Catalonia  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Bonita September 25, 2017

    Great scenery, great food & good biking trails

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Our guide, Daniel with Creative Catalonia, was always aware of our safety. He was knowledgeable about the things we were seeing. If he didn't know the answer to questions, we'd often receive an email that evening containing an answer. We got to see some amazing sites. The hotels were very nice & resturants we were directed to were usually really good. He made sure that our bikes were all in good, working condition.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) bikebuddies September 20, 2017

    Muy Bueno!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    A great way to see and experience this area of Spain. The hotels were very nice to exceptional; especially the Hotel Los Arcs in Monells with its very gracious host/owner family and wonderful food. The maps and Garmin GPS made route finding almost flawless and the tour operators (Lucy and Daniel ) checked in with us during the week to see how things were going and if we needed anything. Don't miss seeing the Botanical Gardens midway through the trip on one of the loop rides; it is very well worth a visit. We have done over a dozen self-guided bike tours in Europe and this is one of the best organized and planned.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11-16, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    13
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bonita September 16, 2017

    This Tour went beyond our expectations!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Oscar September 9, 2017

    Very interesting sights, routes could be better planned/guided

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    The medieval villages of Catalonia are certainly worth the visit. Beautiful and well maintained and inhabited villages, and of course the starting point in Girona old city - really beautiful places. In addition, for history lovers there are three interesting archaeological sites of ancient Iberian towns/villages on the road.
    On the downside are some difficulties with cycling itself. If this tour had difficulty 1-2 on the scale 1-5, I wonder what categories 3-4 are. A very big part of the routes were "dirty roads", which as best meant steady sand roads, but as well at some places really rocky roads or soft sand. And the navigation... The Catalonian way of marking cycle routes left at quite many points room for improvement, especially those tiny little signs. But also the maps provided (piles of A4 paper sheets) meant that far too much of energy was spent on navigation instead of enjoying the cycling.
    Equipment, service, accomodation: excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Beautiful Costa Brava (photo by Oscar)
    • Monells' arcs (photo by Oscar)
    • Riuades sobtades (photo by Oscar)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, Founder and president September 10, 2017

      Dear Oscar,

      Thank you for your valuable feedback, which we will pass along to the local tour company that operates the tour. In the meantime, we will also update the "Surface and terrain" information to reflect your comments.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bruce K August 23, 2017

    Terrific all the way around

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Wonderful trip. The routes were well-planned and suitable for a group of six with differing levels of biking experience. The scenery was spectacular. With the garmins, following the route paths was easy. Being able to stay two nights at each hotel (all first-class) was great, giving us a feel for the places we were staying in, and the loop routes on alternating days meant we experienced something new each day, too. Lucy, the Creative Catalonia founder, was enormously helpful and easy to work with. I can't say enough about how great a time we had. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/29/2017 - 6/5/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) RegW June 29, 2017

    Fabulous family trip.

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    We had a group age 9 - 60 that thoroughly enjoyed this trip. You have two separate hotels where you stay for two nights each which made for a relaxing vacation. We had no problems with bikes, luggage or accommodations. The local tour company was very professional and the maps and GPS quite thorough. Make sure you know when lunch is in the area as we missed the mark once or twice and arrived for an American lunch hour to find it was siesta time. Also, you might want to verify sea views. The local tour company tries to ensure them but we arrived on a very busy week and it was a problem for our three in one room. The suggestions from Lucy (the local tour operator) were very good and she checked on us a couple of times during the trip because there was a heat wave happening that week. The sights, food and people of Spain were marvelous and I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) HelC June 4, 2017

    Excellent from start to finish!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This is a great introduction to the region, mixing coast and countryside, modern and ancient. We took the guided option to spare ourselves the map reading, the routes are generally well signposted but a few turnings could be tricky to spot. We've done previous tours in Tuscany I'd say the grade 2 rating is appropriate for the length of daily ride (up to 40km) plus the hills are fewer and generally shorter than the grade 2 Tuscany rides. Recommend taking the coastal walk option on day three, the botanical gardens are lovely even for a non-botanist. Bikes are very high quality, not a single problem all week, and even at a leisurely pace we were at our hotels by 4pm and able to enjoy a relaxed evening. No complaints at all, it was a great week!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) PDBB May 17, 2017

    Challenging and Beautiful Trip across Costa Brava and Baix Emporda

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Just completed this cycle trip. Scenery was stunning, as promised. Weather (May) was also very good (showers on 1 day only); temps mostly in mid-teens celsius. Bikes of excellent quality; maps could have been better (larger scale of font, better readability). Cycle routes were mostly well marked; but you can never have enough signage. I would not agree that the routes wind "gently" through the region. Hotels (even the 2-star) were very good; breakfasts Good to VG. The regional food is delicious; local bike company provided useful recommendations for restaurants and advice. This was our second cycling trip (4 seniors), and it was definitely more challenging (even with shorter daily distances) than the last (Danube) trip.The terrain is not "mostly flat with few hills to climb"; some hills were daunting/steep and long. We completed the tour but were never able to do the suggested/offered "optional extra cycling rides" after the day's cycling; simply too much for us to tackle. Others might be more accomplished or fit, but we rarely rolled into the next destination before 6 PM. We choose self-guided; but local cycling company was always available to assist if needed (we emailed regularly). This was not a Level 1 tour; nor does it claim to be. But it may not even be a Level 2 tour? Scenery of Mediterranean coast was stunning and the medieval villages were beautiful. All of us are glad to have taken the tour, and to have finished the cycling challenges. It's a beautiful part of Spain.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1 previously (Level 1)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Mattman October 25, 2016

    Wonderful Cycling Vacation

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This trip was exactly what we we're hoping for. Casual cycling along the coast and villages. The bikes we're fantastic and comfortable. All the hotels were first class and the food and ambiance in the hotels and small restaurants throughout the trip were delightful. GPS was adequate, but be sure you can read a map! The tour briefing was helpful beforehand and be sure you understand how to change a tire before you embark. There is some incredibly beautiful country on this ride, and since it is 6 days long, I think if we we're to do it again we might have skipped a day of riding in Calella de Palafrugel in favor of a hike along the coastline. There are some lovely hiking trails that were begging to be explored. Also, by traveling in early October we missed the european vacationers and essentially had all the beaches and villages to ourselves. Never a worry with busy roads or vehicle traffic. Looking forward to our next adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) Pablito October 23, 2016

    Great Trip

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    We had a large group (16!) with varying levels of ability. All aspects of the tour were great. Logistics worked well: pick up and fitting of bikes went without a hitch. The rides were very scenic and covered a range of terrain, from mountains to the flats. All hotels were very nice and Creative Catalonia booked a couple of very fine meals in Olot and Llafranc at truly world-class restaurants. Scenery on the rides was fantastic, and the routes had little traffic and were often off the roads altogether.

    The only hiccup of the trip was that only 4 map packages were provided to our group. Would have expected that each rider would get a full pack of maps.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 9-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Catalonia Road Bike Tour
    (5/5) Timr October 18, 2016

    Spectacular Scenery; Great Bikes and Accommodations

    · Catalonia Road Bike Tour: Girona to the Sea

    Creative Catalonia provided quality road bikes, great accommodations, and a good itinerary with a nice mix of countryside, spectacular seaside, and interesting medieval towns. We went in early October and the weather was perfect for riding. Mornings sometimes required long sleeves but that would quickly change to shirt sleeves. Just a bit cool for swimming in the sea. Roads were in great condition, and traffic was light. Because the area has a lot of bikers, drivers seem to be more aware and tend to give plenty of room. The routes provided could also be tailored to provide longer rides, if desired.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) BikingNana September 21, 2016

    Fabulous vacation pedaling by the Sea

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This trip was a blast. I love seeing the world from the back of a bicycle. We had great weather the entire trip. There were a lot of gravel roads but not much traffic. We were self-guided with maps and a Garmin so we enjoyed getting off course a few times at first with lots of laughs. We ate in some fabulous restaurants suggested by the super nice lady who gave us our bikes and packets. She was very helpful and insightful with great ideas. The villages were full of nice people, historical castles and churches. I really enjoyed staying in the towns by the Mediterranean Sea and going to the beaches. Girona is a beautiful city. I liked the narrow old streets lined with little shops and walking the wall built around the city. We rode our bikes up and over Els Angels on our last day and it was a nice view from the top. We only had one small issue when our luggage was taken to the wrong hotel but it arrived within an hour. I highly recommend this bike tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    09/07/2016-09/12/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Catalonia Road Bike Tour
    (5/5) BobF September 15, 2016

    Best trip ever

    · Catalonia Road Bike Tour: Girona to the Sea

    Creative Catalonia (Daniel & Lucy) did an excellent job. Got us started and checked in with us midway. Maps, bikes and hotels could not have been better. I highly recommend this tour

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/1/16 - 98/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • on the way to Tossa del Mar (photo by BobF)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) ErinH March 21, 2016

    Beyond Awesome!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    I had an absolutely wonderful time! Daniel and Lucy (AKA Creative Catalonia) went out of their way to make this a fabulous trip. The scenery is terrific, the hotels were great! Food was out of this world! Particularly good if you like history, which I do. This was my first trip to Spain, but it will NOT be the last! I went on the off-season, so it was quiet, which I enjoy

    How many tours have you completed?
    this is my second
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)