Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Danube Experience
    (4/5) Donna Schultz 5 months ago

    Ship needs better ventilation in dining room.

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    We booked trip 3 years ago. It was cancelled twice. We are fully Covid vaccinated and boosted. The crew wore masks for the first 5 days. On day 7, my husband got Covid. The only place for exposure was the dining room. All the passengers ate together in a dining room that did not have good ventilation. There was no options for open air dining or room dining. We lost 4 days while he recovered.

    After waiting so long for trip, it was disappointing there was not adequate controls to avoid virus spread.

    After he got sick. I noticed at least 6 other people that were also coughing. No one was ill at beginning of trip.

    We will not go on another bike boat trip that does not take precautions to reduce virus spread. There should be changes in table spacing, air flow & circulation, better air filtration, & open air dining option.

    The boat was Swiss Crown.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    I have been on inn to inn tours. This was first bike boat tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest 5-nights
    (4/5) Cynthia Ord 5 months ago

    Loved everything about this tour (except the rental bikes)

    · Vienna to Budapest 5-nights (Active)

    I recommend the Vienna to Budapest 5-night tour, especially as an inter-generational adventure. We were a group of two 30-somethings and a 72-year-old dad, and it was a great fit for all of us. This is really a premier section of the full Eurovelo 6 cross-Europe route. I was especially impressed with bikeways and great signage all along the route. We were impressed by the variety and quality of the hotels, and the destination town or city at the end of each day was well-chosen. It was such a treat to go exploring each evening after getting off the bikes!
    Squeezing it all into the four-day sporty/active itinerary, however, was challenging on heavy cruiser-style rental bikes, so I'd advise either slowing it down or bringing your own bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary, Slovakia
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    •  (photo by Cynthia Ord)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from kirsten August 22, 2022

      Hi Cynthia!
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this tour! We are happy to hear it was a great fit for your group. Your pictures are fantastic and really capture the joy of your adventure! Seeing those smiling faces is why we do what we do. Thank you again for choosing to travel with us!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Scott McCormick 5 months ago

    Amazing, awesome time

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Really great trip that we would love to do again or extend to other parts of Europe.

    A normal day for us:
    * Wake up and drop bags at front desk
    * Get a casual breakfast
    * Ride bikes and take breaks as needed
    ** We usually went about 15-20 miles/hour
    ** Took anywhere from 4-6 hours
    * Check into hotel & explore
    * Usually pretty tired, so not a lot of late nights

    You're following the eurovelo 6 trail the whole time which is well marked. Very little chance you get lost, but there is a eurovelo 6 app which you can use if you're worried. Or just get lost. It's Europe, you'll be fine.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Impressions
    (5/5) Debby Schlesinger 6 months ago

    First and most certainly NOT the LAST Bike and Boat trip.

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Food: Excellent with varied choices each evening. Sack lunch items provided for along the ride.
    Routes: Being my 1st Bike/Boat trip, I signed up for "Easy" rating. Very manageable. Appreciate electric assist. bikes. Route review each evening prior to next day's ride much appreciated. Beautiful routes through scenic areas.
    Accomodations: Small rooms, (as stated), but adequate. Appreciated a variety of areas to relax, besides room. (Top deck, "Open Air" Spa pool on top deck, Lounge).
    Convenience/Service: Excellent. Assistance with bikes: loading/unloading, set up, fine tuning. Tour director (George) ALWAYS available for questions. Servers were excellent, friendly, & considerate. Bikes/equipment available were of excellent quality.

    What was the date of your tour?
    07/09/22
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) James Sinnott 6 months ago

    Everything I had hoped for!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    What a great way to see a beautiful part of the world. I had wanted to do this fr nearly 50 years and the E-bikes made it possible. The accomodations were great and bike friendly. Food was always well prepared and tasty. My wife has a very strict vegan diet and all the facilities were aware of it and most helpful. My brother fell and cracked his wrist and the hotel was most helpful and got us to great care. (Note to biker: do not try to take pictures with a phone in the right hand and then try to brake with just the left hand....a go-pro would have been worth it) We extended in Vienna and enjoyed tours there and a day to Budapest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    one now but 50 years ago my wife and I biked through Southern Norway
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Jason Hartford 6 months ago

    Memorable trip well organized

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We had a great experience with Bike Tours. Positive: good communication pre trip and the night before. Good pre-trip description of the hotel locations, hotels, and what to expect from the bikes. Night prior, very good review of what to expect. We rented the premium bikes and glad we did--worked very well. On the tour, very good ideas of what to see, and the distance between towns seemed to be well thought out with the first and last legs the shortest. Hotels were great. A diversity of new and classic and all had more to them than what I expected. Often ate at the hotel restaurants which were very good.

    On the negative side, not much. Directions into and out of town accurate except the last leg going into Vienna -- on that one Google maps was much better.

    We will definitely do another trip with Bike Tours and even this exact one-- it was memorable and fun and want to experience it with more friends.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (4/5) Azmina Karim-Bondy 6 months ago

    The title is good and descriptive

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    Cycling is a great way to see the country. Having the self-guided books were great and the tour representatives were very responsive. However, we found sometimes the instructions in the booklets were not as clear as they could be and sometimes did not have the correct information for our trip. Overall, though we had a great experience, the hotels were good, the luggage transfer worked well and we saw some wonderful sights!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Matt F 6 months ago

    Loved it!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This was a fantastic way to see Austria. The hotels were excellent and the food was to die for. No problems at all with bikes, luggage, navigation, or reservations. Stunning views that change with each leg of the trip and excellent opportunities to see some off-the-beaten-path sights. Very much recommend.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • Danube Impressions
    (4/5) Bryan Lee 6 months ago

    A great way to cycle tour along the Danube through Austria.

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    A great way to cycle tour along the Danube through Austria. Plenty of riding through beautiful, historic, picturesque towns and countryside during the day and to come back on board for the 5 star accommodation at night. Just enough exercise to not feel guilty going back for seconds at their magnificent buffets.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 25th 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Rena Benor 6 months ago

    Bike Paradise

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    We absolutely loved the boat trip! Service was A++! Every single thing was taken care of! We did not have to do a thing! The bikes were taken off and on to the boat, the food was amazing! Such high quality of food, lovely waiters and waitresses! Our Host, George, was wonderful! Very friendly and helpful! We were prepped the night before on the bike course. The goodbye party was incredible and so fun!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Brian Bronson 6 months ago

    Far exceeds expectations

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS Prinzessin Katharina

    What a deal. 8days 7 nights w attentive staff. Amazing biking. Great food. Fun times. Would love to do it again w other friends. Highly recommend for a wonderful time on the Danube.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) John McNeiece 6 months ago

    Trip of a lifetime

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    We had been anticipating this trip for two years and it lived up to all our expectations and more. Riding bikes in 6 different countries over 14 days was amazing! The bikes were great. The boat was perfect. The staff was nothing but helpful and professional. We are already planning a follow-up tour. The folks at biketours.com did a great job with all the details!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Gary Hirschkron 6 months ago

    Gorgeous Trip!

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    Absolutely glorious!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Hugh Larkin 6 months ago

    2 Bucket list items completed

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS Prinzessin Katharina

    We have wanted to do a bike & boat tour as well as a bike tour along the Danube for many years (we previously did multi-week self-supported bike tours). In 2019, we thought we would be doing the latter for 2020, but a virus shut down everything. Even after the shutdown, BikeTours.com kept us informed and motivated about bike touring once a normalcy to life returned.

    In late 2021, when we could see travel was resuming, we began to look at various tours offered and found the Passau-Budapest-Passau boat & bike tour that fit very nicely into our developing "2022 grand Europe tour".

    BikeTours personnel quickly responded to all questions we had which made the booking extremely easy. And they and the tour operator provided us all the booking info before we departed for europe over a month before we were to experience this event.

    Once in Passau, and aboard ship (we were able to board early), we were able to unpack and relax. Our rented e-bikes were like new and were pre-adjusted to our heights. Instructions regarding operation and charging were clearly given.

    At all times, the crew was very courteous and helpful, which was extremely appreciated as we were the only "native-english" speakers onboard. The food was excellent and plentiful, and we appreciated the vegetarian options provided.

    Every day's itinerary was clearly provided, including detailed maps. The bikes worked wonderfully and provided us an opportunity to try an e-bike. We enjoyed the extra guided excursions into Bratislava and Vienna.

    Disembarking the Prinzessin Katherina was also painless. Before reaching Passau, the crew made taxi arrangements for us and many others. Hard to beat service like that!

    Overall, we had a wonderful tour. Plus we ticked off 2 b-list items. We are now wondering what will be our next BikeTours.com tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    12 (2 weeks to 4 months long)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Susan and Roger Kelly 6 months ago

    Awesome trip.

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Loved it but more km than we expected. Would have appreciated personal contact when we arrived but there was some confusion. Otherwise it was a beautiful way to experience Austria.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Laura Snyder 6 months ago

    A great, beautiful challenge

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    This was a great challenge. The Danube Bike Trail is magnificent - it's something that everyone who enjoys biking should do at least once in thier lives. And parts of it they should do more than once. This tour was perfect for obtaining an understanding of the trail. When I do it again, I'll bike fewer kilometers per day in order to have more time and energy to visit the beautiful and fascinating places along the way.
    The support provided by the local company was good. Suitcase delivery was dependable. When, two days into my trip, I realized that it would be better to have an e-bike, they delivered one to me that very day. (Unless you are in very good shape and know exactly what you are doing, I highly recommend you go for an e-bike).
    I preferred the trail from Passau to Bratislava. After Bratislava the trail changes - it is not as well sign-posted (it's especially poor in Hungary), and the surfaces at times are challenging (several gravel roads, unpaved paths, and at one point you follow a dirt path in between train tacks and an agricultural field without a single sign post to be found). Also after Bratislava siginificant portions of the path are so far from the river you cannot see it, which makes the lack of sign posting a bigger problem. Arriving in Budapest was a shock to my system - after two weeks of peaceful countryside, I wasn't ready for the hustle, bustle and noise of the city.

    I don't recommend getting the meals package. I did and regretted it. While some of the restaurants offered excellent meals as well as excellent service, most did not. Most of the restaurants offered me highly limited choices of mostly bland, uninteresting food and resentful service, I guess because I was paying less than the customers ordering a la carte? Whatever their reasons were, they definitely made me feel like a second-class customer. I would have been happy to pay more for more interesting food and kinder service.

    My biggest critique is that it was impossible to reach anyone at Biketours.com by phone. Covid or not, I strongly fault them for this - it's not right to sell complex and costly tours like this without being willing to speak with your customers. It would have been extremely helpful for me to be able to speak with someone knowledgeable at least once while planning my trip to be sure I was making the right choices for me.

    I did this tour as a woman in my mid-50s, traveling alone. I never felt unsafe. If I can do this tour, anyone who can ride a bike can do it. But I do recommend an e-bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April-May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Waltz
    (5/5) Jaime Bodden 6 months ago

    Fairytale in Bavaria

    · · Danube Waltz Bike and Boat Passau – Budapest – Passau

    A great tour! Equal parts countryside with quaint villages and urban culture with metropolitan experiences. Our tour packed in a lot - each day provided a unique experience and bike ride, from forests to fields, riverside and city streets. The recommendations from out boat guide encouraged frequent stops to enjoy local gems - something that is often lacking on bigger tours. The timing in between stops never felt rushed, and there was a nice balance of being on the boat and off.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Steven Froehlich 6 months ago

    Amazing Trip

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    My wife and I had an amazing adventure down the Danube. Accommodations were lovely, charming, distinct, beautiful. Hosts were gracious and hospitable. We purchased the half board, and the meals were generous, delicious, and varied. The European colleagues were available for assistance, and were helpful. The bike path from Passau to Vienna was extremely well maintained, and in most places very clearly marked. The path from Vienna to Budapest included several river crossings (some by boat), and while the path seemed less clearly marked and in some stretches was less well developed (gravel & field paths), the GPX files provided by the team in Vienna provided exact navigation. The US colleagues were wonderful to work with in arranging the trip details.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    •  (photo by Steven Froehlich)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lisa Mendis 6 months ago

    Magical!!

    · · Danube Waltz Bike and Boat Passau – Budapest – Passau

    The best ever bike tour!! We biked some of the most beautiful sections of the Danube and we also had other excursions plus the activities on the boat. The Sun deck was lovely - what a treat after biking to sit up there and watch the pastoral sights go by! The food was really good. I am lactose intolerant and the chef always had an alternative for me - even with the multiple course meals. Thank for Biketours.com for finding this fantastic tour!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia