Bike And Boat Tour Reviews  page 5

  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Brian Hallgarth 10 months ago

    Fantastic Bike/Barge Trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    This Brugge to Amsterdam bike and barge trip exceeded our expectations in many ways. The barge was deluxe, clean and comfortable and the food was good. We had an upper level stateroom and think it was worth the cost.
    The biking was easy although there were very strong winds a few times. We tried e bikes. About half the riders used them. This was our first experience with e bikes but at age 66 I will rent one again although we are long time , long distance cyclists.
    We did expect more independent cycling and some cycling instruction for new riders riding in a large group. However, the route was tricky with so many paths to take so we stayed in the group. The small towns and scenery were a wonderful experience. The guides and boat crew were very knowledgeable and personable.
    We will look for a similar experience in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    •  (photo by Brian Hallgarth)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (3/5) Linda Ewing 10 months ago

    Provence Bike Trip into the Countryside

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Really enjoyed the bike trip through the Provence countryside which visited several picturesque towns along the way. Our guide Alex was wonderful; she had done her homework so was able to provide us the history of what we were seeing. Plus Alex was great fun and made sure everyone was safe and comfortable while riding. Barge on-board staff was also super responsive and friendly. All the local staff was excellent!

    My only criticism of the trip is the business model used by the barge company. The 'Caprice' boat itself is 'past its prime' --- old, really cramped room accommodations. We were unlucky and assigned what appeared to be the smallest double twin room that didn't even have space for the tiniest sink in the bathroom (it was installed next to my bed's pillow). In fact, all the rooms were smaller than on other barge boats I've been on. Also, the dining area was so tight you couldn't get out of your chair without your neighbor also moving. Bottomline, the company owners are squeezing too many people on the boat so they get more revenue.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 15 - 22, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Mary Gallagher 10 months ago

    Disappointing Accommodations

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Recently returned from Provence bike and barge and very disappointed with cabin accommodations. Bathroom sink located in main cabin from which we heard gurgling and draining from other cabins. Also heard loud banging from floor probably due to mechanical issues due to location of cabin - farthest on the bow. Overall not suitable for guests. Crew, guide and food were great- but cabin (#1) was not acceptable.

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • (3/5) Jon Kramp 10 months ago

    A fine tour with issues

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    The bike/boat tour started off by my not being able to initially find the boat. The route of the tour is normally serviced by two boats with the boats sailing the route in opposite directions during each week. Due to low bookings, only one of the two boats servicing the route was in operation. The boat I expected to sail on was the one that was out of service and docked and it took some time to find the boat that was in service.

    The boat I actually sailed on, Caprice, is a converted cargo barge. The cabins contained the expected features for a 'standard' category passenger river vessel. However, the cabins are on the small side. The dining/lounge area was also on the small side considering that the boat was operating at full passenger capacity. Food service was very good and the crew was helpful. Snacks and drinks were available at the end of the days cycling.

    The biking route and sights seen along the way were as advertised. However, there were two cycling related issues:
    1) The tour description of 'There will be some hills' is correct for most days but that there were two climbs each of about 5km length.
    2) All but five of the tour members selected to book an electric bike for the tour. Only one of the tour members completed the tour without the use of a non-electric bike because of the slope and length of the climbs. Booking an electric bike for this tour is recommended for most people.

    One day of the tour included a continuous 5km stretch of gravel surface. The tour used multiple types of roads. The major roads were all in fine condition. The smaller one lane roads, mainly used by farmers to reach the fields, were often in poor condition with pot holes common. It should be noted that all of the bikes offered on the tour were if good quality and in good repair. During the tour there was only one minor issue with any of the bikes.

    It should be noted that some days on this tour were a bit long considering that temperatures were in the mid 90'sF to just over 100F range. On one day, for example, biking started about 8 AM and ended slightly before 6 PM. Hydration was an issue but the biking part of the tour included multiple stops each day to refill water bottles and/or purchase drinks.

    A printed map of the biking route was not provided and is not available. Those doing the tour non-guided, only done by 2 people on selected days on my tour departure, will need to have a mobile phone to access route information.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Mary Gallagher 10 months ago

    Great biking - barge was ok

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Biking in Provence was outstanding- but the cabin we stayed in (Cabin 1) was not satisfactory. Crew we’re great and tour leader was knowledgeable and experienced. Unfortunate about our accommodations.

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Pedal through your own personal Paris
    (5/5) Hally Hanssen 10 months ago

    The absolute best thing we did in Paris!

    · · Private Paris Bike Tour

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Christian was a fantastic tour guide-- kind, knowledgeable, fun, gracious, adventurous and so delightful. We were a bit skeptical about how much our 4 boys (ages 9, 13, 15 and 17) would like yet another Paris tour (after a bus tour, boat tour and exploring on foot for hours), but our 4-hour bike tour was an absolute blast. We got to see all of the major historical sights and tourist attractions-- except Christian gave us much more context and fun information. He also took us to some beautiful hidden spots that really captured the essence of Parisian life for locals and some beauty we'd have never found ourselves with a big group. Wish we'd had another day to do a tour to Versailles with biketours.com and Christian.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 18, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Katherine Fackler-Chapman 11 months ago

    Perfect trip to combine cyclists and non cyclist friends

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    Our guides Corrie and Hetty were knowledgeable and friendly, the crew of Chris , Alexis, Hella, and Ingaborg were helpful and gave great service, and the meals from chef Michel were outstanding. We will definitely do another trip with this company. Flat terrain and e-bikes or comfortable hybrids allowed people of all cycling levels to enjoy trip, and the small size allowed all of us to make new friends!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • Strawberry rest stop (photo by Katherine Fackler-Chapman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Picturesque Villages and Nature Reserves
    (3/5) Sharon Johnson 11 months ago

    Sail and bike to picturesque villages and nature reserved

    · · Sail & Bike to Picturesque Villages and Nature Reserves

    Great experience on a tall ship sailing vessel. Food was average. Crew was very good but English translations on biking details was lacking.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Enjoy a sunset cycle in the City of Light
    (5/5) Elizabeth Gibson 11 months ago

    A fun way to see

    · · Paris Evening Bike & Boat Tour

    Rudolpho was AMAZING! His love for the city and it’s history and culture made the trip all the better!

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Michael Parrett 11 months ago

    The Best trip ever

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Every aspect of our tour was first rate and we would recommend this trip to everyone. From the moment we arrived at the gang plank to a couple of hours after we departed the Magellan, we were treated to first rate service by the land support staff and onboard crew. The tour, the sights and the cities visited were tremendous. The size of the tour (30), allowed us to get to know the entire group of travellers and we were fortunate to be joined by many interesting and enthusiastic adventurers . The single best aspect of our trip were our two guides, Dora and Serge. Their professionalism, enthusiasm and pride in their country made every part of the journey fun, interesting and an experience never to forget.
    Regards
    Beverley and Mike

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Patricia Barbour 11 months ago

    Amazing trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    We had a wonderful trip with an amazing crew who worked in unison to make all the guests feel welcome. The tour leaders, Tammy and Peter, were fantastic and had intimate knowledge of the communities and sights along the bike routes. Their personal connections provided unique experiences that would otherwise have been missed. They were patient and personable even after their very long days!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (5/5) Linda Kelly 11 months ago

    Good way to travel

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    Gives you a taste of Belgium and Holland. The staff was excellent. Helpful and pleasant.
    Cities we visited were lovely.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • South Dalmatia
    (3/5) John Cooley 11 months ago

    Great trip---but could have been better

    · · Coastal Islands of Southern Dalmatia

    This was a great trip, however the lead guide was difficult to get along with ---the second guide was new and fantastic. The lead guide was overly strict and a bit condescending. We did not bike one of the days because he decided since there was rain we would not cycle. That was VERY disappointing. I was on a boat bike trip in Belgium and Netherlands and we biked rain or shine. The time we started biking was a bit late too-----it did not leave much time for for activities after biking.

    The saving grace for the trip was the staff was fantastic on the Yolo.

    One additional note is that this should be E-bike only....there is no way for a regular bike to keep up with ebikes on the terrain on this trip. One of the passengers insisted on riding a regular bike and on two separate days had to switch bikes with the guide in the rear so he could make it. He should have been told to switch to an ebike by the guides.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Judith Moore Vey 11 months ago

    amazing

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    all very good. great group of people. Biking and weather amazing. The boat was much nicer, cleaner etc than we were anticipating. Food made by the chef was delicious.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Dorothy Moore 11 months ago

    Girls biking trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    Great way to experience Belgium and Holland.
    Awesome cabin crew and fantastic food!
    The biking leaders were fabulous and very knowledgeable.
    I would highly recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Pearls of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Stephen Weber 12 months ago

    Outstanding trip

    · · Pearls of Dalmatia by Bike and Boat, Romantica

    My wife and I took the Romantica from Dubrovnik to Split and had an excellent time! The three guides were outstanding: knowledgeable and extremely personable. We only had 12 people in our group, so there was lots of room on the boat to wander around. The city walking tours were a nice addition. The hills are a real climb, most of our group were on e-bikes but I started the trip on a peddle-bike. After 3 days I switched to an e-bike and really preferred it, would recommend e-bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is my third bike/boat tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by Stephen Weber)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) John Berg 12 months ago

    Beautiful way to see the Netherlands and Belgium.

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    This is a great way to see the Netherlands and Belgium - small villages, beautiful landscapes, and an escape from the great crowds of tourists in the large cities. I especially appreciated the guides and the crew of the Magnifique II. All of them were great hosts. I felt we were on a friend's private yacht. The other guests were all very interesting and enjoyable companions on the trip. Being with a small group, who were all active and energetic people, meant we didn't have to wait for people before beginning our tours. The larger cruise ships tend to attract a more sedentary group, which means very slow movement and long waits before getting started. The biking part of made this trip outstanding as did the crew and our fellow travelers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first bike tour I have been on
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Carla Myers 12 months ago

    Great Trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    This bike ride is one of our favorites, between the scenery and the options of some side trips during the ride and the wine tasting excursions. The crew was great. The only complaint was at dinner if you wanted anything to drink (even water, coffee & tea) you had to pay. Luckily the drink package was cheap, it was only good from 4pm to 11pm. Water, tea, juice and coffee were included at breakfast, we were on the road for lunch. They had everything you needed to make your sandwiches for lunch, including water, candy bars and fruit. Bring something to package your food.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 20, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Kathy Sommer 12 months ago

    Wonderful tour!

    · · Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

    This tour was so much fun!! Our week was May 6-13. The weather was cool (50-65 degrees) and cloudy, some rain but no matter, we were prepared. Our guide Rosanne was fabulous, always cheerful, full of information and always willing to talk and be with us. The boat crew was equally wonderful - Hans, Tessi, Jon - we enjoyed each of them completely and felt completely taken care of. Meals were meticulously prepared, the tables set with touches of flowers, special napkin folds, cookie-cutter butter chunks, chocolates, just charming touches. The chef Hans always provided tupperware with salads or delicious leftovers for lunch, or we could make sandwiches from the buffet table. We were never hungry! Jon the skipper came and chatted with us daily, always with a big smile.
    The Holland terrain and bike paths were positively delightful. Rosanne took us to numerous small museums during the days of riding as well as after the rides. The Anna Antal barge was delightful as well. Small rooms as expected but completely fine and comfortable. Thank you for such an enjoyable trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • Picnic time (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • Anna Antal dining lounge (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • Our group on the path (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Patrick Gillet 12 months ago

    Dalmatio Yacht/Bike Tour on Yolo

    · · Coastal Islands of Southern Dalmatia

    The Crew and guides we had on the M.V. Yolo were fantastic and everything exceeded our expectations.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 26 - June 2, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)