Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews (page 2)

  • Vienna to Budapest
    (3/5) Carol Dienhart 4 months ago

    Vienna to Budapest sister trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Tour route was very well laid out, enjoyed overnight cities and accommodations. Disappointed in materials, one important guide not available in English. Made it difficult to chart routes and alternative routes and to plan for landmarks/scenery to watch for along the way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept-Oct 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Billy Jackson 4 months ago

    Classic Vienna to Budapest

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Trip was wonderful. The scenery got better as the trip went on. Hotels were wonderful and picked for easy in and out of cities. We used their GPS with Kamoot app and their paper turn by turn, we rarely got lost but some the terms were confusing such as; follow the dam, or follow the detour or right at the Y,. They have different meanings based on where you are from. Kirsten was great from Bike Tours and answered all our questions. Talking about a trip to Dolomites next year. Also the pretrip bike meeting was very beneficial. No fault of anyone, but got rained on for 15 minutes on the whole trip, mostly overcast, but great weather otherwise, was good for biking.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
  • (4/5) Donna Reyes 4 months ago

    Overall great trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Bikes were phenomenal, hotels were great. Only complaint was all our paperwork was in German. So then we got online English versions which could not be printed to put in the map holder. AND the new printed materials did not match the route maps. It was very confusing!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Biketours Admin October 4, 2022

      Thanks for your feedback, Donna. The German paperwork issue will be fixed next year as we are making significant changes in this part of our system. Thanks for your business. We hope you will travel with us again.

  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Anne Stanek 4 months ago

    A gorgeous trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This was a beautifully planned trip - such amazing views, peaceful rides, comfortable hotels. We have done many of these bike tours now and this rates as one of our most favorite. We highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Anne Stanek 4 months ago

    A gorgeous trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This was a beautifully planned trip - such amazing views, peaceful rides, comfortable hotels. We have done many of these bike tours now and this rates as one of our most favorite. We highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the Altmuehl Valley
    (3/5) Scott Katzer 4 months ago

    Enjoyed the trip but some things can be improved

    · Cycling the Altmuehl Valley, Round-Trip from Regensburg

    The sites and surroundings were great and we lucked out with the weather as it rained almost every other day. Although we completed the tour with no issues, it was a bit complicated at times. The information between Bike Tours and the tour company Ragwed wasnt always fluid and simple questions seemed to take a bit of time to answer which is a problem when trying to book flights. The information given with the tour company package was a bit limited. Although maps were included, they are not provided with any sort of turn by turn direction. This isnt a big deal for most days as the trail is obvious but entering a city has its own challenges. It is recommended for anyone going on this tour to have GPS on their phone which we had to use (and incur roaming charges) several times. The signage in some locations simply dont exist and some roads were even closed during our tour due to construction. It would be wise for this tour company to occasionally ride their own route and note any changes.
    The hotels were nice for the most part and breakfasts were good. The only one that I felt could be improved was the Regensburg location (IBIS Hotel). While it was nice and fine for the stay, its location is a decent distance from the Old Town (30 minute walk minimum) when there are tons of other places right in the Old Town area to stay. The other locations had hotels right in the middle of the main area (The one in Belingres was real nice). Mileage was fine and a majority was on bike paths/trails. My only request would have been providing the option to use a GPS on this tour as many of the paths either were not labeled or so close to the country roads that its hard to tell them apart. The bikes could be improved a bit as they are a bit bulky and heavy and really could do without the bright red advertising all over it. I will give kudos to the luggage people as we never had to wait for our luggage to arrive and they were usually there by 3pm at the latest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Michael Mccutcheon 4 months ago

    Wonderful bike trip

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    Glad we added days in melk and durnstein. It helped us enjoy the towns more. We also stayed a few days in Passau, before our bike trip which we really enjoyed. Did not like Goldenes Kreuz in Grein. Hotel would not let us check in even though we were wet. Favorite hotels were Schloss Durnstein and Gierlinger in Schlogen, Zur Post in Melk.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Cathy 4 months ago

    I've wanted to do this for years!

    · Danube Bike Path 5-nights (Active)

    Way back in 2005 I took a river boat cruise down the Danube and saw people cycling along the bank. Finally, after retiring and after covid, my dream ride happened. We weren't sure about the distance from Passau to Vienna, so we chose to take the ferry from Passau to Linz and start from there. We rode ebikes. This was a difficult choice for us because we ride quite a bit weekly in the States, but we were glad to have the ebikes. The bikes are a little heavy so riding on the econo mode gave us the feel of a regular weight bike. That detail aside, the ride, the hotels, the meals, and of course the people, were all fantastic. We planned to dress in layers and that served us well; mornings would start cool and afternoons could warm to the low 70's in early September. The scenery was amazing. Each hotel was lovely and if not directly on the trail, quite easy to find in the town/city. Because we rode through small towns, we saw a part of Austria that you cannot see from a boat or bus tour. The route was mostly well marked and when we did get off the beaten path, there was always someone who could point us in the right direction even if we don't speak the native language. We ate in our hotels, in small pubs, and a grocery store on Marback where we had a freshly made sandwich eaten on the deck at the edge of the river. It was all delicious. The beautifully refurbished family home in Mitterkirchen was lovely as was Stephanie, the owner, who greeted us. We sampled local wines as we traveled through the towns and Wachau Valley and had a fabulous dinner at the Hotel Schloss in Durnstein, while overlooking the Danube. We met people young and older from vairous parts of Germany, the UK, Canada, and local Austrians. I was a little worried about getting to the hotel in Vienna as we had to go down a main road and around a rotary, but Austria is such a bike friendly country that designated bike routes took us from the bridge to our hotel. An added bonus, when we did have to leave, the hotel was about 300 yards from the train station that took us directly to the airport. We won't wait years for the next bike trip, we're already looking at Vienna to Budapest!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 10, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (3/5) Mike Corney 4 months ago

    Vienna - Budapest

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    I rate the tour over 6 attributes: Terrain, Scenery, Bikes & Equipment, Hotels, Directions / Maps and Cycling Infrastructure over the toute.
    Terrain - was as advertised - mostly flat
    Scenery - was disappointing. I expected to be cycling along the Danube. For large parts of the route the Danube was nowhere in sight.
    Hotels - Hotels and the food that they provided were very good.
    Directions / Maps - These left something to be desired. The directions were in English, but the maps were in German. It was often difficult to match up the written directions with the maps. Finding our way into and out of towns and locations of hotels was particularly difficult.
    Cycling Infrastructure - This was often poor. The designated route often had us on busy roads. We had to traverse unpaved portions of the route that were often little more than tractor ruts in a field. Paved paths were often in poor condition with many uneven patches and bumps. Very poor.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from jan September 25, 2022

      Thanks for the feedback. The directions / maps issue will be fixed in next years version of this tour. Our apologies for that but this year we simply didn't have the time or resources to provide our own branded concise and consistent tour directions. Your route feedback is also very useful and will be carefully reviewed at the end of the season. Thanks for traveling with us as we and the rest of the tourism industry slowly reboot from covid.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (4/5) Sunil Savara 5 months ago

    Time of my life with my family!

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    Everything was great, except for the documentation and organisation around that. Three changes you should make, and I will share this with Carla and Thomas as well:
    1. Please provide an English map and booklet. In fact, when booking the tour, you can ask preferences for languages, and ensure that its followed through by the appropriate documentation.
    2. When booking the tour, check if this is a first tour and/or use of the e-bikes, and if it is, offer the option of someone spending an hour to rope the persons in... there can be a small charge for it..
    3. Share information on online maps, aside of Google Maps. I downloaded on the 3rd day an application that was very helpful, and which made it easier for me to figure things out.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-7 Sep 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest 5-nights
    (4/5) Terry Connolly 5 months ago

    Very Smooth Arrangements

    · Vienna to Budapest 5-nights (Active)

    This worked pretty seamlessly. Bike rentals were in excellent shape, well equipped for storage and travel. Paper maps they gave us were good, but seems like should advise traveler to download Komoot or similar for detail of route map and GPS. All hotels were very nice. Bags got there ahead of us every day. Gyor to Esztergom is a long ride, on busy roads and non-paved surfaces. But overall a positive using BikeTours.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Charles Honaker 5 months ago

    Outstanding bike tour

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    My daughter and I repeated this upscale bike tour taken a few years ago. It was a wonderful 10 day experience with comfortable daily rides to the next town where the hotels were always upscale and sometimes 5 star. We enjoyed extended breakfast buffets daily, set our suitcases and travel carry ons in the lobby , and got back on the bike path about 10 or 11 am, and leisurely headed to the next town. I’m not a bike enthusiast but enjoy riding on bike paths and stopping frequently at small patio restaurants catering to bikers, and sites along the way. We certainly enjoyed the local towns and also large cities like Linz and Vienna I was last on a bicycle 3 years ago and am over 70- - the tour was truly rejuvenating. We did not use E bikes but I think they were an option. My daughter also loved the trip and wants to go again next year. Taylor was our agent from BikeTours and extremely helpful in arranging all details. She promptly answered all emails and was in constant contact with the European operators. ( We had booked last year and the previous year, but rescheduled this August due to COVID concerns). When contacted this spring, she immediately pulled up our previous itinerary and applied the deposit to this years trip. I’m sure I emailed her a dozen times about itinerary modifications and changes and she always responded in less than 24 hours I cannot overstate the professionalism of this company and the enthusiasm and helpfulness of Taylor Thank you Taylor and Bike Tours! Maybe we can do it again next year! Charles Honaker and Lindsay

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Impressions
    (5/5) Steven Harrell 5 months ago

    Great tri[

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Great trip in every way. Weather a bit dicy on day one but we cycled nevertheless. All other days had post card perfect weather. Scenery fantastic, food on board met every expectations, boat staff very accommodating, bikes a bit aged but nothing serious, wifi on board could be improved. Met very nice, friendly, and interesting people - we were 2 of the 6 Americans on board. This was our 6th bike trip with BikeTours (first boat and bike). Original boat was MS Carissiama, but upgraded to Swiss Crown. beautiful "long boat"! Already contemplating the next trip for next year -- maybe Majorca, Spain in the spring...

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Steven Harrell)
    •  (photo by Steven Harrell)
    •  (photo by Steven Harrell)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (4/5) Colleen Mcintyre 5 months ago

    Ride is awesome! Assistance could use some assistance

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    The ride is one of the most amazing experiences I have had. Having the bags transferred is priceless and went very well. The hotels - both quality and location - also excellent. I got an e-bike and so happy I did because two days had a lot of dirt, gravel, and mud that bike helped power through.
    The maps?!?! A book that has copied step by step from a bike app. This is great for walking, but if you never stop or detour, or in the city where there are multiple turns rapidly, it doesn’t function. The other book has pictures - excellent - except where there are multiple rapid turns or irregular intersections. They also don’t indicate the charge for necessary ferries on the map. They company needs to have someone who has never ridden it, use the book, and make indicators, or tips in it. Going between the books is nearly impossible. I reviewed both books, google maps, and a bike app (I don’t have a subscription) the night before. That with the signs that are not always available helped a lot.
    Last, upon my early arrival in Budapest, my bags were not there yet. I checked in to shower and change into my spare outfit. When I returned, the bike was gone. No notification …I assumed the company. I would have assumed I had the bike, like the hotel room, through the end of the tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 24, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Bernice Thill 5 months ago

    First Trip with BikeTours.com A+

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This was our first trip using Biketours.com. We were so impressed. The planning was easy and the company provided many maps and additional information to help navigate each area. The bikes were in great shape, well-suited to the type of riding we were doing along the Danube River. They were comfortable to ride and the addition of saddle and handle bar bags gave us enough room to carry extra clothes/rain gear and lunches/water. The logistics worked smoothly--our luggage arrived on time and usually before we reached each of our hotels each night. We loved this trip so much, we'll be looking into other trips Biketours.com offers. Loved everything about this adventure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Waiting on the bike ferry. (photo by Bernice Thill)
    • Along the Danube River. (photo by Bernice Thill)
    • Pedaling through the Gruner Veltliner vineyards in the Wachau Valley region along the Danube River in Austria. (photo by Bernice Thill)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Charles Honaker 5 months ago

    Best vacation ever

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    My daughter and I actually repeated this 10 day bike tour from a few years ago and were not disappointed. The daily 25-30 mile leisure rides down the Danube at our own slow pace allowed us to see so much of the small towns along the way, stops at many food and drink kiosks directly on the bike trail , an occasional boat ride with bikes to shorten the ride and enjoy on board snacks and drinks, and then check-in to very nice upscale small hotels in the afternoon. We would have a meal at the hotel or neighborhood and explore the area. The huge breakfast buffets were a great way to start wash day. I’m over 70 but would do it again tomorrow if given a chance. My daughter’s hotel room was usually adjacent to mine. I have booked with bike tours for 10 years and never disappointed. This year Taylor handled all the booking and was unbelievably prompt at responding to email questions and arranging special requests pertaining to hotels , meals , bikes, extensions in Passau, Enns, and Vienna and transfers from airport to a “ start hotel”. Thank you Taylor. We hope to go again somewhere with Bike Tours.! You all are phenomenal and a real pleasure to deal with. Charles R Honaker

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6 or 7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Charles Honaker 5 months ago

    Best vacation ever

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    My daughter and I actually repeated this 10 day bike tour from a few years ago and were not disappointed. The daily 25-30 mile leisure rides down the Danube at our own slow pace allowed us to see so much of the small towns along the way, stops at many food and drink kiosks directly on the bike trail , an occasional boat ride with bikes to shorten the ride and enjoy on board snacks and drinks, and then check-in to very nice upscale small hotels in the afternoon. We would have a meal at the hotel or neighborhood and explore the area. The huge breakfast buffets were a great way to start wash day. I’m over 70 but would do it again tomorrow if given a chance. My daughter’s hotel room was usually adjacent to mine. I have booked with bike tours for 10 years and never disappointed. This year Taylor handled all the booking and was unbelievably prompt at responding to email questions and arranging special requests pertaining to hotels , meals , bikes, extensions in Passau, Enns, and Vienna and transfers from airport to a “ start hotel”. Thank you Taylor. We hope to go again somewhere with Bike Tours.! You all are phenomenal and a real pleasure to deal with. Charles R Honaker

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6 or 7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Gary Grellman 5 months ago

    Our 2022 Cycling Adventure

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    Overall, we had a wonderful time and have mostly positive, if not effusive, things to say about the trip. The upgraded accommodations met and, in a couple of instances, exceeded our expectations. The premium bikes were in excellent condition and performed exceptionally well. For the most part, the route description was accurate and helpful (with a few exceptions as noted below). The luggage transfer from hotel to hotel was seamless. Our bags were always at each hotel when we arrived at the end of the day's ride. The staff was exceptionally helpful when we decided not to ride one day because of particularly inclement weather. They transferred our bikes to the next hotel while we took a taxi.

    Minor Critiques:
    1) The meeting with the staff member at the beginning of the ride was not helpful. Firstly, he seemed rushed and came across as if he wanted to get the briefing over with as quickly as possible. He only spent 5 minutes with us. He gave us confusing instructions on how to get out of Passau and was not able to answer questions about how to use and reset the odometer.
    2) The directions on how to bike to Ottensheim were incomplete which caused us to unnecessarily cross the river twice.
    3) There were two different sets of directions to Hotel Schatzkammer. Furthermore, one incorrectly stated that the bus would pick us up in Grein at 4:35 pm. The actual pickup time is 4:00 pm. We almost missed the bus because of this.
    4) The odometer on one of the bicycles did not work.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection