Germany  Bike Tour Reviews (page 25)

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) cvanderhorck August 17, 2017

    Awesome revisit

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Beautiful scenery and wonderful villages/stubes along the way to stop and relax and have a wonderful wine or beer. It's an easy ride and we chose to redo this bike tour as we remembered the scenery so well and the nice paths.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18-July 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (5/5) Hermann August 17, 2017

    Great tour

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    What was the date of your tour?
    24 - 07/ 30- 07
    How many tours have you completed?
    my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Berlin – Copenhagen
    (5/5) Candan August 14, 2017

    Copenhagen and Southward

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    I would recommend this tour for anyone who wishes to discover south Zealand and the Mecklenburger lakes region by bicycle. For the most part by dedicated paved cycle paths and very good support from the Mecklenburger team. Excellent!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 3 to Aug 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) BJohnson August 14, 2017

    Very nice vacation

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had a really nice time biking the Mosel Valley. This area is great for beginners or families.

    What was the date of your tour?
    17th July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Arliene August 13, 2017

    Amazing!!!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    The biking was perfect for families, exercise with the ability to stop along the way for food or sights of interest. Hotels were charming, very clean, friendly and the food was great. I am already looking into another bike trip next year with bike tours, perhaps Ireland. Need I saw more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 28-Aug 4, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) MandyG August 11, 2017
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/8/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Nicky August 11, 2017

    Great group holiday

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Perfect way to see a country and get some excercise at the same time however compared to other bike tours I have done we were disappointed that we were not met by local company at beginning of trip, the bikes didn't come with helmets or water bottle holders or a place on handlebars to put the maps

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 5 207
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson August 12, 2017

      Thank you very much for your feedback. We encourage all clients to review "Included services" on the tour pages, so they have appropriate expectations for what is included. For this very low-cost tour (435 euros), no orientations are offered. Instead, the operator provides very detailed tour documenations. On the "Bike rentals" page, it's specifically stated, "Helmets are not available to rent. We recommend that you bring or buy your own helmet for safety and hygiene purposes." This is increasingly the case for most operators (I never wear a rental helmet, as it may not fit, may have an invisible crack (which renders it useless), and there's no amount of disinfectant that can eliminate previous users' sweat). It's also noted that map holders are available on request. Relative to bottle holders, many operators don't offer them, as they have proven dangerous for riders who aren't accustomed to reaching down while riding.

      I apologize that our tour advisor staff did not make sure your expectations were appropriate for this tour, which routinely gets top ratings.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Dresden
    (5/5) Stu T August 10, 2017

    Fantastic Ride from Prague to Dresden

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Great fun, bonus being that it mostly followed the Elbe River downstream to Prague so wasn't very strenuous, just a few hills here and there. Our guide Milan was great - definitely worth having along as (1) he spoke Czech which none of us did ! and (2) added in some side tours which would have almost certainly missed had he not been along. Also, our support lady Jitke was really helpful and very useful to have on hand, she moved our luggage every day effortlessly ! Great scenery, great beer (some of the wine was a bit ordinary) and great food. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    What was the date of your tour?
    10-14 July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • The Elbe River (photo by Stu T)
    • Crossing the border into Germany (photo by Stu T)
    • Hrensko (photo by Stu T)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (5/5) bike beasty August 10, 2017

    A perfect first tour!

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    This tour definitely met with our expectations, and was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. The information given beforehand was really comprehensive and the recommendations for meals and excursions really helpful. This was bought as a 70th birthday present for my husband and he/we had a great time! A bottle of bubbly awaited him on the first evening of the ride, as a present from the company, which he was very touched by! We were very lucky with the weather too, so all in all a great little adventure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/07 - 16/07/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) qc2017 August 9, 2017

    Great way to see Austria

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    This is my first bike trip which I made with my 10 y.o. son. We found it easy enough distance wise (made it on regular bikes). The bike path is easy to find most of the time. There were some tricky places, though, where the route description could have been done better. The choice of he hotels for the category C is very good. A little advise: don't rely on the day distance in your travel booklet. Your hotel might be on the next day travel somewhat 20 km farther.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 8,2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Crazy Canuck August 9, 2017

    Everything we had dreamed of !!!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    The trip along the Danube was great for the entire family, ranging in age from 11 to 66. The accomodations with breakfast along the route were great. Great service in getting the correct size of bike for everyone. The supplied maps and signage along the root were well detailed for finding our way. The bikes were great with waterproof front and side bag.
    A great experience with awesome views.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 19th, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lola August 9, 2017

    First family cycle trip

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    This was a fantastic trip; the cycling; the countryside, the food and the weather were all excellent. My 7 year old managed to cycle it all independently without bother. The organisation was very good and the local company answered any queries very quickly. I would recommend this tour for families without hesitation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (3/5) Pedals August 8, 2017

    Great and not so great

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    Having just come off 2 weeks biking in France we had something to compare this trip with.
    The first 3 days or so were magic - lovely views, fantastic track surface and finally cool weather. The accommodation was great,especially after we were upgraded twice, and can be recommended.

    The bike gear was top class but my bike however was not. Euro Velo bike hires have to realise that the standard puffy commuter seat they supply are not comfortable for guys used to proper bike seats - enough said. Also on the second day when I went to use the smallest front chain ring it turned out that 2 of the mounting bolts were missing and it got wrecked so one third of my gears were gone. Managed to get this repaired after a couple of days but wasn't really satisfactory. This should not happen!

    The directions and maps hardly ever match up completely on these type of trips but we were certainly not happy to discover at the end of a long hot day that the instructions for the approach to Salzberg were in fact for someone coming from completely the opposite direction - a victim of cut and past to be sure, as was the odd paragraph still in Austrian, but this should have been edited properly. A shame as the general standard of the material presentation was of a high quality.

    Be aware if you want to do this trip that the last few days are along the stop bank beside the river and are boring - very little in the way of scenery and culture. Next time we will detour inland.

    Sorry but overall a 3 star effort.

    Warning - in case you may be considering a taxi ride from Innsbruck to Krimml to start your trip make sure that the driver is legitimate. Ours was a temporary fill in, had not driven out of town for 4 years and was a thoroughly unsafe driver. Much too fast and I suspect maybe on something. He almost ran off the road a number of times and clipped the inside kerb a couple of times . Haven't been so scared in our lives as passengers apart from jeep trips in Nepal and Pakistan. This should not happen in a first world country and if it had been practical solution we would have got out and walked!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    mid July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson August 9, 2017

      We asked Hubert Simader of Radreisefreunde, manager of the tour operator, to respond:

      I´m sorry to read that these clients had a technical problem with the gears. I guess there was a problem during the transfer of the bikes on our trailer; otherwise, I have no explanation. We normally have excellent feedback concerning our rental bikes (including the saddles we use). Unfortunately, you didn´t contact us during their trip - otherwise, we would have managed to solve the problem immediately (e.g. change the bike or fix it locally). I´m very sorry for that.

      We normally update our tour descriptions at the end of each tour season, but my colleagues who are doing the travel documents will check the description for the hotel in Salzburg immediately. So far we haven´t heard from wrong directions.

      Relative to the scenery, the first part from Krimml to Salzburg has an outstanding panorama with fantastic views. The landscape after Salzburg changes, but I would not rate it as boring - it´s just different. And you still have some highlights along the way to Passau (e.g. the world's longest castle in Burghausen and the beautiful Baroque towns Obernberg and Schärding. For those who want to have the amazing views from the mountains all along their way, we have a tour that is entirely in the Alps. But as we know: Tastes are different.

      Besides these issues, I hope you enjoyed your cycle trip. Thanks for the constructive feedback, which allows us to improve quality for future clients.

      (Relative to the taxi transfers, we want to point out to other clients that we didn´t arrange a transfer for these clients - they booked it on own. Of course, all our drivers have long experience and safety is one of our most important points.)

    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) RaduC August 8, 2017
    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Delights
    (5/5) Booboo August 8, 2017

    New friends, new places

    · · Danube Delights: Cycling and Cruising in the Footsteps of Royalty

    Nice boat, although older. Very good meals. Great, helpful staff. Bikes we're good, all worked very well. Tour I'm Bratislava, Slovakia. We didn't research our day in Vienna very well, but we saw lots of stuff anyway. We will probably stay in touch with our dining table mates and do another trip

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 10 or so
    How many tours have you completed?
    12 or more
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) JimRoscommon August 8, 2017

    Lake Constance Bike Tour

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We had a wonderful time! The lodging was great, the food was excellent and the scenery was spectacular. We had a group of seven which included a couple that had never toured on bicycles before. They have been asking me when the next one is.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4th, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Photo 1 (photo by JimRoscommon)
    • Photo 2 (photo by JimRoscommon)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Musse Pigg August 8, 2017

    A very beautiful trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    What was the date of your tour?
    17/7-2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) GFunk July 17, 2017
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection