Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Anne Nurse 8 months ago

    Easy, fun, and beautiful

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We loved this tour. The biking was beautiful and the distances manageable. The tour company was super supportive--they provide paper maps plus an app. Our luggage always arrived on time and the hotels were excellent. In the past we have biked on our own but this was so much easier and it was nice to know that if something went wrong a local person had our back. Highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Only on our own in the past
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Mark Newell 9 months ago

    Wonderful cycling, great lodging and excellent scenery

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    The ride was relatively easy as hills were limited and the trail was in very good shape. Only a small portion of the ride was on roads with low traffic. The scenery was interesting and varied. The lodging was very nice. The mileage each day was just right

    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our 7th week long group ride
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Luis Ricardo 9 months ago

    As good as expected

    · Danube Bike Path 5-nights (Active)

    Was an incredible experience. Good hotels and the path is easy to follow however a GPS is always recommended cycling the last mile. Next time I will choose an ebike.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Luis Ricardo)
    •  (photo by Luis Ricardo)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Gregory Gibb 9 months ago

    Great trip

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    The staff was incredibly helpful with making arrangement for one of our party to ride with the luggage bus after he had a medical incident. I can't how much we appreciated it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    june 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Jeff and Sue Ross 9 months ago

    Great Adventure Worth Taking

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    This Self-Guided relatively flat route took us to some amazing places. The App which was included by the local company proved each days GPS Maps on your phone and work flawlessly. With the app, paper maps were not really needed, but helpful to have just in case. We were pleased with the quality of the hotels the local company had us stay in, all within walking distance to sites to see in each town. We wend in early June, which turned out to perfect, the weather was good and flowers in bloom. The route included a combination of paved and gravel trails and a few miles on roads that were not busy. The few roads turned out to be a non-issue.
    Our only suggestion to riders, be familiar with Google Maps, download the area to use offline and maybe even pinpoint your hotels in Google maps ahead of time. With ALL tour companies, the GPS Maps and even paper maps do not always take you to your hotel, since in some cases they have multiple hotels they may use in each town. The end of the map rides may be close, but in some of these towns things can get confusing.
    Last Added Note:
    Our adventure was a combination of 3 separate rides, Innsbruck to Salzburg, Salzburg to Vienna and then Vienna to Budapest. all offered BikeTours.com. We combined all with few rest days in-between, to take in the sites in Innsbruck,Vienna and Budapest, taking 31 days to complete, if you have the time, well worth doing, we would do each of the rides again in a heartbeat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    We combined 3 bike tours into this one adventure (see review section), These were tours 6, 7 and 8, so 8 in total.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Karen Regin 9 months ago

    Beautiful Austria

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    The upscale lodging is absolutely wonderful. There was only one property that did not exceed expectations. The contact in Europe was less satisfying. Directions were sometimes hard to interpret, we ended up with directions to one town when our lodging was in another town, and there was not any help with GPS directions. But the bikes were nice and the lodging choices excellent overall.
    The bike paths are wonderful and the country is beautiful. We really enjoyed riding through the small towns and eating at local cafes. There is not much English anywhere so be prepared for that. Overall, we loved the trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Michael Beiley 9 months ago

    Top quality bike trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Excellent,. Dedicated bikepaths or other bikepaths along most of the route, app very easy to follow, beautiful scenery, many places to stop along the way, biking all flat and most days biked between 30-40 miles. Hotels were very nice, near bikepath and near city center and restaurants. Rented hybrid bikes were very nice but needed a few adjustments along the way. Bike company picked up and delivered without any glitches. Highly recommend for beginners to intermediate riders.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May/June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) John Whitworth 9 months ago

    Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We had a fantastic week biking and exploring the towns and cities along the Danube in Austria. All of the accommodation and dinners that were booked for us by BikeTours.com were fantastic and certainly lived up to the "upscale lodging" description. They also did a fantastic job moving our luggage between our hotel making that process seamless. Would more than recommend this trip to anyone, also early June turned out to be a fantastic time to do this trip as we had perfect weather and beautiful spring flowers everywhere.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • (5/5) Christine 9 months ago

    Fabulous trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We upgraded to e-bikes at the last minute and we’re glad we did since we had a 20 mph headwind the first three days. The bikes were a blast! Lovely scenery, good written directions and the app was useful too. The hotels were all very good, from rustic to lavish in Durnstein. We did our trip in late May, weather was great and the trail was not crowded. We found great outdoor restaurants for lunch every day. Some of these were recommended in the informational materials which was very helpful!
    We loved our trip and highly recommend it!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Gib Egge 9 months ago

    Nice, albeit very different, sequel to the Passau-Vienna ride.

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We did the Passau-Vienna ride a few years back and wanted to keep going! This ride is a bit different, but still well worth the trip. Days are not difficult. Even the first (longest day) was not a problem for any of us. Flying into Vienna, we had time to settle in before the meeting with the vendor to go over travel documents and receive our bikes. Note that tourist tax is still due at check in, we were notified by this so no surprise. Some had to share a double bed as they didn't have enough two single rooms at the hotel in Vienna even though we requested one. The remainder of the hotels all had our rooms with two beds. Upon receiving or travel documents and bikes, there were a number of issues (bikes too big, squishy front suspension forks, lack of locks, no cycling computer) with the bikes that were addressed and fixed either on-site or in the next 24 hours. Two bikes were a bit too big and the riders used them for the first leg and got their smaller bikes in Bratislava. Apart from that, all 12 of or bikes worked well for the duration of our ride. All hotels met or exceeded expectations. Breakfasts all surpassed the standard continental breakfasts here in the states. We purchased the dinner package as well and all meals were filling and complemented the destination. One of our riders was a vegan and most places were able to deliver him a suitable meal. Only real issue was upon arriving in Bratislava, we were told by our hotel that they didn't have rooms for us, and that the company booked us other rooms elsewhere. I it was a bit of a challenge getting there as it involved bringing bikes up flights of stairs, but the substitute hotel was nice, returned to the overbooked one for our dinner. With the exception of one day, our bags were at the hotel before us. The ride was a bit different each day. Though it doesn't follow the Danube entirely like the Passau-Vienna ride, you do get some time along the river. Most of the towns were what you would expect traveling through the European countryside. A nice church, or castle here or there. Bike trails part of the time, trails that paralleled roads and then roads. Most of the terrain is in good condition with the exception of a section of the bike path before Esztergom which took some time to get through. Few hills or changes in elevation. The busy roads were the chief complaint from the group. Not many during the beginning but the last two days of the ride were a bit stressful for some. If you are comfortable with road riding, you will be fine. Often times, away from the capitals, we encountered clerks, and wait staff that didn't speak any English so have a good translation app or patience to communicate. Most of us liked this we really felt like travelers and not tourists. Navigational materials were excellent. The app that the company provided was helpful with keeping us on trail the whole time, and the printed maps were additionally helpful. I would recommend this ride if you have already done there Passau-Vienna ride and are looking for more. Off to plan the next one!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • Bike ramps on the stairs in Bratislava (photo by Gib Egge)
    • One of the ferry crossings (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Sample menu from the dinner package (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Along the trail (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Poppies in bloom at the end of May (photo by Gib Egge)
    • Disused military bunkers built to defend against Nazi invasion on the outskirts of Bratislava (photo by Gib Egge)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Christine 9 months ago

    Fabulous trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We upgraded to e-bikes at the last minute and we’re glad we did since we had a 20 mph headwind the first three days. The bikes were a blast! Lovely scenery, good written directions and the app was useful too. The hotels were all very good, from rustic to lavish in Durnstein. We did our trip in late May, weather was great and the trail was not crowded. We found great outdoor restaurants for lunch every day. Some of these were recommended in the informational materials which was very helpful!
    We loved our trip and highly recommend it!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Estee Beard 9 months ago

    Beautiful Trip!

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    This trip is a wonderful overview of Several counties, each one unique and interesting!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 5, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • Countryside in Hungary (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Ready to Ride! (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Beautiful Vienna (photo by Estee Beard)
    • Largest Pipe Organ Ever! (photo by Estee Beard)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Abdulla Alhebsi 9 months ago

    First bike trip

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Perfect trip in perfect time, highly recommended.
    Started from Passau to vienna. Will be good to book extra night in Passau

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Abdulla Alhebsi)
    •  (photo by Abdulla Alhebsi)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from jan May 26, 2023

      Very cool pics! Thanks for your business.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Kathy Jones 9 months ago

    Wonderful Experience

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    The staff were very attentive to customer service. The boat was impressive & the cabins were always clean. The scenery was spectacular.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 11, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Lisa Hauenstein 9 months ago

    Wonderful bike and boat experience

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    The Swiss Crown was a great way to experience riding and touring Austria, Hungary, Serbia and the rest of places we had the pleasure to see. It was disappointing that we were not able to sail to the Iron Gates because of the weather.
    The self guided tours was good and relatively easy to follow despite our tour guide. We did not feel he did not do a good job at all He did not speak English well and a lot of what he tried to say got lost in translation and he was not very patient with our questions and concerns. We so enjoyed the boat -- everything about it was just perfect. The food was excellent and our staff were well trained and pleasant.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6 to May 20
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Geri Lincoln 9 months ago

    Wonderful trip

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We had an amazing time, our accomodations were eclectic and diverse which we appreciated. Tour book was well researched and informative. The ground handler that gave us our bikes was not very well informed and did not give any options, tools or advise for fitting the bikes correctly, we had no issues but some others, especially those on ebikes were not well served. GPS routing would be an excellent addition to the books provided. Hotel Donauschlinge seemed to be having a bad day and the restaurant staff was obviously rude to those of us without German language skills. All in all, very well done. Having only two experiences that were less than perfect for an 8 day tour is a job well done!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (4/5) Sandra Babich 9 months ago

    Great Trip

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    This was a perfect way to see parts of Austria, Hungary, Germany, Slovakia. Everything is very well organized and there is the freedom to leave the boat and cycle at own pace following the well laid out bike trails. The food on the boat was very good, staff were very courteous and always helpful, and our room was clean. We added extra time to our trip in Vienna because there is so much to see. Would also be a good idea for Budapest. Even though we had a considerable amount of rain and some flooding on our trails it was still a great adventure and enjoyable trip. Our boat was recently renovated and that was a bonus.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) John Gallagher 9 months ago

    Better than I had hoped

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    Everything about the ship was five star. The food was shockingly good. I had been on other bike tour companies with the food was very good for almost twice the price. The staff were all wonderful especially our waiter Samir. The boat was very comfortable and exceedingly well-maintained. We booked through Biketours.com who did an excellent job. The tours can be booked directly with rad and risen an Austrian company but it was the same price. It was an excellent value and I’m already daydreaming about a river cruise with bike in barge in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Dosser 9 months ago

    Beautiful River

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    A lovely boat and lovely people. Great book and app to guide you on your biking. Food was wonderful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection