Croatia  Bike Tour Reviews (page 6)

  • Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast
    (4/5) Harry Williamson August 5, 2022

    Well done

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    I thought that the tour was very well organized. The guides (Ivan and Jelena) were excellent. Ivan's command of English and tour guide experience were especially valuable. Jelena's upbeat personality and cycling experience added even more joy to the tour. Island hopping did a great job of organizing each day's rides and events and the San Snova's crew was excellent, especially Andro (Saloon manager and bartender). The Capt. and crew were very efficient and friendly.
    Frankly, 2 weeks was a bit too much for me to do basically the same thing each day, I would have preferred a 1 week tour with less time spent in Split and Dubrovnik (crowded tourist towns). I do realize that most of the people on the tour were fine with the itinerary. I think that the tour information guide should more accurately describe the rigor of the tour. By the time we were barely getting started, virtually everyone (except 2 incredibly strong riders) had requested or later opted for Ebikes during the tour.
    Otherwise a good tour. Also helpful that Jim Johnson was there to add his experience and fellowship.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 15- 29
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kathy Flynn August 5, 2022

    Such a beautiful country

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    This was such a fun trip for all our friends that joined on this adventure .

    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Vic Wieland August 5, 2022

    An amazing experience

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Boat bike is the way to see Croatia, the whole experience was fantastic, comfortable accommodation on the boat, fantastic crew who couldn’t do enough for us, and excellent food.
    The Captain stopped for us to swim every day after cycling, and at night we explored the gorgeous villages.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast
    (5/5) Penny Knight August 5, 2022

    Awesome trip

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    Croatia was beautiful…the terrain is very mountainous, so we were happy we had ebikes! We enjoyed the biking being only a portion of most days and having time to swim daily in the beautiful Adriatic Sea!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kathy Flynn August 4, 2022

    Such a beautiful country

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    This was such a fun trip for all our friends that joined on this adventure .

    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Terry Whittaker August 4, 2022

    Croatia At Its Best

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Extremely well organized; guides were knowledgeable and clearly loved Croatia. Bikes were comfortable and the day trips offered stunning vistas. The lunch at the organic farm was like something featured in Bon Appetit. White water rafting was an added bonus. The boat crew were courteous and professional; room was small but comfortable. Nothing but positive memories.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) John McNeiece August 4, 2022

    Trip of a lifetime

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    We had been anticipating this trip for two years and it lived up to all our expectations and more. Riding bikes in 6 different countries over 14 days was amazing! The bikes were great. The boat was perfect. The staff was nothing but helpful and professional. We are already planning a follow-up tour. The folks at biketours.com did a great job with all the details!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Balkan Treasures
    (5/5) susan25 October 28, 2019

    Way better than we even anticipated!!!!!

    · Balkan Treasures

    This tour is truly a collection of "gems"! Here's why we rated the tour a 5 star.
    1. the level of support from the tour guide was amazing! The tour includes being transported to several different locations so that all of your time is spent on truly beautiful rides. Our guide was very patient, informative and friendly!!
    2. We were on the extended version so we got to be in four countries in 8 days! we learned so much about the politics and history of the region.
    3. All of the accommodations were great but a couple were outstanding! Again we learned so much about the culture and cuisine of the different countries through these experiences.
    4. The routes deserve special mention. We were amazed to discover beautiful scenic rides day after day.
    5. The rides were quite easy, especially for seasoned riders. This did not bother us because the overall experience was so rich.
    6. We relied primarily on an app for directions. this was supported by written materials. we thought this was a great way to tour.
    7. Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia Herzegovina have yet to be discovered by most tourist. They are gorgeous, safe (for the most part) and inexpensive by the standards most Westerners are used to. This is a great time to see those incredible countries!
    We absolutely loved this trip. If you are considering, my advise is sign up! You will thank yourself!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 6-14.
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 30, 2019

      Susan- thanks kindly for the review. We are so, so glad that you enjoyed the tour - we too think that these countries are undiscovered gems!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) Badger79 October 27, 2019

    Croatia Islands

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    Excellent in every way! Ideal way to see Croatia. Guides were very knowledgeable and super friendly. There was a lead and sweep guide on every ride, so there was no way to get lost. Food was plentiful and good with nice variety. Only two meals not on board - one lunch, one dinner. Bikes in good condition and guides were prepared if repairs needed. Cabins were very clean. Be aware, no soap or shampoo provided. Hilly, but no problem with ebikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-20, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) bobeh1 October 22, 2019

    Wonder-Filled

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    The tour was an amazing way to explore the history and cultures of the Balkan Countries.
    Though the mountains were a challenge to climb (especially for those of us who chose standard hybrid bikes), our guide would encourage us with "I believe in you". We learned to then believe in ourselves.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct. 5-12
    How many tours have you completed?
    one before this
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Balkan Treasures
    (5/5) Soloist October 7, 2019

    The most amazing cycle route

    · Balkan Treasures

    What an amazing experience. This was my first self guided solo tour on a bicycle and I admit I was very nervous before the trip that I would get lost! The guides Drazen and Zoran ensures that did not happen talking me through each day and providing maps and detailed instructions. The scenery is phenomenal and I was blessed with perfect weather
    Prior to the trip the office team were quick to respond to any questions I had , in particular Brittany was a real gem.
    The only thing I would say if I had to list a negative would be the hotels. When I reviewed them online they seemed great but the room I actually got was often the worst one in the building. The first night in Cavtat I do believe the bathroom had been a former closet judging by the door and size. Not that i spent much time in a hotel room so it wasn’t a major concern.
    I wiould definitely recommend this company and now I’ve gained confidence in touring solo I’ll most likely use them again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) TinyTW September 30, 2019

    Bike/Boating Northern Croatia

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    We had a Fantastic Time on our Boat/Bike Tour of Croatia. It's a really Beautiful Country and we always love seeing new places on our bikes. Toni are guide was Awesome and was always a treat and fun to be with every day. Our boat Melody was very, very nice, comfortable and Brand new, it was actually nice to come home everyday from biking to the boat. It's not a complaint, but something to consider when going to Croatia. The Croatians are not the most Service Oriented/Friendly people. In fact our guide Toni said at the get go that in America the Customer is always right but that is not the case in Croatia. (In the US, you would NEVER hear that from the main guide). The Staff on the boat was good but not very workable or friendly. I had an incident personally where I asked them to do a Special Birthday Surprise for my husband and a few other people on our trip and I spent ALOT of money on 2 birthday cakes and they totally messed it up and the whole thing did not go as planned and nobody knew that it was a surprise. I was very, very upset about it and I got NO Apology or communication about it. It was Interesting being in a Struggling Country with all of the Tourists there spending ALOT of money and the feeling and experience from the locals was not what we expected at all. The food on the boat was very Mediocre, although we did not go hungry. I'm not sure if that is because the food in Croatia is that way, but we have been on many small boat trips and the food has been much, much better. The biking on this trip is really great if you are not a serious biker. My husband & I took our own bikes as we were staying much longer to bike on our owns. The Electric bikes they provided were really, really nice and top of the line from the looks of it and everyone in our group LOVED them. If you are a biker and want more exercise I would recommend their regular hybrid bikes which are also nice. All in all we had a Spectacular time and loved seeing Croatia and would love to go back and ride the Southern Part of Croatia. Thanks for another Great Adventure!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 7-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 1, 2019

      Hi, thanks so much for the review. We're sorry to hear the birthday surprise did not go as planned. We know that had to have been very disappointing. To your point, customer service in much of Europe is very different (and sometimes non-existent) when compared to the United States. It can be quite a rude awakening. Thanks again for sharing this experience with us. We're delighted that you loved seeing Croatia and enjoyed the boat, the guide, and cycling.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Dadd September 29, 2019
    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    What was the date of your tour?
    sept. 13-18, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    lots, almost all on our own
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Coco September 23, 2019

    Amazing Croatian Cycle Adventure

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    So many positives to share... we did this tour with a group of friends, many of which had not been to Croatia, so it was a new experience. The itinerary was a nice combination of small villages, a fewer larger cities (Zadar and Sibenik) along the beautiful coastline of Dalmatia.
    The riding was not difficult, but we live in mountains and ride regularly. Most of the group had eBikes, with the exception of a few of us. Compared to other bike tours we have done, this was predominantly on roads, which is a bit of a bummer, as other parts of Europe have so many dedicated cycle paths. In that sense, Croatia is a bit behind, but the roads were not terribly busy.
    Our guides were fantastic, especially Toni, who is the epitome of a great tour guide. Safety first, great sense of humor, conversant in English, German and Croatian, very knowledgeable and plays the guitar and sings - what more could you ask for??? Ziva was new to the company, but her heart was in the right place and she did a great job of bringing up the rear.
    Food was very good and plentiful - it was the first bike tour I’ve done where I’ve gained weight! Weather was amazing, sunny and in the 80’s everyday.
    Opportunities to make this a better experience are few, but I’ll mention them... bottled water dispersed in the morning could have been cold, hard to drink warm water on a hot ride... hot tub was not filled and when we requested it, it was filled but cold. Funny dichotomy- drinking water was warm and jacuzzi water was cold. The lighting in the dining room was bright and fluorescent, not an issue for breakfast or lunch but it would have been nice to have it on dimmers for dinner. And last but not least, I would have like a bit more riding, but that’s me. Longest day is 20 miles.
    Overall experience was overwhelmingly positive.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 7-14, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Cher September 1, 2019

    Wow

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    First time in Croatia first time on an e bike great guides great adventure and well looked after from start to finish highly recommend

    What was the date of your tour?
    August
    How many tours have you completed?
    First
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Eduardo August 30, 2019

    More than expected

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Very good experience being on the boat allows you to move freely

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 17
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) Andrew or Richard August 17, 2019
    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    28/7 to 4/8
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (5/5) Stradiotti July 28, 2019

    Superb Trip!

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    A splendid way to see the world! This bike tour was our first but certainly not our last. We were a group of 10 friends ranging in age from 49-56. The ride was challenging at times but absolutely spectacular. We are not avid cyclists and some of the group used the electric bikes; this was a great option especially on the hills. The hotels were great, for the most part the food was good too, and the luggage transfers were seamless. This tour is very well organized and the local tour company is always reachable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4-10
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection