Dalmatia  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) Charles Curtis September 6, 2022

    Second great trip to Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We loved the first bike and boat trip to Croatia: Highlights of Dalmatia - that we booked this one. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip but not quite as outstanding as the first. Not quite as many interesting stops and the food was good but not outstanding which is why we gave it only four stars.
    There were hills but not as rigorous as the Highlights rides so several had regular bikes and we ebikers didn’t have to wait too long for them to catch up after a climb. The waterfalls at Krka National Park was a highlight

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) Diana Terrell August 27, 2022

    Most beautiful biking in Wurope

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    There are so many things to evaluate: The Boat Harmonia: comfortable and attractive. The staff on the Harmonia: helpful and upbeat. The bike Rides: the most beautiful we have seen in Europe. The quality of the bikes: excellent. Numbers of people on a ride: too many. All thirty of us rode as a group. Some experienced with regular bikes and some weaker bikers with Ebikes. Too many people in a cluster on the road and too much waiting to regroup. Two guides and thirty people did not work so well. Food was adequate, but large full course hot meals at lunch were not so great.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Jo Ribordy-Christofferson August 14, 2022

    Can't Wait for the 25th Anniversary Trip

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    The trip was fantastic in every detail.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) John Foster August 8, 2022

    The tour that I am reviewing was a 2 week tour in the islands of Croatia which I couldn't find on your list (20th anniversary tour affiliated with Jim Johnson) nonetheless my title would be: Excellent Guides!

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    Two weeks in the mainland and islands of Croatia was a great way to get to see this beautiful country and the trip was enhanced greatly by two over the top tour guides, Senad and Luka!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • HVAR before decent! (photo by John Foster)
    • The island of VIS (photo by John Foster)
    • Split Palace (photo by John Foster)
    • Lostovo and my bike (photo by John Foster)
    • Leaving Vis (photo by John Foster)
    • Sunset from the Romantica (photo by John Foster)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Sandra Page August 7, 2022

    Never would we have ever dreamed !

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    This tour is the best way to see all the Croatia has to offer, mountains to the coastline and everything in between! Get up close and personal with the Croatian history that dates back to 300 BC. We were on San Snova the boat was very comfortable and space for everyone to spread out. The crew made it even more special ! Tending to our every want and need ! Everyone should have an Andro in their life at least once! There was always plenty of tasty food you won't lose any weight on this active vacation. Our guides (Ivan and Helena) were very knowledgable. They always got us safely to the best spots. They were very proud of their home country and happy to share all of it with us. The visit to the bee keeper, lunch on the local farm,city tours,winery and white water rafting trips were among our favorites besides the cycling of course. The cycling is challenging you start at sea level and go up from there to a beautiful view point. The e-bike was a lifesaver and allowed for an enjoyable cycling experience. Never would we have ever dreamed we would have a trip like this one !

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Jelsa (photo by Sandra Page)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lindsay Alaishuski August 6, 2022

    Great taste of the country!

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Well thought out itinerary to see the larger cities and explore the islands as well. Great GPS routes. We came, we saw, we ate, we drank, we cycled! Plenty of sun! Quality bikes, friendly tour operators. Would highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Vic Wieland August 5, 2022

    An amazing experience

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Boat bike is the way to see Croatia, the whole experience was fantastic, comfortable accommodation on the boat, fantastic crew who couldn’t do enough for us, and excellent food.
    The Captain stopped for us to swim every day after cycling, and at night we explored the gorgeous villages.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Terry Whittaker August 4, 2022

    Croatia At Its Best

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Extremely well organized; guides were knowledgeable and clearly loved Croatia. Bikes were comfortable and the day trips offered stunning vistas. The lunch at the organic farm was like something featured in Bon Appetit. White water rafting was an added bonus. The boat crew were courteous and professional; room was small but comfortable. Nothing but positive memories.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) Badger79 October 27, 2019

    Croatia Islands

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    Excellent in every way! Ideal way to see Croatia. Guides were very knowledgeable and super friendly. There was a lead and sweep guide on every ride, so there was no way to get lost. Food was plentiful and good with nice variety. Only two meals not on board - one lunch, one dinner. Bikes in good condition and guides were prepared if repairs needed. Cabins were very clean. Be aware, no soap or shampoo provided. Hilly, but no problem with ebikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-20, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) TinyTW September 30, 2019

    Bike/Boating Northern Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We had a Fantastic Time on our Boat/Bike Tour of Croatia. It's a really Beautiful Country and we always love seeing new places on our bikes. Toni are guide was Awesome and was always a treat and fun to be with every day. Our boat Melody was very, very nice, comfortable and Brand new, it was actually nice to come home everyday from biking to the boat. It's not a complaint, but something to consider when going to Croatia. The Croatians are not the most Service Oriented/Friendly people. In fact our guide Toni said at the get go that in America the Customer is always right but that is not the case in Croatia. (In the US, you would NEVER hear that from the main guide). The Staff on the boat was good but not very workable or friendly. I had an incident personally where I asked them to do a Special Birthday Surprise for my husband and a few other people on our trip and I spent ALOT of money on 2 birthday cakes and they totally messed it up and the whole thing did not go as planned and nobody knew that it was a surprise. I was very, very upset about it and I got NO Apology or communication about it. It was Interesting being in a Struggling Country with all of the Tourists there spending ALOT of money and the feeling and experience from the locals was not what we expected at all. The food on the boat was very Mediocre, although we did not go hungry. I'm not sure if that is because the food in Croatia is that way, but we have been on many small boat trips and the food has been much, much better. The biking on this trip is really great if you are not a serious biker. My husband & I took our own bikes as we were staying much longer to bike on our owns. The Electric bikes they provided were really, really nice and top of the line from the looks of it and everyone in our group LOVED them. If you are a biker and want more exercise I would recommend their regular hybrid bikes which are also nice. All in all we had a Spectacular time and loved seeing Croatia and would love to go back and ride the Southern Part of Croatia. Thanks for another Great Adventure!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 7-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 1, 2019

      Hi, thanks so much for the review. We're sorry to hear the birthday surprise did not go as planned. We know that had to have been very disappointing. To your point, customer service in much of Europe is very different (and sometimes non-existent) when compared to the United States. It can be quite a rude awakening. Thanks again for sharing this experience with us. We're delighted that you loved seeing Croatia and enjoyed the boat, the guide, and cycling.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Coco September 23, 2019

    Amazing Croatian Cycle Adventure

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    So many positives to share... we did this tour with a group of friends, many of which had not been to Croatia, so it was a new experience. The itinerary was a nice combination of small villages, a fewer larger cities (Zadar and Sibenik) along the beautiful coastline of Dalmatia.
    The riding was not difficult, but we live in mountains and ride regularly. Most of the group had eBikes, with the exception of a few of us. Compared to other bike tours we have done, this was predominantly on roads, which is a bit of a bummer, as other parts of Europe have so many dedicated cycle paths. In that sense, Croatia is a bit behind, but the roads were not terribly busy.
    Our guides were fantastic, especially Toni, who is the epitome of a great tour guide. Safety first, great sense of humor, conversant in English, German and Croatian, very knowledgeable and plays the guitar and sings - what more could you ask for??? Ziva was new to the company, but her heart was in the right place and she did a great job of bringing up the rear.
    Food was very good and plentiful - it was the first bike tour I’ve done where I’ve gained weight! Weather was amazing, sunny and in the 80’s everyday.
    Opportunities to make this a better experience are few, but I’ll mention them... bottled water dispersed in the morning could have been cold, hard to drink warm water on a hot ride... hot tub was not filled and when we requested it, it was filled but cold. Funny dichotomy- drinking water was warm and jacuzzi water was cold. The lighting in the dining room was bright and fluorescent, not an issue for breakfast or lunch but it would have been nice to have it on dimmers for dinner. And last but not least, I would have like a bit more riding, but that’s me. Longest day is 20 miles.
    Overall experience was overwhelmingly positive.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 7-14, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Cher September 1, 2019

    Wow

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    First time in Croatia first time on an e bike great guides great adventure and well looked after from start to finish highly recommend

    What was the date of your tour?
    August
    How many tours have you completed?
    First
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Eduardo August 30, 2019

    More than expected

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Very good experience being on the boat allows you to move freely

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 17
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) Andrew or Richard August 17, 2019
    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    28/7 to 4/8
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Girowise July 26, 2019

    Dream Tour

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    We have done about 10 bike tours in Europe, so we have seen and experienced a wide range of things. This tour was wonderful. The tour company was extremely organized, the tour was well-designed, the hotels were great. In addition to the maps and instructions, the tour company made many valuable recommendations for things to see, restaurants, etc. There are several serious but not terrible climbs (~400 m elevation) on the tour, which people should be aware of. They yield amazing views.

    What was the date of your tour?
    11 July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (4/5) Cory June 14, 2019

    Dubrovnik to Split on bikes

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    This is the way to travel! Board your sailboat and unpack once! We enjoyed our stay on the Harmonia. The Bike Tours/Inselhupfen guides went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time, that we were safe, and that any needs were addressed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • The Harmonia (photo by Cory)
    • Dubrovnik. “Walk of Shame” staircase (photo by Cory)
    • Sipan (photo by Cory)
    • Hvar (photo by Cory)
    • Poppies on Mljet (photo by Cory)
    • Loved our bikes! (photo by Cory)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Merle June 14, 2019

    Just right

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    In the past we have done some European bike trips on our own, this was our first experience with a guided group tour. We were concerned about the level of difficultly (was it a 2? or perhaps a 3 or 4?). We are older (78 and 87), not veteran bikers but fairly active. We chose to rent e-bikes which was perfect for us....no problem at all going up hills, staying with the others and maneuvering through the occasional traffic as we left a town.
    Thanks to the expertise of the excellent guides we all stayed safe, blended together well in spite of our different levels of cycling abilities, various nationalities and ages.
    We had a wonderful trip, more "social" than our personal trips, but lively, informative, stimulating and enriching in all ways.
    With e-bikes it was definitely a level 2, though for those on regular bikes I imagine it would be a level 3 or 3+.
    It was luxurious to be on such a high quality boat, very comfortable, good food and an excellent staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 11 - 18, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    none, only solo trips
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Vicki November 13, 2018

    Fabulous. No complaints about anything!!!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    All around terrific! Great guides. Love the boat! Great guests

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 6
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Carlosm November 11, 2018

    A very special experience

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    This was one of the last tours offered for 2018 and Bike Tours acted quickly to get us signed up, and responded immediately to several questions we had. As for the tour company, we could not have been more pleased--the guides were excellent, the boat staff worked hard and were always helpful. And, the beauty of the coastline is exceptional.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 13 to 20, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    none before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)