Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 6)

  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) Emil Barbosa and Debbie Gundersen 10 months ago

    Absolutely Lovely

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    Our boat was super comfortable! The food was outstanding. Our guides Elena and Alex we’re professional and fun. Easy riding with many unique stops along the way. We highly recommend this bike and boat tour!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Royal Zealand and Copenhagen
    (5/5) Mary Rankovich 10 months ago

    Great trip in spite of challenges

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We thoroughly enjoyed,this,trip in spite of illness, injury and weather challenges. While we were not able to complete the entire bicycle tour, the days we did ride were very good. The local tour company was outstanding, going above and beyond in time of need. While some hotels were better than others, all were very comfortable, and we had some outstanding meals along the way. Route guidance material was good, however the maps were a bit difficult to read because they were a bit small. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Terry Whittaker 10 months ago

    Croatia At Its Best

    · Split to Dubrovnik: the Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Extremely well organized; guides were knowledgeable and clearly loved Croatia. Bikes were comfortable and the day trips offered stunning vistas. The lunch at the organic farm was like something featured in Bon Appetit. White water rafting was an added bonus. The boat crew were courteous and professional; room was small but comfortable. Nothing but positive memories.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Arik 10 months ago

    Nice ride. Two complaints.

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    1) The phone app didn't work at all (for three of us who tried). And the GPS they gave us as a backup is a decade outdated. Thank goodness for Google Maps, though that didn't always yield the most scenic routes.
    2) Too much time spent on bike routes that were really highway shoulders, with a bicycle silhouette stenciled on the asphalt.

    Great hotels, fantastic food, (and priceless company we provided ourselves).

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten August 4, 2022

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. We are working with our local partner to improve the phone app and GPS for this tour. We are glad you still had a memorable time and hope to help you plan your next trip!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
  • Danube Waltz
    (5/5) Jaime Bodden 10 months ago

    Fairytale in Bavaria

    · · Danube Waltz Bike and Boat Passau – Budapest – Passau

    A great tour! Equal parts countryside with quaint villages and urban culture with metropolitan experiences. Our tour packed in a lot - each day provided a unique experience and bike ride, from forests to fields, riverside and city streets. The recommendations from out boat guide encouraged frequent stops to enjoy local gems - something that is often lacking on bigger tours. The timing in between stops never felt rushed, and there was a nice balance of being on the boat and off.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (4/5) Karen Burnham 10 months ago

    Self Guided Algarve Tour

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The connections at the beginning and end of the trip with the bike company went very smoothly and the bikes and GPS were of great quality. Our favorite towns were Vila Real and Tavira, and the paths the first 3 days were delightful. Day 4 was grueling with all busy road traffic. We wish this day could have been avoided via rerouting. All the hotels were fantastic, and the breakfasts were wonderful. We would have liked to spend 2 nights in Lagos so we would have had time to explore. Reaching the lighthouse at the end of the week was such a feeling of accomplishment! Portugal is a great place to visit, so be sure to spend more time after the bike ride to explore.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • Bike and GPS instructions with Agnus (photo by Karen Burnham)
    • Fun boardwalks to cycle on (photo by Karen Burnham)
    •  (photo by Karen Burnham)
    • Half way across the Algarve (photo by Karen Burnham)
    • Negotiating a town square (photo by Karen Burnham)
    • The FINISH LINE!!! (photo by Karen Burnham)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Jennifer Hinchman 10 months ago

    Beautiful trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Our guides were so knowledgeable and fun-as were the rest of the crew. We had a great week!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (5/5) Wendy Walton 10 months ago

    Portugal by Bike

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Our bike trip along the Algarve coast was just what we hoped it would be. Our self guided trip had just the right amount of contact with staff, our pick ups/ drop offs were seamless, there was more interaction at the start of the trip than we have had with others tours which familiarized us with the gos navigation system and got our bikes just right. There was a nice mix of accommodations and it was easy to add extra days to customize our trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Waltz
    (5/5) Lisa Mendis 10 months ago

    Magical!!

    · · Danube Waltz Bike and Boat Passau – Budapest – Passau

    The best ever bike tour!! We biked some of the most beautiful sections of the Danube and we also had other excursions plus the activities on the boat. The Sun deck was lovely - what a treat after biking to sit up there and watch the pastoral sights go by! The food was really good. I am lactose intolerant and the chef always had an alternative for me - even with the multiple course meals. Thank for Biketours.com for finding this fantastic tour!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Robert Alexander 10 months ago

    Great trip, great guides.

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    Tons of fun (notwithstanding that we got COVID on the trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Ginger10 11 months ago

    Perfect bike tour through stunning countryside

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    My husband and I completed this self-guided tour in June 2022. Everything about the trip was perfect. We went for the higher level accomadations and were very pleases, especially with the Chateau. Much of the trip is on bike paths which makes it more enjoyable. Luggage transferw were flawless and the e-bikes were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) StuNH October 14, 2021

    A tour far exceeding expectations!

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    Reading previous reviews, what most needs to be said is praise for this tour is not over rated. It was an exceptional tour! We did the tour in late September into October. The high tourist season was past, so our entire tour was quiet, peaceful, relaxing. The weather was very pleasant, and swimming in the Mediterranean was delightful. We had 3 days on the coast to enjoy that. We loved the various cycling experiences - the "Carrilet", the coast (Costa Brava), and the medieval villages. The hotels were all outstanding.
    Even though the tour was self guided, the tour operator remained in touch and was exceptional.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/28/21 - 10/6/21
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+ (I've lost count)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Cycling in medieval town (photo by StuNH)
    • The Costa Brava (photo by StuNH)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Richie and Trish October 12, 2021

    Gute Fahren im die Berge

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had an amazing time on this tour. The scenery was breathtaking. It was so exciting to cycle along these beautiful rivers with the alps rising above us on both sides. The days just flew by as we cycled along. This was our seventh European tour and this ride compared very favorably with other rides we’ve taken. When we arrived in Innsbruck we found that we had to walk to a bike shop to pick up our bikes. Normally the bikes are delivered to our hotel but we took the walk and the shop owner was very helpful. Although the bikes were very heavy we found them quite roadworthy. They may have been the best bikes we’ve used in Europe. The hotels we stayed at we all lovely and provided us with great breakfasts. We especially enjoyed the Hotel Post in Zittertal with its rooftop infinity swimming pool. It was amazing. We also enjoyed having a rest day in Zell am see although it was hardly restful. We hiked, took a boat excursion and went to a fabulous spa for a swim. Many reviews of this tour complain about the book that accompanies the tour and now we know why. It’s very confusing and was not at all helpful. Usually the books on these tours are much more helpful and give recommendations for lunches and dinners. This book did none of that. The trail is well marked in most places but not in others. We often found ourselves scratching our heads trying to make sense of the signs on the trail and the directions in the book. We are seniors and found ourselves walking the bikes up hills from time to time but most of the ride was gentle easy riding. When we weren’t on dedicated bike paths the roads were quiet with little traffic. Overall it was an amazing trip that we would recommend to anyone who loves being in the mountains.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 13 - 19 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Stan September 13, 2021

    An Ideal Vacation

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    Riding the Mosel River in Germany is to experience seven days of sheer beauty of countless vineyards planted in a wild geometry on the steep valleys along the river. The villages with the profusion of flowers bursting from every window make you feel you have stepped into a story book. I've done this trip twice. Once with a regular bike and once with an Ebike. The Ebike is easier, of course, but the regular bike was very doable for an 84 year old who is just a weekend rider.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July, 2017 and Sept.4, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) mrank July 9, 2021

    Great trip - highly recommend!

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We just completed the 9 day Orleans to Angers segment of this tour and really enjoyed it. It's the first trip we have taken that we would actually take again, but next time complete the entire 13 night tour. We have taken quite a few bike tours but this one provided the best supporting materials we ever had. The turn-by-turn materials and maps were very well done and easy to follow. We never needed the GPS. Of course the trail itself is extremely well marked, which helps a lot. In addition to the great support we received from the local tour company, the Bike Tours support while setting up the tour was also very good.

    The bikes were fine, a bit heavy, but comfortable. Our only issue was the tires on both bikes were under-inflated upon receipt, but we were able to resolve that without too much issue. We always carry our own tire gauge and check regularly. One bike had a mechanical issue, but the tour company was excellent at quickly resolving it.

    All the hotels were great and were prepared for our arrival. They also had very good facilities for storing the bicycles. Luggage transfer went smoothly and always arrived at our hotel before we did. The only minor issue was that one hotel did not have a lift, which was surprising, but not a big deal for us. I mention it in case it might be a concern to others.

    The meals, both breakfasts as well as dinners we purchased were top notch. We only had a complaint about the poor service in the Orleans restaurant. The food was good, but the entire restaurant was served by one person and it took forever to get through our meal. While the meals were all delicious, in hindsight, we may have gone without the supplemental meal package and just purchased dinners on our own. There were so many choices in almost every town that we would have enjoyed an occasional casual meal, like a delicious pizza vs the traditional French food every night. However, you can't go wrong in going with the meal package. It is definitely a French experience!

    Finally, the only other suggestion I would give is to alert people in the riding materials that there is a river crossing that you have to manage on your own using a little metal raft that you have to pull to your shore, load the bikes, and then pull to the other side. Its not too difficult, but managing the loading of bikes was a little tricky. I read afterwards there are ways around this crossing but it would have been good to know about it ahead of time.

    All in all, a great trip and maybe in the future we will be back to do it again.

    It goes without saying that the trails, scenery and points of interest were fantastic with lots of stops along the way. Even with less than great weather, we totally enjoyed this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/25 - 7/5, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Duck breast and sauteed fruits - delicious! (photo by mrank)
    • The Villandry Gardens - beautiful! (photo by mrank)
    • Along the beautiful river on the way to Azay Le Rideau. (photo by mrank)
    • Chinon along the river. (photo by mrank)
    • Wild flowers everywhere along the trail. (photo by mrank)
    • A typical coffee break stop.  On the way to Angers. (photo by mrank)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Bruce July 10, 2021

      Thanks for your review and glad that you had a nice trip! Good suggestion for the riding materials. What wonderful photos!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (5/5) MEMALgarve January 16, 2020

    Really Great Holiday Trip on Wheels

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    We had a wonderful 4 day/5 night trip along the Algarve. The GPS was superb, the route was very well thought out, the food amazing and the Algarve everything we had hoped it would be- thank you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    12/30/19-1/4/20
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • A stop to take it all in... (photo by MEMALgarve)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (4/5) julesmcsa November 8, 2019

    Great trip

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    What a way to see the castles of Portugal! The history of the country is amazing, and seeing it all at eye level, literally, was amazing. Perfect weather. Our tour guides were fantastic. The food was overwhelming, there was just so much of it! Tasted a lot of wine, but expected more. Thank god for our E-bikes; some of the routes were too high for us. Overall, very enjoyable trip. We did not care for some of the accommodations: the farmhouse was too remote for us (we wanted to be in the city).

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 19th
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lieve v November 8, 2019

    Amazing experience!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    This trip really was the perfect way to explore the region of Portugal. We saw the true heart of the country! The food and wine stops were amazing, the guide (Maria) was exceptional. Riding the bikes was a bit more challenging than anticipated due to the many undulating roads (stretched out hills and climbs), but it was a rewarding experience to have ultimately been able to accomplish it. The trip offered a wonderful mix of history and architecture, food and nature. Our only disappointment was a last minute change to the itinerary, which had us staying at a company owned farm for two nights, about a 20 minute cab drive from Evora. Part of the group had accommodations downtown Evora, which would have been much preferred for us too since the farm was in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • Photo 1 (photo by Lieve v)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Lieve v)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Lieve v)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Lieve v)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Lieve v)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Lieve v)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)