Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews (page 5)

  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) oktobeerfest September 30, 2019

    Wonderful way to truly experience Austria

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    The maps and suggestions of places to see along the way were very informative. So many beautiful hamlets to visit. There just wasn't enough time to see everything! The route suggestions were very helpful and the upscale lodging was mostly superb. Breakfast accommodations exceeded our expectations! We would highly recommend this trip to anyone, even non-bikers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 14 - 21, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) pennworld September 29, 2019

    NICE

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Nice trip. Only drizzled one day. September is the time to go. Not many people on the path. Could have used shorter segments as there was not enough time to see most things off the path. Hotels were very nice with excellent breakfasts.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 5-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
  • (4/5) Calgary Couple September 28, 2019

    Great bike trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    The bike path along the Danube is excellent. It's near impossible to get lost as the "R1" or "R6" are clearly marked the entire way. I have to agree that this is a "mostly flat" route but when leaving the river and heading through villages, it can be a bit hilly (and we are regular, avid cyclists). We did struggle twice trying to find our hotel (and came across others experiencing the same problem) and needed to use our phones and google maps to find them. Perhaps the tour company could consider more detailed instructions than "turn right at the statue". We never did see that statue!! But that's part of the adventure too! We found two of the hotels a bit far out from the main city area (Aschach and Krems). We prefer finding little cafes or family owned establishments when on this type of trip and do not like eating in the hotel restaurants. In Aschach, there was no meal available at the hotel and after cycling in the POURING rain for 4 hours, we had to either get back on the bike or walk 2 km back to the village to find dinner. The hotels themselves, however, were great. Luggage transfer was excellent. The bikes were good and we never had any problems with them.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (4/5) Middle Europe September 27, 2019

    one of the best

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 6
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Jackie1234 September 23, 2019

    Danube trip

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Very scenic, well thought out tour of what has been described as the most popular cycle route in Europe. I picked this tour among other choices because the last day was short, allowing extra time in Vienna and the cations overnights stays.

    The (upgraded) hotels were fantastic, breakfasts wonderful. The accompanying maps & books were complete, though directions to popular city attractions would have been helpful (Goggle Maps with cycle directions will be your friend if you want to make side trips) Bikes were in excellent condition, though i found the seat initially uncomfortable (and I ride 40+ miles/week).

    I would recommend this tour to those friends wanting to cycle along the Danube, noting that European fitness levels are higher than than American and there are opportunities for elevation for those whose who want it by taking side trips to hotels or other sites/detours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) DotK September 17, 2019

    Wonderful views and terrific overnight stops

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This is the second self-guided tour that we've cycled with Bike Tours. So glad we chose it. the preparation and advice were so valuable. It's great to be able to focus on the fun of cycling while the arrangements for hotels and luggage are taken care of.
    We stayed over in Salzburg on our way to Krimml to break up the train journey from Munich and that worked out really well, giving us a chance to see the highlights of Salzburg before taking the 3 hour train to Krimml the next day. The BikeLine map book that accompanied the tour was very easy to follow and the Tauern route very well marked, staying in the river valley though with a few hills to challenge us (we did walk up a few). The bicycles were very comfortable. We did notice that e-bikes have become very popular with both urban and touring cyclists along the route.
    The views of the Alpine foothills were amazing as we cycled along the valley from Krimml. Our ride into Zell am See was charming, and the hotel very welcoming and helpful. We had a wonderful time walking around the pedestrian district along the lake. Each day's ride gave us ample time to explore interesting towns along the path and still arrive at our destination mid to late afternoon.
    Once we left Salzburg the river became broader and the route included more forests, hills, and farmland. Luckily when we arrived in Burghausen, we stopped and ate a late lunch at a cafe on the main street before tackling the steep hill to the hotel. The advantage was that the hotel was just outside the castle complex that overlooks the town. What a wonderful walk through the five castle courtyards in the late afternoon sun. Descriptions of the castle's history were positioned along the walk. Then it was on to Bad Fussing, with an indoor-outdoor thermal pools at our hotel. The spa town and the hotel were picturesque. We enjoyed cycling through the open countryside of Bad Fussing so decided to take a different route through farm villages instead of following the river to Scharding and on to Passau. I would recommend taking an extra day in Passau as well to visit the attractions of the city. We were pleased to have the time there before traveling back to Munich.
    We had a wonderful time!

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/18/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Zell am See (photo by DotK)
    • A house in Lofer near our hotel (photo by DotK)
    • A Burghausen Castle courtyard (photo by DotK)
    • View of Passau from Veste Oberhaus (photo by DotK)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Terri September 11, 2019
    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 30- September 4, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Nitronan September 4, 2019

    Good trip

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS Prinzessin Katharina

    Boat crew was fantastic, cruise director was a hoot. Very accomodating.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 19-26, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (1/5) Eric September 3, 2019

    Lackluster field tour!!

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Hate to be the negative Nelly,but this tour was nowhere near where i'd hoped it to be...It really shouldn't be listed as a Danube River tour,as the only day i saw the river all day,was the last.Several days of riding through corn and sunflower fields on unmarked trails with poor direction. Let me be clear,I chose to follow the map and directions given,as I had no cell phone service in Europe. The last tour I did was Prague to Dresden.Clearly marked trails,with a GPS that wasn't great,but sufficient. Apparently I got my hopes up too high after that one.Spent most of my time checking and double checking Km markers in the guide Vs. Km markers on the bike. Not the relaxing ride I had hoped for.I,along with several other riders,spent some extra time looking for the actual trail. I was watching many people do the same as me...looking for the trail!! Too many unmarked junctions,this trail is really undeveloped in this part of Europe,which was unfortunate-this is what i went for,the ride.A lot of off road time,which would be fine,if I wasn't so busy checking and double checking maps.Really stressful when it should've been relaxing. The positive is the towns were great,the hotels were all very nice,the bike was better than I expected and handled everything-including the off road,and my luggage was always where it was supposed to be.I just so badly wish the ride would've been more relaxing....As i said when i began-the last day of the tour was what I had hoped for the whole length of the tour,relaxing and enjoyable.Unfortunately,it was the only one...

    What was the date of your tour?
    8-13-19
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 4, 2019

      Eric, thanks kindly for your review. We're sorry to hear that this tour was not what you'd expected. We hope that your feedback may serve to educate future clients. As you have noted this tour is quite different from the Danube Bike Path from Passau to Vienna, as it doesn't follow the river. And, it's a more rustic trail that requires navigating, as opposed to the Prague to Dresden tour. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the towns, hotels, bike, and that the luggage transfer was well executed. Thanks again for your feedback - we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts.

    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Goherd September 2, 2019

    Flawless......

    · Danube Bike Path 5-nights (Active)

    Everything was excellent. Hotels exceeded our expectations. Bikes were great. Liz was very patient with our changes and special requests. We did the 4 day Danube. Very easy ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/13/19
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) gillianrides August 28, 2019

    We LOVED this!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    Overall this was OUTSTANDING--Biketours was a great company that made fantastic hotel choices and provided top quality support. The breakfasts were wonderful. The bikes were great. The hotels were well situated (or there was a shuttle e.g. Marie Teflar) and some had real character. All were very clean. The scenery was amazing. The riding was amazing. I realize that Biketours can't control the weather but that was amazing, too. We only had a few comments--1. The only place the trail wasn't well marked (only time we wondered if we were "lost") and the trail was partly gravel/rough rock was between Durnstein and Tulln. We wish we had known this. This was also a much longer day of riding than we were prepared for (nearly 54 km). 2. We didn't realize that virtually nothing would be open for breaks on a Monday--our kids needed those breaks!
    But really, small peanuts for what was the BEST vacation I have ever been on. I will take another trip with bike tours absolutely!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by gillianrides)
    • Photo 2 (photo by gillianrides)
    • Photo 3 (photo by gillianrides)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Todd August 27, 2019

    What a Great Way to See Europe!

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    We did the cycle trip from Passau to Budapest. Its two trips really as the trip to Vienna is a bit different than the trip from Vienna to Budapest in terms of cycle experience but each were satisfying in their own ways. The paths in Austria were better generally than the paths in Slovakia and Hungary. The entire way was well signed generally with just a couple exceptions, and easy to follow with the map. Navigating the larger towns and cities was a bit more challenging. The services support was great from the tour operator, our luggage arrived reliably every day and the accommodations were very satisfactory overall. We had a problem with the Hotel Peklo in Komarno in that they provided us a room that (1) had obviously been a smoking room recently, and (2) had been flooded from the bathroom the day before (hotel explained) and the carpet was still wet and eventually left a musty smell in the room. The room should never have been offered. Additionally, management made no attempt to assist us in covering over the wet area so that we wouldn't slip on the tile in the bathroom. Would not recommend this hotel for your stay. Otherwise, the trip was excellent and I would recommend this cycle adventure without reservation!

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/10 to 8/24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) SWTA August 26, 2019

    Great trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    We recently completed this bike trip. It was a really wonderful trip. Great biking, fantastic scenery and the hotels were really terrific- def better than we had expected. The first 3 days were in the mountains and very picturesque. The last 3 days were along the river and we rode through a lot of cornfields and frontage roads.

    We had no proper training beforehand and the days were reasonable - though we did walk our bikes up some of the steeper hills.

    We booked an extra day in Krimml which allowed us to better explore the waterfall (which is amazing). There wouldn't have been enough time to walk all the way to the top if we had not. It was real bonus that the hotel gave us free passes! We also took an extra day in Salzburg to explore. That was a really nice way to break up the biking.

    This is a really nice trip for active people and families with older kids. The bikes and other equipment that was provided was good. Though we found that people who booked directly with the operater - Eurobikes - were given GPSs. I don't remember that option - which would have helped because we missed a few turns along the way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/5-14/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 2 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 3 (photo by SWTA)
    • Photo 4 (photo by SWTA)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (2/5) Sequoia August 18, 2019

    Not quite the Danube River Trip we expected

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Too much of the trip was off the river, and off trails. Going through corn fields was not our favorite. Dams should be called levees. The route through Budapest on sidewalks was difficult, too busy with trucks and traffic. It is not a bicycle friendly city. Hotel could have been closer to the river. We would recommend 2 nights in Bratislava, there is so much to see there. Add another day to sleep over in Hainburg. We loved the hotel in Vienna. We recommend the lower trail through the National Park on day one, to go swimming!!! The day one detour was difficult because of traffic, maybe there's a walk around the detour on bike path instead of so much road. We loved Gyur. Three days were totally off the river. We enjoyed the ferry rides very much. The last two days were on the river and were the best days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July
    How many tours have you completed?
    over 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 19, 2019

      Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of this tour. We find that clients have varying opinions of this tour. We agree that it's quite different from the (Danube River cycle path) Vienna to Passau section. The tour itself doesn't have the same feel, and the country infrastructures are more varied. While I'm sorry to hear it was not your cup of tea, we're glad you found some aspects you enjoyed. And thanks for the note regarding the lower trail on day one, perhaps future clients will also go for a swim!

    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Oldcoupleinlove August 9, 2019

    Trip of our lives

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This trip exceeded all expectations. My wife and I gave this to ourselves as an anniversary present, and it was a great choice. We are both in our 60s and reasonably fit, and this tour was at exactly the right pace. All the stops along the Danube were amazing. Passau, Linz, Melk, Tulln and of course, the beautiful city of Vienna. All the hotel arrangements were excellent, the maps and trail guides were good, and the bikes were in great condition. I highly recommend this trip to any couple who needs an adventurous trip that can still be romantic. I especially liked the wine country around Durnstein. We will definitely take more of these bike tours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 22 to July 30 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Wine country on a rainy day, Durnstein, Austria. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Typical friendly beergarden in Linz.  A great atmosphere for a leisurely dinner. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Biking offers an unsurpassed way to see the beautiful Danube and the Austrian countryside. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Passau is beautiful at night. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • The Melk Abbey overlooks the town. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 10, 2019

      Happy (belated) anniversary and inaugural bike tour! We love the moody picture in Durnstein - how beautiful. We're delighted you guys enjoyed your tour and can't wait to book the next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) DanubeNewbie August 6, 2019

    Lovely relaxing week

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    My husband & I did this tour without kids! We are occasional cyclists, in our 50s & chose this trip to allow for easy going days with time to explore, & because we liked the idea of a rest day in the middle. It was great. Gentle, flat cycle, 99% away from cars, beautiful countryside & interesting villages. Accommodation was great. Half board option kept our lives simple & dinners were varied & very good.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18th 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Impressions
    (4/5) NewbieBiker August 4, 2019

    Great vacation!

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Excellent way to see the Austrian countryside. Really enjoyed cycling thru each little town. The cycling was very easy with only a couple of hills during the entire week. There were a couple of times when we were on a very busy road for a short period of time, maybe a Kilometer or less but the drivers there are very accustom to cyclists. Most of the time was either on a designated bike path or country road with very few cars. The food on the boat was very good. The staff was very kind to tell us places to go or their favorite restaurant. Make sure to stop at some of the cafes while cycling and have a Knodel or other local delicacies. Don’t be intimidated by the distances to ride each day. We have never ridden more that 5 miles but found it very easy to bike the distance each day. I do recommend either biking shorts or a memory foam seat cover if you are not used to riding all day. Also recommend not getting a cabin on the bottom deck as the windows don’t open. Our only complaint was that the person giving the daily briefings on the routes was not very friendly and a couple of times the route wasn’t clearly marked. The rest of the staff was excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    20 July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection