Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 20)

  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Jiggy September 23, 2018

    Fun time was had by all

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Our group of 29 people had a wonderful time enjoying the scenery and relaxed atmosphere of the Patria. Although the cabins are quite small we made the best of it....and felt it was good value for the money. Was surprised with the lack of safety talk regarding the bikes and also the boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    sept 1, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Minna September 23, 2018

    Amazing Experience

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Smedley September 20, 2018

    This is the reason that we bike!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Wonderful trip, but that doesn't tell you what you really want to know. So here goes a day-by-day review and a few overall impressions.
    Innsbruck - arrive a day or two early to experience the city and mountains. Purchase the 'Innsbruck Card' and save on many of the city's attractions and transportation. Hotel Cafe Central - nice facility close to the 'Old Town'. Ask for the recently renovated rooms.
    Zillertal - good first day ride. Take time to stop at the Swarovski museum complex. Gasthof Hotel Post - nice facility, great menu. Ask for a room away from the dairy farm next door.
    Krimml - short ride, no hurry to arrive at the pickup point for the van ride across the pass. The falls at Krimml are amazing. Prepare yourself for a good hike to see them up close. The Gastehaus Waltl was comfortable. Plenty of dining options in the town.
    Zell am See - Scenic ride. Use the extra rest day to explore the mountains. Weather permitting go to the glacier, ride around the lake and hike the hills. Great dining options. Lebzelter Hotel - in the heart of town, comfortable inn.
    Lofer - best riding day, mountains close on both sides of the narrow valley. Gorges and cave are must visits. Nice lunch at the golf course at the midway point. St Hubertus Hotel was inviting.
    Salzburg - last day of riding was the most challenging. Hills and gravel paths dominated the day. Navigating through Salzburg requires a good map and/or GPS. The Goldenes Theater Hotel was the only accommodation below the standard set by all of the other hotels. Spend an extra day or two in the city.
    General impressions: one of the most scenic rides in Austria with great stops along the way to explore. The booked hotels were excellent with the exception of Salzburg. The route map/directions need to be updated. GPS really helped out especially in the larger towns. Bikes were in great shape but they should be equipped with odometers since the route map is based on distance traveled turn points. You won't be disappointed boking this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August/September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Vistoso September 19, 2018

    Perfect weather, Awesome scenery!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/7/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) John49 September 19, 2018

    Great trip around Lake Konstanz

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This was an easy 5 day bike ride around a beautiful lake with lots to see and do along the way. We used the rental bikes and they looked so heavy that I thought I'd never be able to ride it, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very easy to pedal and well suited to all terrains we subjected them to. I can't think of a single suggestion for improvement.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 5 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many, but usually self guided.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (4/5) Dan1 September 19, 2018

    With the Dolomites as your splendid background, ride through ancient towns until you reach the unique watery world of Venice.

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    Highly recommend getting to Bolzano early so you have time to spend a day visiting the Italian Alps. The Dolomite Highway is awe-inspiring.

    The bike trails were great. Mostly paved, and when they weren't, the majority were well packed. The tour route goes through picturesque countryside. The daily destinations are beautiful and historical.

    The tour includes a 5+ hour ferry ride on Lake Garda. It is a gorgeous ride with the ferry zigzagging down the 35 mile length of the lake. Feels like you are in a National Geographic special. A couple of other recommended "must do's" - visit the Scrovegni Chapel in Padova and take in an opera at the Roman Arena in Verona.

    Girolibero was our tour company. They provide great tour book of entire area and towns on route. However, they give it to you (along with bikes) the morning that the tour starts which allows little or no time to really utilize the great information. It would be much better if they provided a month earlier so you have time to research in advance. Should also provide bikes the prior evening so you can get up and leave earlier in the morning.

    Some of the directions along the route could have been marked better. We followed other tour companies' markers more often because Girolibero's were fewer and far between. The bikes were excellent. In great shape and mechanically solid with smooth shifting.

    We paid for the upgraded hotels. However, a few of them were in sketchy areas; like near train stations.

    I don't mean to sound negative. Overall, it was a great trip and very glad we did it. Only offering suggestions to make the tour even better for future riders.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 26-31
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Joyce September 18, 2018

    The Mosel Valley Bike & Barge adventure is a perfect combination of stunning scenery, exercise and wine!

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Excellent help from the BikeTours.com staff – especially Liv! Comfortable accommodations aboard the MS Patria, delicious food, staff exceeded all expectations, bikes were good, pedaling was easy, scenery beautiful, route went thru interesting and historic villages and cities. With a group of 29, there was something for everyone – every day – and no complaints from anyone!
    BTC staff review “Liv helped our group of 29 get booked……and was accommodating with every change and request along the way. Everyone thought a group that large would be impossible to book…but, Liv made it easy!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 1 - Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • The 'Hawaii Group'  gathered for one last photo 'up top' on the barge (photo by Joyce)
    • MS Patria with Cochem Castle in the background (photo by Joyce)
    • One of many delicious meals aboard the MS Patria (photo by Joyce)
    • Rest stop! (photo by Joyce)
    • Courtyard in Bernkastel (photo by Joyce)
    • Saarburg - a wonderful place to start the Bike & Barge adventure - spend at least a day or two there! (photo by Joyce)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) MichaelandErin September 17, 2018

    Spectacular Scenary

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We thoroughly our cycling trip between Innsbruck and Salzburg. Day one was a nice scenic warm up ride mostly along a river. The second day ride, heading 'up' another valley (still fairly flat in valley, with beautiful mountains on either side) was enjoyable....but the highlight of that day was after the ride. Our transfer minibus picked us up (promptly) that took us up and over to another valley to the town of Krimml. Fortunately, we had enough energy left to hike up to the top of the Krimml falls (tallest series of waterfalls in Europe). Spectacular. Down another valley the next day to Zell am See, where we spent our rest day. Lot's to do there, if it's sunny....but alas, we were rained out (which we were relieved we were not cycling that day). Our highlight day followed, with the combo of stops...one heading inside an extensive cave network (trails inside for the public to travel a fair distance into the mountain), and another stop after that one involved a short hike trail up into a narrow gorge (bring rain gear, waterfalls and mist made it like walking thru a shower in places). Again, unexpected and very, very scenic. Our wrap up in Salzburg we were glad we tacked on a extra day to see some of the local sites.
    Overall, we had a great time. The accommodations were just the right fit to our tastes...friendly, cozy and comfortable. The rental bikes sturdy. The route is mostly bike trails, usually paved, but not always...and with only modest time on side roads. The self guided bike map book was pretty good (although we did have to pull out our smartphone map app to clarify some directions at times). The distances were long enough to feel like we'd traveled someplace, but short enough that we still had time to enjoy the sights.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) vickiboys September 16, 2018

    Awesome experience

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    This trip on Magnifique III was our second after an equally great trip on Magnifique II last year. The boat and bikes were great and the group of 40 people from all over the world made for awesome conversation and fun. Our guide Hester (same as last year) was truly amazing and we were fortunate to have her again. The only negative aspect was the air conditioner broke down on the second day of our August trip which made for some very uncomfortable evenings on board.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 4,2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (4/5) Wignh September 15, 2018

    Met my expectations

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Excellent barge, with welcoming A/C in southern France in mid-summer. Dinners were varied and tasty - but desserts were magnifique! Make-your-own lunch to go on the bike - which is standard bike/barge arrangement - becomes boring after a few days. But what I will remember is this once-in-a-lifetime highlight: watching France win World Cup at a jammed packed outside bar in a small town!

    What was the date of your tour?
    mid-july
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel and Saar
    (3/5) Water Bound September 15, 2018

    Disappointed

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1-9/7/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    -1- before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Karin September 15, 2018

    LIVE AND LOCAL

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Going with my group made a big difference - we didn't always cycle together, but knowing there were others on the trail helped! Scenery, countryside, conviviality were awesome. Accommodations were spartan, but the meals were terrific, the crew excellent and the experience more than worthwhile. Recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 Sep 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bordeaux by Bike and Boat
    (4/5) Hoogie September 14, 2018

    Bordeaux trip

    · · Bordeaux by Bike and Boat: Castets-en-Dorthe to Libourne (and reverse)

    Overall a great week. Wineries (that were open and ready to accommodate us) were sadly very few and far between - and the wine was supposed to be a big part of the trip! But great scenery, bikes were excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    28 Aug to 4 Sep
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Suse September 13, 2018

    Absolute delight.

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Lake Constance provided perfect backdrop to easy daily rides for this couple plus 55’s. Simple navigating with wel signposted bike paths. Delightful accomodation in beautiful towns. Will be back to do more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Lake Constance and a pair of great bikes! (photo by Suse)
    • The beautiful Hotel Lindau (photo by Suse)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Albikes September 11, 2018

    Bordeaux area by bike

    · · Bordeaux by Bike and Boat: Castets-en-Dorthe to Libourne (and reverse)

    Great way to see this region. Most used E-bikes. Furnished GPS was very helpful, as printed directions were poor. Our group of 24 was great. Don't know how a maximum group of 80 would be.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Late August
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Marshall September 9, 2018

    Our third trip with Bike Tours each one special

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/22/18-7/29/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Family4 September 8, 2018

    A great vacation

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This was a great way to experience Austria. Along the bike path are vineyards, castles, restaurants, monasteries and a concentration camp. We were able to start late morning (to accommodate the teenager sleeping schedules and work commitments) and go at our own family pace throughout the day. We selected the upscale accommodation version and enjoyed something unique at each place. The ride along the path was level, as promised. This is a very popular path and there were many other other cyclist to connect with along the way. We had a great time as a family of four riding, site seeing and reconnecting. I would highly recommend this trip to any active person / family

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 12-20
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Gonzo September 8, 2018

    Bike Tours Direct delivered on everything that they promised!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We were extremely pleased with Bike Tours Direct on our recent trip down the Danube. Everything that they promised, happened. Their representatives were extremely reliable, and helpful, Our luggage always was waiting at our hotel when we arrived, and their equipment was top notch. The route was well laid out. My wife and I were extremely complimentary of Bike Tour Direct

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tina September 8, 2018

    Danube

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    My daughter and I loved the 7 day biking experience. The days were not too long. A great way to spend a week together exploring the Danube on a bike. Lots of opportunities to take in tourist destinations as well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) clk14 September 7, 2018

    Beautiful and relaxing trip!

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    The Balaton is a beautiful area to bike in and to vacation where the Hungarians vacation. Hotel Olivia and the town of Veszprém were perfect places to start and end the trip and we had perfect timing with a weeklong jazz festival occurring on both our start and finish evenings in Veszprém. We liked the Anna Grand Hotel but loved the rest of the hotels and had many wonderful dinners. We chose to go unguided because this summer we needed/wanted to relax and go at our own pace. If you want lots of activities and wine tasting, then go for the guided tours--based on our experience with the tour company, we expect the guided tours would be wonderful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection