Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 21)

  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Fabio September 5, 2018

    Perfect organization

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Perfect organization, good bike conditions (we rented the ebikes).

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 7
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Cousin September 5, 2018

    Loved it

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    This was such a great way to see the country. We loved the whole experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 11 to July 18
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) Biking Santa September 5, 2018

    Exploring Italy

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    Having two guides was helpful and both were knowledgeable and very personable.
    the boat was wonderful as well as the crew and food. Sites chosen were enough without making it too much to soak in. A highly recommended tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 4-11, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Padre August 20, 2018

    Moselle River Memories

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had high expectations going into the five day ride along the Moselle, four on it and one day on the Rhein, and the trip far exceeded those expectations. The views were absolutely incredible, the wines and beer were easily accessible, and the people friendly and helpful. We were fed marvelous European breakfasts each morning in wonderful hotels, which sustained us throughout the day. We had the time of our lives.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 30-July 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • One more castle in the midst of the vineyards. (photo by Padre)
    • A view from above the Moselle (photo by Padre)
    • Oh, yes, there were magnificent wines, too. (photo by Padre)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Cycling Spain’s Land of the Conquistadors
    (5/5) Amy M August 8, 2018

    Unbelievably Amazing

    · Cycling Spain’s Land of the Conquistadors

    My husband and I took this self-guided tour in mid-June. It was the fourth trip booked through biketours. Despite hot weather (above 90 degrees farenheit every day) and elevation profiles that were definitely a bit more than anticipated, we loved this tour. The route was interesting, with lots to see. The Paradors were some of the nicest, most comfortable hotels I have stayed in as part of a cycling tour. The bikes were in good working order, and we didn't need assistance. The only thing to keep in mind is that Extremadura shuts down on Sundays, and services, especially groceries, are hard to come by. With the help of biketours and the local company, we booked a second night in the Monfrague National Park, which provided a much-needed day off the saddle, and the opportunity to take a bird watching tour with Monfrague Vivo. The trip was definitely an experience we won't soon forget!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 14-20, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) KellyS August 7, 2018

    Amazing Cycling Adventure

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    This 4 day/5 night cycling trip was the highlight of our summer trip to Europe. The variety of beautiful scenery during each day's bike ride was amazing. We loved stopping mid-day on days 2 and 4 to swim in the gorgeous lakes we were cycling next to (also don't miss the small lake next to the hotel at the end of your ride on day 3.)
    We chose the A level accommodations and each was comfortable and quirky, with very friendly staff/hosts. And the local bike tour company (cyclomundo) did a very thorough job of reviewing maps, demonstrating the GPS, checking our bike fit, and answering questions on the first morning.
    Two recommendations, consider carrying a picnic lunch with you on your daily ride (baguette, cheese, fruit, chocolate) so you can stop and eat at any of the picturesque places along the route. Also, your final stop, the city of Annecy, is a gem! If time and budget allow, plan to stay an extra day or two.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 15-20 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First time!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Hotel and Restaurant at the end of cycling Day 1 (photo by KellyS)
    • Stopped for a swim and picnic on lake Bourget - cycling day 2 (photo by KellyS)
    • Savoie wine country scenery - cycling day 3 (photo by KellyS)
    • Beautiful city of Annecy...final destination - cycling day 4 (photo by KellyS)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Traveling Jackie August 6, 2018

    Great Introduction to Bike Touring!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    I'd never done a bike tour before, so this was my first experience, and I LOVED IT! Our guide Jorge was funny and kind, the other people on the trip were lovely and encouraging. At the end of the trip I was trying to figure out what the highlight was, and I realized everything I was coming up with was the actual riding itself. The views were fantastic, I liked the varied roads, ups, downs, back roads, cobblestone villages, paved countryside. I opted for a hybrid touring bike, it was hard work in some places but I was happy with my decision instead of getting an e-bike.

    We had a couple days of heavy rain where we couldn't ride at all, but I found it nice to have a little break from the saddle on my first tour ever. On those days we got to see more sites than we would have on bikes, because they took us in a van to explore monuments, wineries, museums, chapels, towns, marble quarries, palaces, castles, and more. We shared a lot of delicious meals together, my favorite being a hole in the wall tiny restaurant that you'd never be able to find on a map, and the owner makes his own wine. These are the types of places you can only find with a guide.

    The pace was relaxed, I loved the unique accommodations and the restaurants. Besides the rain, the weather was comfortable and cool for riding. It was April when I went, might be a good idea to go a little later to try to avoid rain. My biggest tip is to bring your appetite and eat ALL the delicious food and wine!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    Video: A little recap of my first ever multi-day bike tour in the Alentejo wine region of Portugal.
    • Riding through beautiful cork trees never got old. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • There were plenty of opportunities to say hi to the cows. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • We tasted 8 wines on the first day! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Navigating back roads in between megalithic monuments outside of Evora. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Megalithic monuments and cork trees for days <3 (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Traveling Jackie August 2, 2018

    Great for Solo Females!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    I am a 33 year old female from the US, I did this tour by myself in April 2018 and I LOVED it.

    I opted for the regular bike instead of the e-bike, and I was happy I did, as the route is mostly flat and the regular bike is much lighter than the e-bike. My bike seat was padded, and with padded bike shorts as well I was never uncomfortable. The bags I was provided had plenty of space for changes of clothes, hat, water, cameras, everything (bring lots of sunscreen!).

    My luggage was always at the hotel ahead of me, even when I thought I was early to arrive. The days did get long towards the end of the trip, it's a long way! But I got stronger as I went, and ended up with some calves of steel. Everyone I met along the way was super nice, most people wanted to chat with me and were very friendly.

    I never felt unsafe. The local bike tour company was always just a text or phone call away. They checked in with me throughout the week, I had zero issues whatsoever! There were plenty of people on the path, even in the shoulder season. In fact, I recommend going in the shoulder season because it is less crowded, I imagine it gets super busy in summer.

    Definitely stop by the monastery in Engelhartzell where the monks brew their own beer, do the hike above the river bend at the Donauschlinge hotel in Schlögen (it's short and worth it), get to Melk early so you can enjoy the beautiful village, and make lots of stops of food and drinks! On that note - I opted not to get the dinner package, and I usually ended up having dinner at the hotel anyway because it was convenient, but I enjoyed the freedom of getting to choose.

    I am new to cycling, but it is a fantastic way to travel and see a new place. These self-guided tours are perfect opportunities for solo cyclists (especially solo females) to get into bike touring. This is definitely just the beginning for me.

    P.S. German Lesson 1: "Donauradweg" means Danube bike path, just follow the green signs :)

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    Video: Danube Bike Path as a Solo Female Cyclist!
    • Crossing from Germany into Austria on Day 1 (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Solo on the Danube and LOVING it (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Austrian wine country! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Path and bridge into Melk, my favorite village along the way. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • One day I stopped to frolick in a field, because it was calling my name! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Bike set up: 2 back bags, one front. Bring your own shirt, shorts, helmet, and gloves! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Lakeside Spinners August 1, 2018

    Riding around Lake Constance

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Back in May my wife and I along with 10 of our good friends rode the Lake Constance Bicycle Path. To say that everyone had a great time might be a bit of an understatement. We started from Hotel Halm in Konstanz which was a wonderful hotel (even without A/C in most of our rooms) and cycled to Stein am Rhein along a well marked mostly paved and mostly flat bike path except for the last couple of miles coming into Stein am Rhein. Our accommodations were nice, clean and our host made sure we were all comfortable.
    Day two took us on the opposite side of the lake as we headed back towards Konstanz to pick up the ferry to Uberlingen. We started out mostly downhill on a rolling path through beautiful countryside. While on one stretch of unpaved path, the sky opened up and we all got drenched. (in fact we encountered rain on all but one of our riding days) but still were able to laugh it off and chalk to the experience. We had a few miss-steps finding the correct ferry landing and just missed the boat. No worries, some in our group found a local pub and made the best of it while we waited for the next boat. Uberlingen was awesome except for the climb that takes you up to the top of the hill where the hotel is located. But the walk was worth it as the hotel was fabulous and afforded us all fantastic views of the lake and the thunderstorms.
    Day three took us on a dirt and gravel path through the forest until we reconnected to the paved path. (I'm not sure if we misread the directions but if was an adventure). We visited the Meersburg castle and were quite surprised at how well it was maintained. Then on to the Airship Museum for lunch and a tour. So worth it!
    We finished our ride late in the afternoon in Lindau. Somehow we got separated into two groups and one of our riders went down on the wet road, he is now a true believer in bike helmets as the helmet broke into three pieces on impact but saved his head.
    I wish we had more time in Lindau, it seemed like such a cool town.
    Day four, on to Arbon. Some challenges with the bike path signage and some unexpected hills but we made it. Our accommodations were a little spartan but the restaurant in the hotel was excellent albeit pricey. So much history on this ride.
    Our final day the sun came out and we all enjoyed the final and shortest leg of the trip.
    All in all, I highly recommend this tour and rate it the second best tour of the now six we have done in Europe. The route was well marked in Germany but a little challenging in Austria and Switzerland, nothing too bad, just not as well marked as Germany. The only thing we could have asked for was more sunshine and clearer skies as we only saw the alps once while we ate dinner in Lindau.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/13/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Awan July 20, 2018

    An unforgettable bike tour

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    What was the date of your tour?
    27 June 2018 - 5 July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Awan)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Awan)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) MBferraris July 20, 2018

    Fun had by all!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We biked Lake Constance in 6 days. The trip was enjoyed by the adults and teens alike. Everything was seamless. The directions, hotels and tickets were pre-organized and made the trip stress free. It made all of us wanting to do another one in the near future. Highly recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) sacman July 12, 2018

    Organized Adventure

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Well organized trip down to the street. While normally I stay in design hotels, due to the nature of the trip and the remote locations, the team did a superb job in accommodating us. The Chateau was certainly the highlight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Kath O July 8, 2018

    Beautiful surprises every day!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    We enjoyed everything about this tour! We’ve We have participated in afew bike trips now and this was the best so far. The beautiful scenery of Belgium and the Netherlands was like a painting. The towns we rode through were so pretty- it was rose and hydrangea season! Always a good beer or rose plus some kind of sweet specialty on offer! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and took time to get to know all of us. The Zwaantse barge was great- the captain and crew friendly and professional, the cook prepared excellent meals everyday! Couldn’t ask for a better week of riding!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 23-30
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Johnpg July 6, 2018

    A Great Austrian Cycling Adventure

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    The trip met or exceeded our expectations. We travelled in the shoulder season but still expected the bike trail to be packed. It wasn't, except for perhaps the last day of our ride into Vienna, which was a Sunday so there was a lot of locals enjoying the beautiful trail and scenery. That would likely be mitigated by planning one's arrival in Vienna for a weekday.

    Generally the accommodations lived up to the "upscale" designation, but there were two exceptions that were for us, just mediocre at best. That could simply be that there wasn't anything nicer in those locations.

    The local tour company was great, and very responsive to our needs. The bikes were fine--clearly built for wear and tear. The luggage service was perfect, and our bags were always waiting for us when we arrived.

    The Danube bike trail lived up to our expectations in beauty and condition. We'd recommend this ride to anyone who enjoys bicycle travel.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) MarcieB July 6, 2018

    Life on a Mosel/Saar River Barge is good!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Not our first self-guided bike tour, BUT our first barge/bike "all inclusive" ride. We loved it. The barge rooms were small, but clean. The on-board meals and "make your own lunch from breakfast buffet offerings" were excellent! Kudos to the chef of the MS Patria. Staff from Czech Republic and Poland were hard working and friendly. Dagomar, the activities director, was enthusiastic and dedicated to making sure everyone was taken care of. Seating assignments in dining room were well thought out, placing the two of us (Oregon) with traveling relatives from BC. The rest of the table consisted of a group of eight Danish folks who spoke English! Bikes were 7-speed models and with a headwind, I was regretting not having an e-bike. Live and learn. Excursions/field trips were interesting and offered cultural highlights. The Mosel/Saar River valleys are simply breathtaking. There was a mix-up the day of our arrival in Koblenz, as we had not received the e-mail regarding the change in mooring. Our German friend was able to call the Harbormaster to locate the MS Patria, and after a rather long walk pulling our suitcases, we located a small local ferry that took us to the opposite shore (Rhine) where we boarded the boat. I don't think I would have thought to call the Harbormaster, and my husband's phone (with contact info) was out of battery power. Technology! All's well that end's well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 16, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our NINTH tour!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) KenB July 4, 2018

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    A wonderful trip through romantic wine country!
    This part of Germany is so charming that every day cycling was a wonderful adventure. Our hotels were amazing! The meals that they provided through their optional meal plan where without equal. Every evening was fine dining.

    History, culture, excellent hotels, excellent bike trails, and wonderful wine made this one our best bike trips ever!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 11 to June 17, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 2 (photo by KenB)
    • Photo 3 (photo by KenB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Senior Adventurer July 3, 2018

    Perfect Danube Bike Tour

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    Very enjoyable tour of a lifetime without crowds, with beautiful scenery, and with great lodging. My wife, whose last biking adventures were in her middle and high school days, proved a super biker, enjoying the exercise, scenery and challenge of biking the scenic Danube bike path. The bikes, delivered at our start hotel along with the tour package, were in excellent condition and functioned perfectly. A knowledgeable in-country guide met us at the start hotel to explain the tour information, the route instructions, bikes and equipment. The provided materials allowed us to effortlessly self navigate. After hours each day on the bike the upscale lodging met or exceeded our expectations and was greatly enjoyed. The weather mostly cooperated, spring beauty abounded, and the temperatures were perfect. We are planning our next biking adventure on the Mosel and Rhine and plan to again use BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    15-22 May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (4/5) Colorado Bill July 2, 2018

    First step to the Atlantic

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We arrived a day early. Orleans was great city. Big church.
    The trip was seamless. Bikes hotels maps road food just what you would expect fro. FRANCE. .... We wish we had taken the time into week 2 or 3 to complete the Loire.
    We will return.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Scoop414 July 1, 2018

    Cities, countryside all by bicycle and cruise! Unpack just once!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    This was a wonderful week of exercise and fresh air through the countryside as well as major cities of Belgium in a small group setting of approx 35 passengers. The Magnifique II is well equipped with all the comforts of a small ship. The staff/crew were attentive and always had a smile and warm greeting. The food was prepared and presented as well as one would find in most fine dining establishments. We met many wonderful people from all over the world. As a bonus they offered both guided and self-guided biking as well as longer and shorter routes. We've done other hotel to hotel bike tours but the value of being on the boat and unpacking just once really gave this trip extra value and convenience. We will do another bike/boat trip in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 23, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Ellie June 30, 2018

    Lake Constance

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This self guided trip around Lake Constance was the best biking trip we have taken this far. The scenery was simply fantastic. As boaters it was great to visit the many marinas along the lake. The hotels for the most part were very good. I would recommend that you request hotels with air conditioning . Two hotels we were at did not have air and we were quite uncomfortable. One hotel had very poor bedding as well. Several good pillows and blankets really should be a given.
    We also did feel that more detailed maps between towns would have been advantageous. The maps we received on our previous Danube trip were excellent. We recommend that the Lake Constance trip have the same . Sometimes we ended up off the route because of lack of detail.

    I also recomnend that the tour offer van service to the park hotel. After a full day of biking that long ride uphill is not fun.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection