Belgium  Bike Tour Reviews (page 5)

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) cyclist September 18, 2016

    Very well organized and planned

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    It was very well organized and people on the boat and in the group were really super nice. Each day was a feast at night, and a treat to the eyes when it comes to biking. We went through a lot of pretty open fields, historic sights and picturesque landscapes. It was like riding through a wallpaper. It was quite easy to finish it, given the flat terrain, and was not a really hard tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    11/3/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) Jane3538 August 6, 2016

    Great way to see a country

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    The crew was amazing,catering to every need. The food was 5 star and the Barge has a homey comfortable feel. The guide took us expertly on tours thru back roads which took us to places that rival Versailles and Notre Dame.
    We were not seasoned bikers and found we were doing more than the advertised average miles per day but the terrain is mostly flat. The itinerary on the website was quite different from what we actually did. I would suggest contacting the Feniks directly for the actual itinerary prior to signing on. This trip would be recommended to others.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) E Leo August 4, 2016

    Such a great time!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Everyone on the barge loved this trip! The staff was great, our tour guide Lea was knowledgeable and fun, the biking worked well and was relaxing, the food was great, and so we're the rooms.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) alev July 21, 2016

    Great value, relaxing scenic tour

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Our first boat-bike tour, this was a wonderful experience. The guide was perfect - knowledgeable, personable, and fluent in all languages spoken among the 30+ passengers. Provided urban bikes are comfortable and appropriate for the type of ride. The pace is leisurely (no hard-core exertion here). Protected bike paths meander through beautiful agricultural country and behind meticulously tended garden backyards. Meals were astonishingly good, with all manner of breakfast foods and four-course gourmet dinners. Our only suggestion is to find ways for smaller groups to travel off on their

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 25-July 2, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) Oddly July 10, 2016

    History, Art and Backroads

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    Wonderful, dedicated owners and crew, food was amazing and our guide adjusted our tour to the group members interests and cycling abilities. The small group (max 12) made for a supportive, friendly group and allowed for stops in small cafes and sites. I loved historic Bruges, Oedenaarde, Compiegne, the villages, old churches filled with art, wine, Trappist beers, cheese shops, pattiseries, back roads and bike paths, and visiting a cobblestone hill section of the Paris-Roubiex. Great way to see Europe!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • Photo 1 (photo by Oddly)
    • Mail carrier, typical street in Bruges (photo by Oddly)
    • Mooring spot (photo by Oddly)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Sharlene June 22, 2016
    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    What was the date of your tour?
    June4-11
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) doedoe June 12, 2016

    Know what you are getting.

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Mostly older folks (50 and up). Nice and comfortable ship. Not luxury. Small but adequate room, like any cruise room. Towels were rough/worn. Put out daily the following in the am scrambled eggs, bacon, bread, condiments, lunch meat to make your own lunch (tomatoes and cucumbers), fruit, greek yogert, cereal, coffee , tea, 1 bottle of water. Dinner food was excellent, no choices, given plates of food at dinner (including appetizer and desert), no seconds but it was adequate, nobody complained. Tea/coffee before dinner 4pm to 5pm and at breakfast but none after dinner like Americans usually do, but you could buy some at the bar. We took this cruise because they advertised that you would be given maps and directions if you wanted to do the route yourself rather than go with the guide. The guide discouraged this and said if you got lost the ship would leave without you if you were late. The directions were really not adequate to do it yourself. He was a bit rude at times throughout the trip. Consequently the pace was fast without time for pictures, seeing the sites, enjoying the scenery. Just a fast paced ride through beautiful scenery with occasional brief predetermined stops. The routes were very scenic but can't say I fully enjoyed them. Stressful to worry about losing the group if you stopped to take off your coat or take a picture. Rest of crew was very nice but very overworked. Not bad for the price but not what we were looking for and they should advertise more truthfully. Would not have done it if we had known. Also $50 extra for gluten free but not much extra was provided (just gluten free bread and I had to ask for it most days). Bring your own bread and save $50.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) dmoise April 27, 2016

    Highlight of our trip to Europe!

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    During our long-awaited 7 week European trip, our Bike/Barge adventure was the best part. The local NL based company that organized the tour is great. From the comfy accommodations, to the well planned biking, our week was filled with memorable adventures.

    With warm and friendly fellow travelers and an outstanding skipper and crew, we enjoyed delicious meals, informative city walks, fun bike routes with some challenging weather and amazing sights on the land and water. Our biking guide led us with confidence and patience (despite widely varying experience/strength) and added important information on culture and history wherever we traveled.

    The smaller size of the barge with only 9 guest rooms, made the entire experience that much more personal. This was also the most affordable week of our vacation! We couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the Netherlands, Belgium and to the wonderful bike/barge experience. Outstanding; we can't wait to go again.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Enjoying every moment!
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Gay and Snuffy April 26, 2016

    Best Bike and Boat hosts ever!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Zwaantje Boat, Bruges to Amsterdam..fantastic hosts Marjorie & Martene, Trudie & Matthew, guide Felix, all welcoming, friendly with superb meals (especially arriving from the rain and cool temperatures, hot soup, drinks and home made baking). Great group of people on the tour and can highly recommend this relaxed and lovely bike ride experience. Well done Marjorie and Martene....best wishes for many more successful seasons!

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Darryl April 8, 2016

    Summer 2015 Baotin' and bikin'

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    My wif, son and I had a great time going from Amsterdam to Bruges. Gerat guide and fellow bike riders. all ages lots of fun good equipment and excellent guide, Tom. Lots of fun and food stops along the way,=. very relaxed ride and boat. Highly recommend. Darryl, Chandler, Arizona

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Natalie123 December 9, 2015

    Outstanding itinerary and tour company

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a staff member at BikeTours.com. I did this itinerary, but not on the Fluvius (the boat described on this page). I was on the Magnifique, which can also be booked on this site. Here are the parts of my review that you can find on the Magnifique's tour page that apply to this same program on the Fluvius...

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: A typical scene along the route - cows and sheep aplenty, quiet and well maintained bike path, and of course windmills!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nczbAMMMCM4 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Holland may be famous for its tulips, but early fall is also in full bloom with hydrangeas everywhere and beauties like these in a castle garden. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Rest stop among a field of scarlet begonias (photo by Natalie123)
    • Enjoying a juicy pear from a friendly farmer's orchard that lines the bike path. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Best friends on tour! This was a fabulous girls' trip - active but relaxing, and with most nights docked in cities with as much nightlife as you want to get into. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The canals and swans of Bruges on an early-morning ride before the tourist buses arrived! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Natalie123 December 7, 2015

    Leisurely luxury through classic Europe

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I was excited to check out this ever-popular bike and boat tour because our clients usually give it rave reviews. Now I know why!

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The Magnifique is cozy. The cabins are small (as expected) but comfortable, the dining room and bar are nice communal spaces for relaxing with new friends, and the hot tub on deck is the very best place to watch the passing scenery! The food is excellent, and the guide took us on a walking tour each night after dinner to learn about whichever city we were docked in overnight.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Pedaling along a canal-side bike path in Bruges

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WgZNJQ3t40 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • The Netherlands look shockingly just like what you imagine - lush greens, canals, windmills. Accompanied on this trip by my best friend and traveling companion, Kelly. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A short test ride on day 1 aboard the boat to get comfortable with our bikes. Check out that beautiful castle! (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the dining area through the bar and sitting area. Our fellow travelers are relaxing between ride time and dinner. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A quiet morning of cycling in Bruges before the tour buses arrived and the streets became crowded. Highly recommend early a.m. or late night jaunts! (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike paths make it pretty clear which way cyclists should go! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)