safety. Drivers were very patient for the most part but a few of our patty were not used to riding on roads with traffic however after a few days they adapted well. The first day was the most difficult in my opinion but none of the days were as difficult as I had myself mentally (and physically) prepared for but for the casual rider I suggest the e-bike option. Otherwise, prepare for long climbs of 8-10%. I am 6'4" and my road bike was a bit too small but workable however the tires were not worn but had very little trend and were very slippery on some surfaces especially the decent into Kotor. If it had been raining it would have been very unsafe. I suggest tires with a bit more tread to provide better footing. Lastly, a couple of our hotels had live music that normally would have been great however it was very hot during our tour (100 degrees) so we were up and out early before the heat set in making the live music at 11:00 pm not as fun. The navigation was spotty on my android but others had better connections on their phones. All in all, a great trip. We loved finding our own way and being in control of our time and pace. We look forward to doing another trip sometime soon.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bridgit Evans 9 months ago

    Well organised experience with amazing scenery

    This was my first biking tour and I hope I am not spoilt now because this one was so fantastic. The hotels were quaint, the scenery breathtaking, and everything ran without a hitch. I loved the variety of mountains, ocean, lakes , forests and farms. My only comment is that it would be better to only spend one night in Skodar because of all the places we went, this was my least favorite. While the city is on a lake, there is a lot of litter which is not great. Two days in the national park would have been better. Other than that, I highly recommend this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    9 September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    My first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • View of Kotor (photo by Bridgit Evans)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Julia Bouchard 9 months ago

    Beautiful countryside

    The countries we visited were awesome. The local tour operator left a lot to be desired. Before leaving the US we tried multiple times to download the gps routes onto our phones. Biketours.com stated they do not support the app we were supposed to use…..when we arrived in Trebinje our first day, none of us were able to see the routes…after phone calls with local operator, he walked us through using an app with his username and password-less than ideal. We eventually had the routes on our phones,but no way to mount phone on handlebars. Eventually we got one phone holder that immediately dropped the phone while spinning around!
    Initially I was given a bike that was way too small. Tour operator wanted me to use it for the first day which had the longest climb of the week. Eventually he did supply a proper fitting bike that night. We never had anyone to check the bikes with us….
    Many of the hotels were quite nice but when we were transferred to Stari Bar, the hotel owner said we did not have reservations. He gave us awful rooms, over the kitchen noisey, sink that didn’t drain…..husband got food poisoning from the restaurant. Albania was disappointing because the lake was so dirty and riding in the city was dangerous The Balkans are awesome but the local tour operator was not up to the standard I expected and received on previous bike tours.com trips

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Mark Mering 9 months ago

    Nice trip through the Balkans

    Very beautiful country. Nice people in all of the countries we visited. Hotels were nice. Too many transfers . Some of the roads had no shoulders and a lot of traffic and were not fun to ride on .

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Kenneth (Doug) Mering 9 months ago

    Good trip but issues

    Trouble with maps provided. Map did always start and stop at lodging location. Not always clear on th route on the map. Did not always feel safe on the road. Scenery was great. Enjoyed it but may not do another biketours trip without a lot more research on the routes safety.

    • BikeTours.com staff reply from jan October 18, 2023

      Thanks for your honest feedback!

      Sorry to hear about the map troubles and any unease on the road. We're diving into this to make things clearer and safer. Thrilled you loved the scenery though! It's feedback like yours that helps us grow and offer better experiences. We're committed to ensuring every cyclist feels confident and safe on their journey with us.

      We truly value your insights and will use them to improve. If you consider another trip with us, reach out! We'd love to guide you through the safest and best routes.

      Cheers,
      Jan

  • (5/5) Paul Lant 10 months ago

    Excellent Balkan cycling experience

    We did a self-guided tour using e-bikes. The rides were quite different each day. The destinations are varied and interesting, and the hotels were all good (3*). The local operator managed the logistics very well. Note there are three car transfers during this trip. Each of them is about 1.5 hrs. Whilst this extends the days, it does mean you get to experience some very different parts of the region. You do genuinely experience many Balkan treasures. Our highlights included cycling around the Bay of Kotor, cycling down the amazing switchbacks into Kotor on the last day, cycling through the hills alongside Lake Skadar, staying in Stari Bar and the food at Hotel Tradita in Albania.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Steven Fern 12 months ago

    Wonderful and adventurous trip

    This was such an adventurous trip. Wonderful scenery and places. Great people in all the countries we visited.
    Only criticism was that one of booked hotels was way below standard and appeared out of business. The tour company quickly remedied the problem with a change to another hotel that was excellent

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • (4/5) Andres Volosin 12 months ago

    Is all about Montenegro!

    Overall was a good trip.
    Organizer lack on some details and punctuality.
    Hotels are OK. Request upgrades for locations and quality since is a small $ difference but big jump y confort. Albania part should be removed. Not the best routes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) susan25 October 28, 2019

    Way better than we even anticipated!!!!!

    This tour is truly a collection of "gems"! Here's why we rated the tour a 5 star.
    1. the level of support from the tour guide was amazing! The tour includes being transported to several different locations so that all of your time is spent on truly beautiful rides. Our guide was very patient, informative and friendly!!
    2. We were on the extended version so we got to be in four countries in 8 days! we learned so much about the politics and history of the region.
    3. All of the accommodations were great but a couple were outstanding! Again we learned so much about the culture and cuisine of the different countries through these experiences.
    4. The routes deserve special mention. We were amazed to discover beautiful scenic rides day after day.
    5. The rides were quite easy, especially for seasoned riders. This did not bother us because the overall experience was so rich.
    6. We relied primarily on an app for directions. this was supported by written materials. we thought this was a great way to tour.
    7. Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia Herzegovina have yet to be discovered by most tourist. They are gorgeous, safe (for the most part) and inexpensive by the standards most Westerners are used to. This is a great time to see those incredible countries!
    We absolutely loved this trip. If you are considering, my advise is sign up! You will thank yourself!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 6-14.
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 30, 2019

      Susan- thanks kindly for the review. We are so, so glad that you enjoyed the tour - we too think that these countries are undiscovered gems!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Soloist October 7, 2019

    The most amazing cycle route

    What an amazing experience. This was my first self guided solo tour on a bicycle and I admit I was very nervous before the trip that I would get lost! The guides Drazen and Zoran ensures that did not happen talking me through each day and providing maps and detailed instructions. The scenery is phenomenal and I was blessed with perfect weather
    Prior to the trip the office team were quick to respond to any questions I had , in particular Brittany was a real gem.
    The only thing I would say if I had to list a negative would be the hotels. When I reviewed them online they seemed great but the room I actually got was often the worst one in the building. The first night in Cavtat I do believe the bathroom had been a former closet judging by the door and size. Not that i spent much time in a hotel room so it wasn’t a major concern.
    I wiould definitely recommend this company and now I’ve gained confidence in touring solo I’ll most likely use them again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)