Danube River  Bike Tour Reviews (page 19)

  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) suze July 15, 2016

    Danube River Bike tour

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We loved this bike tour. Even though Tom and I couldnt cycle due to a recent bike accident, we followed our group by car. The villages were stunning, the hotels great, except maybe the one in Tulln. All the meals were great, except maybe the one in Linz, but I think that is because there was a wedding in the hotel. Fabulous hotel in Linz. The rest of our group loved the biking part. Highlight was definetly the boatride from the hotel in Durnstein along the Danube!!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30-July 7
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the Altmuehl Valley
    (5/5) Easy cycler July 15, 2016

    Beautiful Bavarian countryside

    · Cycling the Altmühl Valley - Round trip from Regensburg

    Each day was a unique experience. Starting with the Danube path, then the lush fields and rocky backdrop of the Altmuhl valley, and the ferry rides along the Danube gorge and the canal. The villages along the way were so picturesque.
    The maps and descriptions provided us with a wonderful guide to the sights along the way. The hotels were comfortable, centrally located, and very helpful about what to see and good restaurants for dinner. Our overnights were in towns with rich history and traditions, and there were always interesting spots to stop along the way.
    We finished the tour knowing that we would like to go back.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 27, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Approaching Neuburg (photo by Easy cycler)
    • Ruins above a village in Altmuhltal (photo by Easy cycler)
    • Eichstatt from the Altmuhl River (photo by Easy cycler)
    • View from the bike route in Altmuhltal (photo by Easy cycler)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Mully July 14, 2016

    Great way to experience Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    A wonderful experience. I have traveled to Europe many times, but this was the best way to see it in my opinion. I would recommend taking an extra day here and there along the ride to spend some additional time in areas that you have interest in so the focus isn't always.getting to the next destination. I think what makes this type of trip unique is that you are better immersed in the local sights and culture...you are on a bike, not in a bus or car. The countryside trickles by at a comfortable rate that encourages exploration. The lake portion of this particular trip involved considerable road travel which was a bit unexpected, but drivers were courteous and we quickly became used to it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 25
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) bobt July 13, 2016

    easy rider

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    took a chance with the weather, did get wet. but had path to ourselves .

    What was the date of your tour?
    april30-may6,2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) margaretelliott51 July 3, 2016

    One of the Best Experiences Ever-Just "do it"

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    This is the perfect way to experience some of the wonderful regions along the Danube. My husband I decided to do the cycle trips on offer that went from the beautiful German town of Passau to the amazing City of Budapest.This was a combination of two 7 day options. We were so pleased we put these together. The Biketours.com group were very organised and helpful and made the arrangements seamless from the booking on the website to the delivery of bikes and vouchers at our first meeting point. Our bikes were in great condition and the maps and advice was excellent.The trip itself was a very easy cycle way and I would advise anyone with a desire to do this to-"just go and do it"- you will not regret it. Use this company as they managed out hotel bookings, out luggage transfers and were available on the end of the phone if needed. We chose a self guided option and did not regret that at all.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May -June 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) lisalisa July 3, 2016

    New favorite way to travel

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    Loved the trip - The boat was very nice and provided constantly changing scenery without having to pack up and move every day. The bikes were perfect for the situation and well maintained. We enjoyed the bike days much more than the two city days - a great way to sightsee, especially when the temps got hot. Also really appreciated that nearly all of the bike riding was on dedicated trails.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/19/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Neal July 2, 2016

    Fabulous week on a bike

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Jozef and his staff took care of the logistics and my wife and I just rode. The sights beyond belief. The only issue, beyond control of the tour, is there were a few segments of pretty rough road. Highly recommended

    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) The Bicigrinos June 24, 2016

    Biking with friends along the Danube

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Our group of five throughly enjoyed our bike ride. The bikes were excellent, with no technical problems. Every hotel that we stayed in was different from the others and offered us an excellent accommodation. We were supplied with a set of maps and various coupons. We particularly loved the free wine tasting and 600 year old cellar tour. The terrain, small villages, and varied weather all played their part in our wonderful adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 8-15
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 2 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 3 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • Photo 4 (photo by The Bicigrinos)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) The Bicigrinas June 24, 2016

    Fabulous Trip

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Our seven day trip along the Danube was delightful. Five of us (all over 65) from Northern California began in Passau. Try to get there early as this charming city has much to see.
    The hotels were beautiful and most had delicious restaurants and fabulous breakfasts each morning.
    If I were to do it again I'd do the trip in 10 days to have more time to explore Linz, Melk, Enns, Tulln and Krems and have a shorter biking day.
    Anya and the staff are so wonderful and responsive.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 7-15
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Even riding in the rain is fun! (photo by The Bicigrinas)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (4/5) debo June 17, 2016

    Fun trip

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    All in all, a great trip. Some communication issues between cruise director and guides and cyclists. Cruise director clearly overwhelmed and attimes, Difficult To Follow. Bike was very comfortable and routes, interesting and scenic. Having trouble adding photos.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22-29
    How many tours have you completed?
    many, but not lately
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) JenniferW June 16, 2016

    Wonderful family vacation!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    The Danube bike path is an amazing ride and great for kids, ours were 9 and 12. The ride has endless beautiful river and hillside views, charming villages, cafes for lunch along the way, and fun parks for the kids to stop and play. The monastery in Melk is awesome. The hotels were lovely and unique, and the rooms were spacious for four. There are paths on both sides of the river, and many opportunities to cross back and forth for different scenery. There were a few short sections along roads shared with cars, which could usually be avoided by crossing to the other side over a bridge. The ride to the hotel in Vienna was easy, it is close to the waterfront path, past the amusement park along a few bike friendly streets. Vienna itself is very bike friendly. A representative from the local tour company met with us at the hotel the night before we started the trip, he was very helpful and explained all the maps and provided local contact information. The bikes were great. Highly recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2015
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 2 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 3 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 4 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 5 (photo by JenniferW)
    • Photo 6 (photo by JenniferW)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) adortman June 5, 2016

    The best tour in 4 years

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    The tour was perfect for the beginners. Beautiful views, good hotels and food, excellent guidance before tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1st September 2015
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by adortman)
    • Photo 2 (photo by adortman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Gramps May 31, 2016

    A great way for a grandfather to take grandchildren captive

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    I had done the Danube ride with my son in 1991. We brought our own bikes to Europe that year and did the trip using only a map and the excellent signposts for guidance and finding overnight accommodations on the fly. I turned 78 last summer; and after waiting years for his children (there are 4 of them whose ages last summer ranged from 15 - 21) to get to an age where I could feel safe with them in my charge, they agreed to come on this ride with me. To be sure, the bikes that were provided were not road bikes or even high quality hybrids; but they were reliable and comfortable to the point that my non-biking grandchildren had no problem with saddle sores or other discomfort. While the overnight hotel facilities for which Biketours had arranged were not of 5 star quality, without exception they were very, very good (comparable, I would say, with Embassy Suites and similar) The hotel keepers were especially hospitable; and the food offerings were varied and of very good quality. Biketours delivered on every single thing that was promised. In fact, they exceeded expectations. Most important, it was a memorable experience that I'll look back upon for the rest of the years that have been allotted to me; and the kids had a grand experience and a fun time. Assuming that travel to Europe is still worthwhile when they have teen aged children of their own, I know my grandchildren will want to take them on a Danube Family Adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Late May, 2015
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Egeny May 26, 2016

    It was unforgettable tour!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    It was unforgettable tour!
    It is the perfect way for a first family tour by bikes. We are family (parents and 12 years old son). We have had tour the last summer. Everything was great: accommodation, meals, information materials, supporting.... Thank you very much to the Bike Tour.com. This summer we are going to book new tour via Bike Tour.com!

    What was the date of your tour?
    last summer
    How many tours have you completed?
    it was first time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Pam P May 24, 2016

    Amazing experience

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    We traveled on this self guided tour with our 10 and 12 year old daughters. We were very impressed with the organization of this trip. The maps were excellent. The trails were scenic, well marked and flat. I highly recommend this trip.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) TannisR May 24, 2016

    Fabulous Family Experience!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    If you are looking for a family adventure that you will remember for the rest of your life, this tour is for you! Our family had a truly enjoyable experience on the Danube family bike tour. It was a unique family holiday where we all worked together as a team - cycling along the Austrian countryside - to reach our destination. The scenery was breathtaking! The hotels were good to very good (what we expected). The pre tour arrangements, communication and maps provided were excellent. The bike service was excellent and assistance was provided promptly for the few challenges we had.

    We are a family of 5 with kids aged 13, 11, and 8. The cycling, coupled with the heat (up to 28-30C most days) was a big challenge for our 8 year old but she did it and is very proud of herself. We had planned to get her a trail bike - to go behind my husband's bike - but it did not work out. The trail bike provided for her was tipping over when she was on it - attached to the adult bike. Maybe it was because the equipment was not good, maybe she was too big for it? That hiccup set us back 2 hours on our first morning which was frustrating. By 10:30 a.m. we were on our way, each of us on our own bike. The tour company linked us up with a bike shop that gladly swapped our trail bike for a 'real bike' for my daughter. Overall, the equipment provided was of excellent quality. The bikes were simple, but that's all we needed with the non-hilly paved terrain. We did not 'train' for our tour. Bring cycling shorts (padded) and gloves to help prevent chaffing. We used ours every day.

    Another challenge was map reading. We were given detailed map books of roads and cycle trails. They were excellent maps. But in this digital age, we are used to using Google Maps to tell us how to get to our destination. It was sometimes a frustrating challenge to read the maps correctly.

    The bike route we took was mostly along either dedicated bike paths along the Danube, or on country roads with little traffic. There were just a few areas where we needed to bike along a major road. In studying the map carefully, we chose to take the routes with less busy roads. One side of the river tended to have busy traffic roads and the other did not. The map was colour coded accordingly as to the type of path/road/country road. There were not many hills at all.

    The hotels were all good. Some were more simple than others. We were not on this vacation for a luxury experience. We were worried that, being a family of 5, the hotels would squish us into one small room. On the contrary, we usually had two rooms or a suite, which was fabulous. The 'spa hotel' where we stayed for 2 nights mid-tour was nice. The pool was welcome, since the weather was quite warm. It was a true European experience when we saw two naked senior citizens enter the pool. At first, my family was shocked (being from modest Canada), but then, two of our kids jumped in naked as well (after the seniors left). When in Rome...  SHOW MORE 

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Melk Abbey - worth the side trip! (photo by TannisR)
    • Typical country road. (photo by TannisR)
    • We made it to Vienna! (photo by TannisR)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (1/5) Mama May 22, 2016

    Danube family bike tour???

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    This trip did not turn out to be anything like we expected. Although the hotels and the scenery were beautiful the support from The Bike Company was useless. When a child with a temp of 104 needed a hospital they had no suggestions on where to go or how to get there. The maps they provided were useless and the directions given to us on the first night we're completed in about 20 minutes. The bikes were inconsistent some had water bottle holders some not. The day at the spa although nice contain total nudity. American children aren't used to that. The Farm Hotel turned out to be 3 goats. The bike ride into Venice was four miles of City biking. bike trails in Vienna are gorgeous but not particularly child friendly. The Danube bike paths all though lovely contained many areas where the speed limit was 70 kilometers an hour. We had seven and 10 year old children riding.The bike support was not given by the tour company but by another tour company. Support really meant they just transported our luggage. This would have been a beautiful ride for adults and teenagers. Not young children. the maps need to be completely redone.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay May 23, 2016

      Hi Sharon, thanks very much for your feedback. We're requesting a response and feedback from the local tour operator and will be following back up with another comment very shortly. - Lindsay

      ---

      Hi Sharon,

      We're very sorry to hear that this tour did not meet your expectations. We try our best to educate travelers on what to expect, especially with self-guided tours. Please accept our apologies if you did not find the information sufficient on this tour page and in the materials provided during correspondence with our staff and with the tour company during your tour.

      We chatted with the local tour operator regarding your comments about their service. While they regret that you were dissatisfied with the overall experience, they did provide the level of support detailed in the ""Included Services"" for this tour package. They also noted that they organized a taxi to transport your bikes on the rainy day for no additional charge (which is typically not included on self-guided tours). It sounds as though you may most enjoy a private guided tour for your next trip, which would include your own private support vehicle and guide.

      The Danube Bike Path is consistently rated one of the best bike paths in Europe for its safety, ease, and family-friendliness, and we've confidently recommended it to families for more than ten years based on the great comments and stories we've always heard from past clients, as well as our own experiences. We're sorry this was not your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to help you organize another trip in the future that's a better fit for your family.

      A note to travelers considering this tour in the future: please be sure to review this page with general information on self-guided tours (https://www.biketours.com/self-guided-bike-tours/) and this page on what to expect on a typical day on a self-guided tour (https://www.biketours.com/typical-day). Also carefully review the ""Included Services"" section on this tour page to familiarize yourself with the level of service you should expect when booking this tour.

    • 1/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Rider May 9, 2016

    First Bike Tour

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    This was our first bike tour (September 2015) and I went with my wife and 27 year old son. The route was wonderful, and if you are looking for a beginner trip, this one is great (my son, a more experienced biker, felt it was not challenging enough). We have since take another, more challenging tour, and can see how accommodating the Danube route is.
    The route is mostly flat, on dedicated bike trails and very well marked. Your only basic decision each day is which side of the river to ride on. The information provided by the tour company was excellent and we never got lost. The weather was also very good (it only rained one afternoon) which also contributed to the enjoyment. Although they varied in quality, the accommodations were basically very good. I really enjoyed seeing the country on a bike tour. We did cut the last day short, and rather than cycle into Vienna, we took a train. Another group started and rode the same route as us, cycled into Vienna and based on what we heard from them, we made the right choice. We spend a couple of days in Munich at the beginning and a couple of days in Vienna at the end, which were both wonderful cities. All in all, highly recommended especially if you are looking for an introduction to bike touring.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kate May 9, 2016

    A great trip with lots of memories

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    My husband, two teenage grandsons and I did this trip. It was marvelous. The beautiful Austrian towns were so bike friendly. We are not fast bikers, so we did feel like some parts we did not have time to explore adequately. It would have been nice to stay some place more than one night. We took the deluxe tour version and the hotels were fabulous. Would absolutely recommend this trip for anyone, but especially families.

    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection