Bike Tour Reviews  Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging) (page 3)

  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) oktobeerfest September 30, 2019

    Wonderful way to truly experience Austria

    The maps and suggestions of places to see along the way were very informative. So many beautiful hamlets to visit. There just wasn't enough time to see everything! The route suggestions were very helpful and the upscale lodging was mostly superb. Breakfast accommodations exceeded our expectations! We would highly recommend this trip to anyone, even non-bikers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 14 - 21, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Oldcoupleinlove August 9, 2019

    Trip of our lives

    This trip exceeded all expectations. My wife and I gave this to ourselves as an anniversary present, and it was a great choice. We are both in our 60s and reasonably fit, and this tour was at exactly the right pace. All the stops along the Danube were amazing. Passau, Linz, Melk, Tulln and of course, the beautiful city of Vienna. All the hotel arrangements were excellent, the maps and trail guides were good, and the bikes were in great condition. I highly recommend this trip to any couple who needs an adventurous trip that can still be romantic. I especially liked the wine country around Durnstein. We will definitely take more of these bike tours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 22 to July 30 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Wine country on a rainy day, Durnstein, Austria. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Typical friendly beergarden in Linz.  A great atmosphere for a leisurely dinner. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Biking offers an unsurpassed way to see the beautiful Danube and the Austrian countryside. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • Passau is beautiful at night. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • The Melk Abbey overlooks the town. (photo by Oldcoupleinlove)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 10, 2019

      Happy (belated) anniversary and inaugural bike tour! We love the moody picture in Durnstein - how beautiful. We're delighted you guys enjoyed your tour and can't wait to book the next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Estrella55 August 1, 2019

    Wonderful Family Experience!

    A great way to experience Austria's Danube!
    This was a fun family adventure! we were close to nature, met new people, tasted the local food, found camaraderie with fellow travelers! I loved the scenery, I felt safe and free to customize our day as needed. The company was very helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 7 - 14, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Estrella55)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Estrella55)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Estrella55)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Estrella55)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Ricksweetca July 22, 2019

    Awesome Adventure

    This was a a beautiful ride through mostly flat terrain. I ride a lot and my wife rides a limited amount. She enjoyed this tour so much that she suggested that we do a bike tour next summer also. The lodging was excellent and the food was good to excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Trez July 15, 2019

    Exceeded our expectations in every way

    Very organized and stress-free. The bikes were excellent, the hotels were great and the orientation meeting the evening before the trip was very beneficial in explaining the details. The variety in hotel styles; from modern to classic at the Schloss was a great way to experience the cities and villages we stayed in.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30- July 06, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Team Drafting Table from Wixom, Michigan ready to roll out of Passau (photo by Trez)
    • The team made a first stop in Obernzell at a friends house for Weisswuerst und Weissbier! (photo by Trez)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 16, 2019

      So glad you guys enjoyed! LOVE the shirts!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RS52 July 8, 2019

    Overall Great Experience from Start to End!!

    This was our first bike tour as a family, but based on our experience, it won't be our last. Overall, everything went smoothly and was great!! BikeTours was responsive to my many questions and easy to work with. The representative from the tour company brought the bikes and documentation as expected, and was flexible when one bike didn't fit correctly (our error) and needed to be exchanged. Service at every stop was very good to outstanding, and the accommodations were very comfortable and clean without exception! Our luggage was smoothly transported from one day to the next. The bikes were comfortable, and riding along the Danube was really special!

    I agree with another reviewer who suggested reading through the touring documents each evening to decide on where to stop the next day. That worked well for us too. We also brought snacks and water, and made a point of stopping regularly, given particularly warm weather. I would also recommend having at least one phone with a GPS application, as finding the specific hotels was sometimes challenging, particularly in the larger cities.

    Biking through small cities and towns provided a different type of vacation experience for us, as we are used to visiting larger cities. We really enjoyed seeing the country in this way. I found a few of the longer days of biking to be challenging, but as promised, the path was flat to slightly downhill and we were on bike paths for the majority of the time. Even in Vienna, there were bike lanes in the city to get us to the hotel. The paths were well traveled and always felt safe.

    Overall, everything was great and I would do it again in a second!

    (There were 4 of us traveling...my husband, me and our 2 children in their early 20's. We really liked the flexibility of being self-guided.)

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Passau (photo by RS52)
    • Crossing from Germany into Austria on the R1 (photo by RS52)
    • Melk Abbey (photo by RS52)
    • Photo 4 (photo by RS52)
    • Biking through vineyards in the Wachau region (photo by RS52)
    • We did it! (photo by RS52)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) WalterBetta June 30, 2019

    Unforgetable trip !!!

    The tour was really great, cycling beside the Danube. The hotels were really good and the tour was easy for the majority of the group of 10 people

    What was the date of your tour?
    June, 08 thru 15 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) T and C June 23, 2019

    Well organized, no drama, couple hotels ehh

    Biketours.com was very helpful. I emailed lots of questions to them and always got a prompt reply.

    The ebikes were great, I couldn’t have done the trip without them. We had a couple of 60km days because of sightseeing, which was too far. 40-45 km should be the distance for upscale in my opinion. We also had 3 hotels with NO air conditioning, Surprising and disappointing considering we paid for upscale lodging. Apparently you can state A/C as a requirement at booking time, I just assumed with the upscale hotel fee that would be included..live and learn.

    To me the trip was not completely flat, I mean it is mostly flat, but no way would I do this without ebikes.

    Route is well marked, but still an adventure. If you like a vacation that is a bit different, do this one!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Early june
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) sandivet2003 May 3, 2019

    Surpassed our expectations!

    This tour surpassed our expectations in many ways. We were provided with reliable, sturdy hybrid bicycles that were well maintained, comfortable to ride, and decked out with a headlight, tail light, a (rather challenging to open at times) cable combination bike lock, large waterproof handlebar bag (that allowed easy viewing of directions and maps), bike computer, waterproof pannier, and bike tools/flat repair kit (which we never needed). Who cares if they weren't Trek bikes? (They were better than my own Trek.)

    On the evening of our arrival in Passau (day 1), we were met at our hotel by a tour representative (fluent English-speaking) who provided us with the bikes (which fit us well), maps and cue sheets as well as an overview of our planned tour and ideas for places/activities to check out on the way. Each hotel we stayed at appeared to have been thoughtfully chosen to provide us with the best local experience--the least "upscale" one was in Schlogen, Austria (the room was quite basic and we needed ear plugs), but we had a spectacular view. The most upscale was Schloss Duernstein--it was like a castle! All breakfasts were terrific (lots of selection, hearty options, and the best breads I've had anywhere). Furthermore, the actual route was terrific--safe, low traffic and chockful of spectacular views! I was originally concerned that we started out on cobblestones and dirt paths for a bit in Passau, but the bikes were so sturdy and had such good suspension that didn't matter. I felt in control of the ride at all times. Most of the time, public restrooms were available on the route and were adequately spaced out so I only needed to do the "hide behind a tree or bush" thing a couple of times.

    A couple of warnings to future travelers: 1) We went in April, and only the final hotel (in Vienna) had legitimate air conditioning (per North American standards). It was unexpectedly warm in the evenings, and we wished we had brought a fan (only the first hotel in Passau provided us with one), particularly since all hotel beds had thick duvets for covers. I can't imagine what it'd be like for people traveling during the summer. 2) Do some research before arriving in Melk. This was the only place we got lost and had to use our cellphones for GPS because the cue sheets weren't specific to our particular circumstances (they covered only instructions for people staying at certain hotels there, which we were not). But we did eventually find our way, and we're already thinking about planning our next trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 19, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1 other one (Thailand)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) WallyB November 12, 2018

    Excellent Service

    Biketours did an excellent job putting this together. To begin they were exceptionally accommodating when, three days prior to our arrival, my wife had a small accident in which she strained her groin and they were able to meet a last minute request to upgrade to an e-cycle with no issues.

    The pre trip check in was informative. The maps were exceptionally detailed which made navigating the route very easy. They also gave detailed written information of the sites you would see along the way and at your destination. I would recommend reading up on the route the night before and planning one or two site seeing adventures to supplement your day of cycling. These are especially cool as they are self planned and you are not limited to the tours that your tour or cruise company sets out thus you can get off the beaten track a bit more and feel a little less like a tourist. Perhaps our favourite stops was the Hinterhaus ruin in Spitz. It required a 1km backtrack from a really neat ferry, asking for directions and a walk up a trail but when we arrived we were the only people there - a thousand year old castle in the middle of wine country in Austria all to ourselves - spectacular.

    The biking was what we expected. As we were heading with the river it was slightly downhill however this was pretty much imperceptible. We were provided with odometers that made navigating with the well marked maps very easy. We found with our various detours and occasional trek past a required turn that we were putting in about 50-60 km per day - about the right amount of distance and interesting scenery so that it didn’t not seem like a slog while still feeling like we got a good day of exercise in. The bikes were serviceable road bikes, not spectacular but new and well tuned. If you own a hybrid mountain road bike like I do expect these to be a bit heavier and have thicker tires. You were given enough bags to take your day to day stuff including a front bag with a clear top to allow the map to be front and centre when you rode and a pannier for the more heavy items.

    Accommodations were amazing. The hotels ranged from upscale basic to positively spectacular. I suspect that the hotels vary slightly from tour to tour, however, if you find you are staying at the Schloss Dürnstein you are in for a treat - our favourite hotel by far. The breakfasts at every hotel were simply over the top, I would try to list the spread but it would take too much effort. We were able to eat enough at breakfast that snacks and water were all we needed during our day of cycling. We then would eat an early-ish dinner and make out just fine. Our luggage was always there when we arrived, we were even early on a couple of occasions (we hadn’t figured out how to read the tour guide prior to leaving at that point) and it preceded us and the hotel was accommodating enough to let us check in early.

    Finally at the end of the tour, Biketours was able to also help us out by booking an extra night in Vienna. Which, due to my own flight booking error, I discovered I had to cancel. No real questions, they cancelled and gave us a refund - again Biketours made it easy for us.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 16-22 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) mon1ca September 27, 2018

    go with the flow

    This was a trip I had been looking forward to for a few years. It was planned with my "biking buddy" and we had two other people who had agreed to go along for the ride. Unfortunately, both my bike buddy and myself broke our wrists in biking accidents in Passau the day before the trip was to start.
    It was such a huge disappointment to us and our two non-riders did complete the ride without us. They thoroughly enjoyed it and were able to compete it without too much effort on their e-bikes.
    First off, I want to say that both my friend and I (who both broke our wrists) are fairly experienced e-bike riders. I will say that switching fro our 26" wheels in the USA to 29" wheels on European e-bikes was difficult -- especially for those under 5'4". That being said, the bikes are truly nice, it just takes a bit to get used to them.
    I can't say enough good things about the tour company who arranged for us to ride each day with the person delivering luggage from hotel to hotel. Without the effort on the part of the bike tour company, we would have incurred a significant expense, on top of the bike tour we couldn't actually ride to complete.
    Our hope is to go back next year and try again -- primarily because of the service of the bike tour company.
    We chose the 8-day upscale tour and were happy we did The hotels were all very nice and worth the extra amount.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tina September 8, 2018

    Danube

    My daughter and I loved the 7 day biking experience. The days were not too long. A great way to spend a week together exploring the Danube on a bike. Lots of opportunities to take in tourist destinations as well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Gonzo September 8, 2018

    Bike Tours Direct delivered on everything that they promised!

    We were extremely pleased with Bike Tours Direct on our recent trip down the Danube. Everything that they promised, happened. Their representatives were extremely reliable, and helpful, Our luggage always was waiting at our hotel when we arrived, and their equipment was top notch. The route was well laid out. My wife and I were extremely complimentary of Bike Tour Direct

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Family4 September 8, 2018

    A great vacation

    This was a great way to experience Austria. Along the bike path are vineyards, castles, restaurants, monasteries and a concentration camp. We were able to start late morning (to accommodate the teenager sleeping schedules and work commitments) and go at our own family pace throughout the day. We selected the upscale accommodation version and enjoyed something unique at each place. The ride along the path was level, as promised. This is a very popular path and there were many other other cyclist to connect with along the way. We had a great time as a family of four riding, site seeing and reconnecting. I would highly recommend this trip to any active person / family

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 12-20
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kristin September 5, 2018

    Such an incredible experience!

    I heard about the tour on Travelling Jackie’s Instagram and was intrigued. I love to travel and thought this was such a unique way to see country. The accommodations were fantastic and the path was mostly easy to follow. The bikes were great and the local company that met with us to go over the details was very helpful. BikeTours.com was also very responsive to my emails and calls. I hadn’t been on a bike in two years (though I am physically fit) so I was a little nervous, but the tour along the Danube was no problem! All of the resources on biketour.com were very helpful and the experience was pretty much as described. I have recommended this experience on all of the travel groups I am part of on FB. Would do again in a heartbeat!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Biking through vineyards! (photo by Kristin)
    • Beginning of the trip! (photo by Kristin)
    • Resting on the Danube! (photo by Kristin)
    • Sunset from dinner at our first hotel. (photo by Kristin)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Traveling Jackie August 2, 2018

    Great for Solo Females!

    I am a 33 year old female from the US, I did this tour by myself in April 2018 and I LOVED it.

    I opted for the regular bike instead of the e-bike, and I was happy I did, as the route is mostly flat and the regular bike is much lighter than the e-bike. My bike seat was padded, and with padded bike shorts as well I was never uncomfortable. The bags I was provided had plenty of space for changes of clothes, hat, water, cameras, everything (bring lots of sunscreen!).

    My luggage was always at the hotel ahead of me, even when I thought I was early to arrive. The days did get long towards the end of the trip, it's a long way! But I got stronger as I went, and ended up with some calves of steel. Everyone I met along the way was super nice, most people wanted to chat with me and were very friendly.

    I never felt unsafe. The local bike tour company was always just a text or phone call away. They checked in with me throughout the week, I had zero issues whatsoever! There were plenty of people on the path, even in the shoulder season. In fact, I recommend going in the shoulder season because it is less crowded, I imagine it gets super busy in summer.

    Definitely stop by the monastery in Engelhartzell where the monks brew their own beer, do the hike above the river bend at the Donauschlinge hotel in Schlögen (it's short and worth it), get to Melk early so you can enjoy the beautiful village, and make lots of stops of food and drinks! On that note - I opted not to get the dinner package, and I usually ended up having dinner at the hotel anyway because it was convenient, but I enjoyed the freedom of getting to choose.

    I am new to cycling, but it is a fantastic way to travel and see a new place. These self-guided tours are perfect opportunities for solo cyclists (especially solo females) to get into bike touring. This is definitely just the beginning for me.

    P.S. German Lesson 1: "Donauradweg" means Danube bike path, just follow the green signs :)

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Video: Danube Bike Path as a Solo Female Cyclist!
    • Crossing from Germany into Austria on Day 1 (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Solo on the Danube and LOVING it (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Austrian wine country! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Path and bridge into Melk, my favorite village along the way. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • One day I stopped to frolick in a field, because it was calling my name! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Bike set up: 2 back bags, one front. Bring your own shirt, shorts, helmet, and gloves! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Awan July 20, 2018

    An unforgettable bike tour

    What was the date of your tour?
    27 June 2018 - 5 July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Awan)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Johnpg July 6, 2018

    A Great Austrian Cycling Adventure

    The trip met or exceeded our expectations. We travelled in the shoulder season but still expected the bike trail to be packed. It wasn't, except for perhaps the last day of our ride into Vienna, which was a Sunday so there was a lot of locals enjoying the beautiful trail and scenery. That would likely be mitigated by planning one's arrival in Vienna for a weekday.

    Generally the accommodations lived up to the "upscale" designation, but there were two exceptions that were for us, just mediocre at best. That could simply be that there wasn't anything nicer in those locations.

    The local tour company was great, and very responsive to our needs. The bikes were fine--clearly built for wear and tear. The luggage service was perfect, and our bags were always waiting for us when we arrived.

    The Danube bike trail lived up to our expectations in beauty and condition. We'd recommend this ride to anyone who enjoys bicycle travel.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection