France  Bike Tour Reviews (page 4)

  • (5/5) Tonja clark October 10, 2022

    Best trip ever!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    This was a perfect trip! The scenery was amazing, the weather perfect, and the length of the daily rides was very doable.
    The entire trip was made easier because of how well it was organized.
    I love the self guided, without the hassle of moving our bags from place to place. Annecy is a wonderful city, so I recommend spending extra time there. We returned to Geneva by bus which went very smoothly.
    I recommend doing the A+ hotels, you won't want to miss the Chateau; it was a treat. It's beautiful, the staff was incredibly friendly and the food was delicious.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Beautiful scenery (photo by Tonja clark)
    • Annecy (photo by Tonja clark)
    • We enjoyed biking through the vineyards and stopping at a local vineyard for a glad of wine. (photo by Tonja clark)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Lynch October 9, 2022

    It was a beautiful trip! Well organized and easy to follow!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was an amazing vacation. The route was charming, beautiful and somehow more spectacular every day. We had great weather which made for great photos! It was a special way to explore France and love it even more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Lynch October 9, 2022

    It was a beautiful trip! Well organized and easy to follow!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was an amazing vacation. The route was charming, beautiful and somehow more spectacular every day. We had great weather which made for great photos! It was a special way to explore France and love it even more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) Murray Goring October 8, 2022

    Tours to Anger 4 day bike ride

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We went with our son and his wife. It was their first longer bike ride. They loved it. We did too but felt our previous Danube trip from Passau to Vienna was better. The hotels and food was good but the bike route was boring at times.
    We missed not having a spa hotel included.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour
    (5/5) Kathleen Cook October 5, 2022

    Fantastic Trip

    · Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour

    This trip was even better than expected. The riding was enjoyable. The routes were mostly flat and lightly traveled roads or bike paths. Our guide, Sam, was very knowledgeable and personable. Hotels and meals were great too. We upgraded two hotels. A+

    What was the date of your tour?
    September-October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) John DesRosier September 28, 2022

    First bike trip was a great success

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    We had never been on a bike tour before and absolutely loved the Provence tour. The ebikes made a big difference in making the trip so enjoyable. The food on the boat was excellent night after night and the staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Claudia, our tour guide, for making the week wonderful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) Jan Ludwinski September 28, 2022

    Nice and easy

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We did the 13 day tour. Food and accommodations were excellent. The bikes were rugged and reliable and we never ran out of charge. My one strong recommendation would be that the bikes be equipped with front shock absorbers, which would make the rougher roads more pleasant and easier on the wrists. The ride was almost exclusively in rural areas although there were a few places near the larger cities of Tours, Angers, and Nantes that would make some novice urban riders uncomfortable, but they were quickly forgotten.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    None previously
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Burgundy Wine Trails
    (4/5) Tony VanGarderen September 23, 2022

    Beautiful area of France!

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    A great way to experience the beauty of Burgundy. Loved cycling through the vineyards as well as along the Voire Verte. The hotels had a lot of character. The bikes were great, one ebike and one regular.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (3/5) James Hutcherson September 21, 2022

    Could have been better

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    This tour was our 12th bicycle tour, but the first in France. Distances were good, weather cooperated, Hotels were excellent. Route was very well sign posted. We found the route much more difficult than we expected. Many hills. The previous reviews and description did not even mention that aspect. These would have not caused much of a problem if we had opted for ebikes, and the vast majority of riders that we encountered did have ebikes. I would disagree that this tour would be labeled as family friendly, unless the family has no kids. One difficulty we had was that there were no intermediate stops for coffee, snacks, lunch, water, etc. I would recommend packing those items from the departure town each day. While the route does generally follow the river, most of the route is not next to the river and it is not visable most of the time. I hope this review does not deter anyone from this tour, since the castles, hotels, food should be enjoyed. Just a little heads-up advice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Strasbourg to Mainz
    (4/5) William Sholten September 20, 2022

    Our Alsatian Bike Trip

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    We have enjoyed 2 other bike trips in the past. This route was not easy to follow without GPS. We used a Garmin GPS to help confirm our path along the way (and highly recommend this). There are many intersecting bike paths around towns, so we had to stop often to determine which route/path to take. There were several detours due to construction (not indicated on our route plans) which made travel both longer and more challenging to navigate.
    We cycled on gravel roads in addition to the bike paths, making the ride somewhat longer than anticipated.

    Hotels were comfortable, but not all hotels in Category A had air conditioning. Hotel staff and breakfasts were first rate!

    Rental bike performed well but were heavier than expected.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    third tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park
    (5/5) Diana Helmbrecht September 19, 2022

    Beautiful tour through vineyards.

    · Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park

    This was a very beautiful and fun tour. Our guides Sam and Tim were excellent - knowledgeable and pleasant to be with. Riding paths through the vineyards were absolutely gorgeous, and wine tasting a definite plus :). Every day ended with a gourmet dinner, wine and good company.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Mary Partheymuller September 19, 2022

    Wonderful way to bike through this Lake country of France from Geneva.

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Loved the choices of sport versus moderate rides on several days, which satisfied all participants. As a single participant, the last hotel was disappointing, but satisfactory . Most accommodations were quite nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Strasbourg to Mainz
    (2/5) Christopher Blair September 17, 2022

    Strasbourg - Mainz

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    It was okay.
    First day, bags were not picked up. Had to call. Delivered after dinner time. Expected some explanation or perhaps an apology. Nothing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Reynolds September 14, 2022

    Met our expectations!

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was our first bike and Barge trip. We enjoyed all aspects of the journey from Perrone to Bruges except for the rain the last day of biking. The crew was excellent!e was an excellent cook and provided a variety of excellent meals. The captain Marius took good care of us as did Henk the first mate. Our guide Sietse was excellent. He enjoys history and was able to tell us many things about the history of the countries we traveled through.
    The Feniks can accommodate 14 guests but during this trip there were only seven guests. This allowed us to make good friends and be able to stay together while we were biking. It would have been crowded if there had been 14 guests on board.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike and barge trip.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Richard Butler September 5, 2022

    Great trip

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Our August trip onboard the Caprice was fantastic. Good weather, a little windy at times, but not many hills. No equipment problems and the boat operated without a flaw (no AC problems, thank God). Guides Helmut and Alex were excellent, as was the assistance of the captain, Filippo. But if you want the best, highest quality cuisine aboard any bike/barge trip...just look to see if Chef Sara is listed. She was exceptional at combining the wines and flavors of Provence with her meals.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Shirley Burche August 29, 2022

    More than I expected

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    This was a great way to experience the Provence area of France. Our tour guide, Helmut, was pretty good about instructing us especially in the areas where we needed to merge into traffic for the traffic circles.

    The crew on the barge, Filippo and Sara, were fantastic and took very good care of us. Especially enjoyed the gourmet dinners that Sara prepared.

    I will never forget this trip especially my time on the Bike and Barge portion of it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Strasbourg to Mainz
    (4/5) Rob Gage August 4, 2022

    Great, but different from expectations

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    The mapping software was essential in staying on the recommended path, as sign posting wasn't always clear. The whole trip was more variable than we had expected, both from road quality and scenery.
    One suggestion is that the instructions on picking up the bikes could have been sent out ahead of time and made clearer.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Arik August 4, 2022

    Nice ride. Two complaints.

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    1) The phone app didn't work at all (for three of us who tried). And the GPS they gave us as a backup is a decade outdated. Thank goodness for Google Maps, though that didn't always yield the most scenic routes.
    2) Too much time spent on bike routes that were really highway shoulders, with a bicycle silhouette stenciled on the asphalt.

    Great hotels, fantastic food, (and priceless company we provided ourselves).

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten August 4, 2022

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. We are working with our local partner to improve the phone app and GPS for this tour. We are glad you still had a memorable time and hope to help you plan your next trip!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
  • (5/5) Ginger10 July 4, 2022

    Perfect bike tour through stunning countryside

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    My husband and I completed this self-guided tour in June 2022. Everything about the trip was perfect. We went for the higher level accomadations and were very pleases, especially with the Chateau. Much of the trip is on bike paths which makes it more enjoyable. Luggage transferw were flawless and the e-bikes were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection