Croatia  Bike Tour Reviews (page 8)

  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Melani July 18, 2019

    Most epic trip!!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This vacation/bike tour was one for the books! We wouldn’t change a thing and would like to take the tour again. The 6 day bike ride was no easy feat but it was manageable (especially with 2 14-year old boys). Our bike guide, Igor was very knowledgeable of the history and sights/cities we visited. Mario was an amazing SAG driver and prepared quite a lovely daily lunch spread!! Loved all the rest stops and hotels we stayed at. Can’t wait to take another tour with BikeTours!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 27 - July 4, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (4/5) Visitor42 July 4, 2019

    Unexperienced rider review

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    That was nice and fun tour for me, however my girlfriend struggled a bit. It is not completely 2 stars. For example, last day is not plain at all and could be challenging for newbies without some experience (like myself).

    It would be nice to have shortcuts for every day of this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Late june
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (4/5) Cory June 14, 2019

    Dubrovnik to Split on bikes

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    This is the way to travel! Board your sailboat and unpack once! We enjoyed our stay on the Harmonia. The Bike Tours/Inselhupfen guides went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time, that we were safe, and that any needs were addressed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • The Harmonia (photo by Cory)
    • Dubrovnik. “Walk of Shame” staircase (photo by Cory)
    • Sipan (photo by Cory)
    • Hvar (photo by Cory)
    • Poppies on Mljet (photo by Cory)
    • Loved our bikes! (photo by Cory)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Merle June 14, 2019

    Just right

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    In the past we have done some European bike trips on our own, this was our first experience with a guided group tour. We were concerned about the level of difficultly (was it a 2? or perhaps a 3 or 4?). We are older (78 and 87), not veteran bikers but fairly active. We chose to rent e-bikes which was perfect for us....no problem at all going up hills, staying with the others and maneuvering through the occasional traffic as we left a town.
    Thanks to the expertise of the excellent guides we all stayed safe, blended together well in spite of our different levels of cycling abilities, various nationalities and ages.
    We had a wonderful trip, more "social" than our personal trips, but lively, informative, stimulating and enriching in all ways.
    With e-bikes it was definitely a level 2, though for those on regular bikes I imagine it would be a level 3 or 3+.
    It was luxurious to be on such a high quality boat, very comfortable, good food and an excellent staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 11 - 18, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    none, only solo trips
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (5/5) J and S June 14, 2019

    Perfect way to see the Country

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    My Wife and I had a great Self-Guided trip. The people were super kind, hotels were good, food good, sites were the best. The maps were good, we used GPS points on our phones which did help a lot. So all in all, a can't miss trip.
    We especially liked starting the trip in Mestre, the train over to Venice was a 5 minute walk from the Hotel Elite, cost was minimal. We explored Venice as well as old town Mestre, which was a extra treat.
    Your first leg is to either Jesolo or Carole, we stayed in Jesolo and on the next day we stopped for a snack in Carole. If we were able, we would do the extra miles and stay in Carole the first night, town is really cute.
    We did take two layover or extra days, one in Piran the other in Porec, both well worth it, so ask when you book if that option is available. The Ferry Ride from Porec to Venice was great but a a little of a challenge to schedule until we found there are two ferry companies, they run on opposite dates. After that, was super simple.
    Hard trip to pass up, this was our third Self Guided trip, and already starting to plan for 2020. This has been our main way to see Europe and Loving Every Trip!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) OR bikers June 12, 2019

    Couldn't ask for a better 1st bike tour experience

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    We did the self guided tour with another couple friend of ours. We all had ebikes which made it very enjoyable and easy to do the distances and the hills on the last 2 days. The stickers on street poles pointing the way along the routes were really helpful. The scenery along the routes were so pretty, many red poppy fields. The towns we passed through were fun to explore. We really enjoyed the routes along the water (sea, river, canals), which were many. We had one and a half days of rain, and there were some muddy dirt road we had to go through. We enjoyed the towns we stayed in overnight, pleased with the accommodations and the bountiful breakfast buffets. I would recommend staying an extra night in Porec (end of tour), just to get a little more time to explore, enjoy and relax before heading back to Venice on the early ferry

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25-June 1, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is our first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • On the way to Aquileia, stage 3 (photo by OR bikers)
    • End of 1st stage in Lido di Jesolo (photo by OR bikers)
    • Caorle, our rainy day (photo by OR bikers)
    • Grado (photo by OR bikers)
    • Grado (photo by OR bikers)
    • Novigrad (photo by OR bikers)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Vicki November 13, 2018

    Fabulous. No complaints about anything!!!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    All around terrific! Great guides. Love the boat! Great guests

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 6
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Carlosm November 11, 2018

    A very special experience

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    This was one of the last tours offered for 2018 and Bike Tours acted quickly to get us signed up, and responded immediately to several questions we had. As for the tour company, we could not have been more pleased--the guides were excellent, the boat staff worked hard and were always helpful. And, the beauty of the coastline is exceptional.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 13 to 20, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    none before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Meri November 10, 2018

    Well done

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Great rides, great bikes, great support, perfect weather and wonderful food and wine. Hotels were beautifully situated, clean and comfortable

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Rósa October 28, 2018

    Amazing Experience!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Our tour was just amazing and each day was like a new adventure. The cycling routes were diverse through beautiful landscape. Uphill’s and downhills, sometime difficult but always very enjoyable. Our guide Mario and Dinko were great and played a huge part in making this trip so incredible. I can highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Björg October 8, 2018

    If not on the bucket list - put it there

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    The tour was amazing, the diverseness of the route was a pleasure experience every day. Beautiful landscape, uphill’s and downhills, flat surface, cent of herbs, harvest time – a feast for all senses. Some of the routes were more difficult than other and to conquer it was a victory, after a hill is a downhill that makes it all worth it. Mario and Dinko are the perfect and flawless guides, always a pleasure to have them around with such a good presence and very well informed and willing to share their knowledge about thousands of questions they got from the group. I give this tour my best recommendation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    16th of Sept to 22nd of Sept
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • Ston (photo by Björg)
    • Bags in - Bike out (photo by Björg)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) olistef October 7, 2018

    Top quality tour with top quality guides.

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Our guide, Mario, was great. He is a kind man and knows lot about the routes and the history. Dinko drove our luggage and gave us lunch in welcomed shadows, knew so much about the land and history.

    What was the date of your tour?
    16-21 september
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • Mario and the group (photo by olistef)
    • Typical scenery along the bay of Kotor (photo by olistef)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) matis October 5, 2018
    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    What was the date of your tour?
    15.09 -22.09.2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three if I include this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (3/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Beautiful scenery

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Excellent support
    Really challenging cycling
    Doublecheck that inner tubes have been properly fitted before you start

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Croatia cycling

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Excellent support. The scenery is as remarkable as on the adverts of Croatia tourism - stunning! The cycling is extremely challenging, particularly in very warm weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 28-Sept. 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (4/5) Juiti September 29, 2018

    Unforgettable!!! The hidden beauty of the Venetian region and Croatian Adriatic:

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    I love this route. It combined beautiful nature landscapes with historic spot and charmy littles towns.
    We had great experience sharing time with fun bikers around the world.
    Even if the hotels were in general ok we would have preferred to pay a bit more for better quality and location.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8 september
    How many tours have you completed?
    now 3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • Photo 1 (photo by Juiti)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Juiti)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Juiti)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Juiti)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Juiti)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Juiti)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dalmatian Islands
    (5/5) KenK September 26, 2018

    Flawless experience!

    · Split to Dalmatian Islands

    From start to finish this was a great experience. Our accommodations were clean and well located. Our luggage was transported from place to place without a hitch. Our E-bikes worked like a charm getting us up and over some very hilly terrain but still giving us plenty of exercise.
    Everyone involved with our Split/Dalmatian Islands self guided bike tour was friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this tour.
    The only advice I would give is to try to make your Day-1 orientation early enough in the day to absorb and understand all of the information provided (regarding your bikes and your day-to-day self guided tour instructions).
    Unfortunately we did not have our orientation until 5PM which forced us to rush through things and made for a shorter than desired first day ride.
    It was still awesome but next time I’d like an earlier start.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 12, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Enjoying island BRAC (photo by KenK)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Lilian092 September 14, 2018
    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    What was the date of your tour?
    08/17-8/25 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (4/5) Karl57 September 12, 2018

    Great trip

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    Great trip. Would highly recommend. Every stopover destination was well worth exploring. If we did it again we would customize the tour with an extra day to explore each stopover destination.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (3/5) Labia September 6, 2018

    Glad we did it - but too hot in August

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    This is our third bike tour. The boat was much nicer than others we have been on. The cabins were very large and a good size bathroom. The food was good (not great). It was nice to have two tour guides. The downside was that it was really hot and the sun too blazing to enjoy the bike rides a lot. The landscape I would also say is a bit repetitive. All in all I wish we could have done it some weeks later with fewer crowds in town and especially cooler weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    18 August
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)